Home > Operators > Intrepid > Intrepid Reviews
Intrepid Travel

Intrepid Travel Reviews

The 81 Intrepid Travel reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Intrepid Travel. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.5
AVG. RATING 4.5 / 5
81 Reviews
5 Star
68%
4 Star
19%
3 Star
9%
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Intrepid

Sumatra Adventure   0 , QLD, Australia, Sep 2022
Thank you Georgie for your contribution and assistance booking my Intrepid North Sumatran adventure through Global Journeys. It was all I could have wished for - a wonderfully successful 'nature filled adventure'! Dewi our tour leader was really excellent - a happy, considerate and enthusiastic leader who gave her all to make our trip a memorable one. ...read more Her professional consideration to all was obvious. She kept us full aware & informed of the itinerary and important requirements for our following day at our evening meetings. Helpful tips and hints were always on hand. Dewi was outstanding in ensuring our trip was such a happy one. I cannot commend her enough...a very big Thank You to Dewi...and also to our expert guides for the different areas we covered.

Our group of 6 friendly adventurers proved a cohesive group sharing encouragement and support for each other, and all reveling in our adventure together. Intrepid's itinerary covered so much in a short time, but always with respite before the next day's experiences. My adventure holiday provided more that I could have imagines. I will certainly be looking out for Intrepid Tours when next I can travel.
Northern Spain Food Adventure   0 , VIC, Australia, Sep 2022
I booked this Intrepid Tour through Global Journeys and both the tour and booking process were fabulous. Georgie was easy to deal with, and booking process and documentation was clear and easy. The tour itself I would highly recommend- small group, great leader, unexpected highlights and the trip overall exceeded expectations. Will definitely use Global ...read more Journeys and Intrepid for future travel.
Kakoda Trek August 2022     0 , CA, USA, Aug 2022
It was much harder than I thought it would be. I struggled mostly going downhill through the muddy clay and over slippery rocks. It was funny but my porter became very protective holding my hand and guiding my feet on the down hill and over river crossings. Over all I thought it was great. The porters and guides were lovely and took very good care ...read more of us. If I had any critique it would be maybe some additional history about the war and mustard or mayonnaise with lunch wraps :)
I am now a Group Travel Believer   0 , CA, United States, Aug 2022
I had long wanted to visit Scandinavia. My group of Aussies made it a true trip of a lifetime. Spending two nights in each destination made the pace of travel enjoyable and gave us all the time to get a nice feel for each place we visited. Our guides, and we had three, were all very well informed and they made every day fulfilling.
A wonderland on our doorstep     0 , ACT, Australia, Aug 2022
I have just returned from a fabulous Intrepid tour in Queensland. A walking trip in an area that was totally new to me. We had a very friendly group of 8, who all enjoyed the various walks, wine and gin tours, excellent meals and accommodation. We had an experienced guide who was informative, fun and flexible. I cannot fault this trip.
Most enjoyable trip.   0 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2022
Our trip to North Qld made us aware of what a wonderful country we live in. The Atherton Tablelands were a highlight with miles of sugarcane, pineapple, avocado, mango trees and so much more. Max was a terrific guide and took us to some incredibly delicious restaurants, especially the The Red plate, a Korean restaurant in Airlie beach, best spicy pork ...read more ribs I have ever had. Our only gripe would be that we had to spend a day going back to Brisbane from Fraser Island to catch a flight. I think the tour could be redesigned to work it so a plane could go from Harvey Beach to Airlie instead.
This amazing west coast trip ticked all the boxes   0 , NSW, Australia, Jul 2022
I recently did the 10 day trip from Perth to Broome and it was simply amazing. The whole trip didn’t disappoint and that was due to the great group of people we had, but mostly it came down to our awesome tour leaders, Tom and Lucy. They both shared so much local knowledge and education, along with their delicious and healthy meals and their relaxed ...read more and passionate nature made the trip one of the best I have done. And I have been lucky enough to do many organised tours.

