Tasmanian Wonders Reviews

AAT Kings Best Buys Tour starting in Hobart and finishing in Hobart

4.5 out of 5
103 Reviews

Ratings

5 Star
52%
4 Star
38%
3 Star
10%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Most Popular Reviews

  7 Votes   Anne & Frank
  6 Votes   Al & Sylvia
  5 Votes   Linda
  4 Votes   Fei Chen
“Our wonderful trip around Tasmania”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2018 7 Helpful Votes

Our trip to Tasmania was extremely well organised and certainly met our expectations. The guide Caroline was very informative and very attentive to all the group. Despite the group being very large (50 people) there were no problems at all and everyone got on very well. The accommodation was excellent and we had no complaints there. The itinerary was well thought out and it was a good time to go. The weather was pleasant with no rain, despite it being very cloudy. The only disappointment was we didn't have enough time at Port Arthur. We would have liked more time to explore all the buildings. Other than that we're very happy.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing and wonderful worry free tour ”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018 3 Helpful Votes

Global Journeys and AAT Kings made my Tasmanian Wonders tour absolutely worry free. Madeline from Global Journeys organised this tour for me so well. From my arrival to departure I had no worries. The trip was great and we were blessed with beautiful weather.
Everyone was so friendly and helpful on this tour. We got on with each other so well. Our Travel Director Carolyn had a wealth of knowledge and understanding about Tasmanian history and she was very helpful. Tom our coach driver was excellent in all areas of his expertise and very helpful as well. I left with so much knowledge and understanding of Tasmania. I will visit Tasmania in the near future soon. I would recommend this tour to anyone who loves travelling and learning about cultures, people and scenic views.
I enjoyed every minute of this tour. I have already booked another tour to Europe with Global Journeys. Thank you to Global Journeys and AAT Kings for the best tour I have ever had!!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tasmanian Wonders”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2018 2 Helpful Votes

Great trip. Well organised and easy to just sit back and enjoy. Carolyn, our tour director, shared interesting stories and background information on the areas we visited while Tom, our coach driver, was professional, courteous and got us safely from one destination to another. The itinerary was well planned and gave us a great taste of Tasmania. Would definitely recommend.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A fantastic 10 day trip around Tasmania”
- WA, Australia Nov 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Had a fantastic time travelling around Tasmania with AAT Kings. Everything was so well organised, with a very informative travel director and great driver. Made our trip worry free and very enjoyable. Made lots of friends who we will definitely catch up with again. Great accommodation throughout and our friendly travel director would often include an extra stop at a lookout or interesting site if we were running on time. Loved Tasmania, particularly the west coast and central highlands. Cradle Mountain was the highlight!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“10 Day Tasmanian Wonders coach tour with AAT Kings”
- QLD, Australia Nov 2018 3 Helpful Votes

Had a wonderful tour around Tasmania in November, the roadsides were covered in wild flowers, the weather was ideal and the coach tour staff were excellent at keeping us informed about the local history. This tour visited spectacular rainforests and tourist attractions that suited the type of tour we were looking for. The accommodation and meals supplied were all excellent with special dietary requirements catered for. I would recommend this tour to anyone travelling to Tasmania.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 View Photo

Great trip, did not have to think too much because the tour was all planned. Beautiful coach with an amazing driver, sailed smoothly all the way around. Knowledgeable tour director. I learnt so much about Tasmania that I had no idea about. Accommodation was more than acceptable. Would definitely travel with AAT Kings again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tasmanian Wonders 10 day AAT Kings Tour ”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

