Home > Tours > Latin America Tours > Central America Tours > Yucatan & Cancún: Merida, Mayan Ruins, & Beachside Livin'

Yucatan & Cancún: Merida, Mayan Ruins, & Beachside Livin'

  No Trip Reviews No Booking FeesDedicated Consultant
New Release Fully Guided Adventure Small Group 18-30's
Our Price From 1,086 Per Person
Exclusive Savings 151 Per Person
 Trip Length
9 Days
 Trip Starts
Merida
 Trip Finishes
Cancun
9 Day Yucatan & Cancún: Merida, Mayan Ruins, & Beachside Livin' Itinerary (G Adventures)
Countries Explored: Mexico
Accommodation
Hostels
Max. Group Size
24
Pace
Leisurely
Trip Style
Roamies
Trip Code
CMYCHW

Overview

Book online and enjoy exclusive savings on G Adventures 9 Day Yucatan & Cancún: Merida, Mayan Ruins, & Beachside Livin'. What’s the best way to top off your Yucatán adventure? Pshh, that’s easy: add a stop in Cancún! With some of Mexico’s best hostels as your home, explore the Yucatan Peninsula on this nine-day adventure that wraps up with beachside days in Cancún. Kicking off in Merida, visit the jungle for a swim in crystal clear cenotes. Next, go on a guided tour of the massive Mayan site of Chichen Itzá before descending into a cenote for an epic dinner of local dishes cooked over a fire. After...read more a couple of days in chilled-out Tulum, head to Cancún for an insider's tour away from the resorts, and spend your free time relaxing at the beach, your hostel, or doing all sorts of optional activities.

Itinerary

Arrive at any time, and kick back at the hostel or head out to explore the city before meeting up with fellow Roamies in the evening. Later on, head to one of the many bars and restaurants near the hostel for some eats and make sure to check out the main plaza at night. Stay: Che Hostel Merida

Ok, so every day on this trip is amazing but we'll venture to say that this one is ridiculous. You'll explore some of the many cenotes in the area, giant sinkholes in the earth formed by underground freshwater rivers. Hop on a bike to cycle between a few of them and swim in the crystal-clear waters to take a break from the heat. After a yummy lunch, return to Mérida and spend the rest of the day wandering the city or relaxing in a hammock at the hostel. Sound about right? Stay: Che Hostel Merida (B/L)

Ready for another epic day? Keep your sunscreen and the camera handy today as you'll be checking a major bucket item off of your list. Head into the jungle to the massive Mayan ruins of Chichen Itzá for a guided tour and time to walk around on your own. Then continue to Valladolid to drop off your stuff at the hostel and chill for a bit before heading out for dinner, and this is no boring old meal! Descend into a cenote where you’ll learn about the Mayas and have a chance to swim in the crystal clear water before devouring a spread of delicious Yucatecan dishes cooked over the fire, like pollo pibil and tamales with fresh handmade tortillas. Stay: Valladolid 48 Hostal (B/D)

Pile into the bus and head to the white sand and turquoise waters of the Mayan Riviera. But before you hit the beach we have more ruins to see - Tulum! The only of the Mayan temples to be built right next to the ocean, you will be filling your feed with jaw-dropping photos in no time. Spend the rest of the day on the beach, hanging out at the hostel or at one of the many bars and cafes in town. Stay: Che Tulum Hostel (B)

The beach at Tulum is pretty stellar that's for sure, and today is yours to do with it what you want. Feeling active and want to explore more? Go snorkelling at the natural waterpark of Xel-Há or visit some more cenotes. Feeling the ocean vibes instead? Stay local and hit the beach before shoring up at the hostel bar for a cold beverage. After dinner head to one of the beach clubs to dance the night away under the stars. Stay: Che Tulum Hostel (B)

Squeeze in a bit more beach time in Tulum before heading north to Playa del Carmen in the late morning. Have lunch at El Hongo, a community project that supports youth art initiatives that also happens to have delicious food. After, take some time to browse the shops along the vibrant pedestrian strip of "la quinta." Next stop, Cancún - where more beach, adventure and nightlife await! Check into the comfy hostel in the hotel zone and laze about by the pool with a cold beverage before deciding what's on for the evening. Stay: Selina Cancun Lagoon Hostel (B)

Day trip! Head away from the tourists into the jungle of the Yucatán to a local community. You'll learn all about the delicious regional cuisine and help prepare some of the dishes before scarfing it down on the spot for lunch. Later, top it all off with a swim in a nearby cenote to cool off from the midday heat. Don’t worry, you’ll still have time to hit the beach or hang out at the hostel pool when we get back to Cancún in the afternoon. Stay: Selina Cancun Lagoon Hostel (B/L)

