Classic Cambodia

  No Trip Reviews No Booking FeesDedicated Consultant
Our Price From 1,418 Per Person
Exclusive Savings 410 Per Person
 Trip Length
6 Days
 Trip Starts
Phnom Penh
 Trip Finishes
Siem Reap
6 Day Classic Cambodia Itinerary (Intrepid)
Countries Explored: Cambodia
Trip Operator:
Budget
Affordable
Max. Group Size
12
Pace
Leisurely
Trip Style
Comfort
Trip Code
TKKS

Overview

Book online and enjoy exclusive savings on Intrepid's 6 Day Classic Cambodia. Combining the magnificence of the Khmer Empire with lively Phnom Penh, this introduction to Cambodia is the perfect way to get acquainted with this captivating nation. Witness the grandeur of ancient Angkor Wat, see the enigmatic faces of Bayon, confront the tragedy of the recent past and delight in the hopes for the future on this classic Cambodian adventure.

Itinerary

Sua s'dei! Welcome to Phnom Penh, Cambodia. Your adventure begins with a welcome meeting at 6pm tonight. If you arrive early, perhaps stroll the streets of Phnom Penh, taking in the interesting French colonial architecture. Dinner tonight will be at a riverside local restaurant and may include dishes like beef lok lak or fish amok. Enjoy getting to know your fellow travellers over delicious Cambodian specialties. (D)

Today a full city tour introduces you to the sights of Phnom Penh, a city that lies near the confluence of the Mekong and Tonle Sap rivers. The private quarters of the Royal Palace are home to King Sihamoni and are closed to the public. You will, however, be able to visit the Silver Pagoda that lies in the palace complex, which is the most sacred temple in the country. Phnom Penh remains a living relic of the country’s past struggles and successes. Your included visits to the Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum (S21) and the Killing Fields of Choeung Ek tell the story of the tragic legacy of the Khmer Rouge. Tuol Sleng is a former school that served as a Khmer Rouge torture centre, and it’s estimated that more than 20,000 people were held and tortured here. The Killing Fields of Choeung Ek are home to a stupa made up of some 8,000 human skulls, marking the site of the infamous location. This was the execution ground for the torture victims of Tuol Sleng, and standing in this peaceful setting, it's almost unthinkable to imagine that to date nearly 9000 corpses have been exhumed from the area. The visits are major parts of the experience here, but if you don't wish to visit them, please let your leader know. There is an optional visit to Wat Phnom, the temple that gave rise to the foundation of the city in the 15th century. After today's activities, you may wish to spend this evening relaxing in a cafe by the riverfront. (B)

Begin the scenic drive to Siem Reap (approximately 7 hours, including stops). Along the way, swing by a local village restaurant for a tasty lunch. Arrive in the small but expanding town of Siem Reap, the gateway to Angkor and the most popular destination for travellers in all of Cambodia, perhaps even in South East Asia. You'll probably notice a change of pace here, so take a walk and enjoy the atmosphere. A visit to the old market is a must, even if you're not looking for souvenirs, wandering through the stalls and surrounding shops the silks, cottons, sarongs, silver and statues are a riot of colour and a feast for the eyes – and there will be one for your stomach too if you try some of the cheap, delicious street food! There's also a long tradition of shadow puppetry in the region, and if you're lucky you might catch a show at one of the local restaurants in the evening, perhaps while you're eating the specialty cuisine of Cambodia – amok, the name given to curry steam-cooked in banana leaves. (B/L)

Spend a full day visiting the amazing temples of Angkor on a guided exploration. Angkor Wat is the largest and most complete structure, and the only one of Angkor's temples that has its entrance facing west – the others face east. Of all the temples visited today, Bayon is the centrepiece, with over 200 smiling carved faces and more than 50 gothic towers. Visit an ancient monastery where you’ll meet a Buddhist monk and take part in a ritual that has survived for thousands of years. Sit on the floor as the monk chants and sprinkles holy water over you before tying a sacred thread around your wrist, ensuring protection and good luck for the rest of your journey. For lunch you'll visit the Sala Bai Hotel School where disadvantaged local youth learn skills that enable them to find gainful employment in the hospitality industry. Afterward, you will head to Ta Prohm, a temple where nature has taken over, as large trees have become embedded in the stone foundations of the structure. End the day with a sunset view of the temples – an extraordinary way to see the sun go down. (B/L)

Embrace a very early start today if you wish to experience a sunrise visit to the Angkor complex (this is optional). Today you'll visit the temple of Banteay Srei – you'll see it's not a huge temple, but thanks to its intricate stone carvings it is sometimes referred to as ‘the jewel in the crown of Angkorian art’. Later this afternoon, get an insight into the daily life of Cambodians on a village tour. See the rice fields and family allotment that surround the traditional stilt houses. Be welcomed into a local home as you join together for sunset drinks. This evening, enjoy a final farewell dinner with your fellow travellers and one last night of delicious Cambodian cuisine at a specially chosen restaurant. (B/D)

