G Adventures Reviews

G Adventures
4.7 out of 5
55 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with G Adventures. Every review has been verified.

Ratings

5 Star
76%
4 Star
22%
3 Star
2%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Most Popular Reviews

  10 Votes   Angela
  3 Votes   Wendy
  2 Votes   Sandra Abel
“Amazing cruise”
- NSW, Australia Feb 2020 View Photo

It was a wonderful trip everyone should do it at least once in their lifetime. I went to Falkland Island, South Georgia Islands and Antarctica twice, both trips were excellent but I will recommend the January cruise if you like to see more penguins especially if you want to see those baby chicks still in the nest with mummy. Cabin was simple and clean, dining room staffs were excellent, always welcome you, greet you with your name and smile, help you anyway they can, I don't know how they can remember everyone's name. They remembered my Asian name, my drink and my cabin number. I'm not interested in food, everyone said meals were excellent and plentiful, many thanks to Hannah who makes booking online so easy. I gave 2 stars for entertainment that was because I never went to the bar at night.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great taste of a beautiful country”
- NSW, Australia Feb 2020

Laos was unexpectedly surprising and we were very impressed with this tour. The people are very laid back and Vang Vieng and Luang Prabang are both incredible places. Great tour overall and Georgie was fantastic as always. Highly recommend.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Japan: Ramen & Railways”
- Australia Jan 2020

The six day trip was a good introduction to three cities Tokyo, Takayama and Kyoto. For our trip we had Shoichi Marumaya as our tour guide. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable, as he was native Japanese. He frequently talked about local cuisines, daily lives of locals and in depth backgrounds to traditions. The highlight of the trip was Takayama, in which the group stayed in a traditional inn and experienced the Japanese onsen. Compared to the frantic pace of the busy cities, it was a very different experience. The accommodation was the best in the traditional inn in Takayama. The Grids in Tokyo was comfortable and clean. However, the Grids hostel in Kyoto with 6 persons in one room was a little crowded.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Nice small group cruise”
- QLD, Australia Jan 2020

This cruise is really well organised and goes where a lot of the bigger cruise boats do not go. G Adventures supports small local operators for their day trips and this was evident in a number of places as other tourists were not to be seen e.g. brick making, mule ride, hand made pottery, lunch at training restaurant, etc. Tour Leader (or Chief Experience Officer, CEO, as they are officially called) was very helpful and efficient especially when I had an unexpected trip to hospital. The cabins are a reasonable size for a small boat and there is a great sun deck upstairs which could be used anytime. Staff were helpful and most spoke enough English to be understood. Food was simple, varied and plentiful. Dinner was 4 course and special diets catered for, breakfast was a hot and cold buffet with your choice of cooked eggs, so plenty of options. Omelettes were best I’ve had. Would certainly travel with them again.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great way to get an in depth view of the South Island!”
- United States Dec 2019

I had an amazing time on this tour and it's a great way to see most of the South Island. Itinerary was pretty awesome, though we did end up having to skip Franz Josef due to flooding so in place of that we ended up going to Tekapo and Aoraki/Mt. Cook! At the end of the tour, our CEO (which is also the driver) told us that we'd driven over 2400km!

There were quite a few unique accommodations including Aquapackers, a floating ship hostel in Abel Tasman, and the Jailhouse Accommodation in Christchurch, however this is a hostel trip so set your expectations there (4-8 per room most nights, daily supermarket breakfast, and some included dinners). Also being NZ and the adventure capital of the world, there are A LOT of optionals which you will be booking on the trip, so definitely take a look at those and plan ahead!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Trip of a lifetime”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2019 View Photo

A journey to the most remote and coldest continent on our planet was always going to be heavily dependent on weather, and boy did we luck out, with the two journeys to and back through the notoriously rough Drake Passage as calm as it could get. So lucky were we that we got to Antarctica a whole half-day early, and also arrived back into Ushuaia the same, 12 hours early. Throughout the nine days of sailing, we had mostly fine weather, which is a rarity down in that part of the world, with a few days of bright sunshine, and only one day of a very mild drizzle. The sparkling weather really made for the most wonderful of journeys, and we managed to do 9 Zodiac trips in total (7 landings, 2 explorations), so we got the most out of the whole time in Antarctica.

