Home > Tours > Australia Tours > Trek the Larapinta Trail

Trek the Larapinta Trail

  No Trip Reviews No Booking FeesDedicated Consultant
Our Price From 2,057 Per Person
Exclusive Savings 763 Per Person
 Trip Length
5 Days
 Trip Starts
Alice Springs
 Trip Finishes
Alice Springs
5 Day Trek the Larapinta Trail Itinerary (Intrepid)
Countries Explored: Australia
Trip Operator:
Budget
Affordable
Max. Group Size
16
Pace
Challenging
Trip Style
Basix
Trip Code
POXL

Overview

Book online and enjoy exclusive savings on Intrepid's 5 Day Trek the Larapinta Trail. If you’re looking to travel to the heart of the Australian Outback, then the Tjoritja-West MacDonnell National Park is your place. And there’s no better way to experience and immerse yourself in this unforgettable landscape than the Larapinta Trail. Hike along the red rock slopes of the West MacDonnell Ranges, enjoy the time to truly connect to Country and appreciate the importance of this place to the traditional custodians over thousands of years. Hike to shadowed gorges, snaking riverbanks, open plains and...read more towering mountains filled with a rich diversity of animals and plants, taking in sights like Ormiston Gorge and a rewarding ascent of Mt Sonder. One of the world’s best desert treks is waiting for you.

Itinerary

Meet your group and leader at 7 am this morning at our start point location in Alice Springs (Mparntwe in the language of the traditional owners of the land on which Alice Springs is now located). Then, head out to stretch your legs on Section 1 of the Larapinta Trail. You begin your walk from the official start of the trail at the historic Alice Springs Telegraph Station. The Station was founded in 1871 and used for relaying messages between Darwin and Adelaide. Follow the route of the old telegraph line through the rocky, rolling country that spreads out before you, winding along a path that makes its way over creeks and gullies. Walk along the scenic spine of the Euro Ridge and take in the excellent views of the surrounding Alice Valley, with the gnarled peaks of the West Macdonnell Ranges (Tjoritja) out in the distance, stopping for lunch on the way. Follow the trail downhill to Wallaby Gap, home to elusive black-footed rock-wallabies and a great place for birdwatching. Arrive at your first campsite of the trip, and enjoy dinner today while planning for another great day of walking tomorrow. (L/D)

Begin early today with a walk on Section 10 of the Larapinta Trail. Weave your way from the Finke River to Ormiston Gorge through rolling limestone hills filled with unique plant life. The Finke is one of the oldest river systems in the world, and the local Arrernte name for this waterway gives the whole trail its name – Lhere Pinte, which means ‘salty river’. Today’s hike finishes at the beautiful Ormiston Pound, home to the most impressive gorge in the whole West MacDonnell region. There’s a near-permanent waterhole shaded by ghost gums and towering red rock walls that is more than welcoming to any walker for a chance for a dip and freshen up. Back at camp, rest up and revive for some very challenging days ahead. (B/L/D)

The next two days are the most challenging but also rewarding section of your Larapinta hike. Start today with the first part of Section 11 of the track. Views are dominated by Mt Sonder (Rwetyepme), the highest point in the West MacDonnell Ranges. Cross the Davenport River then make the climb up to Hilltop Lookout, an ascent that’s rewarded with panoramic views of the peak and its surroundings. Descend through mulga woodland and past distinctive knobbly black rock to shady Rocky Bar Gap. You'll continue on Section 11 tomorrow after a night back at camp tonight. (B/L/D)

Start today by transferring back to Rocky Bar Gap where you finished your hike yesterday, and tackle part 2 of Section 11. The track meanders along the southern flank of Mt Sonder to Redbank Creek. It’s an undulating hike across spinifex-covered hills, making your way through the foothills of the hulking mountain looming to your right. Camp out under the stars again tonight nearby, but bed down as early as you can as you'll be up well before dawn to summit Mt Sonder tomorrow. (B/L/D)

Hopefully, you got an early night yesterday as today you’ll be up with the possums for an early start to climb to the summit of the iconic Mt Sonder, constituting the final part, Section 12, of the Larapinta Trail. The early start allows you to climb in the cool morning air before the sun begins to beat down, but as this will be in the dark a head torch is essential. The mountain is known traditionally as Rwetyepme – in local Arrernte culture she's portrayed as a pregnant woman forever doomed to lay on her back and watch the sky. It’s not an easy climb, but the journey to the peak is worth the sweeping views in all directions of Central Australia, taking in the trails you’ve covered over the past few days, the Tanami Desert in the north, meteor craters in the south, and the NT’s highest mountain in the west. It’s the perfect way to cap off the trip. After decending back to camp and a well earned breakfast, you’ll return to Alice Springs arriving by late afternoon, at which time the trip comes to an end. If you are staying longer, perhaps celebrate your journey with an optional farewell dinner together with your fellow hikers tonight. (B/L)

