Essential Turkey

  No Trip Reviews No Booking FeesDedicated Consultant
Fully Guided Adventure Small Group 18-30's Island Hopping
Our Price From 1,143 Per Person
Exclusive Savings 412 Per Person
 Trip Length
11 Days
 Trip Starts
Istanbul
 Trip Finishes
Antalya
11 Day Essential Turkey Itinerary (Intrepid)
Countries Explored: Turkey
Trip Operator:
Budget
Affordable
Max. Group Size
16
Pace
Leisurely
Trip Styles
Basix , 18 to 29s
Trip Code
ERYT

Overview

Book online and enjoy exclusive savings on Intrepid's 11 Day Essential Turkey. You’ll be hard-pressed finding a country that can provide all the goods of a cultural crusade – ancient ruins to explore, alluring beaches to swim at, local food to indulge in, lively cities to discover, and plenty of time to travel at your own pace. Get the essential low-down of everything Turkish on this 11-day cultural adventure from Istanbul, through the peaceful Gallipoli peninsula, acclaimed Ephesus, traditional Selcuk, seaside Fethiye through to attractive Antalya. With some south coast cruising, hot springs and...read more ghost towns all thrown in, you’ll be seeing Turkey in a whole new light.

Itinerary

Kick off your Turkish adventure in Istanbul – the continent-straddling metropolis that the Greeks, Romans, Byzantines, Ottomans, and now you – for one night, at least – have called home. You’ve got all of today to explore the capital city before you join up with your travel crew and group leader at an important welcome meeting at 6 pm. Until then, maybe get out into the city streets to see the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Grand Bazaar and stunning Aya Sofya. Your accommodation is right in the thick of the action, so you won’t have to walk far for your first kebab. After the meeting, why not head out on an optional group dinner – a good introduction to some fabulous Turkish cuisine is in a street-side cafe.

Today you’ll take a bus to the shores of Gallipoli (approximately 5.5 hours) – a significant peninsula for Australians and New Zealanders. It is a spot of pilgrimage for many to see the now calm waters and peaceful landscape that reside where such a brutal battle took place during the First World War. Take in the reverence and serenity of the region, and hear stories of heroism and mateship that shone through the tragedies of war. Continue onwards to Canakkale where you’ll spend the night. This city has a young local vibe due to it being a popular university town, so chill on the edge of the Dardanelles with a drink or check out a local band with some of your travel pals. (B)

Today, there's the option this morning to take an excursion out to the ruins of Troy, where you can explore the ancient walls, climb around the 4500-year-old ruins, check out the Trojan horse statue and gaze across the Troad (the Plains of Troy) towards the Dardanelles and the hills of the Gallipoli Peninsula. Later on, drive down the coast to Ayvalik (approximately 3.5 hours). Head on a leader-led orientation tour to discover a town that’s a fascinating mix of Greek and Turkish cultures. Check out the cobblestone backstreets, beautiful houses and lively cafes. You could also hop on a boat from Ayvalik to Cunda Island, which is filled with Greek Orthodox churches and known for its dairy farming. The town is set around a harbour and looks out to the Aegean Islands, so what better way to kick off the evening than with a drink at a harbour-side bar, eating a local Ayvalik tost – think a Turkish-style toasted sandwich with all the trimmings. (B/D)

This morning, take a 4-hour journey by local bus to the traditional farming village of Selcuk. Once arrived, take an orientation walk to get your bearings – a town full of history and packed with artefacts and relics that reflect its past as an ancient fortress. Later you can head out to the nearby ruins of Ephesus and explore the streets once walked by Marc Anthony and Cleopatra. This is one of the best-preserved Greco-Roman classical cities in the world. You’ll be amazed by the sophistication of this ancient city, which had running water, public toilets, in-house heating, a medical institute, a brothel and Roman baths. The theatre is also well preserved, but it’s the magnificent library that’s perhaps the coolest structure. Nearby are the remains of the Temple of Artemis – one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. Chill out tonight in Selcuk, where you could try some Turkish meze and raki for dinner with some of your travel crew. (B)

Travel east inland to Pamukkale (approximately 4 hours), which literally translates to 'cotton castle'. Here, spectacular natural hot springs with a high calcium content cascade over the edge of the cliffs, leaving bright white terraces, or ‘cotton’. It's been used as a spa since the second century BC, and its waters are said to have heaps of healing properties. If you’ve got Cleopatra on the mind after yesterday’s stories, then maybe choose to head out to the ancient city of Hierapolis and take a dip in what used to be her old pool – the transparent water-filled springs sculpted as a gift from Marc to Cleo. You can also check out the other ruins of the city – Hierapolis is known for its abundance of temples and religious structures, and the amphitheatre shouldn’t be missed. (B)