The expedition team onboard the Expedition were fantastic, in particular the team leader Jonathan, whose British charm and refined character was very well received by every passenger. They made us feel special, and every excursion we attempted was well handled, varied, and exciting. We got to see humpback whales up close, as well as seals and numerous gentoo penguins, chinstrap penguins, and the occasional adelie penguins in their natural elements, which made the trip all the more special. And the highlight? The crossings through the legendary Lemaire Channel, where our return trip had one of the best (and longest) sunsets of our lives. We can't finish without also praising the variety and amount of food served on the ship, which was excellent, with every type of cuisine imaginable for breakfast, lunch, and dinner; it really felt like we were constantly eating but that's what a holiday is for, right? Overall, our trip to Antarctica was one of those once-in-a-lifetime experiences that will be impossible to better, and will long linger in our memories for as long as we live.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Another great G Adventures tour”
- TAS, Australia Oct 2019 View Photo

This was our 4th G Adventures tour and our second National Geographic style tour. What I really enjoy about these is being able to stay for a number of days in most locations giving more time to soak up the local atmosphere and to look around. Our tour leader, a local Thai who we called Su for short was fabulous, very helpful with lots of local knowledge. To visit the railway war museum and cemetery and then travel on the railway the POW's built was a highlight. The visit to Chiang Mai where we stayed 3 nights with the meal with a local family and also the market visit and cooking class were also highlights.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2019

Great trip, very nice view from motel. Tour guide was great and very nice. He went the extra mile for us. Would recommend G Adventures any time.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Quick visit to Varanasi ”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019

3 day G Adventures' tour to Varanasi was very well organised. Amit, the tour guide for 3 days, was wonderful and so helpful to me. I had an excellent spot to watch the evening Hindu ceremony on the Ganges. Due to high river levels unfortunately the boats were not going on the river that evening or the next morning. Very disappointing.

The Hotel Meadows was of poor standard, rooms dirty, noisy, poor quality linens etc. the food in the dining room was very basic and I had to leave the hotel for my meals and seek out better restaurants. The Surya Hotel was very close and much better hotel and I ate my meals there mostly. I did not get the rickshaw ride which I see now was meant to be included.

Driver was excellent and friendly. Amit the tour guide made my trip with his friendliness and helpfulness. He also arranged extra transport for me and took me to a great archaeological museum which was brilliant.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Perfect holiday”
- Singapore Oct 2019

We took a trip to Patagonia with Global Journeys/G Adventures and it was the best we could ever have had. Everything was taken care of, the guides were great and went the distance to add on extras so we could experience what the locals did. Response was quick as well, thanks Jemma for the wonderful trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Absolute Turkey”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

Apart from no transfer on arrival, the trip was amazing. We had the best tour leader who always had our best interests at heart. The pace was pretty full on but I enjoyed the variety of accommodation, that the accommodation was so close to the centre of each town. The optional tours were very good as well. Turkey took a piece of my heart I fully fell in love with Turkey, the food, the people, the history was amazing.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“18 day Absolute Turkey”
- Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

I was amazed with Turkey and the people. The tour leader Zafer was studying classics and his knowledge of the history of Turkey was fantastic, together with the driver Villi they made our tour something to be remembered. G Adventures are professional and very safety conscious. I was also impressed by the projects they put back into the community. My highlight was hot air ballooning over Cappadocia and the township of Avanos where we stayed at the hotel Sofia which is very quirky and enjoyable. Ephesus was also a moving experience along with Gallipoli. There was 13 people which was enjoyable and the age ranged from 22 - 81 which added a lot of colour and fun to this tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Value for money cruising on the Mekong”
- Australia Sep 2019