We were the 1st tour for the season and left Hobart with 17 passengers, the coach was brand new and very comfortable. Our driver Tom had many years of experience so I felt very comfortable and safe. Carolyn our tour director also was a wealth of knowledge about everything! I'd been to Tassie for 4 days 20 years ago and this was the best way for me to see more. I'm single and enjoy travelling but not driving, therefore being driven around allowed me to see a lot more. I loved the mix of towns we got to see as well as spending time in Hobart and Launceston. The hotels were all clean and comfortable, a couple of places were noisy, mainly traffic noise. The meals included were more than enough, breakfast buffets with a lot of choices and dinners included had a lot of local cuisine.
Carolyn & Tom knew all the good coffee places to stop in towns and for a bit of shopping etc. Our group being smaller got along pretty well and often had evening drinks in the bar, so it was quite social. I paid for some optional tours such as a wildlife night spotting tour and a penguin night tour which were good value. The James Boag Tour was interesting and you get 3 beers, cheese and crackers. Port Arthur was an amazing place to visit (emotional). I felt the boat harbour tour wasn't for me, so if that was left out there would be more time to look around, you need a bit of time to walk around and there are lots of buildings to see. Included tours such as Bridestowe Lavender farm & Ashgrove Cheese farm were a good way to see family businesses.
The whole trip I felt was good value for money, because our group was smaller I can't comment on a coach load which I could imagine would be quite different. AAT Kings seem very professional, helpful and love what they do. The photo is overlooking the town of Stanley in the northwest of Tassie, one of my favourite places. I would recommend the 12 day tour as you get to stay at Freycinet and 2 nights in Cradle Mountain.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tasmanian Wonders”
- QLD, Australia May 2018

What a wonderful time I've just had on the 10 day Tasmanian Wonders tour. Our tour guide Carolyn knew so much about her island, and along with coach driver Tom, they couldn't do enough for us. We were a good mix of ages on the coach, and it was great to see some much older than me enjoy themselves. Our accommodation was of a very high standard and meals delicious. I would certainly recommend this tour everyone. Well done!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tasmanian Wonders”
- ACT, Australia May 2018

We have just returned from a fabulous coach trip around Tasmania with AAT Kings. We stayed in some great locations and the accommodation was really good. We went in early May, which concerned me a little, but it turned out to be a great time to travel. The trees had changed into their Autumn colours, but the sun shone every day. Another plus is that their aren't so many other tourists about that late in the season.
Our tour director Gordon was amazing and I was in awe of his knowledge of each area we visited. He was also entertaining and with his sidekick, Tom the driver, we were in great hands. We were given chocs on Mother's Day, as a lovely gesture and sweets were passed down the coach daily. They seemed to go out of their way to take us on new adventures - be it a wonderful view and picture opportunity or taking us for an ice cream in a little town that isn't quite on the tourist map!
We all felt safe and in good hands and the time flew by so quickly with our new friends. Yvonne at Global Journeys was very helpful and pleasant to be associated with and when I had to re-book due to ill health, Yvonne was very understanding and helped us with all our concerns. I would certainly go to Yvonne if I was going on any future travel.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonders of Tasmania”
- NSW, Australia May 2018 View Photo

The trip was a very informative journey. I can't really pick a highlight as every day something beautiful was viewed. Gordon our Tour Director was knowledgeable and made it an enjoyable adventure. Tom's driving was excellent.
I was told tourists would mainly be in their 60s but there were only three of us. It was a mix of one 40 year old, three in 60s, couples in 70s and 80s and even a 92 year old gentleman. Everyone mixed well with Australians, New Zealanders, a German couple and an elderly French woman who invited me to visit her in Paris which was lovely.
Global Journeys handled my booking well and professionally. The weather was perfect as well. I was travelling alone and the accommodation was very good.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful trip”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2018 View Photo

We will definitely book with Global Journeys again in the future. We were made to feel special and all questions were answered thoroughly

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing Tasmanian holiday”
- WA, Australia Mar 2018 2 Helpful Votes

This was a great tour, run by an experienced and knowledgeable tour guide and an excellent driver. We enjoyed everything about the trip, from comfortable accommodation, fabulous food, well planned excursions to some truly lovely and unique places. The booking process was simple and everything went to plan.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Memorable tour of Tasmania”
- New Zealand Mar 2018 3 Helpful Votes