Jump on a local bus bound for Fethiye (approximately 5 hours). Arrive in time to check out this seriously vibrant harbourside city, and if there’s time, catch a dolmus to Saklikent Gorge or explore the back streets of the Old Town of Fethiye and hunt for a bargain. The best thing is – you’ve got the power to decide. Tonight, enjoy a walk by the harbour with your group, try some local seafood and check out the thriving nightlife scene. (B)

This morning, travel to the eerie ghost town of Kayakoy. Wander through deserted stone houses and through the overgrown countryside, and be sure to watch out for the goats. You’ll be setting off on a hike today, so make sure you’re wearing some good shoes. From Kayakoy, continue by foot over the hills to catch a glimpse of the amazing Blue Lagoon in Oludeniz. Once arrived in town, hang out for a bit, quench your thirst and take a swim in the sparkling Mediterranean before jumping back on a local bus and heading back to Kayakoy for tonight. Chill out and enjoy an included dinner in Koyakoy. (B/D)

This morning take a local bus back to Fethiye and then continue on local bus to Kas (approximately 3 hours), which is right near the southernmost point of Turkey. With its whitewashed buildings covered in bougainvillea and cobbled streets, Kas is one of the most attractive towns on the Turkish Mediterranean Coast. Spend an hour or two lunching and wandering the streets, before you transfer an hour down the road to Kekova. After arrival and settling down, follow your leader on an orientation walk around the town. Then it’s a free night to spend as you wish. (B)

Get ready for a fascinating day out cruising and exploring off the Turkish coast. Cruise onwards to the sunken Lycian city of Simena, from where remains of a mysterious civilisation can be viewed, as earthquakes sunk this land almost 2500 years ago. Here you can walk up to nearby Simena Castle, swim in crystal-clear waters, or explore Lycian rock-tombs. More swimming, sunbaking, eating and repeating – cruising the Turkish coast is a dream. Get back to Kekova in the afternoon and enjoy the rest of the day in this idyllic town. (B/L)

After breakfast, hope on a public bus (approximately 3.5 hours) to Antalya – the capital of the Turkish Mediterranean. It’s hard to get a bad photo of Antalya due to it's charming cobblestone streets, historic Old City, vibrant marina and the Taurus Mountains framing the city. Head around town with your group leader, jump on the old Nostalgic Tram or go to Konyaalti Beach for some more time chilling out beachside. If you are in the mood for some last-minute history, check out some of the best museums in the country, or get theatrical at Aspendos ancient city with a beautiful, intact theatre from Roman times. Tonight, why not stake out some food and shisha with your group – Antalya has a thriving nightlife scene, so use it to your advantage. (B)

With no activities planned for today, you are free to leave the accommodation at any time after breakfast, provided you comply with your accommodation’s internal check-out times. (B)

Trip Inclusions

  • Eat, swim, sunbake, repeat – that’s what will happen when you get cruising along Turkey’s Mediterranean coastline. The choice is yours if you’d like to go exploring, or just relax on deck.
  • Thought all the best Roman ruins were in Italy? Think again! Turkey is home to one of the best-preserved classical of Ephesus – so discover it just like Anthony and Cleopatra did 2000 years ago.
  • Take a group hike from the deserted ghost town of Karakoy over the hills to check out the stunning Blue Lagoon – your group leader will know all the spots to go to get the best vantage points.
  • Pay your respects of the battles fought and lives lost in Anzac Cove in Gallipoli. This once war-torn stretch of coastline is now a peaceful reminder of times past.
  • Wade through the scenic hot springs at Pamukkale – pure white calcium deposits that cascade down the cliffs overlooking the town, are said to have magical healing properties.

  • Hotel (5 nights)
  • Guest house (3 nights)
  • Multi-share guest house/hostel (2 nights)

  • 10 Breakfasts included
  • 1 Lunches included
  • 2 Dinners included

  • Accommodation, itinerary and inclusions subject to change.
  • Price is for land, cruise and internal flights as specified. Flights not specified are not included
Play Youtube Video

