Trafalgar Tour Reviews

Trafalgar
4.5 out of 5
857 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Trafalgar. Every review has been verified.

     
“Love love love”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019

Just loved this tour. The UK has such an amazing variety of landscapes and cities. Thanks to our tour director Paul. Great driver always helpful. Would highly recommended this tour if time poor like I was, but if you have more time maybe a longer tour as I would have loved more time in each place. But so much squeezed into a short time. Will be back for more.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great guide and driver, just too many cathedrals”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019

I have used Global Journeys before and will use them again. Just don't think Trafalgar is for me. Would have liked more variety in sights. Optional dinners quite expensive. I didn't do many of them thankfully, but others that did were unimpressed.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great tour of Israel”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2019 View Photo

This tour provided all the historical and geographical aspects that I had hoped for. Our guide, Etti, was fantastic and her knowledge gave us an insight into each place we visited. Our group of 22 travellers all got along well and some lasting friendships were made.The Trafalgar itinerary enabled us to visit all the sites at a comfortable pace and the accommodation was first class.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great way to see Spain”
- Australia Oct 2019

The Trafalgar Spanish Wonder tour was wonderful, exceeding expectations. It became obvious pretty quickly what an utterly professional operation this was. Everything was organised to the nth degree. Hotels were excellent and close to city centres, the specialist guides very informative and entertaining. Fellow travellers were great folk. What made this particular tour special though, as everyone seemed to agree, was the Tour Director. She was extraordinary. Very knowledgable, friendly, nothing too much trouble for her. Definitely would use both Trafalgar and Global Journeys again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best of Italian Lakes”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Trafalgar was as always great. The only complaint I have is The Villa Maree Hotel at Lake Garda. It’s 40 mins walk to the closest large town, although you can get a bus or Taxi and you cannot see the Lake. No tea making facilities in room, fridge not cold at all! Tour very busy if you take all the excursions but great sights, pretty scenery. Bolzano beautiful and Dolimites.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Not everything I wanted to see but close”
- Australia Oct 2019 1 Helpful Vote

I enjoyed the tour and met some great people. I experienced areas of England, Scotland and Ireland that I would have struggled to see alone. I have a much greater appreciation of the country and its peoples. Loved seeing Ireland especially Northern Ireland and meeting locals who walked us through ‘the worries’. Perhaps a longer stay in Wales might have been the icing on the cake. Generally the accommodation was great with only two hotels not being of the same standard. Those huge English breakfasts were sustaining. The extras I participated in were great, especially the night in the Dartmoors. I consider the trip was good value and I estimate it would have cost me more if I attempted to do it independently. Glad I did an extra few days before and after the tour and visited the areas more local to London.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The best of Britain & Ireland ”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Unfortunately on the last leg of our flights the priority tags were removed from our luggage & then the express checkout meant nothing in Melbourne, meaning we probably got out 40mins-1hr later than we could have. While the tour director was very good, looking back on it now & even half way through the tour everything he was talking about in relation to the days events & the stores to visit was either preparing us for the feedback or promoting stores potentially linked with Trafalgar. It was good having it all organised & being driven around but some days could have been left free for people to do what they wanted. Some of the timing was a bit off just to cater for a tour group. We didn't need to go to the Guinness factory at 10am just to beat the crowds, considering we had a whole day free of inclusions. Had we known more about the optional extras we may have forgone some of them. Some of the set meals weren't that great either but again having everything organised meant it was less stressful. (GJ. Perhaps next time you might consider Trafalgar's other brand CostSaver - less inclusions and more free time to do as you choose, which of course makes the trip cheaper as a result.)

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best of Egypt”
- Australia Oct 2019 View Photo

Great destination, amazing history and sightseeing. Archaeologically significant experience. River cruise was great, good opportunity to experience the Nile and the ports along the way.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing Tour Through the New England Fall Foliage ”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

Another seamless booking through Global Journeys, another 5 Star experience using Trafalgar Tours. The Autumn Colours tour through New England was easily one of the best trips I have ever done. Trafalgar is an excellent operator; their itinerary took us through quaint and charming towns and we saw the most incredible, picturesque views of the autumnal colours of their 'fall' season. The accommodations were all excellent - wonderful locations, superior rooms, and the meals were delicious. Our tour director, Dave, was very friendly, and extremely knowledgeable about every area we went to; his commentary was diverse, including information about the history, culture, architecture and unknown facts and trivia.

For the service, the accommodation and the experience - this tour was worth every cent. We all agreed we would do this exact tour again. Our only negative was how short it was - 8 days just wasn't enough and everyone on the bus agreed we would like it to be at least 12 days - there is just so much to see and experience in that region.

This was my fifth booking through Global Journeys and they proved yet again why I don't want to book through anyone else. Hannah responded to all of my emails promptly and nothing was too difficult; she made the booking so quick and easy. Like Trafalgar, the service and cost of booking through Global Journeys is what makes me a repeat customer and is why I will continue to use them in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“13 days Austria & Switzerland”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2019

Both Global Journeys and Trafalgar did not disappoint and exceeded expectations as usual. This was our fourth trip with them in last 4 years and everything from booking our tours through Global Journeys and the Trafalgar Tours itinerary just went smoothly and professionally. Kim left behind her diamond engagement ring at Grauer Baer Hotel in Innsbruck and with the assistance of our Tour Director (Andy Major), the hotel couriered it to us at Lucern before the tour ended. A big thank you to all the staff at both Global Journeys and Trafalgar for a wonderful holiday... looking forward to our next holiday to Russia & Baltic states in 2020!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Delights and discoveries of Croatia and Slovenia”
- Australia Sep 2019

