Home > Operators > Trafalgar > Trafalgar Reviews
Trafalgar Tours

Trafalgar Tour Reviews

The 874 Trafalgar reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Trafalgar. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.5
AVG. RATING 4.5 / 5
874 Reviews
5 Star
62%
4 Star
32%
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Trafalgar

Rocky Mountain Splendor   0 , VIC, Australia, Aug 2022
This 17 Day Trip that we booked through Global Journeys was excellent. The trip consisted of two components, namely: (1) A cruise with Holland America to Alaska & back to Vancouver (8 days) & (2) A trip with Trafalgar Tours that took us to Victoria Island in British Columbia & the Rocky Mountains right up to Banff (9 days). The return journey from Banff ...read more to Vancouver was over a 2 day period by train with an overnight stop in Kamloops. The Rocky Mountaineer journey via coach & train was simply brilliant. We were able to see & walk on the 'glaziers' - something that Trafalgar Tours made possible. The hotels we were put up & food served was par excellence. There was a cross section of travelers from many countries with ages ranging from 45 to 75 years & everyone got along well and looked after each others welfare.

The pace of the tour was quite relaxed & good - we were never rushed. The Tour Director Allen Gibson was superb & knowledgeable, With COVID there was a Health & Wellbeing Official on the coach who took good care of sanitizing the interior of the coach at every turn, John our driver was very courteous & knew all the roads/short cuts and most importantly kept us safe. Travelling from Australia to North America in August was ideal as it was Summer over there & gave us every opportunity to be outdoors. The cruise to Alaska & back was good with just 3 stops at ports for a brief period of approx. 6.5 hours which did not leave you much time to explore the towns once you went on the pre-booked excursions. We felt there was too much sailing, would have liked more time at the ports. Internet was not complimentary on the ship & had to be purchased at quite a high price. Many people on the ship could not wait to get off the few port stops to go to local pubs & use the complimentary Wi-Fi.

Hannah Campbell was the ultimate professional who listened to what we wanted as regards to the tour & put together all the paperwork and followed up with Trafalgar Tours every step of the way & kept us in the loop. We had no worries as all the 'final' paper work was sent to us by Hannah well in time prior to departure from Melbourne. A very big thank you to Hannah for her efforts.
8 Day Amazing Britain   0 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2022
I booked a Trafalgar tour through Global Journeys and will certainly look to travel with them again, hopefully in the not too distant future. I hadn't done a tour on my own and must say I was a little anxious, but had absolutely nothing to worry about. The whole group ended up being like extended family, looking out for one another and we had a lot ...read more of laughs and fun during the tour. Some of us are keeping in touch now that we've all gone home. Accommodation was great and it was nice to be able to put your bag outside your door in the morning by the allocated time and not have to worry about it again until it arrived to your room at your next destination. Our tour director even threw in a couple of extra small stops along the way and his knowledge of the places we visited surpassed expectations. A great experience!
Beautiful tour   0 , NSW, Australia, Jul 2022
A wonderful tour through Austria and Switzerland and the Italian Lakes district. Nice bunch of people on the tour. Mostly Americans. Covered alot of ground. Michael the tour guide and Robbie the driver were great as was Isobel their well being director. Beautiful scenery
One of the great world cross-country adventures.   0 , SA, Australia, Jul 2022
This tour, with its comprehensive itinerary, had many highlights, including visits to Woomera, Coober Pedy, Uluru (Ayers Rock), Kata Tjuta ( Olga's), King's Canyon Rim Walk -- which was the top attraction for me-- Alice Springs, Katherine Gorge cruise, Yellow River crocodile cruise, Kakadu National Park and flights, Litchfield Park and termite mounds, ...read more thermal springs, and cool swimming pools with crocodiles removed.

Tour director was Liz, who must be the most knowledgeable tour director regarding Australian fauna and flora. Excellent driver was Tom. We covered a number of days over 500km, so many early mornings. The food was good to very good but accommodation varied, however, I will travel with Trafalgar/ AAT Kings again.

Travelling in July meant it was freezing in the mornings for the tour up to Alice Springs, but shorts weather once we hit Katherine and beyond. Few optionals were available due to lack of staff in places and Covid, compared to what was originally listed in the itinerary. I was impressed with the efficiency of Hannah at Global Journeys throughout the booking process, and have booked another tour with them.
Best of Greece in July 2022   0 , QLD, Australia, Jul 2022
Again another wonderfully crafted tour operated by Trafalgar! Tour Director Nina and Well-being Director Mia did a fantastic job showing us the rich and diverse culture Greece has to offer. Would certainly tap the Greek Island portion on the end of the tour if we had our time again.
Great European Tour   0 , Queensland, Australia, Jun 2022
The tour began and ended at the Tower Hotel, London. We didn't stay at this hotel because it was very expensive! Other hotels on our journey were very good, though whenever we reached a significant city, the hotels were typically on the outskirts - a good reason for doing a small group tour. The first half of our tour ended in Rome, and we had a full ...read more coach of 42 passengers. In Rome, the majority of the tour completed their tour, and only 17 of us continued on to Amsterdam.