A free day in Cancún, how good does that sound? If you're craving more adventure you could head out on a day trip to Isla Mujeres or Playa del Carmen, or stay local and squeeze every last moment out of that white sand beach or the hostel hang-out spots. Your CEO is always on hand to give recommendations or to show you the best local stretches of beach, the rest is up to you. Ready to party? Of course you are! Your CEO knows all the best bars and clubs Cancún has to offer. Who needs sleep anyways? Stay: Selina Cancun Lagoon Hostel (B)

Depart at any time, or maybe decide to add on a few more nights at the beach. (B)

Trip Inclusions

  • Bike and swim your way through cenotes in the jungle.
  • Take a guided tour of the massive Mayan site of Chichen Itzá.
  • Descend into a cenote for a delicious spread of Yucatecan cuisine cooked over the fire.
  • Hit the beach after visiting the ruins of Tulum.
  • Stay at hostel near the beach in Cancún.
  • Venture away from the Cancún hotel zone to prepare a meal in a local community.
  • Enjoy free time for optional activities or hanging out at the hostels.

  • Your G for Good Moment: El Hongo Mexican Community Restaurant & Youth Art Program, Playa del Carmen
  • Your Welcome Moment: Welcome Meeting - Meet Your CEO and Group
  • Your Foodie Moment: Yucatecan Community Lunch Experience and Cenote Swim, Cancún
  • Excursion from Mérida to cycle between and swim in cenotes
  • Guided tour of Chichen Itzá and Tulum ruins
  • Dinner inside a cenote near Valladolid
  • Beach time at Tulum and Cancún
  • Visit to an insect museum
  • Beach time at Cancún
  • All transport between destinations and to/from included activities

  • Hostels (8 Nights)
  • Accommodation will be primarily in multi-share hostels (typically 6-8 people per room), with a choice of mixed gender and female-only dorms as well as available upgrades to twin-share rooms (same gender).
  • Some rooming exceptions may apply due to the unique nature of the itineraries and of the hostels themselves, which have been specifically chosen to give local flavour to your trip. Please see the full itinerary description and the Rooming Exception section below for any specific exceptions to the rooming that may apply to this tour.

  • CEO (Chief Experience Officer) throughout, local guides

  • 8 breakfasts, 2 lunches, 1 dinner

  • Private vehicle, public air-conditioned bus, taxi

  • Accommodation, itinerary and inclusions subject to change.
  • Price is for land, cruise and internal flights as specified. Flights not specified are not included
Play Youtube Video

