Travelmarvel Tours & Cruises Reviews

Travelmarvel
4.5 out of 5
298 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Travelmarvel. Every review has been verified.

“10 Day Grand Tasman tour 2021”
- South Australia, Australia May 2021 View Photo

Had a wonderful time on our holiday. May weather in Tasmaina was a little cold in the mornings but we had lovely days with only one day of rain - but that was on a day of full travelling, so was ok. All accommodation and food was very good, only one older room which required a little updating but was nice and clean. Had a great bus driver Catch (Gary), never felt unsafe with his driving and we had many challenging roads very friendly to all passengers and helpful.

Our tour director Daniel was also very good and he mixed well with fellow passengers and did have some lame jokes lol. Got to see some extra beautiful places not on tour which where on the way. Could have spent more time at Port Arthur. Bridestowe lavender estate was a little disappointing as wrong time of year for seeing the fields of lavender. Russell falls is a must see so wonderful. Extra tour at own cost to Bruny Island is well worth the cost $235 great whole day meals included. Franklin Gordon river cruise another great day very relaxing pace up the river some of the most beautiful scenery and great food onboard. Seeing the little penguins was worth the extra cost of $40 very cute. Beaconsfield mine was very interesting tour.

Only disappointment were the bus seats which where not really suited for long touring, not much room for two people so was very uncomfortable for ten days on bus. Would highly recommend TravelMarvel and they have been very helpful in trying times with Covid always keeping us informed. Driver was at airport to pick us up on time. Had a lovely group of fellow travelers would recommend Tasmania as a great destination to go.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Stress free coach tour in Tasmania ”
- NSW, Australia May 2021

We’re glad that we joined this tour. The tour director and driver were very nice and funny. The quality of hotels and included meals were excellent. We were fortunate with the weather except in Cradle Mountain. It was cold whole time but bearable. Our highlight of the tour was Port Arthur, Gordon river cruise, Russell falls and also some small towns where we stopped for a break were nice. In ten days trip we covered most of Tasmania. The fellow travelers were also lovely. We enjoyed very much. Finally thank you so much, Global Journeys, for organizing this wonderful trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Kimberley by coach and ship with TravelMarvel”
- QLD, Australia May 2021 View Photo

This TravelMarvel tour was booked through Global Journeys, Noosa Heads; and was a trip that had been deferred due to COVID.

The Kimberley itself is beautiful. Not much to see by coach and quite a lot of hours gazing out the window at termite mounds, red dirt and boab trees, but guide Wally and driver John made the trip a lot of fun with their knowledge of the geological history and people of the Kimberley, and with their constant anecdotes. The boat trips on the gorges and narration by local guides was fascinating. There are optional extras such as helicopter tours. The accommodation was better than expected, having regard to the remoteness of the towns and the COVID issues. All the included meals were very good. There were plenty of bathroom stops and even though some of the facilities were rudimentary, they were all clean. It was a fun trip.

The ship part of the tour was excellent. We were aboard the Coral Adventurer which is part of the Coral Expeditions Fleet. Just under 100 passengers and about 35 crew. The passengers all got on well and the crew were fabulous. The ship is modern and 1st class. Beautiful staterooms, clean and modern facilities throughout with a very good dining area. There is plenty of food and the menu is set. So much of it is seafood and there is always 2 choices for each course. My small criticism of the food is that there was not much variety for those who don't eat seafood, and sometimes the meals were not as hot as they could have been. The servers and kitchen staff (as with the rest of the crew) were all very friendly and worked so hard to please.

Every day on the ship was another adventure as we were put in the 2 tenders and taken to islands, waterfalls and other features. Each boat had an expert guide on board and their knowledge of the indigenous peoples, fauna, and flora was amazing. These 2 guides would also give lectures at night.

We had the run of the ship and were permitted to enter the engine room and bridge (escorted). We wandered past the bridge one night and we were called in and sat in the captain's and chief mate's seats and shown how to sail the ship. Unfortunately, we had to disembark when our cruise ended.

We originally booked the tour for travel in August 2020 but due to COVID we could not travel until May 2021. Global Journeys, Noosa Heads were very good. Their communication and attention to detail from when we first booked in 2019 to when we finished our tour was first class and we would have no hesitation in recommending them. We would not book another TravelMarvel tour. I found their communication was poor (even allowing for COVID), and they had never advised our coach guide (their employee) that we would have to have a COVID test three days prior to boarding the ship. He was surprised when we told him and he had to ring TravelMarvel for instructions. Even then we nearly missed out on our cruise because they stuffed that up as well. It was only by the grace of our guide and Sullivan Nicolaides in Darwin that we finally made it.

