Insight Tour Reviews

Insight Vacations
4.5 out of 5
504 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Insight Vacations. Every review has been verified.

“Wonders of Turkey”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2019

Thanks Yvonne for doing the booking for us with Insight, it was not really easy to get triple room accommodation... also for assuring me that Turkey is considerably safe to travel. This Turkey trip was the best Insight tour we have been on, good value for money as it’s almost all inclusive except for one optional tour. All sightseeing to famous sights was free or included and almost all dinners except for two were provided as well. The trip itinerary was very good, you cannot ask for more. The best treat was having our own boat for the Bosphorus cruise, we felt pampered! I suppose it’s because we had the best tour director with Daghan, who had the best sense of humour... we were lucky too with our group as all were easy going and funny... The best time to visit Turkey is during fall when weather is mild. Summer is simply too hot and busy to do all the walking and sightseeing....

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing trip from start to finish! ”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019 View Photo

This was my second time booking with Global Journeys and I have to thank Jemma for her patience with my ongoing emails and queries. Everything was booked in time and smoothly. This was my second trip with Insight Vacations and it was yet again another wonderful trip to Eastern Europe. Thank you all.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Easy paced Russia”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019

As with all Insight's holidays that we have been on, this one was well organised and the Tour Director very professional and knowledgeable about the country. The itinerary would have been too "bare" without the optional extras, with too much free time. We did all the optional extras, which then made it too busy, with little time for toilet and meal breaks.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Interesting tour of Spain and Portugal”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

Booking was quick and easy with Hannah from Global Journeys. Can recommend Insight Vacations as this was our fourth trip with them. Dan the tour leader really looked after us. He was very informative and had everything perfectly coordinated. We covered a lot of kilometres but it didn’t seem rushed and there were plenty of interesting things to see and do. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Incredible journey through the Country Roads of Germany, Austria & Switzerland”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019

I had a wonderful, very well organised trip. Our tour director was a local Austrian full of interesting history, tip bits, and humour. Our coach driver was excellent, punctual and helpful. It was the best way to travel not having to worry about getting from A to B, our bags magically arrived up in our rooms while we were out sightseeing. I liked the balance on this trip between free time and organised outings. They covered all the major attractions I wanted to see and, unlike other tours, you never felt they were taking you somewhere to get a deal or push you into buying things. They were very very professional at Insight Vacations.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Overpriced Insight 6 Day Easy Pace Malta Tour”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

There were 17 participants on this tour. The only included activities were the welcome dinner on the first night, a tour of the Valletta city centre then a short stop at the Blue Grotto for a quick look followed by a very good seafood lunch at Marsaxlokk on day one and a quick late afternoon tour of Mdina followed by dinner at a beautiful local restaurant on day four. There was an optional tour on day two to Gozo including a light lunch which cost 75 euros per person. This was far too expensive for what we got. There were other tours advertised for half this price. This meant that we had nearly two whole days to do our own thing.

It was hot and the hotel was too far out of Valletta where there was nothing to do except lie around the pool. The hotel was basically a resort hotel. The cheapest way to get into Valletta was by local bus which only cost 2 euros but took about 50 minutes. Because the bus route was a loop the return trip took nearly one and a half hours unless you wanted to get off earlier and walk in the heat. We wanted to visit the War Museum but when we got into Valletta we found it was closed. We were not the only ones who thought that this tour was over priced. Other participants who had travelled with Insight were also disappointed. Apart from this the tour director was very good and we really enjoyed Malta.

Reply from Insight Vacations:
Thank you for sharing this with us. We are truly disappointed to learn that not all aspects of your time on the road were as you had expected. Furthermore, exploring so many captivating destinations in a snapshot of time can be quite an adventure; however, we always strive to include the perfect amount of time at each location for some in-depth discovery and relaxation. Nonetheless, we value your feedback and will work with the relevant teams to ensure that the pace of the trip continues to ensure the best experiences for our guests. That being said, we still hope that you have taken lots of lasting highlights away from your time in Malta.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Really well orgainised and enjoyable tour of two fascinating Russian cities.”
- WA, Australia Sep 2019

This was the first time that we travelled with Insight as in the past we went with Trafalgar. The tour was very good. Our Tour Director Anna was excellent, very professional and organised with great knowledge of Russia. The local guides were also excellent. The accommodation was excellent, particularly in Moscow. The optional tours were excellent and certainly enhanced the tour considerably. However, with about 11 optionals available over a 6 day period, it did not leave much room for "included" excursions. Therefore we ended up paying a considerable amount extra for these optional tours.

