Intrepid Travel Reviews

Intrepid
4.4 out of 5
62 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Intrepid. Every review has been verified.

     
“Easy trip through a rough country”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2019 View Photo

The tour was organised very well by our tour guide Rabia. It was surprising to see how rough/third world parts of Morocco are, although it is a lovely country. It really felt like you were travelling through a bunch of countries - from deserts to mountains, big cities to nomad tents. The most surprising place on the tour was the Emerald city. A cross between Morocco and Switzerland with brilliant views. I have to commend Intrepid on taking us to very remote communities and experiencing something really authentic. This is something we would have never experienced if travelling on our own.

While most of the tour was well paced, there were 2 days towards the end where you spent ~7 hours per day on the bus, which was annoying. The other let downs were the accommodation in Casablanca (the hotel was terrible), and the local guide in Marrakesh (was not a local but from Fez, and spent most of the walking tour talking about her divorce). Otherwise everything else was great!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Well organised tour”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2019

Booking with Global Journeys was easy. Intrepid are a great company to travel with. Their tour leaders are supportive and know how to organise a trip! It was flawless. Great local guides - this trip had a bit of everything and it was a great trip for a glimpse of Peru. Very fast paced and active tour!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Marvellous Central Asia Explorer”
- New Zealand Oct 2019

The trip was marvellous. Everything worked extremely well – no problems with flights, visas, or anything else. We felt very safe the whole time. Both countries were amazing in their own right & we were impressed with Intrepid. Our photos are incredible. The 4 "Ms" Mosques, Minarets, Madrasah & Mausoleums - all beautiful.

Our guides in each country (Nastacia in Kyrgyzstan and Ravshan in Uzbekistan) were completely different but both very good – we have only praise for both of them. They were helpful, patient, informative & looked after the group very well. All the accommodation was good and the transport; van / bus / train – all worked very well.

We would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone - any age group.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Moroccan Highlights ”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2019 View Photo

Morocco is well worth the effort. The Intrepid tour was my second with them (India last year). Arrived a day early for jet lag and to see the Mosque and Rick’s Cafe in Casablanca. In Marrakech no need as you pretty much see it all. Lots of sights and colours. A good range of accommodation (Basic level tour). Recommend doing your own thing with the food as often as possible. The street food is delicious and cooked in front of you. Restaurants are the same all over the world. Plenty of free time. Perhaps too much. It was a singles tour which I am not sure I would do again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Marvelous tour of splendid Spain”
- WA, Australia Sep 2019

I enjoyed Intrepid's Classic Spain tour, but the absolute best part was the time spent in southern Spain - Granada, Ronda, Cordoba are now on my list of favourite places in world.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing Inca Trail and Amazon ”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

The most amazing trip. The whole trip was so well organised. The price was definitely worth it. 11 flights in total. Bus rides. Boat rides. Train rides. Hiking. Camping. Amazing food. Amazing group. The only thing I'd suggest is to put in the itinerary about the flight from Lima to Cusco as it wasn't clear. I panicked thinking I had forgotten to book a flight. I'd also suggest to put on a guide about tipping and gratitudes to the guides/tour leaders etc as it was confusing at times and really needs to be put into a spending budget.

The restaurants were fantastic that we were taken to but there were some restaurants that were quite expensive and not necessarily needed. I think to eat in some local places that give you an idea of the culture would be better than eating in a 5 star restaurant. Overall, the best holiday ever. Would recommend this to anyone. Thank you for being our travel agent for this. I would definitely book another holiday through Global Journeys.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great Combo of Tour and Free Time”
- United States Sep 2019

Our Intrepid vacation, booked through Global Journeys, provided transportation, accommodations, a tour leader, and plenty of free time to plan our own activities. We liked that it wasn't travel on our own, and it wasn't a fully guided tour. It was in between. Our tour leader Ivan was great. The group size of 10 was good. We felt able to get close to the local culture. Global Journeys made the booking easy.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great overview adventure of Central Amaerica”
- NV, United States Sep 2019

This was an amazing way to get a good picture of the cultures, people, history, flora, fauna, geology of Central America. It's BASIX travel but have abilities to upgrade at times.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Turkey”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2019