All in all, a great tour.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Red Centre”
- VIC, Australia Mar 2021

Most enjoyable outback, outdoor experience. As an inexperienced tour traveller I found the single supplement punitive. The base cost, on the other hand, was quite good value. Travelling shortly after COVID restrictions were lifted meant accommodation services were lacking or accident prone - as might be expected. Vehicle supplied was of poor quality - especially considering the long distances involved and the quality of other tourist transport on the same roads. Good time of year to travel. Small group of similar demographic worked very well.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“New Zealand Highlights”
- QLD, Australia Feb 2020 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

Tour group was excellent and well managed by Travelmarvel. What could have been frustrating was organised well with the way bus seat rotation was implemented - everyone was happy. We travelled over 4000km and had a good taste of the country and culture with excellent information, much of it humorous, from the tour leader. We would have enjoyed more photo opportunities but the roads just did not allow a large bus to park safely at times. For the length of the tour time spent in places was appropriate. Tour provided a great overview of NZ.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Mekong River Cruise with Travelmarvel”
- QLD, Australia Jan 2020 2 Helpful Votes

The whole trip was a very enjoyable experience - there is no better way to explore Cambodia and Vietnam than by river boat! Global Journeys made the whole booking process simple and stress free - all information was readily available and any questions I had were answered promptly and professionally by Hannah. I will definitely book future trips through Global Journeys.

Travelmarvel exceeded my expectations. The pre and post accommodation was of a high standard and the cruise itself outstanding. The cabins on La Marguerite were larger than expected and the included excursions extensive. The highlight of the trip was the amazing tour director, guides and crew - all locals with their own stories to tell.

We had many opportunities to visit local communities and explore places outside the normal tourist sites. The tour group (79 people, mainly from Australia and Britain) was divided into three smaller groups for each excursion which made disembarking and embarking the river boat a very organised process. We look forward to future trips with Travelmarvel.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip through Canada”
- WA, Australia Dec 2019
Trip: Travelmarvel Tour & Cruise (URXN13)

Had a great trip with a wonderful tour guide and a congenial bunch of travellers. Missed a few excursions due to heavy snowfall around Banff causing road closures - winter in the Rockies is the opposite of Oz in summer (heat waves and bushfires)!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Worry free river cruise”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2019 3 Helpful Votes

What can I say, four women off to Europe on a Christmas Markets river cruise, we had a wonderful holiday and it was made very easy for us as we had the best crew on board and one of the best tour directors in Karla. There was plenty of food, wine and beer. Would highly recommend this cruise nothing was to much trouble and everything went as planned.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful and relaxing”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2019 3 Helpful Votes

What a great journey! Travelmarvel were great, all the staff and Sue our tour director were wonderful. There was no chance to go hungry... so much food and very nice. The tours off the ship were well organised and plenty of time to do your own thing if you wanted to. My favourite place was Cesky Krumlov. Had a great time and met some lovely people. Great value for money too. Thank you Travelmarvel and thank you Georgie for organising this tour for us.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Grand Tasman”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2019

Covered just about all of Tasmania. Well worth the trip it was just a pity that the weather was not kind to us being cold and windy throughout. The hotels, coach, and Travelmarvel staff were all very good. The itinerary was a bit rushed but you kind of expect it on these coach tours. The coach drivers have to have their rests. Yes the trip was well worth the money paid and I will be looking through the Travelmarvel brochure to book future tours with you.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Thoroughly enjoyable Sri Lanka tour”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2019 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Some of the hotels were magnificent especially the one at Yala National Park. Some of the hotels were dated and needed renovations, all were comfortable. I think this tour had been outsourced as usually with Travelmarvel most meals and accompanying drinks are included and some people were irritated by having to buy their meals. More emphasis needed to be placed on the fitness level required as some of our group were certainly not up to climbing the number of steps at some sights.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous tour of New Zealand”
- United Kingdom Nov 2019 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

Our Tour Director and both drivers ensured that we had an excellent rail tour of New Zealand. The APT tour was varied and enjoyable, with well-paced days and something for everyone. The hotels were good, most of the included breakfasts and dinners were of a good standard and the hotels well located for when we had personal time. Couldn't expect any more from a tour (and we've done maybe 15) so we would be happy to travel with APT again in the future. Jemma at Global Journeys was excellent in providing us with timely information and answering questions, etc.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic river cruise Amstedam to Budapest with Travelmarvel”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 6 Helpful Votes

What a cruise - fantastic, a great experience. Let's start with Global Journeys - Yvonne was faultless, found us a great deal, organised our flights, looked after us really well - highly recommended. Travelmarvel - our cruise co-ordinator Jude went out of her way to ensure we had the best time and that we got the best out of our cruise, really looked after any little problem for everybody. The boat "Sapphire" was great - cabins quite comfortable and a good size. The on board entertainment was great, we were kept well fed, hydrated, entertained, informed and worry free.

