Home > Operators > Intrepid > Intrepid Reviews
Intrepid Travel

Intrepid Travel Reviews

The 87 Intrepid Travel reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Intrepid. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.5
AVG. RATING 4.5 / 5
87 Reviews
5 Star
67%
4 Star
20%
3 Star
9%
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Intrepid

Amazing Egypt Experience   0 , QLD, Australia, Dec 2022
This was an amazing experience. Loved Egypt. Loved Intrepid. Tour Guide Mohammed treated us as all belonging to a family, this made a difference from other less impressive tours guides I have encountered on various groups.
Maria Island Walk     0 , VIC, Australia, Dec 2022
Wanting to go on a walking adventure in between Christmas and New Year, I found an Intrepid/Global Journeys four day walk on Maria Island off the East Coast of Tasmania. What a beautiful part of the world. We were very well looked after with good meals and camping accommodation. The mix of 8 guests was great with everyone chatting as we walked along ...read more the tracks and beaches to reach camp. Nothing was too much trouble for the guides who told interesting stories of the history of the Island and points of interest each day. I loved it all.
Small Group tour covering Jordan/Egypt Highlights     0 , NSW, Australia, Nov 2022
So for a relatively compact tour operated by Intrepid we covered a good deal of distance (more on that in a bit) in this 3 week package (2 combined tours), I'm pleased to say that on the Egyptian leg we managed to fit in all of the (absolutely awesome) anticipated highlights including; The Pyramids, and Sphinxes, of Giza; The Temple of Isis; The River ...read more Nile; Abu Simbel; Karnuk Temple and the Valley of the Kings and a couple of extras sites (El Alamein Commonwealth Grave site/museum & the new Alexandria Library). These last couple of sites, although magnificent in there own right, did leave, in my opinion, us short on time in Cairo making trips to the (world famous) khan al Khali bazaar; the Egyptian Museum and the national Museum of Civilization truncated or missed all together. So to improve I would either cull the Alexandria leg or extend the stay in Cairo by a couple of days.

The most impressive leg of this tour, in my mind, was the 5 days we spent in Jordan. maybe because I had next to zero expectations of this country but it managed to delight with Amman, Wadi Rum and the absolute highlight of the tour (Petra). A stunning location deserving of its place in the "new" seven wonders of the world and far more than the "Treasury Building" which adorns most travel agents walls!

So apart from the slight issue with the time available in Cairo - The itinerary did make it look like there was lots of free-time - Intrepid did deliver. The arranged accommodation was a variety of styles with hotels, tents, a night on a felucca, a homestay, and a desert tent all of which met or bettered expectations (although one of the hotels in Jordan needs some TLC). intrepid's Tour Leaders (one in each country) were locals and extremely knowledgeable and passionate about their respective countries and went out of their way to try to satisfy the groups needs.

Global journey's Rachael McSorley was exemplary. Friendly, helpful and efficient is just what you need to get the trip started on the right foot and Rachael delivered in spades!
Laid back, less hustle and bustle   0 , NSW, Australia, Nov 2022
Even though the places listed on the itinerary were many, this actual tour had way to much free time, causing yourself to indirectly making your own plans quiet often. This was disappointing as we had no knowledge of the areas. Also some hotels were way below standard.
What an experience!   0 , NSW, Australia, Oct 2022
Awesome tour guide, went above & beyond, great personality! The trip was well organised but some of the appointed hotels were ok at best. The itinerary was awesome, educational & sometimes surprising. Overall would recommend.
Jordan and Israel September 2022     3 , VIC, Australia, Sep 2022
Met my expectations on my spiritual and historic journey through the world's greatest monotheistic religions all in one package. Visiting many UNESCO world heritage sites was a bonus. Tour guides were well informed and encouraged comradeship among our group and left no questions unanswered. As a result, we made many friends in the group and home visits ...read more in Amman, Jerusalem and Palestine gave us many FB friends going forward.
Michael Virant.
Sumatra Adventure   1 , QLD, Australia, Sep 2022
Thank you Georgie for your contribution and assistance booking my Intrepid North Sumatran adventure through Global Journeys. It was all I could have wished for - a wonderfully successful 'nature filled adventure'! Dewi our tour leader was really excellent - a happy, considerate and enthusiastic leader who gave her all to make our trip a memorable one. ...read more Her professional consideration to all was obvious. She kept us full aware & informed of the itinerary and important requirements for our following day at our evening meetings. Helpful tips and hints were always on hand. Dewi was outstanding in ensuring our trip was such a happy one. I cannot commend her enough...a very big Thank You to Dewi...and also to our expert guides for the different areas we covered.