The highlights for me would have to be:
* Swimming with the whale sharks and manta rays
* Hiking, swimming and spending time in Karijini National Park
* Seeing the dolphins in Monkey Mia
* Spending time in Coral Bay
* Delicious healthy meals every lunch and dinner
* Beautiful sunsets and sunrises
* Meeting new friends - a great mix of ages, ethnicities and backgrounds to share this amazing trip with.

The accommodation along the way was basic, shared hostels and camping, but always warm showers and given the time spent in the rooms was minimal, it was all good enough for getting a good night sleep. I would definitely recommend this trip for those that like adventurous and rustic style of travelling and are open to anything in between.
Danube River Cycling from Vienna to Budapest   0 , OR, United States, Jul 2022
Thanks to Tracey at Global Journeys and Intrepid for accommodating me as a late entrant in the small group cycling tour along the river Danube. The entire trip arrangements including the eBike and hotels were flawless. The details provided were accurate for a distant traveler. The group of 15 had riders from a half-dozen countries. The ride leaders ...read more (2 of them) were experienced and made it a fun ride. Had a great time.
Overland Adventure   0 , QLD, Australia, Jun 2022
I received excellent service from Hannah and Global Journeys, and my adventure holiday with Intrepid was a complete success and much enjoyed. Thanks!
Fantastic Kimberley Experience   0 , VIC, Australia, May 2022
This trip with Intrepid and Kimberley Wild Expeditions far surpassed my expectations. We had fantastic tour guides, Clancy and Jasmine (Jaz). These two young people fed us restaurant quality meals in bush settings. They were informative and entertaining. The places we saw were awe inspiring, the weather was kind to us and the colours of the Kimberley ...read more sensational . Lots of beautiful gorges to explore and cool deep pools to swim in. I can decide whether the highlight was bobbing around in the water at Lake Argyle, staying afloat with a noodle whilst sipping champagne or flying over and then walking through the Bungle Bungles.
Amazing tour through the Kimberleys WA.   0 , WA, Australia, Sep 2021
We had a wonderful time in Western Australia’s Kimberley. Our tour guides were gracious, fun and went out of their way to make sure that every person on the tour had a great experience. Highly recommend this tour! It is challenging, the walks/ climbs/ clambers into the Gorges were at times difficult, but the guides did everything possible to help us ...read more through. Evenings spent around the table, over a glass of wine, and the meals that were provided was just delicious and the variety outstanding. Thank you Wild Kimberley, it was the tour of a life time. The mix of people were wonderful and we all got on extremely well, considering the length of the tour and we all came away very good friends. Georgie and the team at Global Journeys were extremely prompt in answering all our queries and made the booking so easy. Thank you Global Journeys, Intrepid and Wild Kimberley for a once in a lifetime experience.
8 Day Brisbane to Cairns Northbound     0 , SA, Australia, Jun 2021
The trip was fantastic! The main events of each stop being Fraser Island, the Whitsundays and the great barrier reef were all wonderful. The tour operators for each of these day trips were of a very high standard. Our two tour guides Monte and Conrad were amazing kind thoughtful guys. They organised and joined us for many memorable meals. My only criticism ...read more is that they didn't give us any commentary on the places we were travelling through. I always enjoy hearing all the interesting information about the places we were travelling through but this didn't happen.
Great tour of Tasmania   0 , VIC, Australia, Apr 2021
This was a really fab trip seeing the highlights of Tasmania. Our tour guide Tim was excellent, had loads of interesting facts and clearly knew Tasmania inside out! The scenery is beautiful and everything was handled well without any stress. Wound recommend!
Amazing trip!!   1 , Australia, Dec 2020
Great tour with a great group of people! Sean was an amazing tour guide - very knowledgeable and friendly. We camped underneath the stars every night in comfortable swags. Would highly recommend this trip!
Lovely tour in the Southwest outback     0 , Netherlands, Mar 2020
With an enthusiastic tour leader (& excellent cook and driver) Sean, 19 people from different countries had a wonderful trip from Perth to Esperance and back. It was the first time I hiked in a ‘swag’, and I wish I had discovered this type of sleeping equipment (50 or so;)) years ago... I’ll be back!
A comfort of Egypt and Jordan   1 , QLD, Australia, Feb 2020
A great group of 12 travellers from Switzerland, Canada, USA, England and Australia varying in ages from late 20's to late 60's. We travelled in early March starting in Egypt for 11 days then Jordan and found the temperatures cool to moderate and weather fine except for a once in 100 year storm which passed through. Accommodation was high three star ...read more and in some places four star, always clean and comfortable with breakfasts included.

