Home > Tours > Asia Tours > South East Asia Tours > Bangkok to Hanoi: Chiang Mai, Night Markets & Streetside Bars

Bangkok to Hanoi: Chiang Mai, Night Markets & Streetside Bars

  No Trip Reviews No Booking FeesDedicated Consultant
New Release Fully Guided Adventure Small Group 18-30's
Our Price From 1,051 Per Person
Exclusive Savings 215 Per Person
 Trip Length
9 Days
 Trip Starts
Bangkok
 Trip Finishes
Hanoi
9 Day Bangkok to Hanoi: Chiang Mai, Night Markets & Streetside Bars Itinerary (G Adventures)
Countries Explored: Thailand Vietnam
Accommodation
Hostels
Max. Group Size
24
Pace
Leisurely
Trip Style
Roamies
Trip Code
ATBVHW

Overview

Book online and enjoy exclusive savings on G Adventures 9 Day Bangkok to Hanoi: Chiang Mai, Night Markets & Streetside Bars. Bangkok to Chiang Mai to Hanoi, and some unbelievable places in between. Sound good? Then snag a spot on this nine-day, hostel-based adventure. You’ll cruise through Bangkok in the back of a tuk-tuk, ride along the infamous Death Railway, cycle around the ruins of an ancient kingdom, then hop on a night train to Chiang Mai. There, you’ll soak up all the local flavours as you wander its night markets and whip up authentic dishes in a cooking class. Then you’ll catch a quick...read more flight to Hanoi for some final days filled with bicycle tours and street bars.

Itinerary

There are no activities planned until tonight's welcome meeting and your street food crawl with the group. Get out and explore vibrant Bangkok. Stay: Villa Cha Cha Khaosan-Rambuttri (D)

Your accommodation tonight is truly unique on a floating-raft. The rafts have fully enclosed sleeping quarters (dorm-style with mattress and/or bunks and no gender separation) with shared-bath and a kitchenette where dinner and breakfast are prepared. Beverages are available for purchase or you can bring your own. There is a deck for lounging and swimming and kayaks or wet rafts are available for a small fee. Stay: Phae Siam Khuean Sri (B/L/D)

Tonight, stroll through Kanchanaburi's riverside and enjoy the local nightlife. Stay: Pongphen Guesthouse & Bungalows (B/L)

Ready for another epic day? Of course you are! Stop by a rice farm then fill up on pad thai from a local shop before jumping on a bike at the iconic Ayutthaya ruins. Snap that perfect picture at the Mahathat temple–famed for its Buddha head in the root of a banyan tree. Cycle around the massive reclining Buddha at Wat Logayasutharam in search of the perfect angle. After, hop on a boat for a ride around the city's island and stop at Wat Chai Wattanaram for more insta-worthy pics. Want more? Visit the food market and choose to share a plate of river prawns before hopping into a rocket-nosed tuk tuk to the train station. That was a busy day! Regain your strength in a sleeper car during the overnight train ride heading north. (B/L)

Hit the ground running as you disembark the train and climb on one of the famous red Songthaews–a local open-air truck. Khao soi for breakfast?? Yes, please! Stop at a street-side shop for this traditional northern Thai noodle soup with coconut milk and sweet curry–yum! From here walk through the old town to your hostel, then the afternoon is yours. Sample delicious street food, visit temples or just kick back with your new friends with a Singha lager. Later, delve into the bustling Chiang Mai night bazaar. Shop-til-you drop, kick your feet up in a lounge chair for a foot massage or try the bizarre, yet satisfying fish pedicure. Living your best life? Yeah!. Stay: 33 Poshtel (B)

Early riser? Come on, there must be some! Join in the age-old tradition of alms giving to local monks at the foot of the Suthep Hill. After, indulge in a blessing and do some chanting at Wat Prathat Doi Suthep. The rest of the day you are free to do as much or as little as you desire–your CEO has you covered. Feeling zen? There are hundreds of Buddhist temples to visit. Feeling active? Jump on a bicycle or tuk tuk to explore the countryside. Want an adrenaline rush? Why not catch one of Thailand’s most popular sports–Muay Thai. Or, how about channeling your inner chef at a cooking class learning to make a perfect Pad Thai. Freedom can also be hanging back at the hostel, as always, you're the boss! Just be back in time, cause tonight you've got a date with your new besties. Stay: 33 Poshtel (B)

Ready for Vietnam? Don’t fret the details, we’ve got you covered. An included flight will get you to Hanoi in time to kick back at the hostel, or head out to explore the city before meeting up with fellow Roamies. Ready for some fun? Of course you are! Jump on a cyclo and take a thrilling ride around Hanoi's old quarter to watch the streets come alive at night. Finish off with some tasty street eats for dinner. Stay: Nexy Hostel (B/D)