Our group of 6 friendly adventurers proved a cohesive group sharing encouragement and support for each other, and all reveling in our adventure together. Intrepid's itinerary covered so much in a short time, but always with respite before the next day's experiences. My adventure holiday provided more that I could have imagines. I will certainly be looking out for Intrepid Tours when next I can travel.
Northern Spain Food Adventure   0 , VIC, Australia, Sep 2022
I booked this Intrepid Tour through Global Journeys and both the tour and booking process were fabulous. Georgie was easy to deal with, and booking process and documentation was clear and easy. The tour itself I would highly recommend- small group, great leader, unexpected highlights and the trip overall exceeded expectations. Will definitely use Global ...read more Journeys and Intrepid for future travel.
Kakoda Trek August 2022     1 , CA, USA, Aug 2022
It was much harder than I thought it would be. I struggled mostly going downhill through the muddy clay and over slippery rocks. It was funny but my porter became very protective holding my hand and guiding my feet on the down hill and over river crossings. Over all I thought it was great. The porters and guides were lovely and took very good care ...read more of us. If I had any critique it would be maybe some additional history about the war and mustard or mayonnaise with lunch wraps :)
I am now a Group Travel Believer   1 , CA, United States, Aug 2022
I had long wanted to visit Scandinavia. My group of Aussies made it a true trip of a lifetime. Spending two nights in each destination made the pace of travel enjoyable and gave us all the time to get a nice feel for each place we visited. Our guides, and we had three, were all very well informed and they made every day fulfilling.
A wonderland on our doorstep     2 , ACT, Australia, Aug 2022
I have just returned from a fabulous Intrepid tour in Queensland. A walking trip in an area that was totally new to me. We had a very friendly group of 8, who all enjoyed the various walks, wine and gin tours, excellent meals and accommodation. We had an experienced guide who was informative, fun and flexible. I cannot fault this trip.
Most enjoyable trip.   0 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2022
Our trip to North Qld made us aware of what a wonderful country we live in. The Atherton Tablelands were a highlight with miles of sugarcane, pineapple, avocado, mango trees and so much more. Max was a terrific guide and took us to some incredibly delicious restaurants, especially the The Red plate, a Korean restaurant in Airlie beach, best spicy pork ...read more ribs I have ever had. Our only gripe would be that we had to spend a day going back to Brisbane from Fraser Island to catch a flight. I think the tour could be redesigned to work it so a plane could go from Harvey Beach to Airlie instead.
This amazing west coast trip ticked all the boxes   0 , NSW, Australia, Jul 2022
I recently did the 10 day trip from Perth to Broome and it was simply amazing. The whole trip didn’t disappoint and that was due to the great group of people we had, but mostly it came down to our awesome tour leaders, Tom and Lucy. They both shared so much local knowledge and education, along with their delicious and healthy meals and their relaxed ...read more and passionate nature made the trip one of the best I have done. And I have been lucky enough to do many organised tours.

The highlights for me would have to be:
* Swimming with the whale sharks and manta rays
* Hiking, swimming and spending time in Karijini National Park
* Seeing the dolphins in Monkey Mia
* Spending time in Coral Bay
* Delicious healthy meals every lunch and dinner
* Beautiful sunsets and sunrises
* Meeting new friends - a great mix of ages, ethnicities and backgrounds to share this amazing trip with.

The accommodation along the way was basic, shared hostels and camping, but always warm showers and given the time spent in the rooms was minimal, it was all good enough for getting a good night sleep. I would definitely recommend this trip for those that like adventurous and rustic style of travelling and are open to anything in between.
Danube River Cycling from Vienna to Budapest   1 , OR, United States, Jul 2022
Thanks to Tracey at Global Journeys and Intrepid for accommodating me as a late entrant in the small group cycling tour along the river Danube. The entire trip arrangements including the eBike and hotels were flawless. The details provided were accurate for a distant traveler. The group of 15 had riders from a half-dozen countries. The ride leaders ...read more (2 of them) were experienced and made it a fun ride. Had a great time.
Overland Adventure   0 , QLD, Australia, Jun 2022
I received excellent service from Hannah and Global Journeys, and my adventure holiday with Intrepid was a complete success and much enjoyed. Thanks!
Fantastic Kimberley Experience   0 , VIC, Australia, May 2022
This trip with Intrepid and Kimberley Wild Expeditions far surpassed my expectations. We had fantastic tour guides, Clancy and Jasmine (Jaz). These two young people fed us restaurant quality meals in bush settings. They were informative and entertaining. The places we saw were awe inspiring, the weather was kind to us and the colours of the Kimberley ...read more sensational . Lots of beautiful gorges to explore and cool deep pools to swim in. I can decide whether the highlight was bobbing around in the water at Lake Argyle, staying afloat with a noodle whilst sipping champagne or flying over and then walking through the Bungle Bungles.
Amazing tour through the Kimberleys WA.   0 , WA, Australia, Sep 2021
We had a wonderful time in Western Australia’s Kimberley. Our tour guides were gracious, fun and went out of their way to make sure that every person on the tour had a great experience. Highly recommend this tour! It is challenging, the walks/ climbs/ clambers into the Gorges were at times difficult, but the guides did everything possible to help us ...read more through. Evenings spent around the table, over a glass of wine, and the meals that were provided was just delicious and the variety outstanding. Thank you Wild Kimberley, it was the tour of a life time. The mix of people were wonderful and we all got on extremely well, considering the length of the tour and we all came away very good friends. Georgie and the team at Global Journeys were extremely prompt in answering all our queries and made the booking so easy. Thank you Global Journeys, Intrepid and Wild Kimberley for a once in a lifetime experience.
8 Day Brisbane to Cairns Northbound     0 , SA, Australia, Jun 2021
The trip was fantastic! The main events of each stop being Fraser Island, the Whitsundays and the great barrier reef were all wonderful. The tour operators for each of these day trips were of a very high standard. Our two tour guides Monte and Conrad were amazing kind thoughtful guys. They organised and joined us for many memorable meals. My only criticism ...read more is that they didn't give us any commentary on the places we were travelling through. I always enjoy hearing all the interesting information about the places we were travelling through but this didn't happen.
Great tour of Tasmania   0 , VIC, Australia, Apr 2021
This was a really fab trip seeing the highlights of Tasmania. Our tour guide Tim was excellent, had loads of interesting facts and clearly knew Tasmania inside out! The scenery is beautiful and everything was handled well without any stress. Wound recommend!
Amazing trip!!   1 , Australia, Dec 2020
Great tour with a great group of people! Sean was an amazing tour guide - very knowledgeable and friendly. We camped underneath the stars every night in comfortable swags. Would highly recommend this trip!
Results 1-20 of 87