Trip Inclusions

  • Experience the challenges and rewards of an active Australian adventure, with days of hiking and wild swimming, and nights around the campfire sharing Outback yarns.
  • Explore the majestic Ormiston Gorge, the most spectacular chasm in the West MacDonnell Ranges, and maybe cool off in the year-round waterhole.
  • Enjoy the unique experience of camping out overnight along the trail at Redbank Gorge, making the most of the remoteness and the star-filled desert skies.
  • Cap your Larapinta Trail experience with a summit of Mt Sonder, the highest point in the West Macdonnell Ranges, and the perfect place to look over the landscape and back at what you’ve achieved.

  • Permanent tented camps & swag camping (4 nights)

  • 4 Breakfasts included
  • 5 Lunches included
  • 4 Dinners included

  • Accommodation, itinerary and inclusions subject to change.
  • Price is for land, cruise and internal flights as specified. Flights not specified are not included
Play Youtube Video

Availability

Limited Time Sale
Saturday 15 Apr 2023
Wednesday 19 Apr 2023
Status
From: $2,795 $2,075
Save $720 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 22 Apr 2023
Wednesday 26 Apr 2023
Status
From: $2,770 $2,057
Save $713 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 29 Apr 2023
Wednesday 03 May 2023
Status
From: $2,770 $2,057
Save $713 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 03 May 2023
Sunday 07 May 2023
Status
From: $2,965 $2,202
Save $763 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 10 May 2023
Sunday 14 May 2023
Status
From: $2,770 $2,057
Save $713 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 17 May 2023
Sunday 21 May 2023
Status
From: $2,770 $2,057
Save $713 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 24 May 2023
Sunday 28 May 2023
Status
From: $2,855 $2,120
Save $735 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 31 May 2023
Sunday 04 Jun 2023
Status
From: $2,855 $2,120
Save $735 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 07 Jun 2023
Sunday 11 Jun 2023
Status
From: $2,855 $2,120
Save $735 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 14 Jun 2023
Sunday 18 Jun 2023
Status
From: $2,855 $2,120
Save $735 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 17 Jun 2023
Wednesday 21 Jun 2023
Status
From: $2,935 $2,179
Save $756 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 24 Jun 2023
Wednesday 28 Jun 2023
Status
From: $2,935 $2,179
Save $756 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 01 Jul 2023
Wednesday 05 Jul 2023
Status
From: $2,935 $2,470
Save $465 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 05 Jul 2023
Sunday 09 Jul 2023
Status
From: $2,935 $2,470
Save $465 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 08 Jul 2023
Wednesday 12 Jul 2023
Status
From: $2,935 $2,470
Save $465 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 12 Jul 2023
Sunday 16 Jul 2023
Status
From: $2,935 $2,470
Save $465 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 15 Jul 2023
Wednesday 19 Jul 2023
Status
From: $2,935 $2,470
Save $465 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 19 Jul 2023
Sunday 23 Jul 2023
Status
From: $2,935 $2,470
Save $465 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 22 Jul 2023
Wednesday 26 Jul 2023
Status
From: $2,935 $2,470
Save $465 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 26 Jul 2023
Sunday 30 Jul 2023
Status
From: $2,935 $2,470
Save $465 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 02 Aug 2023
Sunday 06 Aug 2023
Status
From: $2,935 $2,470
Save $465 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 05 Aug 2023
Wednesday 09 Aug 2023
Status
From: $2,910 $2,449
Save $461 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 12 Aug 2023
Wednesday 16 Aug 2023
Status
From: $2,855 $2,403
Save $452 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 16 Aug 2023
Sunday 20 Aug 2023
Status
From: $2,855 $2,403
Save $452 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 19 Aug 2023
Wednesday 23 Aug 2023
Status
From: $2,855 $2,403
Save $452 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 23 Aug 2023
Sunday 27 Aug 2023
Status
From: $2,855 $2,403
Save $452 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 26 Aug 2023
Wednesday 30 Aug 2023
Status
From: $2,855 $2,403
Save $452 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 02 Sep 2023
Wednesday 06 Sep 2023
Status
From: $2,770 $2,330
Save $440 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 06 Sep 2023
Sunday 10 Sep 2023
Status
From: $2,770 $2,330
Save $440 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 13 Sep 2023
Sunday 17 Sep 2023
Status
From: $2,770 $2,330
Save $440 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Wednesday 20 Sep 2023
Sunday 24 Sep 2023
Status
From: $2,770 $2,330
Save $440 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 23 Sep 2023
Wednesday 27 Sep 2023
Status
From: $2,770 $2,330
