Broome to the Bungle Bungles (Basix)

5 Day Small Group Adventure from Broome to Broome with Intrepid

Book online and enjoy exclusive savings on Intrepid's 5 Day Broome to the Bungle Bungles (Basix). A region of astounding natural beauty and great spiritual significance, Western Australia's Kimberley region is Australia untamed. And while the roads here can be rough and distances between attractions far, that doesn't mean...read more

Our Price From:
$ 1,710
Per Person ($AU)
Save This Month:
$ 35
Per Person ($AU)
Small Group Adventure Starts In
Starts In
Broome
Small Group Adventure Ends In
Ends In
Broome
Trip Budget
Budget
Affordable
20
Max Group Size
20
Short Break
Trip Style
Short Break
Leisurely
Trip Pace
Leisurely
Countries Explored:
Australia
Trip Operated By:
Intrepid
Intrepid
67 Reviews
Trip Reviews:
No Reviews
Trip Code:
PKBB-B

Itinerary

Expand All
1 Geikie Gorge & Fitzroy Crossing
Hitting the road east, stop in at Old Fitzroy Crossing before joining a local National Park Ranger on a guided cruise through majestic Geikie Gorge. Carved between the Geikie and Oscar ranges over time, Geikie Gorge is an awe-inspiring place that's home to a huge array of wildlife. Learn about the region's intriguing geology during the cruise, and be sure to keep an eye out for its freshwater crocodiles, birds and fish. In the evening, camp by the Fitzroy River and tuck into our famous Kimberley BBQ. (L/D)
2 China Wall & Purnululu National Park
En route to Purnululu National Park, stop in at the old gold rush town of Halls Creek for a gander at Australia's version of the China Wall. Purnululu is better known as the home of the Bungle Bungles, unique orange and black-striped 'beehive' formations that are over 20 million years old. On arrival there'll be time for setting up and settling into camp before witnessing a memorable bush sunset. See the evening out with a delicious dinner, then fell asleep under canvas amid the sounds of the bush. (B/L/D)
3 Bungle Bungles
Spend today exploring the extraordinary landscape of Purnululu. It might be hard to believe, but up until the 1980s it was only locals who knew that the Bungle Bungles existed. To protect its unique landscape, the area was made a national park in 1987 and now has World Heritage status. We'll explore the Echidna Chasm, known for its towering Livistonia Palms, and take a short walk into Cathedral Gorge where towering rock walls create a natural amphitheatre (2-3km). In the afternoon there'll be the chance to take a scenic flight and get a birds-eye view of the beehive domes (Flight is optional and at own expense). (B/L/D)
4 Mimbi caves and Fitzroy Crossing
Bidding farewell to Purnululu, travel to the Mimbi Caves: one of Western Australia's largest cave systems and oldest identified sites of human occupation. Located in the heart of Gooniyandi Country, these limestone caves are also of profound spiritual significance. On a guided tour through Mimbi's pools, fossils and ancient rock art, a local Gooniyandi guide will explain the concept of the Creation-time through traditional stories. At the end, share fresh damper and billy tea with the Gooniyandi traditional owners before continuing on to Fitzroy Crossing. (B/L)
5 Windjana Gorge & Tunnel Creek
Following a night by the Fitzroy River we head west into Bunuba country. Once a Devonian reef, this terrain is over 350 million years old and home to a diverse array of plants and animal. Explore the 750-metre cave system of Tunnel Creek. While touring the cave and its stalactites, hear the story of Jandamarra, an Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander freedom fighter who used the tunnel as a hide-out in the late 1800s. Freshen up with a swim in the waterhole at the end of the tunnel, then travel on to the geological wonder of Windjana Gorge. Beneath gorge walls rising 90m high, enjoy a picnic lunch and search for freshwater crocodiles, local birdlife and traditional bushtucker. The Gibb River Road then takes us out of the Napier Ranges and into Broome via the Derby ‘Boab Prison Tree' before heading back to Broome as the sun sets. (B/L)

Intrepid Inclusions

Expand All
Sightseeing Highlights
  • Marvel at striped 'beehives' in the Bungle Bungle
  • Take a barefoot stroll along Broome Beach
  • Go underground at Tunnel Creek
  • Cool off in a waterhole at Cathedral Gorge
  • Experience wild beauty in north-west Australia
  • Spot a flurry of birdlife in Geikie Gorge
Accommodation
  • Camping (with basic facilities) (2 nights)
  • Camping (with facilities) (2 nights)
Included Meals
  • 4 Breakfasts included
  • 5 Lunches included
  • 3 Dinners included
Read Trip Notes
  • Trip Notes outline what's included, visa information, important notes, how to get to your accommodation, packing checklist, optional activities, travel insurance requirements - pretty much everything you need to know about this adventure and more. Please take time to have a read through, and contact us if you have any questions. View Trip Notes

Prices & Dates

Best Price Guarantee We'll beat any Intrepid quote!
Earn Qantas Points 1,000 Free Qantas points!!
Past Client? Save an additional $100 per booking!
Trip Starts Trip Ends Status Offer Save Now Our Price  
Tuesday 05 May 2020 Saturday 09 May 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 12 May 2020 Saturday 16 May 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 19 May 2020 Saturday 23 May 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 26 May 2020 Saturday 30 May 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 02 Jun 2020 Saturday 06 Jun 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 09 Jun 2020 Saturday 13 Jun 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 16 Jun 2020 Saturday 20 Jun 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 23 Jun 2020 Saturday 27 Jun 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 30 Jun 2020 Saturday 04 Jul 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 07 Jul 2020 Saturday 11 Jul 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 14 Jul 2020 Saturday 18 Jul 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 21 Jul 2020 Saturday 25 Jul 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 28 Jul 2020 Saturday 01 Aug 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 04 Aug 2020 Saturday 08 Aug 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 11 Aug 2020 Saturday 15 Aug 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 18 Aug 2020 Saturday 22 Aug 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 25 Aug 2020 Saturday 29 Aug 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 01 Sep 2020 Saturday 05 Sep 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 08 Sep 2020 Saturday 12 Sep 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 15 Sep 2020 Saturday 19 Sep 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 22 Sep 2020 Saturday 26 Sep 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Tuesday 29 Sep 2020 Saturday 03 Oct 2020 35per person 1,710per person Enquire
Show more dates...
Key
Definite Departure. Minimum numbers reached for this depature to operate.
Available Departure. Minimum numbers not yet reached, so while this depature is expected to operate, it’s not yet a Definite Departure.
Not Available. Places on this departure are unavailable.
Exclusive Global Journeys Sale. Deal Expires 30th April 2020
Note: Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.

Similar Tours

6 Day Esperance & Southwest Adventure (Intrepid)
6 Days Perth to Perth
Operated By: Intrepid
5 Day Broome to the Bungle Bungles (Original) (Intrepid)
5 Days Broome to Broome
Operated By: Intrepid
6 Day Taste of Tasmania (Original) (Intrepid)
6 Days Hobart to Hobart
Operated By: Intrepid
Trip Notes
Trip prices are per person, and reflect applicable discounts. Discounts are subject to availability, exclusive to Global Journeys and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Trip prices are correct at the time of the products going live, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking. All trip information is correct at time of trips going live, however are subject to change by Intrepid. Full terms & conditions are available here.