After breakfast, you are free to leave at any time, as there are no activities planned today. If you would like to spend some more time in Siem Reap, we’ll be happy to organise additional accommodation for you (subject to availability). (B)

Trip Inclusions

  • See the very best that Cambodia has to offer in just under a week as you traverse the country with a small group of up to 11 new friends
  • Discover a land of contrasts and turbulent history, visit the Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum (S21) and the Killing Fields of Choeung Ek as well as the opulent Royal Palace and Silver Pagoda
  • Explore the amazing Angkor archaeological complex in depth with your included three-day pass, so as well as guided tours, you have the option to return and explore at your own pace
  • Be welcomed into a local village for a tour of their agricultural surroundings and enjoy sunset drinks with a local family in their stilt house

  • Hotel (5 nights)

  • 5 Breakfasts included
  • 2 Lunches included
  • 2 Dinners included

  • Accommodation, itinerary and inclusions subject to change.
  • Price is for land, cruise and internal flights as specified. Flights not specified are not included
Play Youtube Video

Availability

Saturday 11 Feb 2023
Thursday 16 Feb 2023
Status
From: $1,915
  N/A
Limited Time Sale
Monday 13 Feb 2023
Saturday 18 Feb 2023
Status
From: $1,965 $1,556
Save $409 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 20 Feb 2023
Saturday 25 Feb 2023
Status
From: $1,895 $1,501
Save $394 Enquire
Monday 27 Feb 2023
Saturday 04 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,950
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Monday 06 Mar 2023
Saturday 11 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,970 $1,560
Save $410 Enquire
Saturday 11 Mar 2023
Thursday 16 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,970
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Monday 13 Mar 2023
Saturday 18 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,533
Save $402 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 20 Mar 2023
Saturday 25 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,533
Save $402 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 27 Mar 2023
Saturday 01 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,533
Save $402 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 01 Apr 2023
Thursday 06 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,865 $1,477
Save $388 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 03 Apr 2023
Saturday 08 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,915 $1,517
Save $398 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 08 Apr 2023
Thursday 13 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,950 $1,544
Save $406 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 10 Apr 2023
Saturday 15 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,865 $1,477
Save $388 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 15 Apr 2023
Thursday 20 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,865 $1,477
Save $388 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 17 Apr 2023
Saturday 22 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,865 $1,477
Save $388 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 22 Apr 2023
Thursday 27 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,865 $1,477
Save $388 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 06 May 2023
Thursday 11 May 2023
Status
From: $1,825 $1,445
Save $380 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 20 May 2023
Thursday 25 May 2023
Status
From: $1,840 $1,457
Save $383 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 05 Jun 2023
Saturday 10 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,418
Save $372 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 12 Jun 2023
Saturday 17 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,418
Save $372 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 24 Jun 2023
Thursday 29 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,418
Save $372 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 03 Jul 2023
Saturday 08 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,418
Save $372 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 15 Jul 2023
Thursday 20 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,418
Save $372 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 17 Jul 2023
Saturday 22 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,418
Save $372 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 31 Jul 2023
Saturday 05 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,418
Save $372 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 05 Aug 2023
Thursday 10 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,418
Save $372 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 14 Aug 2023
Saturday 19 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,418
Save $372 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 19 Aug 2023
Thursday 24 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,418
Save $372 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 26 Aug 2023
Thursday 31 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,418
Save $372 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 04 Sep 2023
Saturday 09 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,507
Save $283 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 11 Sep 2023
Saturday 16 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,507
Save $283 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 16 Sep 2023
Thursday 21 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,507
Save $283 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 18 Sep 2023
Saturday 23 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,507
Save $283 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 25 Sep 2023
Saturday 30 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,507
Save $283 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 02 Oct 2023
Saturday 07 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,507
Save $283 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 09 Oct 2023
Saturday 14 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,790 $1,507
Save $283 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 14 Oct 2023
Thursday 19 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,895 $1,595
Save $300 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 23 Oct 2023
Saturday 28 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,865 $1,569
Save $296 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 30 Oct 2023
Saturday 04 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,865 $1,569
Save $296 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 06 Nov 2023
Saturday 11 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,970 $1,657
Save $313 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 11 Nov 2023
Thursday 16 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,629
Save $306 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 13 Nov 2023
Saturday 18 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,629
Save $306 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 18 Nov 2023
Thursday 23 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,629
Save $306 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 20 Nov 2023
