Home > Operators > Trafalgar > Trafalgar Reviews
Trafalgar Tours

Trafalgar Tour Reviews

The 887 Trafalgar Tour reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Trafalgar. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.5
AVG. RATING 4.5 / 5
887 Reviews
5 Star
62%
4 Star
32%
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Trafalgar

Christmas Markets   0 , QLD, Australia, Dec 2022
Great experience, travelling through Austria, Germany and Switzerland in winter. Important to pack for the cold temperatures of -11 degrees C. Global Journeys are our preferred travel agent.
Scandinavian Northern Lights   0 , QLD, Australia, Dec 2022
Great experience, should be aware there is no guarantee on seeing the Northern Lights. Global Journeys are a delight to deal with and highly recommend them to book your travel.
Very well run tour   0 , VIC, Australia, Dec 2022
This tour was our first with Trafalgar. We were very happy with our guide Colette and the way she ran the tour. Super organised and fun. Absolutely no complaints about accommodation or time spent on the coach. My only comment would be that this is definitely a case of getting what you asked for. Every day several markets were visited and in my opinion ...read more they were all rather similar; different towns but same vibe and stock. Also unfortunately a high proportion of mass produced items that were most definitely not locally made. After the first 2 or 3 days I was all "market-ed out". I would have preferred to have more time spent exploring the wonderful towns/cities that we visited. But that is purely my opinion. The markets were extremely picturesque and the setting sublime. Perhaps just not a good fit for me. I have rated this tour as excellent as it ticks all the boxes for the true Christmas fan.
European Whirl   3 , NSW, Australia, Nov 2022
Warning: this is definitely only a tour for those happy to get up and moving early day after day! Because it covers a huge amount of ground in a short amount of time, this is the only way this tour can operate. That said, the trip was superbly organised, the tour director was fabulous and the coach driver was amazing...especially in Paris! You see many ...read more major cities in a very short amount of time, not much of them but certainly the iconic parts....giving you a good idea of where you might like to spend more time in the future. I would thoroughly recommend it. Lucerne and Switzerland in general was definitely the highlight for me...SO beautiful.
Beautiful scenes, not too hot or cold   0 , NSW, Australia, Nov 2022
November was a good time to visit with pleasant weather and beautiful scenery. Would recommend others to use Trafalgar as they were well organised with transfers.
European Whirl     0 , QLD, Australia, Oct 2022
What a way to see some lovely cities across parts of Europe! I went on this tour with no expectations other than to open my eyes to to new places and people and was not disappointed. There were far too many highlights to name however Venice and Lucerne took my breath away. The accommodation in each city was sufficient with some being a lot better ...read more than others but you have to expect that when travelling in a large group. Autumn in Europe is a beautiful time of year to travel with the beautiful colours and pleasant weather. As as a person who lives alone and likes being on their own, I was so pleased to have 48 others to travel with and would highly recommend booking a Trafalgar tour through Global Journeys. Took all the hard work out of doing everything myself.
Best of Italy   0 , NSW , Australia, Oct 2022
This was an excellent tour and special thanks to Hannah Campbell for organising a faultless tour. Though we have been to Italy four times before, this tour was most enjoyable, Trafalgar tour director was very well informed, pleasant and compassionate. There was no problem anywhere and it was a smooth journey from beginning to end. Look forward to going ...read more again with global journey and will be contacting Hannah again shortly.
Trafalgar - 9 days Colours of Sicily Tour   0 , NSW, Australia, Oct 2022
Our first time with Trafalgar and we would travel with them again. Our tour director, Alessia was great and a lot of fun. Our coach driver did an amazing job navigating steep hairpin turns! We felt very safe.

Sicily is a truly beautiful island and we were amazed at how much there is to see and do. The tour really highlighted the main events - Palermo, ...read more Cefalu, Agrigento, Erice, Ragusa, Syracuse, Catania, Taormina, Savoca & Mt Etna. The Valley of the Temples at Agrigento are a must see! We would have liked a bit more time in Taormina and Catania.

Hotels along the way were a mixed bag, but on the whole, quite comfortable. All transfers were seamless and it was a joy to leave bags out in the morning and have them waiting in your hotel room at the next destination. Trafalgar offer optional experiences at an extra cost and we did not do all of them. The optional tour to Cefalu, Savoca & Mt Etna though are a must do! The optional Marsala wine tour was a bit disappointing and I would not recommend it.

We had 'local specialist' tour guides in some places, they were all very knowledgeable, but Rafaella, our tour guide in Palermo & Monreale was a standout. She was so passionate about the history. We loved the little touches Alessia did - a little gift for everyone that was particular to the place or area we were in.

