Home > Operators > Intrepid > Intrepid Reviews
Intrepid Travel

Intrepid Tours Reviews

The 70 Intrepid Travel reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Intrepid Travel. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.4
AVG. RATING 4.4 / 5
70 REVIEWS
5 Star
67%
4 Star
17%
3 Star
10%
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Intrepid

8 Day Brisbane to Cairns Northbound      0 , SA, Australia, Jun 2021
The trip was fantastic! The main events of each stop being Fraser Island, the Whitsundays and the great barrier reef were all wonderful. The tour operators for each of these day trips were of a very high standard. Our two tour guides Monte and Conrad were amazing kind thoughtful guys. They organised and joined us for many memorable meals. My only criticism ...read more is that they didn't give us any commentary on the places we were travelling through. I always enjoy hearing all the interesting information about the places we were travelling through but this didn't happen.
Great tour of Tasmania     0 , VIC, Australia, Apr 2021
This was a really fab trip seeing the highlights of Tasmania. Our tour guide Tim was excellent, had loads of interesting facts and clearly knew Tasmania inside out! The scenery is beautiful and everything was handled well without any stress. Wound recommend!
Amazing trip!!     1 , Australia, Dec 2020
Great tour with a great group of people! Sean was an amazing tour guide - very knowledgeable and friendly. We camped underneath the stars every night in comfortable swags. Would highly recommend this trip!
Lovely tour in the Southwest outback      0 , Netherlands, Mar 2020
With an enthusiastic tour leader (& excellent cook and driver) Sean, 19 people from different countries had a wonderful trip from Perth to Esperance and back. It was the first time I hiked in a ‘swag’, and I wish I had discovered this type of sleeping equipment (50 or so;)) years ago... I’ll be back!
A comfort of Egypt and Jordan     1 , QLD, Australia, Feb 2020
A great group of 12 travellers from Switzerland, Canada, USA, England and Australia varying in ages from late 20's to late 60's. We travelled in early March starting in Egypt for 11 days then Jordan and found the temperatures cool to moderate and weather fine except for a once in 100 year storm which passed through. Accommodation was high three star ...read more and in some places four star, always clean and comfortable with breakfasts included. The sights and history in Egypt were fantastic, the pyramids, Sphinx, Valley of the Kings, Abu Simbel and hot air balloon ride all lived up to expectations. The tombs and temples were awe inspiring. even if I couldn't remember all the dates and names of the Pharaohs. The desert scenery in Wadi Rum, Jordan was stark and had a special kind of beauty and the tent camp was comfortable with a great dinner and breakfast served by the local Bedouins. There were some tents with ensuite bathrooms but our tour had tents without and shared bathroom amenities which were clean and adequate (only problem was there were no towels provided). Our group never got to Petra or the Dead Sea as we got caught in the middle of the COVID19 outbreak and had to leave Jordan at short notice when they decided to close their borders. This happened on a Saturday morning and this is when we had problems as we needed to re-book flights and there was no emergency contact number for Global Journeys. We tried emails but as the office is not open on weekends we got no reply. We feel that unless an emergency contact is provided in future we would hesitate in booking through Global Journeys again. This is a shame as we have had wonderful service and the agent we have dealt with has been extremely helpful and prompt in communicating with us in relation to any queries we have had before the trip.
Could not have asked for more!      0 , Australia, Dec 2019
I had left the booking of my trip over the new year till quite late, however the communication from Global Journeys and Intrepid meant that it was all booked over the Christmas period and the trip took place. I had trouble choosing between 'Best of Morocco' and 'Morocco Uncovered' as they both offered an area that I wanted to go to. I went with 'Best ...read more of Morocco' and loved it. Many of the areas we went, we were the only tourists. We were fortunate to have not only a small group of people yet a great group that got along really well. Mustafa our driver and Khalid our tour guide could not be faulted, they really added to the enjoyment of our experience. Khalid's knowledge of such a vast array of areas was amazing, his passion for his job and his English, including his ability to have a bit of fun was fabulous. He made sure that we were his priority in all areas and his attention to detail was highlighted by all. He could not do enough for all of us. The food was great and all of the accommodation gave us something to talk about in a positive way. The guest house family were lovely and very accommodating and I loved the smaller towns we visited where we were the only tourists to be seen, playing with the children and walking through the farms. I had the most amazing time in Morocco and this being my first group tour was of concern to me. I honestly don't think it could have gone any better.