Freedom! Today is yours to explore and your CEO will help get you sorted. Want to immerse yourself in Hanoi–take a full day city tour. Feeling the culinary vibe–we'll book you a cooking class. Looking to escape–we'll get you on a full day excursion to Halong Bay. How's that for options? Regardless of your plans, you'll group back together for dinner at the famed Hoa Sua Training Restaurant. With full bellies, it's time for a microbrewery crawl including a stop at Hanoi's most popular beer joint–Bia Hoi corner. Pull up a plastic stool and order a local draught. Cheers! Stay: Nexy Hostel (B/D)

Say goodbye to your Roamies and depart at any time, or keep the adventure going by heading out to explore the backroads of Vietnam on the next leg of this epic adventure. (B)

Trip Inclusions

  • Cruise Bangkok's canals on a traditional klong boat.
  • Cook authentic northern Thai cuisine like a pro.
  • Sample foodie favourites at street food stalls and night markets.
  • Make the most of your time with an included flight between Chiang Mai and Hanoi.
  • Visit Hanoi's famous street-side microbreweries.

  • Your G for Good Moment: Yimsoo Cafe tour and Lunch, Bangkok
  • Your Welcome Moment: Welcome Meeting - Meet Your CEO and Group
  • Your Foodie Moment: Street Food Dinner in Chinatown, Bangkok
  • Bangkok Klong Riverboat Tour
  • Visit Hellfire Pass and Ride the Death Railway
  • Visit Bridge on the River Kwai and Thai/Burma Railway Centre and Allied War Cemetery
  • Visit a Local Rice Farm
  • Ayutthaya Cycling
  • Boat Tour
  • Chiang Mai Old Town Orientation Walk
  • Chiang Mai Night Market Walk
  • Sunrise Alms Giving
  • Doi Suthep Temple Visit
  • Hanoi Old Town Cyclo Tour
  • Bia Hoi Corner and Microbrewery Crawl
  • All transport between destinations and to/from included activities

  • Hostels (6 Nights), floating raft (1 Night), overnight sleeper train (1 Night)
  • Accommodation will be primarily in multi-share hostels (typically 6-8 people per room), with a choice of mixed gender and female-only dorms as well as available upgrades to twin-share rooms (same gender).
  • Some rooming exceptions may apply due to the unique nature of the itineraries and of the hostels themselves, which have been specifically chosen to give local flavour to your trip. Please see the full itinerary description and the Rooming Exception section below for specific exceptions to the rooming that may apply to this tour.

  • CEO (Chief Experience Officer) throughout, local guides

  • 8 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 4 dinners

  • Private vehicle, tuk tuk, boat, bicycle, train, songthaew, cyclo, walking

  • Accommodation, itinerary and inclusions subject to change.
  • Price is for land, cruise and internal flights as specified. Flights not specified are not included
Play Youtube Video