The sights and history in Egypt were fantastic, the pyramids, Sphinx, Valley of the Kings, Abu Simbel and hot air balloon ride all lived up to expectations. The tombs and temples were awe inspiring. even if I couldn't remember all the dates and names of the Pharaohs.

The desert scenery in Wadi Rum, Jordan was stark and had a special kind of beauty and the tent camp was comfortable with a great dinner and breakfast served by the local Bedouins. There were some tents with ensuite bathrooms but our tour had tents without and shared bathroom amenities which were clean and adequate (only problem was there were no towels provided).

Our group never got to Petra or the Dead Sea as we got caught in the middle of the COVID19 outbreak and had to leave Jordan at short notice when they decided to close their borders. This happened on a Saturday morning and this is when we had problems as we needed to re-book flights and there was no emergency contact number for Global Journeys.

We tried emails but as the office is not open on weekends we got no reply. We feel that unless an emergency contact is provided in future we would hesitate in booking through Global Journeys again. This is a shame as we have had wonderful service and the agent we have dealt with has been extremely helpful and prompt in communicating with us in relation to any queries we have had before the trip.
Could not have asked for more!     0 , Australia, Dec 2019
I had left the booking of my trip over the new year till quite late, however the communication from Global Journeys and Intrepid meant that it was all booked over the Christmas period and the trip took place. I had trouble choosing between 'Best of Morocco' and 'Morocco Uncovered' as they both offered an area that I wanted to go to. I went with 'Best ...read more of Morocco' and loved it. Many of the areas we went, we were the only tourists. We were fortunate to have not only a small group of people yet a great group that got along really well.

Mustafa our driver and Khalid our tour guide could not be faulted, they really added to the enjoyment of our experience. Khalid's knowledge of such a vast array of areas was amazing, his passion for his job and his English, including his ability to have a bit of fun was fabulous. He made sure that we were his priority in all areas and his attention to detail was highlighted by all. He could not do enough for all of us.

The food was great and all of the accommodation gave us something to talk about in a positive way. The guest house family were lovely and very accommodating and I loved the smaller towns we visited where we were the only tourists to be seen, playing with the children and walking through the farms. I had the most amazing time in Morocco and this being my first group tour was of concern to me. I honestly don't think it could have gone any better.
Intrepid's backpacking adventure through Jordan, Israel and the Palestine territories   0 , New Zealand, Oct 2019
The trip overall was fantastic, experiencing the middle eastern culture up close in Wadi Rum, to exploring the ruins of Petra, and finally experiencing the amazing city of Jerusalem, a city that offers history, culture and religion, as well as having a modern feel.
Easy trip through a rough country     2 , QLD, Australia, Oct 2019
The tour was organised very well by our tour guide Rabia. It was surprising to see how rough/third world parts of Morocco are, although it is a lovely country. It really felt like you were travelling through a bunch of countries - from deserts to mountains, big cities to nomad tents. The most surprising place on the tour was the Emerald city. A cross ...read more between Morocco and Switzerland with brilliant views. I have to commend Intrepid on taking us to very remote communities and experiencing something really authentic. This is something we would have never experienced if travelling on our own.

While most of the tour was well paced, there were 2 days towards the end where you spent ~7 hours per day on the bus, which was annoying. The other let downs were the accommodation in Casablanca (the hotel was terrible), and the local guide in Marrakesh (was not a local but from Fez, and spent most of the walking tour talking about her divorce). Otherwise everything else was great!
Well organised tour   0 , NSW, Australia, Oct 2019
Booking with Global Journeys was easy. Intrepid are a great company to travel with. Their tour leaders are supportive and know how to organise a trip! It was flawless. Great local guides - this trip had a bit of everything and it was a great trip for a glimpse of Peru. Very fast paced and active tour!
Results 1-20 of 81