The tour was good, the company most pleasant but the hotels were not good and for a little extra felt Intrepid could have done better. The guide, although a nice enough chap, was more interested in sleeping than in giving us any information. Having said that he did arrange the travel on buses etc. very well. All the above but just the same had a great time. Many thanks.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“10 day 4WD camping trip from Darwin to Broome”
- Netherlands Jul 2019

This trip was a real adventure. I am from the Caribbean. Knowing that many Australians themselves have not visited this region, for the simple fact that you can't if you don't own & drive a 4WD car, made this trip extra special. Highlights: the magical landscape of the Kimberley. The endless savannah-like grass country with low trees. The literally thousands of baobab trees. Instead of sleeping in tents, at our tour leader's suggestion I chose to sleep outside, with a swag & sleeping bag: the most beautiful, velvety black nights with thousands of stars were my reward. The Gibb River Road; more than 700 kilometers of gut wrenching corrugated road, but so worth it being able to drive this iconic Australian road! Ellenbrae Station was lovely and Larissa's story about daily life on a station was very interesting. Their scones were utterly delicious :) Do not pass this stop. The rust-red colour of the Kimberley earth, so beautiful.

The time of travel (dry season) proved to be fine for this trip. Most accommodations (shared showers and toilets) were good and clean (in my opinion the showers at our camping place at Bartnett Station could be updated however). I was lucky to be part of a nice group of people, a good mix of ages, and everyone helping and cooperating, doing whatever was needed to maintain a smooth daily routine. Our guide Andy was awesome. Very responsible and a very good cook too!

One tip: please provide guests with the phone number of their guide! On the morning of pick-up I almost missed my bus! I was there on time, but as my bus arrived about 5 minutes late, when I asked around at another bus, about 50 meters away, apparently my own bus arrived and then left! Fortunately it came back 20 minutes later (having two pickup times at this point) and I could get on it. There was no way of contacting my guide and at this early hour the office of Global Journeys was still closed, with nobody there to answer an email neither. I would definitely use Global Journeys again in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip through the Kimberleys”
- NSW , Australia Jul 2019

All in all - great trip, no complaints. Expectations meet. Some of my bucket list things ticked. The guide-driver & cook were really nice people. Enjoyed them heaps. Experienced, knowledgeable about the area, and the food was really good and plentiful. All the staff at the Travellers Lodge in Broome were also at their best to make sure I was happy with everything. Luckily we had a nice bunch of people in the group. Where some of the travellers did more than their fair share of work to make it a success.

Itinerary was full on as expected. Lots of walking and climbing into various gorges. Swimming holes, cruises, scenery, sunsets etc were all great. My best was flying over the Bungle Bungles and the water cruises. Staying in the "permanent" tents at caravan parks was a bonus and made it that little bit easier and enjoyable after a long day of activities. Staying 2 nights at the one place a couple of times was great too - just not have to pack up every day. Thanks for making my booking - stay - trip etc so easy. Loved it. Had the best time.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip package to Spain, Portugal and Morocco. Diverse and fascinating.”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

We had a great trip as usual with Intrepid Travels... Small group, seasoned travellers who were happy to share their travel experiences and enjoy the adventures along the way. Our tour guides were great especially Hischam and Khalid... So open and honest in their views about their culture and traditions that we never had any worries to blend in and observe their day to day living in the limited time we were there. We had a ball and left enriched with new knowledge to last our lifetime.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour of Mongolia”
- QLD, Australia May 2019 View Photo

This was a fantastic tour. We were able to see various aspects of Mongolian culture and lifestyles and experience life with nomadic Mongolians. Our tour guide was knowledeable, energetic and helpful. A really enjoyable experience which will provide lasting memories.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Not as good as we expected compared with other Safari tours”
- QLD, Australia May 2019 1 Helpful Vote

The accommodation listed in the tour was below the expectations and the lodge in Nata that was confirmed one week before the date was changed to a worse lodge (Getwa). We did the same kind of safari tour in Namibia and all listed accommodations with Chameleon tour were between 2.5 to 3.5 stars, they were much superior and newer than Intrepid Adventure Botswana.

It cannot be rated as a kind of comfortable tour: the houseboat room was tiny and very hot inside without any ventilation, full of insects and the share bathroom was not practical. The neighbours had to remember to unlock the bathroom door after they finished using the bathroom, if they forgot (that happened with one of the tour guests), you had to go outside upstairs in the middle of night with all the mosquitoes to go to the public toilet. It is not fun, it is dangerous, dark and uncomfortable.