Australian tour members had the option of a free transfer to London. Only five of us did this, including the Tour Director. Our Tour Director was Kassie Jones. She was excellent - patient, understanding, empathetic, and amazingly knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour. Our coach driver, Antonio, was also excellent. He drove the coach like it was his own, which makes sense because his family did own the coach and many others. I loved the way Antonio cleaned the coach windows every morning, as well as keeping the inside immaculate. On the first half of the tour, we had a health officer, Sandra. She was very good also and helpful.

We went so many awesome places, including Paris, Bordeaux, Biarritz, Pamplona, Madrid, Barcelona, French Riviera, Monaco, Pisa, Florence, Rome, Venice, European Alps, Vienna, Bratislava, Prague, Munich, Lucerne, Boppard, Cologne, and Amsterdam. We especially liked the fact that many of the visits were of two nights duration. Over 27 day, a few of the passengers started to annoy, but overall we were a happy, cohesive group. We loved the trip, and we would certainly travel with Trafalgar again - especially if we could have the same Tour Director!
Highlights of Turkey in June 2022   0 , QLD, Australia, Jun 2022
Another excellent tour with Trafalgar! Thoroughly recommended as Turkey is a beautiful country rich with diversity and culture. TD Altay Gur was dedicated and a very thorough operator!
Nordic Adventure   0 , NSW, Australia, Jun 2022
Thanks to Georgie for booking this trip. Pleasure dealing with her. I will definitely be booking more trips with her. Trafalgar tour was great. Good travel director and excellent coach driver. Beautiful scenic Scandinavia. Geiranger fiord and the mountains were spectacular. Did not get to see the midnight sun at North Cape as it was raining. Norway ...read more is a beautiful scenic country.

Note to Trafalgar - Some of the hotels were not great. No hot water in the Santa Claus hotel. Freezing cold as well. Trafalgar needs to assess this. Going by ferry from Stockholm to Helsinki was a wasted journey. Over 16 hours on a crowded ferry, cabins were small and claustrophobic. Better off driving from Stockholm to Helsinki and get to see more of Sweden and Finland.
Best of Italy   1 , Australia, Jun 2022
Had an excellent time on my Best of Italy tour! The tour director (Pamela) was so knowledgeable and a lovely person. The whole group (all Americans except for me from Australia) were a really friendly bunch and we got on so well. Hotels were very nice, maybe one not as good, but all very clean. Lots of optional extras were also available. Tour involved ...read more a good deal of walking but easily done even if you’re 70+ like me. I would definitely recommend this trip, went to so many amazing places which couldn’t happen on your own.
Alaska truly majestic   0 , South Africa, May 2022
We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would recommend to one and all. We had excellent weather, comfortable accommodation, a very knowledgeable and entertaining tour guide. Our bus driver also entertained us with his knowledge while also giving us a safe and comfortable ride. We enjoyed the extra input of our safety director who also entertained us with ...read more his insights and keeping us healthy. This was our second trip to Alaska - our previous tour by Trafalgar was indeed another adventure to remember. Overall this trip - and the sight of majestic Denali and all points of interest visited by cruise, train, or bus were well chosen. This tour is a must. The spectacular train ride from Denali to Fairbanks was the highlight for us.
Wonders of Ancient Egypt   4 , VIC, Australia, Jan 2020
This was the holiday I had always wanted to go on and it certainly did not disappoint. Yvonne was as always fabulous with arranging my travel arrangements. Trafalgar were excellent with the Egyptologist, Khaled, the best one could hope for. Cairo was hectic but the Trafalgar people who meet you at the airport guide you through the process. The River ...read more Nile Cruise is a highlight. The MS Miriam is an older style ship which is totally renovated and has absolute charm. The staff are fabulous and the food is plentiful.