From the very beginning to the end it was a dream come true. The azure blue of the seas to the lush green of the countrysides appealed to us. There was also history and culture among that! Can't expect more than that on a holiday. We were also lucky to have a very friendly and caring tour director - Tod Covich.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A very good trip”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019

This was a very good tour. The tour director and local experts were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The hotels were all of very good European four star standard. The Russian part was very full with all the optional activities. The Baltic part a little more relaxed. While St Petersburg was the highlight (and the main reason we went), the Baltic capitals were real surprises and very interesting and attractive. One suggestion: if you are doing the tour, spend a couple of days in Helsinki before or after as the time there is very inadequate. Disappointments? The ballet performance in St Petersburg was overall pretty ordinary. There were maybe a few too many optional activities. A couple at least might have been included for the price. Booking through Global Journeys was seamless and excellent value.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Western Discoverer”
- New Zealand Sep 2019

I journeyed through California, Arizona and Nevada on the Trafalgar Western Discoverer tour along with my husband in Sept/Oct 2019. The tour was fast paced with not a lot of down time. But then it was an adventure rather than a holiday and we certainly saw many great sights and participated in fun activities. It was a good balance of spending time in the big busy cities, small towns in the wilderness as well as the various beach side places we stayed at.

My personal highlights were an evening stroll watching the sun go down over the Grand Canyon, walking the Golden Gate Bridge, jeep riding in Sedona while my husbands highlights were the helicopter ride through the Grand Canyon and setting foot on Pebble Beach Golf Course. The hotels were excellent although some were a little noisy. Our guide Randy was informative, very organised and helpful to those in need. There were long travel days on the bus during this tour but these were unavoidable as the towns and cities we stayed at were sometimes miles apart.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“One of the best trips we have done!”
- ACT, Australia Sep 2019

The Best of France is one of the best trips we have done - so many interesting places and our Tour Director, Marie DuBois, was absolutely fantastic. Accommodation and meals were A1 apart from Bordeaux - the hotel was below par and dinner in the restaurant was forgettable. Yvonne Brooks once again arranged this trip for us and it went smoothly without a hitch - thank you Yvonne.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Touring through the Towering Redwoods”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019

Our second tour with Trafalgar delivered another great experience with a busy but well-constructed itinerary, some wonderful scenery, great museums, and a top tour director, Lexie, who was knowledgeable, efficient, charming and fun! Highlights for us were the drive up the spectacular Columbia Gorge, visiting the dam and fish ladder, visiting the Evergreen Museum in McMinnville and seeing Howard Hughes’ Spruce Goose and much more, arriving in the beautiful city of Seattle by ferry, and wondering at the incredible works in the Chihuly Glass Museum.

The accommodation everywhere was in very good quality hotels, and all included meals were excellent. Sadly, our tour was the last one for this itinerary. Trafalgar is changing from a San Francisco start to a Portland start next year. Much of the tour will still be the same, except for the first few days. I think it is a shame that this decision has been taken as we thoroughly enjoyed the early part of this trip and wouldn’t want to have missed it.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Simply loved this trip!”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019

We simply loved our France trip! Trafalgar is fabulous and we were so happy we decided to do the "Best of France" tour. It was so comprehensive and we enjoyed going to all of the main regions of France. We could happily do this 13-Day trip all over again!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Egyptian Voyager”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019

This trip was everything I wanted and hoped it would be! :-) Thank you so much for suggesting this trip and making it work for us. The itinerary was very full but covered everything we wanted to see and more. The bus, the boat and the most of the accommodations were great - friendly, clean and courteous. Our guide was absolutely fantastic! He made our trip! His knowledge, explanations, consideration, help and friendliness made everything that was great even better!

My one complaint was the Hilton Ramses. It was crowded, noisy and an unwelcoming place. From a wedding in full cry in reception, overcrowding and not enough tables for guest numbers at breakfast, early checkouts made very difficult by slow and overcrowded lifts, men physically pushing and shoving in crowded public areas (reception and into/out of lifts). This is no reflection on the trip itself but certainly is a criticism of the hotel.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great Britain Highlights”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Overall the accommodation was very good, breakfasts were very good. Steen the tour director was excellent; very informative and accommodating. Couldn't have asked for a better tour director. The coach driver Karl was quiet and unassuming but a very good driver and very efficient at dispatching luggage etc. Local tour guides were very knowledgable and informative. We saw a lot in a short period of time; didn't really see much of Glasgow or Cardiff. Saw highlights by bus and that was about it. But overall we were extremely happy - well organised.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful experience travelling through eastern europe”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

Travelled with trafalgar and right from the moment of meeting the travel director it was obvious it was going to be fabulous. We had a mixed age range of fellow guests mainly from Aus, Can and USA and everyone got on like a house on fire and bonded quickly. I cant recommend this trip highly enough. Slovenia was a bonus and a surprise package for us. Loved everything we did.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Our first overseas trip of many to come!”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019

We couldn't be happier with the help, advice and support of Global Journeys - from our initial enquiry emails, right through until it was time to depart. In the preparation time, we had a change of travel consultant, however it was seamless and all of our information and details flowed onto our new consultant. We will definitely recommend booking through Global Journeys to family and friends, as it took all the stress out of it for us - as first time travellers! Best of all, Italy and France were everything we had hoped they would be!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 857