We were not met on time at the airport and had to call the hotel to confirm our pick up. The first hotel was Roof of Africa in Windhoek, it was 3 stars: the air con, hair dryer and fridge were not working. We think that was the first warning about the tour accommodations. It looked like a reasonable cheap tour, but Chameleon tour in Namibia was cheaper if you compare the food, accommodation and all included extras.

Reply from Intrepid:
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Information such as yours is valuable to us as it assists in identifying areas which may require improvement whilst also serving to highlight areas where we are meeting if not exceeding your expectations. It is therefore disappointing to learn that there were certain aspects of your experience that did not meet your expectations.

Botswana is becoming increasingly popular tourist destinations. Despite the influx of travellers, bed numbers are not being increased to match the demand. This intentional move is aimed at minimizing the environmental impact of tourism and keeping the destinations exclusive. It is therefore becoming more and more difficult for us to confirm our allocation with our usual suppliers, particularly in peak season. We may use alternative accommodation which could affect driving times and distances listed in the Essential Trip Information. However, we will always use properties of the same standard and ensure that no included activities will be affected, therefore, it is disappointing to learn that this accommodation did not meet your expectations. We would like to reassure you that everyone from our head office team, to our local operator, our local leaders and suppliers endeavour to provide a trip which not only lets you see a wonderful country but experience it enjoyably and comfortably.
We have passed your feedback on to the appropriate team who will reassess the accommodation used and discuss these complaints with the hotel managers directly.

Despite this issue, we hope you have some wonderful memories from your time in this very special part of the world.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous trip to Turkey”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019

What a fabulous trip to Turkey with Intrepid. Our guide, Ozan, was amazing and so knowledgable about the history of Turkey. The hotels were all fantastic and we travelled with a great group of people.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best Tour of Mexico Heartlands”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019 1 Helpful Vote

We have previously travelled with Intrepid and they do not disappoint! They are always professional and really do have the best guides. Everything was as explained in their trip notes although the physical rating should be increased.

This tour is quite physically demanding as we were always on the go and on our feet most of the day (so much to see and do!). Plenty of spare time if you do choose. Mexico is such a great destination with so much to offer. I would highly recommend this tour!

Booking through Global Journeys was easy and communication excellent.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Our first tour with a small group and first visit to Turkey”
- Australia Apr 2019

Highlights included: swimming above Roman artefacts in warm waters at Heliopolis; swimming in the chilly Aegean Sea near Gaz; several of the country excursions; and seeing the two main mosques and walking through the Topkapi Gardens in Istanbul.

The 12 participants interacted well, across a wide spread of ages. Tour leader Ali Kartal, a Turk, was the main reason that the tour was a great success and most enjoyable. Intrepid Travel are to be congratulated for having provided the tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Turkey Explored ”
- SA, Australia Mar 2019

This was my very first Intrepid tour therefore I did not know what to expect. Also, as this is a "Basix" style, I did not expect too much but our tour leader's (Fatih Develi) enthusiasm and knowledge made things possible. I enjoyed this tour thoroughly as we had a very good mix of fellow travellers and got on very well. At the end of the trip, we even set up a WhatsApp group to share photos! I would definitely go with Intrepid again and book through Jemma as she is professional!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Central Australia by 4WD and Under 1 Million Stars”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

What can I say, first of all Global Journeys makes this process really easy. Second of all this trip was amazing. I saw everything I wanted to see, was fed every day, had a place to sleep and have so many photos to remind me of my adventure. If you don't mind roughing it a little, this is the perfect tour for you.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable tour with an excellent guide”
- WA, Australia Mar 2019

Enjoyed every day of the tour. Sam C. is an excellent guide - a young keen snowshoe hiker - he trained up our whole group of newbies and looked after everyone including the older slower one (i.e. me). We saw the Northern Lights on our second night out at Peace River. Both nights were clear and really cold but a big camp fire, hot drinks, marshmallows (and a couple of snifters) added to the fun.

I found a few old muscles I'd forgotten about on the first snowshoe outing but it was all easy going, with Sam monitoring everyone. He also produced the "Krazee Karpets" for some snow sliding on the kiddies slopes with laughs all round. The dog sledding was great fun but all too short - could easily gone around again - the dogs were real keen.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 62