Availability

Sunday 12 Feb 2023
Monday 20 Feb 2023
Status
From: $1,359
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 19 Feb 2023
Monday 27 Feb 2023
Status
From: $1,359 $1,144
Save $215 Enquire
Sunday 26 Feb 2023
Monday 06 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,359
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 05 Mar 2023
Monday 13 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Sunday 12 Mar 2023
Monday 20 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 19 Mar 2023
Monday 27 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 26 Mar 2023
Monday 03 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 09 Apr 2023
Monday 17 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,249 $1,051
Save $198 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 23 Apr 2023
Monday 01 May 2023
Status
From: $1,249 $1,051
Save $198 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 07 May 2023
Monday 15 May 2023
Status
From: $1,249 $1,051
Save $198 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 21 May 2023
Monday 29 May 2023
Status
From: $1,249 $1,051
Save $198 Enquire
Sunday 11 Jun 2023
Monday 19 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 25 Jun 2023
Monday 03 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 02 Jul 2023
Monday 10 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 09 Jul 2023
Monday 17 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Sunday 16 Jul 2023
Monday 24 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 23 Jul 2023
Monday 31 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Sunday 30 Jul 2023
Monday 07 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 06 Aug 2023
Monday 14 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Sunday 13 Aug 2023
Monday 21 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 20 Aug 2023
Monday 28 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,249 $1,051
Save $198 Enquire
Sunday 27 Aug 2023
Monday 04 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,249
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 03 Sep 2023
Monday 11 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,249 $1,051
Save $198 Enquire
Sunday 17 Sep 2023
Monday 25 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,249
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 01 Oct 2023
Monday 09 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 08 Oct 2023
Monday 16 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 15 Oct 2023
Monday 23 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Sunday 22 Oct 2023
Monday 30 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Sunday 29 Oct 2023
Monday 06 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,110
Save $209 Enquire
Sunday 05 Nov 2023
Monday 13 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 12 Nov 2023
Monday 20 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Sunday 19 Nov 2023
Monday 27 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 26 Nov 2023
Monday 04 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Sunday 03 Dec 2023
Monday 11 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,359 $1,332
Save $27 Enquire
Sunday 10 Dec 2023
Monday 18 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,359 $1,332
Save $27 Enquire
Sunday 17 Dec 2023
Monday 25 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,359
  Sold Out
Sunday 24 Dec 2023
Monday 01 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,359 $1,332
Save $27 Enquire
Sunday 31 Dec 2023
Monday 08 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,359
  Sold Out
Sunday 07 Jan 2024
Monday 15 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,359 $1,332
Save $27 Enquire
Sunday 14 Jan 2024
Monday 22 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,359
  Sold Out
Sunday 21 Jan 2024
Monday 29 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,359 $1,332
Save $27 Enquire
Sunday 28 Jan 2024
Monday 05 Feb 2024
Status
From: $1,359
  Sold Out
Sunday 04 Feb 2024
Monday 12 Feb 2024
Status
From: $1,359
  Sold Out
Sunday 11 Feb 2024
Monday 19 Feb 2024
Status
From: $1,359 $1,332
Save $27 Enquire
Sunday 18 Feb 2024
Monday 26 Feb 2024
Status
From: $1,359
  Sold Out
Sunday 25 Feb 2024
Monday 04 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,359 $1,332
Save $27 Enquire
Sunday 03 Mar 2024
Monday 11 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 10 Mar 2024
Monday 18 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Sunday 17 Mar 2024
Monday 25 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 24 Mar 2024
Monday 01 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Sunday 07 Apr 2024
Monday 15 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,249 $1,224
Save $25 Enquire
Sunday 21 Apr 2024
Monday 29 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,249 $1,224
Save $25 Enquire
Sunday 05 May 2024
Monday 13 May 2024
Status
From: $1,249 $1,224
Save $25 Enquire
Sunday 19 May 2024
Monday 27 May 2024
Status
From: $1,249 $1,224
Save $25 Enquire
Sunday 09 Jun 2024
Monday 17 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 23 Jun 2024
Monday 01 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 30 Jun 2024
Monday 08 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 07 Jul 2024
Monday 15 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 14 Jul 2024
Monday 22 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Sunday 21 Jul 2024
Monday 29 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 28 Jul 2024
Monday 05 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 04 Aug 2024
Monday 12 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 11 Aug 2024
Monday 19 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 18 Aug 2024
Monday 26 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,249
  Sold Out
Sunday 25 Aug 2024
Monday 02 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,249 $1,224
Save $25 Enquire
Sunday 01 Sep 2024
Monday 09 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,249 $1,224
Save $25 Enquire
Sunday 15 Sep 2024
Monday 23 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,249 $1,224
Save $25 Enquire
Sunday 29 Sep 2024
Monday 07 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,249 $1,224
Save $25 Enquire
Sunday 06 Oct 2024
Monday 14 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 13 Oct 2024
Monday 21 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Sunday 20 Oct 2024
Monday 28 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 27 Oct 2024
Monday 04 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Sunday 03 Nov 2024
Monday 11 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 10 Nov 2024
Monday 18 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,319
  Sold Out
Sunday 17 Nov 2024
Monday 25 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 24 Nov 2024
Monday 02 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,319 $1,293
Save $26 Enquire
Sunday 01 Dec 2024
Monday 09 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,359
  Sold Out
Sunday 08 Dec 2024
Monday 16 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,359 $1,332
Save $27 Enquire
Sunday 15 Dec 2024
Monday 23 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,359
  Sold Out
Sunday 22 Dec 2024
Monday 30 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,359 $1,332
Save $27 Enquire
Sunday 29 Dec 2024
Monday 06 Jan 2025
Status
From: $1,359 $1,332
Save $27 Enquire
Show more dates...
Key
Definite Departure. Minimum numbers reached for this departure to operate.
Available Departure. Minimum numbers not yet reached, so while this departure is expected to operate, it’s not yet a Definite Departure.
Not Available. Places on this departure are unavailable.
Book this month and save. Available for a limited time or until sold out.
Exclusive Global Journeys Savings. Available for a limited time or until sold out.
Note
Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.
Note
Tour & cruises prices are per person. Prices shown have savings applied, are subject to availability and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Prices and trip information are correct at the time at this point in time, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking and are subject to change by G Adventures.

Similar Tours

10 Day Classic Vietnam: Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh City (G Adventures)

10 Days Hanoi Ho Chi Minh City

Operated By: G Adventures

From 1,135
Save 228
10 Day Cambodia: Ancient Ruins & Boat Rides (G Adventures)

10 Days Bangkok Ho Chi Minh City

Operated By: G Adventures

From 925
Save 185
10 Day Northern Thailand Adventure (G Adventures)

10 Days Bangkok Chiang Mai

Operated By: G Adventures

From 1,346
Save 276
9 Day Cambodia Experience (G Adventures)

9 Days Ho Chi Minh City Bangkok

Operated By: G Adventures

From 883
Save 190