We highly recommend travelling to Sicily in the autumn as the weather is still quite warm, but not too hot and far less crowds. This made sightseeing far more enjoyable. The sea temperature was 24 degrees Celsius, so you can enjoy a swim. There were 32 people in the group and they were great, really enjoyed their company. I can appreciate the tour is a great way for solo travellers.
Lovely Portugal   0 , SA, Australia, Oct 2022
Our tour director, Pedro Pinto was excellent. Really enjoyed his banter and very informative on the areas we were driving through and places we visited. By the end of our trip though we realised that Trafalgar at this time is not the type of tour we are after. We prefer to get out from the bus more and get to walk around places more. We did enjoy ...read more the tour though. Portugal is steeped in history with some beautiful scenery and interesting towns and cities. Both Tracey and Georgia from Global Journeys were in touch as necessary and everything for the tour was sent to us well in advance. We didn’t need to worry about a thing.
Amazing trip to Central Europe     0 , NSW, Australia, Sep 2022
Our travel director Dean Smart and the two drivers we had were exceptional. They were very well organised, knowledgeable and friendly which made the trip an amazing experience. The itinerary was well planned. All hotels were good to excellent standard. Optionals were a little too much. If we were to do them all like some of our fellow travellers then ...read more it would be very tiring. So it's a good idea to pick and choose what you really want and stick to your plan. We liked the fact that we had two night stay in each city which gave us time to rest and/or explore on our own. Booking through Global Journeys was a breeze and Georgie was always quick to respond with all our questions and requests. Overall it was a great trip and I would definitely travel with Trafalgar and book with Global Journeys again.
Trafalgar tours in Israel and Turkey   0 , WA, Australia, Sep 2022
We love Turkey more than Israel, we travelled with Insight Vacations some 25 years ago, love it then and love it now. A lot to see with ancient sites. great cites, fantastic roads and lovely people. Turkey is good value for money, cost of food, services, goods are very moderate to good for an Australian dollar exchange. The climate was good in late ...read more September - early October 2022. We've been travelling for over 45 years and have rated Turkey as a bucket list destination. Trafalgar ran the tour here with most meals and all site tickets were included. The tour director was a very good " CEM". Trafalgar should make ballooning in Cappadocia as an option for the travelling guest.
Trafalgar tours in Israel and Turkey     1 , WA, Australia, Sep 2022
We love both our trips to Israel and Turkey. Israel is more a walking tour, a bit hot in September, saw a lot and visited all the main parts of Israel. Trafalgar sourced out to another company in Israel to do the tour, not all features of Trafalgar was present in this tour. Israel is expensive for everything. If you like history, the origins of Religion, ...read more the Jews, Christians & Islam, then visit Israel.
Rocky Mountain Splendor   0 , VIC, Australia, Aug 2022
This 17 Day Trip that we booked through Global Journeys was excellent. The trip consisted of two components, namely: (1) A cruise with Holland America to Alaska & back to Vancouver (8 days) & (2) A trip with Trafalgar Tours that took us to Victoria Island in British Columbia & the Rocky Mountains right up to Banff (9 days). The return journey from Banff ...read more to Vancouver was over a 2 day period by train with an overnight stop in Kamloops. The Rocky Mountaineer journey via coach & train was simply brilliant. We were able to see & walk on the 'glaziers' - something that Trafalgar Tours made possible. The hotels we were put up & food served was par excellence. There was a cross section of travelers from many countries with ages ranging from 45 to 75 years & everyone got along well and looked after each others welfare.

The pace of the tour was quite relaxed & good - we were never rushed. The Tour Director Allen Gibson was superb & knowledgeable, With COVID there was a Health & Wellbeing Official on the coach who took good care of sanitizing the interior of the coach at every turn, John our driver was very courteous & knew all the roads/short cuts and most importantly kept us safe. Travelling from Australia to North America in August was ideal as it was Summer over there & gave us every opportunity to be outdoors. The cruise to Alaska & back was good with just 3 stops at ports for a brief period of approx. 6.5 hours which did not leave you much time to explore the towns once you went on the pre-booked excursions. We felt there was too much sailing, would have liked more time at the ports. Internet was not complimentary on the ship & had to be purchased at quite a high price. Many people on the ship could not wait to get off the few port stops to go to local pubs & use the complimentary Wi-Fi.