Our amazing guide Caroline looked after everyone exceptionally well. Her knowledge of the Island's history and the people was outstanding. So not only did we see the sights (and the extras Caroline was able to take us to), we got to "know" Tasmania.
The bus driver was excellent and the bus comfortable and perfectly clean at all times. All of the accommodation was of a high standard. Perhaps our only comment was that the Wrest in Hobart was a little too far from the city center for walking.
Optional excursions we found a bit disappointing. Cataract Gorge - the boat struggled through the mud around the wharf area then only spent a short time in the Gorge. Bicheno Penguins - a rushed visit. Wrong time of the year to visit, so only saw 3 penguins. Was looking forward to the penguin experience.
We would recommend travelling on an AAT Kings tour and booking with Global Journeys. Leanne and the online system made it easy to keep up with information and payments.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tasmanian Holiday”
- QLD, Australia Feb 2018 1 Helpful Vote

We covered a lot of ground and I learnt so much from our wonderful travel director Pete. We saw some amazing scenery (I loved the forests on the West Coast), stopped at some quirky little towns (Sheffield), and became better acquainted with the convict and aboriginal history of the island.
We were very well catered for with breakfast and dinner and most of the accommodation was very good. Best Western Launceston was my least favourite accommodation. I felt safe with our excellent driver Tom, even on those very winding roads. The 2 night stay in Launceston was most welcome and perhaps another 2 night stay could be included, or a full free day.
We had a minor hiccup with the change of starting hotel not noted on all the documents we received and my query via email to Global re this was not answered, although I had previously been notified of the change of venue. Some of our group initially went to the wrong hotel.
This tour is an excellent introduction to Tasmania and I am ready to return soon. AAT Kings take every opportunity to make every post a winner and I will travel with them again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tasmanian Wonders”
- VIC, Australia Feb 2018

Excellent holiday, everything was well organized and would definetely book with Global Journeys again. Carolyn was a great tour guide and was always willing to help. Her commentary was very informative.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tasmanian Sights”
- QLD, Australia Jan 2018

Good value. Well organised. Excellent tour director and coach driver. My fellow travellers - all whom I met for the first time on the trip - seemed to also enjoy the experience. Overall, well worth it.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tasmanian Wonders”
- QLD, Australia Nov 2017 3 Helpful Votes

Guide - very knowledgeable - hotels - good including breakfast - pace - suitable to most people's ability - rotation system - great, never seen this before and gives everyone a chance not only to sit in best seats but to meet all the other passengers.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing trip with all the hard work and planning done for us.,”
- QLD, Australia Nov 2017

Tasmania put on some wonderful weather for us and we were fortunate to visit places which would be inaccessible in bad weather. Accommodation on the whole was good. Very impressed with accommodation, meals and service at Bicheno.
Top class driver - Tom. Coach always clean - even the tyres. Some optional excursions were difficult to see where the value was particularly the afternoon delight Tamar River cruise. Overall rating is very good with the best of Tasmania on show together with genial company and great commentary from the tour director.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great intro to Tassie”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2017

Whole tour was very enjoyable. Accommodation was first class. I was a single traveller and my room mate was very good. No problems. The world heritage areas were spectacular including Cradle Mountain where the Chalet has an very interesting history which was very well explained. The tour guide was brilliant and her ability to impart the history of the Murder of the Aborigines, and the cruelty to the convicts, was appreciated . My fellow travellers were all kind and courteous.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing way to experience the best of Tasmania.”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2017 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

A great coach tour which comprehensively covered Tasmania. The well planned itinerary showed us much of the beauty of Tasmania and the character of it's people. The hotels and included meals were all very good. Our tour director Margaret and driver Tom were world class, keeping us well informed, entertained and safe. Global Journeys were again very helpful - thanks Madeline. Our highlight was the snow dump that greeted us at the Cradle Mountain hotel. The only thing we didn't like is the very steep middle steps on the new AAT coach (front ones were a bit better).

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 103