The tour notes suggest you allow 50 euro per person per day for optional tours. It actually cost us about 100 euro per person per day. Insight apparently promote themselves with "more inclusions" than other operators. This was not the case here. The included dinners were at the hotel which were good but served very Western food. Would have been nice to visit a local restaurant so as to experience Russian cuisine. Would like to see Insight include an additional day in Moscow. Thanks to Global Journeys for looking after our booking - great job.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Insight European Grandeur”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Our first tour of this type and booking through Global Journeys made the process so easy. This tour was jammed packed so if you want a leisurely holiday it is not for you. That said, it was amazing. The extra details provided by our Tour Director and local experts made even the shortest visit come alive for us. Accommodation was excellent from modern luxury to converted monasteries and palaces and a quirky hotel in Rome. They all made for an unforgettable experience. One big plus was the tour group size being limited to 40 and the extra leg room this gives in the coach. The logistics were handled seamlessly and the meals were exceptional. Would we recommend Global Journeys and Insight Vacations to others? Most certainly.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Lovely tour”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019

The tour was good and not too early morning starts. My favourite accommodation was at Berlin, Dresden and Mainz. Included breakfasts were all excellent.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Baltics and Russia”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Our Baltic tour was too short and extra days in Warsaw and Riga would be beneficial. Also we have an issue with optional excursions. If Insight think an optional tour is worth seeing then it should be included upfront.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful voyage through Scandinavia ”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

My tour through Scandinavia was more than I expected. It was very well run by a talented, professional guide who seemed to gain an understanding of what every participant wanted to see, do or know on the tour and sought to point these points of interests out to each individual which personalised our experiences. The itinerary was excellent, and whilst some days were long driving journeys, we were kept entertained by documentaries or movies relevant to where we were going or the culture we were visiting.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Worry Free Tour - Northern Spain ”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

Thank you Hannah at Global Journeys, everything was so well organised for us and hassle free. Insight Tour was fantastic, we had the best tour director in Philippe and a confident and safe driver. Loved all the places we visited, especially meeting the pilgrims in Santiago de Compostela at the end of their trek. Montserrat was very special and we had a brilliant day there. Great group of people on the tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Turkey - Wonderful Destination!”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

We recently experienced the ”Wonders of Turkey” tour and loved every minute of it! So many wonderful memories of the people, the food and the sights. Our tour Director, Gonul Gifu was very knowledgeable, most helpful, caring and fun to be with! We will definitely be recommending Insight to all our friends. Thank you for a fantastic holiday!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Italian Escapade”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Wonderful trip. Insight add a little touch of luxury. Our tour director was very kind, thoughtful and full of information. Highlights were Tuscany and the Italian Lakes, Venice, Assissi. Would have liked to see more of the old part of Rome. A lot of walking- could offer hop on hop off tours for those who have trouble walking.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Scotland in 8 days, a great experience ”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

For first time visitors to Scotland, as we were, this Insight tour was a great introduction to this wonderful country. It was an emotional trip too, as we visited places that featured in our forebears lives. Tour Director, Mike, was knowledgeable, good fun and attentive. We felt very safe in the hands of George, our driver. With 38 passengers, we got to enjoy the company of several travellers, and mostly the rest were very pleasant people. Thanks Insight.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent comprehensive tour of the beautiful sights of Switzerland”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019 2 Helpful Votes

The Country Roads of Switzerland Tour was very comprehensive and well-paced with plenty of 2-3 night stays and offering free time. We enjoyed the train journeys and all the spectacular sights of Switzerland and touching on the Italian lakes. Switzerland is very expensive, especially with the low value of the Australian Dollar and the cost of all the optional excursions made the tour quite expensive but all the excursions added to the experience.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The Grandeur of Alaska & Denali National Park”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

Our trip with Insight Vacations was as good as expected! From the interaction with the local indigenous communities through activities at the Alaska Native Heritage Centre, our trip through the wilderness on the Alaska railroad dome train, being enthralled by the vista of Denali National Park with its abundant wildlife, our trip will remain embedded in our minds forever more. Our tour director Cole and driver Casey were a 1st Class combination adding to our Alaskan experience and the chosen accommodation was also outstanding!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

We had a great trip with Insight and our booking with Global Journeys was great and all done professionally and they couldn’t do enough for us. This is the second time we have booked through Global Journeys and we would certainly use them again. Insight is great, this was our 4th trip with Insight and the people we toured with were so much fun, also the tour director was very knowledgeable The hotels are always great and Insight always try to make your trip very happy and safe.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Good trip but not value for money”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019

The booking process through Global Journey's was faultless. Our Insight tour director, Karin and our driver Peter were exceptional. The coach was great, spacious and kept immaculately clean. The hotels were good except for Berlin which was very ordinary and in Prague the hotel was way out of town. The problem with Insight was that very little is included, e.g. in Berlin the tour was 90 minutes and finished by 10.30am everything else was optional and you had to pay to participate in the mid morning city tour. Similar in Warsaw, Krakow and Vienna. Some options included dinner, so OK, but not highlights of the city you are staying in for 1 day. We realised the extent of the optional experiences after we booked so never again.

Reply from Insight Vacations:
Thank you for informing us about your Highlights of Europe tour with Insight Vacations. We are happy to hear that our staff went the extra mile to ensure an enjoyable and memorable time on the road. However, we recognise that you would have liked the Optional Experiences to have been included in the itinerary; however, we offer these to allow our guests to explore further or to give those that would prefer to undertake independent sightseeing or leisure time, the opportunity to do so. Nonetheless, we are very happy to have hosted you and we look forward to sharing more amazing experiences with you in the near future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great Britain and Ireland Discovery”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019 1 Helpful Vote

This was our second tour with Insight Vacations. We booked both our tours through Global Journeys and would highly recommend them. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole tour, but for us the highlight was definitely the Edinburgh Tattoo, the reason we chose this tour. The accommodation was excellent as were the optional extras.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 504