Trafalgar Tour Reviews

Trafalgar
4.5 out of 5
864 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Trafalgar. Every review has been verified.

“Wonders of Ancient Egypt”
- VIC, Australia Jan 2020 1 Helpful Vote

This was the holiday I had always wanted to go on and it certainly did not disappoint. Yvonne was as always fabulous with arranging my travel arrangements. Trafalgar were excellent with the Egyptologist, Khaled, the best one could hope for. Cairo was hectic but the Trafalgar people who meet you at the airport guide you through the process. The River Nile Cruise is a highlight. The MS Miriam is an older style ship which is totally renovated and has absolute charm. The staff are fabulous and the food is plentiful.

All of the Egyptian temples, tombs, and museums that are visited are amazing and the history is so interesting. An absolute must is visiting Dendera Temple which this trip provides but is not visited by all tours. The colours and condition of the hieroglyphics was the most amazing thing I have ever seen. Trafalgar ensures that at all times you feel safe. Something to keep in mind is the culture of tipping. There is quite a bit expected for bus drivers, staff on the boat etc so go prepared and you will be fine. I would redo this tour in a heartbeat!

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wow”
- NSW, Australia Dec 2019 2 Helpful Votes

This was an amazing trip full of fun and excitement. It was a wonderful to see the European landscape in winter, we even visited a snow resort in Slovakia for lunch. It was uplifting in beautiful Vienna, Budapest and Prague but there were also sombre and thought provoking times at Auschwitz and in the Polish ghettoes. The Be My Guest dinner at Schieszl winery in Budapest was a highlight. If you get the chance don't think twice, just go.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spain, Morocco and Portugal for Christmas with Trafalgar ”
- New Zealand Dec 2019

Just completed a dream Christmas holiday in winter! The weather was perfect in Spain, Portugal and Morocco. Our booking with Global Journeys was easy peasy and the staff very quick to respond to our questions and to help us out. Everything went so smoothly.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Disappointing Trafalgar Traditional Europe Tour over Christmas”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Booking process and communications with Global Journeys was seamless and very easy and my consultant (Jemma) was always available and very helpful. Would not hesitate to recommend Global Journeys and book with them again in the future.

The Trafalgar Traditional Europe Tour was fast paced and reasonably disappointing overall with little consideration made in relation to lunches, which had to be purchased mainly at roadside Autogrills in the midst of pushing and shoving through massive queues of tourists and others travelling for the Christmas holiday break. The toilets at these stops were filthy and again having to line up in endless queues left little time to enjoy the break and the meal.

The majority of hotels along the way left much to be desired and were located quite a distance from the town centres and one hotel in particular was very dirty. After travelling most of the day on a bus and checking into your hotel after 6pm on most days, it would be better to offer hotel accommodation in the town so that travellers had some dinner options.

The most disappointing thing was that we were touring over Christmas and the New Year and the itinerary claimed to have organised special activities and meals for those days when the truth is nothing was arranged for us and the Tour Guide simply advised us that this was because everything was closed on Christmas Day so we spent 8 hours on the bus! NYE in Paris was the same with nothing having been organised by Trafalgar and our Hotel having been booked out for private functions so there was nowhere to go for dinner or to toast the NY.

My travel companions were great and thanks to them the tour was bearable but the Trafalgar Tour Director and Driver were absolutely dreadful. They spoke amongst themselves in Italian about the travellers on board and banished some of the travellers who had walking difficulties to the back of the bus so that they didn’t have to assist them! Unfortunately for the Trafalgar employees, some of the travellers spoke Italian and understood everything they said. The cities visited were beautiful but again due the time of year and traffic on the highways about 1/3 of the planned activities were cancelled.

Reply from Trafalgar:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Ella. We aim to put quality at the forefront of our service and regret that we didn't meet the mark on this occasion. We aim to select stops with a range of food options and a high level of cleanliness, it's clear that our selection was affected by the high influx of people travelling for the holidays, we will be sure to review our stops over the festive period.