All of the Egyptian temples, tombs, and museums that are visited are amazing and the history is so interesting. An absolute must is visiting Dendera Temple which this trip provides but is not visited by all tours. The colours and condition of the hieroglyphics was the most amazing thing I have ever seen. Trafalgar ensures that at all times you feel safe. Something to keep in mind is the culture of tipping. There is quite a bit expected for bus drivers, staff on the boat etc so go prepared and you will be fine. I would redo this tour in a heartbeat!
Wow   3 , NSW, Australia, Dec 2019
This was an amazing trip full of fun and excitement. It was a wonderful to see the European landscape in winter, we even visited a snow resort in Slovakia for lunch. It was uplifting in beautiful Vienna, Budapest and Prague but there were also sombre and thought provoking times at Auschwitz and in the Polish ghettoes. The Be My Guest dinner at Schieszl ...read more winery in Budapest was a highlight. If you get the chance don't think twice, just go.
Spain, Morocco and Portugal for Christmas with Trafalgar   2 , New Zealand, Dec 2019
Just completed a dream Christmas holiday in winter! The weather was perfect in Spain, Portugal and Morocco. Our booking with Global Journeys was easy peasy and the staff very quick to respond to our questions and to help us out. Everything went so smoothly.
Disappointing Trafalgar Traditional Europe Tour over Christmas   6 , QLD, Australia, Dec 2019
Booking process and communications with Global Journeys was seamless and very easy and my consultant (Jemma) was always available and very helpful. Would not hesitate to recommend Global Journeys and book with them again in the future.

The Trafalgar Traditional Europe Tour was fast paced and reasonably disappointing overall with little consideration ...read more made in relation to lunches, which had to be purchased mainly at roadside Autogrills in the midst of pushing and shoving through massive queues of tourists and others travelling for the Christmas holiday break. The toilets at these stops were filthy and again having to line up in endless queues left little time to enjoy the break and the meal.

The majority of hotels along the way left much to be desired and were located quite a distance from the town centres and one hotel in particular was very dirty. After travelling most of the day on a bus and checking into your hotel after 6pm on most days, it would be better to offer hotel accommodation in the town so that travellers had some dinner options.

The most disappointing thing was that we were touring over Christmas and the New Year and the itinerary claimed to have organised special activities and meals for those days when the truth is nothing was arranged for us and the Tour Guide simply advised us that this was because everything was closed on Christmas Day so we spent 8 hours on the bus! NYE in Paris was the same with nothing having been organised by Trafalgar and our Hotel having been booked out for private functions so there was nowhere to go for dinner or to toast the NY.

My travel companions were great and thanks to them the tour was bearable but the Trafalgar Tour Director and Driver were absolutely dreadful. They spoke amongst themselves in Italian about the travellers on board and banished some of the travellers who had walking difficulties to the back of the bus so that they didn’t have to assist them! Unfortunately for the Trafalgar employees, some of the travellers spoke Italian and understood everything they said. The cities visited were beautiful but again due the time of year and traffic on the highways about 1/3 of the planned activities were cancelled.
Amazing European Christmas Markets   0 , VIC, Australia, Nov 2019
I would not hesitate to book through Global Journeys again. It was easy and stress free. Our tour was great. Our guide Agnes was wonderful, and nothing was too much trouble for her. She was very knowledgeable, and interesting to listen to. Our hotels were pretty good, although one did not provide free internet, which surprised us. The markets were amazing, ...read more even the shops joined in with the decorations. One thing to be aware of, not all of the Christmas markets were open. One in Munich opened the day we arrived, and Lucerne did not open until December 5th, so we missed that one. Overall, a lovely tour.
Love love love   4 , VIC, Australia, Oct 2019
Just loved this tour. The UK has such an amazing variety of landscapes and cities. Thanks to our tour director Paul. Great driver always helpful. Would highly recommended this tour if time poor like I was, but if you have more time maybe a longer tour as I would have loved more time in each place. But so much squeezed into a short time. Will be back ...read more for more.
Great guide and driver, just too many cathedrals   2 , VIC, Australia, Oct 2019
I have used Global Journeys before and will use them again. Just don't think Trafalgar is for me. Would have liked more variety in sights. Optional dinners quite expensive. I didn't do many of them thankfully, but others that did were unimpressed.
A great tour of Israel     1 , QLD, Australia, Oct 2019
This tour provided all the historical and geographical aspects that I had hoped for. Our guide, Etti, was fantastic and her knowledge gave us an insight into each place we visited. Our group of 22 travellers all got along well and some lasting friendships were made.The Trafalgar itinerary enabled us to visit all the sites at a comfortable pace and the ...read more accommodation was first class.
Great way to see Spain   1 , Australia, Oct 2019
The Trafalgar Spanish Wonder tour was wonderful, exceeding expectations. It became obvious pretty quickly what an utterly professional operation this was. Everything was organised to the nth degree. Hotels were excellent and close to city centres, the specialist guides very informative and entertaining. Fellow travellers were great folk. What made this ...read more particular tour special though, as everyone seemed to agree, was the Tour Director. She was extraordinary. Very knowledgable, friendly, nothing too much trouble for her. Definitely would use both Trafalgar and Global Journeys again.
Covered all the highlights   1 , VIC, Australia, Oct 2019
An exciting tour covering all the highlights. Lisa was an excellent guide and passionate about her country. She went the extra mile to ensure our trip was memorable. Local guides were friendly and knowledgeable.
Results 1-20 of 874