Hannah Campbell was the ultimate professional who listened to what we wanted as regards to the tour & put together all the paperwork and followed up with Trafalgar Tours every step of the way & kept us in the loop. We had no worries as all the 'final' paper work was sent to us by Hannah well in time prior to departure from Melbourne. A very big thank you to Hannah for her efforts.
8 Day Amazing Britain   0 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2022
I booked a Trafalgar tour through Global Journeys and will certainly look to travel with them again, hopefully in the not too distant future. I hadn't done a tour on my own and must say I was a little anxious, but had absolutely nothing to worry about. The whole group ended up being like extended family, looking out for one another and we had a lot ...read more of laughs and fun during the tour. Some of us are keeping in touch now that we've all gone home. Accommodation was great and it was nice to be able to put your bag outside your door in the morning by the allocated time and not have to worry about it again until it arrived to your room at your next destination. Our tour director even threw in a couple of extra small stops along the way and his knowledge of the places we visited surpassed expectations. A great experience!
Beautiful tour   0 , NSW, Australia, Jul 2022
A wonderful tour through Austria and Switzerland and the Italian Lakes district. Nice bunch of people on the tour. Mostly Americans. Covered alot of ground. Michael the tour guide and Robbie the driver were great as was Isobel their well being director. Beautiful scenery
One of the great world cross-country adventures.   0 , SA, Australia, Jul 2022
This tour, with its comprehensive itinerary, had many highlights, including visits to Woomera, Coober Pedy, Uluru (Ayers Rock), Kata Tjuta ( Olga's), King's Canyon Rim Walk -- which was the top attraction for me-- Alice Springs, Katherine Gorge cruise, Yellow River crocodile cruise, Kakadu National Park and flights, Litchfield Park and termite mounds, ...read more thermal springs, and cool swimming pools with crocodiles removed.

Tour director was Liz, who must be the most knowledgeable tour director regarding Australian fauna and flora. Excellent driver was Tom. We covered a number of days over 500km, so many early mornings. The food was good to very good but accommodation varied, however, I will travel with Trafalgar/ AAT Kings again.

Travelling in July meant it was freezing in the mornings for the tour up to Alice Springs, but shorts weather once we hit Katherine and beyond. Few optionals were available due to lack of staff in places and Covid, compared to what was originally listed in the itinerary. I was impressed with the efficiency of Hannah at Global Journeys throughout the booking process, and have booked another tour with them.
Best of Greece in July 2022   0 , QLD, Australia, Jul 2022
Again another wonderfully crafted tour operated by Trafalgar! Tour Director Nina and Well-being Director Mia did a fantastic job showing us the rich and diverse culture Greece has to offer. Would certainly tap the Greek Island portion on the end of the tour if we had our time again.
Great European Tour   0 , Queensland, Australia, Jun 2022
The tour began and ended at the Tower Hotel, London. We didn't stay at this hotel because it was very expensive! Other hotels on our journey were very good, though whenever we reached a significant city, the hotels were typically on the outskirts - a good reason for doing a small group tour. The first half of our tour ended in Rome, and we had a full ...read more coach of 42 passengers. In Rome, the majority of the tour completed their tour, and only 17 of us continued on to Amsterdam.

Australian tour members had the option of a free transfer to London. Only five of us did this, including the Tour Director. Our Tour Director was Kassie Jones. She was excellent - patient, understanding, empathetic, and amazingly knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour. Our coach driver, Antonio, was also excellent. He drove the coach like it was his own, which makes sense because his family did own the coach and many others. I loved the way Antonio cleaned the coach windows every morning, as well as keeping the inside immaculate. On the first half of the tour, we had a health officer, Sandra. She was very good also and helpful.

We went so many awesome places, including Paris, Bordeaux, Biarritz, Pamplona, Madrid, Barcelona, French Riviera, Monaco, Pisa, Florence, Rome, Venice, European Alps, Vienna, Bratislava, Prague, Munich, Lucerne, Boppard, Cologne, and Amsterdam. We especially liked the fact that many of the visits were of two nights duration. Over 27 day, a few of the passengers started to annoy, but overall we were a happy, cohesive group. We loved the trip, and we would certainly travel with Trafalgar again - especially if we could have the same Tour Director!
Highlights of Turkey in June 2022   0 , QLD, Australia, Jun 2022
Another excellent tour with Trafalgar! Thoroughly recommended as Turkey is a beautiful country rich with diversity and culture. TD Altay Gur was dedicated and a very thorough operator!
Nordic Adventure   0 , NSW, Australia, Jun 2022
Thanks to Georgie for booking this trip. Pleasure dealing with her. I will definitely be booking more trips with her. Trafalgar tour was great. Good travel director and excellent coach driver. Beautiful scenic Scandinavia. Geiranger fiord and the mountains were spectacular. Did not get to see the midnight sun at North Cape as it was raining. Norway ...read more is a beautiful scenic country.

Note to Trafalgar - Some of the hotels were not great. No hot water in the Santa Claus hotel. Freezing cold as well. Trafalgar needs to assess this. Going by ferry from Stockholm to Helsinki was a wasted journey. Over 16 hours on a crowded ferry, cabins were small and claustrophobic. Better off driving from Stockholm to Helsinki and get to see more of Sweden and Finland.
Results 1-20 of 887