Availability

Limited Time Sale
Saturday 11 Feb 2023
Sunday 19 Feb 2023
Status
From: $1,389 $1,238
Save $151 Enquire
Saturday 25 Feb 2023
Sunday 05 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,389
  Sold Out
Saturday 04 Mar 2023
Sunday 12 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,289
  Sold Out
Saturday 11 Mar 2023
Sunday 19 Mar 2023
Status
From: $1,289
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 25 Mar 2023
Sunday 02 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,289 $1,148
Save $141 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 08 Apr 2023
Sunday 16 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,289 $1,148
Save $141 Enquire
Saturday 15 Apr 2023
Sunday 23 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,289
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 22 Apr 2023
Sunday 30 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,289 $1,148
Save $141 Enquire
Saturday 06 May 2023
Sunday 14 May 2023
Status
From: $1,219
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 20 May 2023
Sunday 28 May 2023
Status
From: $1,219 $1,086
Save $133 Enquire
Saturday 27 May 2023
Sunday 04 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,219
  Sold Out
Saturday 03 Jun 2023
Sunday 11 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,219
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 17 Jun 2023
Sunday 25 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,219 $1,086
Save $133 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 01 Jul 2023
Sunday 09 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,219 $1,086
Save $133 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 08 Jul 2023
Sunday 16 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,219 $1,086
Save $133 Enquire
Saturday 15 Jul 2023
Sunday 23 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,219
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 29 Jul 2023
Sunday 06 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,219 $1,086
Save $133 Enquire
Saturday 12 Aug 2023
Sunday 20 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,219
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 19 Aug 2023
Sunday 27 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,219 $1,086
Save $133 Enquire
Saturday 26 Aug 2023
Sunday 03 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,219
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 09 Sep 2023
Sunday 17 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,219 $1,086
Save $133 Enquire
Saturday 23 Sep 2023
Sunday 01 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,219
  Sold Out
Saturday 30 Sep 2023
Sunday 08 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,219
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 07 Oct 2023
Sunday 15 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,219 $1,086
Save $133 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 21 Oct 2023
Sunday 29 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,289 $1,148
Save $141 Enquire
Saturday 04 Nov 2023
Sunday 12 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,289
  Sold Out
Saturday 11 Nov 2023
Sunday 19 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,289
  Sold Out
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 18 Nov 2023
Sunday 26 Nov 2023
Status
From: $1,289 $1,148
Save $141 Enquire
Limited Time Sale
Saturday 02 Dec 2023
Sunday 10 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,389 $1,238
Save $151 Enquire
Saturday 16 Dec 2023
Sunday 24 Dec 2023
Status
From: $1,389 $1,361
Save $28 Enquire
Saturday 30 Dec 2023
Sunday 07 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,389 $1,361
Save $28 Enquire
Saturday 13 Jan 2024
Sunday 21 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,389 $1,361
Save $28 Enquire
Saturday 20 Jan 2024
Sunday 28 Jan 2024
Status
From: $1,389 $1,361
Save $28 Enquire
Saturday 27 Jan 2024
Sunday 04 Feb 2024
Status
From: $1,389 $1,361
Save $28 Enquire
Saturday 10 Feb 2024
Sunday 18 Feb 2024
Status
From: $1,389 $1,361
Save $28 Enquire
Saturday 24 Feb 2024
Sunday 03 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,389 $1,361
Save $28 Enquire
Saturday 02 Mar 2024
Sunday 10 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,289 $1,263
Save $26 Enquire
Saturday 09 Mar 2024
Sunday 17 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,289 $1,263
Save $26 Enquire
Saturday 23 Mar 2024
Sunday 31 Mar 2024
Status
From: $1,289 $1,263
Save $26 Enquire
Saturday 06 Apr 2024
Sunday 14 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,289 $1,263
Save $26 Enquire
Saturday 13 Apr 2024
Sunday 21 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,289 $1,263
Save $26 Enquire
Saturday 20 Apr 2024
Sunday 28 Apr 2024
Status
From: $1,289 $1,263
Save $26 Enquire
Saturday 04 May 2024
Sunday 12 May 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 18 May 2024
Sunday 26 May 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 25 May 2024
Sunday 02 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 01 Jun 2024
Sunday 09 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 15 Jun 2024
Sunday 23 Jun 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 29 Jun 2024
Sunday 07 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 06 Jul 2024
Sunday 14 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 13 Jul 2024
Sunday 21 Jul 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 27 Jul 2024
Sunday 04 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 10 Aug 2024
Sunday 18 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 17 Aug 2024
Sunday 25 Aug 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 24 Aug 2024
Sunday 01 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 07 Sep 2024
Sunday 15 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 21 Sep 2024
Sunday 29 Sep 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 28 Sep 2024
Sunday 06 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 05 Oct 2024
Sunday 13 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,219 $1,195
Save $24 Enquire
Saturday 19 Oct 2024
Sunday 27 Oct 2024
Status
From: $1,289 $1,263
Save $26 Enquire
Saturday 02 Nov 2024
Sunday 10 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,289 $1,263
Save $26 Enquire
Saturday 09 Nov 2024
Sunday 17 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,289 $1,263
Save $26 Enquire
Saturday 16 Nov 2024
Sunday 24 Nov 2024
Status
From: $1,289 $1,263
Save $26 Enquire
Saturday 30 Nov 2024
Sunday 08 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,289 $1,263
Save $26 Enquire
Saturday 14 Dec 2024
Sunday 22 Dec 2024
Status
From: $1,389 $1,361
Save $28 Enquire
Show more dates...
Key
Definite Departure. Minimum numbers reached for this departure to operate.
Available Departure. Minimum numbers not yet reached, so while this departure is expected to operate, it’s not yet a Definite Departure.
Not Available. Places on this departure are unavailable.
Save 10% on selected departures. Available for a limited time or until sold out.
Exclusive Global Journeys Savings. Available for a limited time or until sold out.
Note
Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.
Note
Tour & cruises prices are per person. Prices shown have savings applied, are subject to availability and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Prices and trip information are correct at the time at this point in time, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking and are subject to change by G Adventures.

Similar Tours

9 Day Cultural Wonders of Mexico (G Adventures)

9 Days Mexico City Mexico City

Operated By: G Adventures

From 3,331
Save 77
9 Day Costa Rica Family Journey: From Rainforest to Coast (G Adventures)

9 Days San Jose San Jose

Operated By: G Adventures

From 3,429
Save 81
9 Day Costa Rica Quest (G Adventures)

9 Days San Jose San Jose

Operated By: G Adventures

From 1,380
Save 191
9 Day Costa Rica Family Experience (G Adventures)

9 Days San Jose San Jose

Operated By: G Adventures

From 2,302
Save 52