This cruise travels through some very scenic and beautiful river valleys and towns, the onshore excursions ensure you experience another lifestyle in many different countries with castles, churches, buildings and unlimited history. Your cruise can be as relaxed or as busy as you wish, there are things to do everyday or you can choose to stay and relax, no pressure. Another great thing - the ship has a maximum of 150 passengers which means a great social atmosphere and the opportunity to make many new friends.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Marvelous Travelmarvel tour to South and East Africa”
- ACT, Australia Sep 2019

Had a wonderful time travelling from Capetown to Tanzania, via a number of fantastic highlight experiences. Some of the most memorable bucket-list animal encounters you could ever imagine. Seeing 4 cheetah brothers posing for a National Geographic photo on a termite mound, then picking their way past the safari vehicles (so close you could have reached out and touched them) and staging a military precision hunt taking down two gazelles will never leave us. That was just one of several things that we treasure forever.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Not Impressed”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019
Trip: Travelmarvel Tour & Cruise (RJTGZJ12)

The trains were great and everything (especially the scenery) was what was promised. The hotels in St Moritz and Zermatt were terrific - beautiful rooms and outlook. The provided meals were lovely (great buffet breakfasts) but often served too late in the evening to be really appreciated. It was the overall organisation of the tour that left us unimpressed. Our introduction was a hotel room in London that was so tiny we could not have two suitcases open at any one time if we wished to actually walk around the room. The meeting time with the Tour Director was changed from 6pm to 4:30pm and it was sheer luck we were there rather than out sightseeing. Instead of starting out in the morning, it was almost midday before we caught a train which meant that our overnight stop was in darkness when we arrived so there was no chance of even trying to have a quick look at the city. I could go on but I guess what I want to say is, we would not do such a tour again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Well organised tour”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

The tour went without a hitch with free time and trains to catch. Glad we went for portage, carrying bags would have been difficult. Rooms in general were on the small side. All transfers even to Zurich were confirmed well before time (thanks to tour leader Brian). Group size could have been smaller, I think 28 would have been a good size group. Over all a good trip. Special thanks to tour leader Brian.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enchanting Rockies & Alaska Cruise ”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

My friend and I have just come back from an amazing tour of Canada and Alaska. Can highly recommend this tour and our Travelmarvel guide Jaqi was amazing and the most organised person I have ever met. Our driver Al was just as amazing manoeuvring the coach around tight areas with ease and always getting us to our destination. This tour will give you a taste of what there is in this part of Canada - with its beautiful scenery, wildlife and people. Would recommend arriving a day earlier as this tour is on the go for much of the time, but it's okay because you have the opportunity to rest up on the cruise if you wish. Thank you Georgie for organising us and answering all our questions. We had a wonderful time.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Trip of a lifetime - was all that and more”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

Myself and my travel buddy had the best time on our trip and even a couple of days bad weather couldn't put a dampener on the overall trip. So many highlights made all the better by Cheryl our land director and Bernie our coach driver. I highly recommend the Rocky Mountaineer (SliverLeaf) so many beautiful lakes, glaciers and wildlife just too many to list, every day was a highlight. Would happily revisit any of the hotels we stayed at but being able to fully unpack for a full 7 days was wonderful and after experiencing so many wonderful sights on the land leg was happily surprised that the cruise was full of just as many wonders.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Interesting, Fascinating and Incomprehensible Tales - Tour of Eastern Europe”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

This Travelmarvel tour started in beautiful Prague, visiting Dresden, Berlin, Warsaw, Krakow and Budapest. The itinerary was especially good for anyone interested in history, especially of World War 2. Although familiar with the story, it’s not until you visit Berlin and more tragically, Auschwitz, does the real horror of WW2 and its aftermath, emerge. On a brighter note, the Wieliczka Salt Mines, in Poland, would have to be the highlight of the trip. Everything - walls, floor and chandeliers made from salt. Overall, the scenery was beautiful; the itinerary was well organised, varied and smooth running. This was the 7th trip organised for us by Georgie and again, her organisation was efficient and reliable. Top marks!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Absolutely spectacular and highly recommended ”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

When friends and family saw the photos from this trip most thought they'd been Photoshopped, the Inside Passage is mind blowing. Highly recommend the Wolf Dog sanctuary outside Calgary, would also suggest arriving a day or two early in Calgary as we didn't have enough time to take in the beautiful city. Also must do is the bear rescue in Ketchikan.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 298