Intrepid's backpacking adventure through Jordan, Israel and the Palestine territories     0 , New Zealand, Oct 2019
The trip overall was fantastic, experiencing the middle eastern culture up close in Wadi Rum, to exploring the ruins of Petra, and finally experiencing the amazing city of Jerusalem, a city that offers history, culture and religion, as well as having a modern feel.
Easy trip through a rough country      1 , QLD, Australia, Oct 2019
The tour was organised very well by our tour guide Rabia. It was surprising to see how rough/third world parts of Morocco are, although it is a lovely country. It really felt like you were travelling through a bunch of countries - from deserts to mountains, big cities to nomad tents. The most surprising place on the tour was the Emerald city. A cross ...read more between Morocco and Switzerland with brilliant views. I have to commend Intrepid on taking us to very remote communities and experiencing something really authentic. This is something we would have never experienced if travelling on our own. While most of the tour was well paced, there were 2 days towards the end where you spent ~7 hours per day on the bus, which was annoying. The other let downs were the accommodation in Casablanca (the hotel was terrible), and the local guide in Marrakesh (was not a local but from Fez, and spent most of the walking tour talking about her divorce). Otherwise everything else was great!
Well organised tour     0 , NSW, Australia, Oct 2019
Booking with Global Journeys was easy. Intrepid are a great company to travel with. Their tour leaders are supportive and know how to organise a trip! It was flawless. Great local guides - this trip had a bit of everything and it was a great trip for a glimpse of Peru. Very fast paced and active tour!
Marvellous Central Asia Explorer     1 , New Zealand, Oct 2019
The trip was marvellous. Everything worked extremely well – no problems with flights, visas, or anything else. We felt very safe the whole time. Both countries were amazing in their own right & we were impressed with Intrepid. Our photos are incredible. The 4 "Ms" Mosques, Minarets, Madrasah & Mausoleums - all beautiful. Our guides in each country ...read more (Nastacia in Kyrgyzstan and Ravshan in Uzbekistan) were completely different but both very good – we have only praise for both of them. They were helpful, patient, informative & looked after the group very well. All the accommodation was good and the transport; van / bus / train – all worked very well. We would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone - any age group.
Moroccan Highlights      0 , NSW, Australia, Oct 2019
Morocco is well worth the effort. The Intrepid tour was my second with them (India last year). Arrived a day early for jet lag and to see the Mosque and Rick’s Cafe in Casablanca. In Marrakech no need as you pretty much see it all. Lots of sights and colours. A good range of accommodation (Basic level tour). Recommend doing your own thing with the food ...read more as often as possible. The street food is delicious and cooked in front of you. Restaurants are the same all over the world. Plenty of free time. Perhaps too much. It was a singles tour which I am not sure I would do again.
Marvelous tour of splendid Spain     0 , WA, Australia, Sep 2019
I enjoyed Intrepid's Classic Spain tour, but the absolute best part was the time spent in southern Spain - Granada, Ronda, Cordoba are now on my list of favourite places in world.
Amazing Inca Trail and Amazon      0 , QLD, Australia, Sep 2019
The most amazing trip. The whole trip was so well organised. The price was definitely worth it. 11 flights in total. Bus rides. Boat rides. Train rides. Hiking. Camping. Amazing food. Amazing group. The only thing I'd suggest is to put in the itinerary about the flight from Lima to Cusco as it wasn't clear. I panicked thinking I had forgotten to book ...read more a flight. I'd also suggest to put on a guide about tipping and gratitudes to the guides/tour leaders etc as it was confusing at times and really needs to be put into a spending budget. The restaurants were fantastic that we were taken to but there were some restaurants that were quite expensive and not necessarily needed. I think to eat in some local places that give you an idea of the culture would be better than eating in a 5 star restaurant. Overall, the best holiday ever. Would recommend this to anyone. Thank you for being our travel agent for this. I would definitely book another holiday through Global Journeys.
Great Combo of Tour and Free Time     0 , United States, Sep 2019
Our Intrepid vacation, booked through Global Journeys, provided transportation, accommodations, a tour leader, and plenty of free time to plan our own activities. We liked that it wasn't travel on our own, and it wasn't a fully guided tour. It was in between. Our tour leader Ivan was great. The group size of 10 was good. We felt able to get close to ...read more the local culture. Global Journeys made the booking easy.