Availability

Limited Time Sale
Saturday 01 Apr 2023
Tuesday 11 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,540 $1,143
Save $397 Enquire
Saturday 08 Apr 2023
Tuesday 18 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,570
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 22 Apr 2023
Tuesday 02 May 2023
Status
From: $1,600 $1,188
Save $412 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 24 Apr 2023
Thursday 04 May 2023
Status
From: $1,540 $1,143
Save $397 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 06 May 2023
Tuesday 16 May 2023
Status
From: $1,540 $1,143
Save $397 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 13 May 2023
Tuesday 23 May 2023
Status
From: $1,585 $1,177
Save $408 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 20 May 2023
Tuesday 30 May 2023
Status
From: $1,540 $1,143
Save $397 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 05 Jun 2023
Thursday 15 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,600 $1,188
Save $412 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 12 Jun 2023
Thursday 22 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,600 $1,188
Save $412 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 01 Jul 2023
Tuesday 11 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,665 $1,319
Save $346 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 08 Jul 2023
Tuesday 18 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,665 $1,319
Save $346 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 10 Jul 2023
Thursday 20 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,665 $1,319
Save $346 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 15 Jul 2023
Tuesday 25 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,665 $1,319
Save $346 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 17 Jul 2023
Thursday 27 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,665 $1,319
Save $346 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 22 Jul 2023
Tuesday 01 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,665 $1,319
Save $346 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 29 Jul 2023
Tuesday 08 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,665 $1,319
Save $346 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 05 Aug 2023
Tuesday 15 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,665 $1,319
Save $346 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 07 Aug 2023
Thursday 17 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,665 $1,319
Save $346 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 12 Aug 2023
Tuesday 22 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,665 $1,319
Save $346 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 19 Aug 2023
Tuesday 29 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,600 $1,267
Save $333 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 21 Aug 2023
Thursday 31 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,600 $1,267
Save $333 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 02 Sep 2023
Tuesday 12 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,600 $1,346
Save $254 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 09 Sep 2023
Tuesday 19 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,600 $1,346
Save $254 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 16 Sep 2023
Tuesday 26 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,600 $1,346
Save $254 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 23 Sep 2023
Tuesday 03 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,600 $1,346
Save $254 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 30 Sep 2023
Tuesday 10 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,600 $1,346
Save $254 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 07 Oct 2023
Tuesday 17 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,540 $1,296
Save $244 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 14 Oct 2023
Tuesday 24 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,540 $1,296
Save $244 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 16 Oct 2023
Thursday 26 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,540 $1,296
Save $244 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 21 Oct 2023
Tuesday 31 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,540 $1,296
Save $244 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 23 Oct 2023
Thursday 02 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,540 $1,296
Save $244 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 28 Oct 2023
Tuesday 07 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,540 $1,296
Save $244 Enquire
Saturday 30 Mar 2024
Tuesday 09 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 06 Apr 2024
Tuesday 16 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 20 Apr 2024
Tuesday 30 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Monday 22 Apr 2024
Thursday 02 May 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 04 May 2024
Tuesday 14 May 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 11 May 2024
Tuesday 21 May 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 18 May 2024
Tuesday 28 May 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 25 May 2024
Tuesday 04 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 01 Jun 2024
Tuesday 11 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Monday 03 Jun 2024
Thursday 13 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Wednesday 05 Jun 2024
Saturday 15 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 08 Jun 2024
Tuesday 18 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Monday 10 Jun 2024
Thursday 20 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 29 Jun 2024
Tuesday 09 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Monday 01 Jul 2024
Thursday 11 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 06 Jul 2024
Tuesday 16 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Monday 08 Jul 2024
Thursday 18 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 13 Jul 2024
Tuesday 23 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Monday 15 Jul 2024
Thursday 25 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 20 Jul 2024
Tuesday 30 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 27 Jul 2024
Tuesday 06 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 03 Aug 2024
Tuesday 13 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Monday 05 Aug 2024
Thursday 15 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 10 Aug 2024
Tuesday 20 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Monday 12 Aug 2024
Thursday 22 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 17 Aug 2024
Tuesday 27 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Monday 19 Aug 2024
Thursday 29 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 31 Aug 2024
Tuesday 10 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 07 Sep 2024
Tuesday 17 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 14 Sep 2024
Tuesday 24 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 21 Sep 2024
Tuesday 01 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 28 Sep 2024
Tuesday 08 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 05 Oct 2024
Tuesday 15 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 12 Oct 2024
Tuesday 22 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Monday 14 Oct 2024
Thursday 24 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 19 Oct 2024
Tuesday 29 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Monday 21 Oct 2024
Thursday 31 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Saturday 26 Oct 2024
Tuesday 05 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,615 $1,583
Save $32 Enquire
Show more dates...
Key
Definite Departure. Minimum numbers reached for this departure to operate.
Available Departure. Minimum numbers not yet reached, so while this departure is expected to operate, it’s not yet a Definite Departure.
Not Available. Places on this departure are unavailable.
Limited Time Sale. Limited availability at this price. Please enquire for sale pricing on room or cabin upgrades.
Exclusive Global Journeys Sale. Deal Expires 28th February 2023
Note
Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.
Note
Tour & cruises prices are per person. Prices shown have savings applied, are subject to availability and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Prices and trip information are correct at the time at this point in time, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking and are subject to change by Intrepid.

Similar Tours

12 Day Turkey: Hike, Bike & Kayak (Intrepid)

12 Days Istanbul Istanbul

Operated By: Intrepid

From 2,091
Save 598
11 Day Turkey Real Food Adventure (Intrepid)

11 Days Istanbul Istanbul

Operated By: Intrepid

From 2,103
Save 574
10 Day Turkey Family Holiday (Intrepid)

10 Days Istanbul Istanbul

Operated By: Intrepid

From 1,976
Save 555
12 Day Highlights of Dalmatia (Intrepid)

12 Days Dubrovnik Split

Operated By: Intrepid

From 3,287
Save 898