All our accommodation is handpicked for our tours and from your comments, we will be revisiting the hotels in question to see if there are more suitable options, which uphold higher levels of cleanliness and are closer to town centres. We apologise that you felt the activities planned over the festive period where not up to standard and we will ensure that we rethink these activities moving forward. All of our Travel Directors are put through rigorous training to ensure that they can direct tours to the best of their ability and we are deeply concerned that you felt our Travel Director and Driver were not up to standard. We will be following up on the tour director for your tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing European Christmas Markets”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2019

I would not hesitate to book through Global Journeys again. It was easy and stress free. Our tour was great. Our guide Agnes was wonderful, and nothing was too much trouble for her. She was very knowledgeable, and interesting to listen to. Our hotels were pretty good, although one did not provide free internet, which surprised us. The markets were amazing, even the shops joined in with the decorations. One thing to be aware of, not all of the Christmas markets were open. One in Munich opened the day we arrived, and Lucerne did not open until December 5th, so we missed that one. Overall, a lovely tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Love love love”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019 3 Helpful Votes

Just loved this tour. The UK has such an amazing variety of landscapes and cities. Thanks to our tour director Paul. Great driver always helpful. Would highly recommended this tour if time poor like I was, but if you have more time maybe a longer tour as I would have loved more time in each place. But so much squeezed into a short time. Will be back for more.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great guide and driver, just too many cathedrals”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019

I have used Global Journeys before and will use them again. Just don't think Trafalgar is for me. Would have liked more variety in sights. Optional dinners quite expensive. I didn't do many of them thankfully, but others that did were unimpressed.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great tour of Israel”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2019 View Photo

This tour provided all the historical and geographical aspects that I had hoped for. Our guide, Etti, was fantastic and her knowledge gave us an insight into each place we visited. Our group of 22 travellers all got along well and some lasting friendships were made.The Trafalgar itinerary enabled us to visit all the sites at a comfortable pace and the accommodation was first class.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great way to see Spain”
- Australia Oct 2019

The Trafalgar Spanish Wonder tour was wonderful, exceeding expectations. It became obvious pretty quickly what an utterly professional operation this was. Everything was organised to the nth degree. Hotels were excellent and close to city centres, the specialist guides very informative and entertaining. Fellow travellers were great folk. What made this particular tour special though, as everyone seemed to agree, was the Tour Director. She was extraordinary. Very knowledgable, friendly, nothing too much trouble for her. Definitely would use both Trafalgar and Global Journeys again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Covered all the highlights”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019 1 Helpful Vote

An exciting tour covering all the highlights. Lisa was an excellent guide and passionate about her country. She went the extra mile to ensure our trip was memorable. Local guides were friendly and knowledgeable.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Best of Italian Lakes”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Trafalgar was as always great. The only complaint I have is The Villa Maree Hotel at Lake Garda. It’s 40 mins walk to the closest large town, although you can get a bus or Taxi and you cannot see the Lake. No tea making facilities in room, fridge not cold at all! Tour very busy if you take all the excursions but great sights, pretty scenery. Bolzano beautiful and Dolimites.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Not everything I wanted to see but close”
- Australia Oct 2019 6 Helpful Votes

I enjoyed the tour and met some great people. I experienced areas of England, Scotland and Ireland that I would have struggled to see alone. I have a much greater appreciation of the country and its peoples. Loved seeing Ireland especially Northern Ireland and meeting locals who walked us through ‘the worries’. Perhaps a longer stay in Wales might have been the icing on the cake. Generally the accommodation was great with only two hotels not being of the same standard. Those huge English breakfasts were sustaining. The extras I participated in were great, especially the night in the Dartmoors. I consider the trip was good value and I estimate it would have cost me more if I attempted to do it independently. Glad I did an extra few days before and after the tour and visited the areas more local to London.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The best of Britain & Ireland ”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019 3 Helpful Votes

Unfortunately on the last leg of our flights the priority tags were removed from our luggage & then the express checkout meant nothing in Melbourne, meaning we probably got out 40mins-1hr later than we could have. While the tour director was very good, looking back on it now & even half way through the tour everything he was talking about in relation to the days events & the stores to visit was either preparing us for the feedback or promoting stores potentially linked with Trafalgar. It was good having it all organised & being driven around but some days could have been left free for people to do what they wanted. Some of the timing was a bit off just to cater for a tour group. We didn't need to go to the Guinness factory at 10am just to beat the crowds, considering we had a whole day free of inclusions. Had we known more about the optional extras we may have forgone some of them. Some of the set meals weren't that great either but again having everything organised meant it was less stressful. (GJ. Perhaps next time you might consider Trafalgar's other brand CostSaver - less inclusions and more free time to do as you choose, which of course makes the trip cheaper as a result.)