Great overview adventure of Central Amaerica     0 , NV, United States, Sep 2019
This was an amazing way to get a good picture of the cultures, people, history, flora, fauna, geology of Central America. It's BASIX travel but have abilities to upgrade at times.
Turkey     0 , VIC, Australia, Sep 2019
The tour was good, the company most pleasant but the hotels were not good and for a little extra felt Intrepid could have done better. The guide, although a nice enough chap, was more interested in sleeping than in giving us any information. Having said that he did arrange the travel on buses etc. very well. All the above but just the same had a great ...read more time. Many thanks.
10 day 4WD camping trip from Darwin to Broome     0 , Netherlands, Jul 2019
This trip was a real adventure. I am from the Caribbean. Knowing that many Australians themselves have not visited this region, for the simple fact that you can't if you don't own & drive a 4WD car, made this trip extra special. Highlights: the magical landscape of the Kimberley. The endless savannah-like grass country with low trees. The literally ...read more thousands of baobab trees. Instead of sleeping in tents, at our tour leader's suggestion I chose to sleep outside, with a swag & sleeping bag: the most beautiful, velvety black nights with thousands of stars were my reward. The Gibb River Road; more than 700 kilometers of gut wrenching corrugated road, but so worth it being able to drive this iconic Australian road! Ellenbrae Station was lovely and Larissa's story about daily life on a station was very interesting. Their scones were utterly delicious :) Do not pass this stop. The rust-red colour of the Kimberley earth, so beautiful. The time of travel (dry season) proved to be fine for this trip. Most accommodations (shared showers and toilets) were good and clean (in my opinion the showers at our camping place at Bartnett Station could be updated however). I was lucky to be part of a nice group of people, a good mix of ages, and everyone helping and cooperating, doing whatever was needed to maintain a smooth daily routine. Our guide Andy was awesome. Very responsible and a very good cook too! One tip: please provide guests with the phone number of their guide! On the morning of pick-up I almost missed my bus! I was there on time, but as my bus arrived about 5 minutes late, when I asked around at another bus, about 50 meters away, apparently my own bus arrived and then left! Fortunately it came back 20 minutes later (having two pickup times at this point) and I could get on it. There was no way of contacting my guide and at this early hour the office of Global Journeys was still closed, with nobody there to answer an email neither. I would definitely use Global Journeys again in the future.
Great trip through the Kimberleys     0 , NSW , Australia, Jul 2019
All in all - great trip, no complaints. Expectations meet. Some of my bucket list things ticked. The guide-driver & cook were really nice people. Enjoyed them heaps. Experienced, knowledgeable about the area, and the food was really good and plentiful. All the staff at the Travellers Lodge in Broome were also at their best to make sure I was happy with ...read more everything. Luckily we had a nice bunch of people in the group. Where some of the travellers did more than their fair share of work to make it a success. Itinerary was full on as expected. Lots of walking and climbing into various gorges. Swimming holes, cruises, scenery, sunsets etc were all great. My best was flying over the Bungle Bungles and the water cruises. Staying in the "permanent" tents at caravan parks was a bonus and made it that little bit easier and enjoyable after a long day of activities. Staying 2 nights at the one place a couple of times was great too - just not have to pack up every day. Thanks for making my booking - stay - trip etc so easy. Loved it. Had the best time.
Great trip package to Spain, Portugal and Morocco. Diverse and fascinating.     0 , NSW, Australia, Jul 2019
We had a great trip as usual with Intrepid Travels... Small group, seasoned travellers who were happy to share their travel experiences and enjoy the adventures along the way. Our tour guides were great especially Hischam and Khalid... So open and honest in their views about their culture and traditions that we never had any worries to blend in and ...read more observe their day to day living in the limited time we were there. We had a ball and left enriched with new knowledge to last our lifetime.
Great tour of Mongolia      0 , QLD, Australia, May 2019
This was a fantastic tour. We were able to see various aspects of Mongolian culture and lifestyles and experience life with nomadic Mongolians. Our tour guide was knowledeable, energetic and helpful. A really enjoyable experience which will provide lasting memories.
Results 1-20 of 70

Starting & Ending