Save $440 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 30 Sep 2023
Wednesday 04 Oct 2023
Status
From: $2,770 $2,330
Save $440 Enquire
Wednesday 03 Apr 2024
Sunday 07 Apr 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 13 Apr 2024
Wednesday 17 Apr 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 20 Apr 2024
Wednesday 24 Apr 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 27 Apr 2024
Wednesday 01 May 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 01 May 2024
Sunday 05 May 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 04 May 2024
Wednesday 08 May 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 08 May 2024
Sunday 12 May 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 15 May 2024
Sunday 19 May 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 18 May 2024
Wednesday 22 May 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 22 May 2024
Sunday 26 May 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 29 May 2024
Sunday 02 Jun 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 05 Jun 2024
Sunday 09 Jun 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 08 Jun 2024
Wednesday 12 Jun 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 12 Jun 2024
Sunday 16 Jun 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 15 Jun 2024
Wednesday 19 Jun 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 19 Jun 2024
Sunday 23 Jun 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 22 Jun 2024
Wednesday 26 Jun 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 26 Jun 2024
Sunday 30 Jun 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 29 Jun 2024
Wednesday 03 Jul 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 03 Jul 2024
Sunday 07 Jul 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 06 Jul 2024
Wednesday 10 Jul 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 10 Jul 2024
Sunday 14 Jul 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 13 Jul 2024
Wednesday 17 Jul 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 17 Jul 2024
Sunday 21 Jul 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 20 Jul 2024
Wednesday 24 Jul 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 24 Jul 2024
Sunday 28 Jul 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 27 Jul 2024
Wednesday 31 Jul 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 31 Jul 2024
Sunday 04 Aug 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 03 Aug 2024
Wednesday 07 Aug 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 07 Aug 2024
Sunday 11 Aug 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 10 Aug 2024
Wednesday 14 Aug 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 14 Aug 2024
Sunday 18 Aug 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 17 Aug 2024
Wednesday 21 Aug 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 21 Aug 2024
Sunday 25 Aug 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 24 Aug 2024
Wednesday 28 Aug 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 28 Aug 2024
Sunday 01 Sep 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 31 Aug 2024
Wednesday 04 Sep 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 04 Sep 2024
Sunday 08 Sep 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 11 Sep 2024
Sunday 15 Sep 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 14 Sep 2024
Wednesday 18 Sep 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Wednesday 18 Sep 2024
Sunday 22 Sep 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 21 Sep 2024
Wednesday 25 Sep 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Saturday 28 Sep 2024
Wednesday 02 Oct 2024
Status
From: $2,910 $2,852
Save $58 Enquire
Show more dates...
Key
Definite Departure. Minimum numbers reached for this departure to operate.
Available Departure. Minimum numbers not yet reached, so while this departure is expected to operate, it’s not yet a Definite Departure.
Not Available. Places on this departure are unavailable.
Limited Time Sale. Limited availability at this price. Please enquire for sale pricing on room or cabin upgrades.
Exclusive Global Journeys Sale. Deal Expires 28th February 2023
Note
Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.
Note
Tour & cruises prices are per person. Prices shown have savings applied, are subject to availability and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Prices and trip information are correct at the time at this point in time, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking and are subject to change by Intrepid.

Similar Tours

6 Day Cycle South Australia's Wine Regions (Intrepid)

6 Days Adelaide Adelaide

Operated By: Intrepid

From 1,982
Save 442
6 Day Highlights of Tasmania (Intrepid)

6 Days Hobart Hobart

Operated By: Intrepid

From 1,489
Save 309
6 Day Premium Red Centre & Uluru (Intrepid)

6 Days Alice Springs Yulara

Operated By: Intrepid

From 5,336
Save 113
11 Day Wild Kimberley Overland (Original) (Intrepid)

11 Days Broome Broome

Operated By: Intrepid

From 4,846
Save 99