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best of Egypt”
- Australia Oct 2019 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

Great destination, amazing history and sightseeing. Archaeologically significant experience. River cruise was great, good opportunity to experience the Nile and the ports along the way.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing Tour Through the New England Fall Foliage ”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Another seamless booking through Global Journeys, another 5 Star experience using Trafalgar Tours. The Autumn Colours tour through New England was easily one of the best trips I have ever done. Trafalgar is an excellent operator; their itinerary took us through quaint and charming towns and we saw the most incredible, picturesque views of the autumnal colours of their 'fall' season. The accommodations were all excellent - wonderful locations, superior rooms, and the meals were delicious. Our tour director, Dave, was very friendly, and extremely knowledgeable about every area we went to; his commentary was diverse, including information about the history, culture, architecture and unknown facts and trivia.

For the service, the accommodation and the experience - this tour was worth every cent. We all agreed we would do this exact tour again. Our only negative was how short it was - 8 days just wasn't enough and everyone on the bus agreed we would like it to be at least 12 days - there is just so much to see and experience in that region.

This was my fifth booking through Global Journeys and they proved yet again why I don't want to book through anyone else. Hannah responded to all of my emails promptly and nothing was too difficult; she made the booking so quick and easy. Like Trafalgar, the service and cost of booking through Global Journeys is what makes me a repeat customer and is why I will continue to use them in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“13 days Austria & Switzerland”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2019

Both Global Journeys and Trafalgar did not disappoint and exceeded expectations as usual. This was our fourth trip with them in last 4 years and everything from booking our tours through Global Journeys and the Trafalgar Tours itinerary just went smoothly and professionally. Kim left behind her diamond engagement ring at Grauer Baer Hotel in Innsbruck and with the assistance of our Tour Director (Andy Major), the hotel couriered it to us at Lucern before the tour ended. A big thank you to all the staff at both Global Journeys and Trafalgar for a wonderful holiday... looking forward to our next holiday to Russia & Baltic states in 2020!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Delights and discoveries of Croatia and Slovenia”
- Australia Sep 2019

From the very beginning to the end it was a dream come true. The azure blue of the seas to the lush green of the countrysides appealed to us. There was also history and culture among that! Can't expect more than that on a holiday. We were also lucky to have a very friendly and caring tour director - Tod Covich.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A very good trip”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019

This was a very good tour. The tour director and local experts were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The hotels were all of very good European four star standard. The Russian part was very full with all the optional activities. The Baltic part a little more relaxed. While St Petersburg was the highlight (and the main reason we went), the Baltic capitals were real surprises and very interesting and attractive. One suggestion: if you are doing the tour, spend a couple of days in Helsinki before or after as the time there is very inadequate. Disappointments? The ballet performance in St Petersburg was overall pretty ordinary. There were maybe a few too many optional activities. A couple at least might have been included for the price. Booking through Global Journeys was seamless and excellent value.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Western Discoverer”
- New Zealand Sep 2019 1 Helpful Vote

I journeyed through California, Arizona and Nevada on the Trafalgar Western Discoverer tour along with my husband in Sept/Oct 2019. The tour was fast paced with not a lot of down time. But then it was an adventure rather than a holiday and we certainly saw many great sights and participated in fun activities. It was a good balance of spending time in the big busy cities, small towns in the wilderness as well as the various beach side places we stayed at.

My personal highlights were an evening stroll watching the sun go down over the Grand Canyon, walking the Golden Gate Bridge, jeep riding in Sedona while my husbands highlights were the helicopter ride through the Grand Canyon and setting foot on Pebble Beach Golf Course. The hotels were excellent although some were a little noisy. Our guide Randy was informative, very organised and helpful to those in need. There were long travel days on the bus during this tour but these were unavoidable as the towns and cities we stayed at were sometimes miles apart.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“One of the best trips we have done!”
- ACT, Australia Sep 2019 1 Helpful Vote

The Best of France is one of the best trips we have done - so many interesting places and our Tour Director, Marie DuBois, was absolutely fantastic. Accommodation and meals were A1 apart from Bordeaux - the hotel was below par and dinner in the restaurant was forgettable. Yvonne Brooks once again arranged this trip for us and it went smoothly without a hitch - thank you Yvonne.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 864