Saturday 25 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,629
Save $306 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 25 Nov 2023
Thursday 30 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,629
Save $306 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 27 Nov 2023
Saturday 02 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,629
Save $306 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 02 Dec 2023
Thursday 07 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,629
Save $306 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 04 Dec 2023
Saturday 09 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,629
Save $306 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 09 Dec 2023
Thursday 14 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,629
Save $306 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Monday 11 Dec 2023
Saturday 16 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,629
Save $306 Enquire
Saturday 16 Dec 2023
Thursday 21 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,896
Save $39 Enquire
Monday 18 Dec 2023
Saturday 23 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,896
Save $39 Enquire
Saturday 23 Dec 2023
Thursday 28 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,935 $1,896
Save $39 Enquire
Monday 01 Jan 2024
Saturday 06 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 08 Jan 2024
Saturday 13 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 15 Jan 2024
Saturday 20 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 22 Jan 2024
Saturday 27 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 29 Jan 2024
Saturday 03 Feb 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 05 Feb 2024
Saturday 10 Feb 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 10 Feb 2024
Thursday 15 Feb 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 12 Feb 2024
Saturday 17 Feb 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 19 Feb 2024
Saturday 24 Feb 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 26 Feb 2024
Saturday 02 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 04 Mar 2024
Saturday 09 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 09 Mar 2024
Thursday 14 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 11 Mar 2024
Saturday 16 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 18 Mar 2024
Saturday 23 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 25 Mar 2024
Saturday 30 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 30 Mar 2024
Thursday 04 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 01 Apr 2024
Saturday 06 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 06 Apr 2024
Thursday 11 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 08 Apr 2024
Saturday 13 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 13 Apr 2024
Thursday 18 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 15 Apr 2024
Saturday 20 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 20 Apr 2024
Thursday 25 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 04 May 2024
Thursday 09 May 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 18 May 2024
Thursday 23 May 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 03 Jun 2024
Saturday 08 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 10 Jun 2024
Saturday 15 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 17 Jun 2024
Saturday 22 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 22 Jun 2024
Thursday 27 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 01 Jul 2024
Saturday 06 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 13 Jul 2024
Thursday 18 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 15 Jul 2024
Saturday 20 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 29 Jul 2024
Saturday 03 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 03 Aug 2024
Thursday 08 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 12 Aug 2024
Saturday 17 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 17 Aug 2024
Thursday 22 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 24 Aug 2024
Thursday 29 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 02 Sep 2024
Saturday 07 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 09 Sep 2024
Saturday 14 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 14 Sep 2024
Thursday 19 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 16 Sep 2024
Saturday 21 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 23 Sep 2024
Saturday 28 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 30 Sep 2024
Saturday 05 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 07 Oct 2024
Saturday 12 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 12 Oct 2024
Thursday 17 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 21 Oct 2024
Saturday 26 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 28 Oct 2024
Saturday 02 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 04 Nov 2024
Saturday 09 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 09 Nov 2024
Thursday 14 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 11 Nov 2024
Saturday 16 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 16 Nov 2024
Thursday 21 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 18 Nov 2024
Saturday 23 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 23 Nov 2024
Thursday 28 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 25 Nov 2024
Saturday 30 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 30 Nov 2024
Thursday 05 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 02 Dec 2024
Saturday 07 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 07 Dec 2024
Thursday 12 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 09 Dec 2024
Saturday 14 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 14 Dec 2024
Thursday 19 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Monday 16 Dec 2024
Saturday 21 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Saturday 21 Dec 2024
Thursday 26 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,745 $1,710
Save $35 Enquire
Show more dates...
Key
Definite Departure. Minimum numbers reached for this departure to operate.
Available Departure. Minimum numbers not yet reached, so while this departure is expected to operate, it’s not yet a Definite Departure.
Not Available. Places on this departure are unavailable.
Limited Time Sale. Limited availability at this price. Please enquire for sale pricing on room or cabin upgrades.
Exclusive Global Journeys Sale. Deal Expires 28th February 2023
Note
Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.
Note
Tour & cruises prices are per person. Prices shown have savings applied, are subject to availability and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Prices and trip information are correct at the time at this point in time, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking and are subject to change by Intrepid.

Similar Tours

6 Day Premium Cambodia (Intrepid)

6 Days Phnom Penh Siem Reap

Operated By: Intrepid

From 2,222
Save 418
6 Day New Caledonia Adventure (Intrepid)

6 Days Noumea Noumea

Operated By: Intrepid

From 2,562
Save 888
6 Day Cook Islands Getaway (Intrepid)

6 Days Rarotonga Rarotonga

Operated By: Intrepid

From 2,728
Save 717
7 Day Bhutan Discovered (Intrepid)

7 Days Thimphu Paro

Operated By: Intrepid

From 5,196
Save 1,474