Just returned from G-Adventures Mekong 8 day cruise and can thoroughly recommend. Trip is at a leisurely pace, boat accommodation is basic but comfortable and we were well looked after in the meals department. The crew and tour guide from G-Adventures were first class and we disembarked each day to a new local adventure. Only downside was the five hour bus ride on day 1 to the departure port - I understand that this is now the normal procedure regardless of river levels. G-Adventures delivered on their itinerary and the tour was great value for money when compared to alternative operators.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Overall a really good trip”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019

The tour was good but disjointed in places mainly with the transport between the different modes of transport. It was our guides first tour and as a result lacked experience and knowledge of the individual cities but his enthusiasm and effort to please were exceptional. Overall a really good trip that could’ve been made great.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Highlights of Southern Africa”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

A wonderful trip for nature lovers. Seeing elephants, lions, giraffes, rhinoceros and a lot of other species of wild animals relatively close and in their own environment is really exciting and unforgettable.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Ultimate Italy”
- New Zealand Jun 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Fantastic trip. The perfect itinerary for seeing Italy. Lots of free time to make sure that I could schedule in the things I wanted to see the most. I paired this tour with G Adventures' Local Living Sorrento to get a good overview of Italy. The only thing to suggest is to pack lightly, G Adventures uses local transport so you will be carrying your own luggage up stairs.

Pick this style of trip if you like to have free time to do what you want to do as well as spend time with a group when you want. Don't pick this trip if you like your luggage picked up at the front of your hotel door and having everything arranged and scheduled for you. I loved every moment of this trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great small group tour!”
- TAS, Australia May 2019 View Photo

We really enjoyed this tour (our second with G Adventures). Our tour leader (Summer) - called a CEO, short for Chief Experience Officer by G Adventures was fantastic and put in the extra leg work to find those special experiences throughout the tour. This one was a National Geographic Tour which provides a better class of accommodation together with longer in each location which gave us the ability to actually look around at our leisure without being herded from spot to spot.

We allowed additional time in Zagreb before the tour commenced which gave us time to look around this area and also take a day trip into Slovenia. This tour included a visit to Plitvice Lakes National Park but unfortunately due to exceptionally heavy rainfall we were unable to experience the boardwalks but the waterfalls were really roaring. The history of this area was amazing with the last war a very recent memory to many with numerous signs of damage still evident. We ended the tour in Dubrovnik where we added two additional days staying in the old town which we enjoyed. Accommodation would have been rated as excellent except the starting and finishing hotels were a little tired and appear to have been changed at the last minute.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A most outstanding adventure - most highly recommended ”
- QLD, Australia May 2019

Doing cruises can be a scary idea if the idea of hordes of travellers focused on eating and drinking and being oblivious to their surroundings does not appeal. But the G Expeditions trips which focus on the Arctic and Antarctic are really very different.

The boat takes a limited number of passengers, the expedition team are focused on providing technical insights to the fascinating culture, history and environment, and everyone gets to experience places that are far outside of the territory large boats can travel. There are ample opportunities to engage in active treks along the way, and to explore on one's own some of the fascinating ports.

We really enjoyed the trip, enjoyed the insights from the daily technical talks and from the on-location local guides at the various stops. The trip is good value for a 14 day voyage, accommodation is perfectly adequate, and catering excellent. The G Adventures team on board and the ship's crew are very professional and competent. We recommend the tour very highly.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic tour of Egypt”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

I have nothing but positive feedback for both Global Journeys and G Adventures. From the time I booked to the time we finished the tour it was an awesome experience which allowed us to concentrate on having a great time. And we DID.

So well run and all the finer details were such a bonus. The Pyramids, the Nile boat trip and having a swim in the river, Valley of Kings, overnight train trip, fellow tour group people. WOW so fantastic. If you're thinking about this trip? Just DO IT.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The best holiday I’ve ever done! ”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019

This holiday was an amazing experience! The best yet. Travelling through remote Australia was a very unique experience. Great treks on this tour and I really enjoyed the stargazing at night. Would also highly recommend the helicopter trip over Uluru. Book this when you book your tour so you don’t miss out.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 55