Home > Operators > AAT Kings > AAT Kings Reviews
AAT Kings Tours

AAT Kings Tour Reviews

The 431 AAT Kings reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with AAT Kings. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.5
AVG. RATING 4.5 / 5
431 REVIEWS
5 Star
58%
4 Star
34%
3 Star
8%
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To AAT Kings

Fabulous scenery and experiences   0 , QLD, Australia, Jun 2022
Loved our trip to the Kimberley. Starting in Broome was great but also the best of accommodation by far. Smaller places had basic but clean and ok stays. Longish days on the bus but lots of wonderful rewards. Loved El Questro stay in luxury tents, flight over the Bungle Bungles was a must. Flexibility is a key as lots of changes needed in itinerary ...read more due to Covid but effectively handled by our great guide Nellie and driver Darren. Thoroughly enjoyed the varied and diverse experiences...especially 4 very different cruises!!! The long journey from Brisbane to Broome via Perth was well worthwhile but with flight disruptions and changes we were very glad to arrive a day early to make sure we arrived in time for the start of the trip.
Red Center Australia   0 , VIC, Australia, May 2022
Booked with Global Journeys and it was easy and they kept in contact with me at all stages of my journey. Travelled with AAT Kings. With Covid times and lack of staff wherever we went it was a excellent trip. We were able to make the most out of it and congratulations to tour leader Christin as she worked extremely hard for the end result. Would recommend ...read more both Global Journeys and AAT Kings.
Excellent Top End tour   1 , NSW, Australia, May 2022
We really enjoyed the tour covering Litchfield and Kakadu National Parks. We had an excellent tour guide, Liz, who was always cheerful and nothing was too much trouble for her. She had challenges finding places for us to have lunch due to staff shortages but always managed to sort things out. Liz was also very knowledgeable about the NT. We really ...read more enjoyed the flight over Kakadu which was an excellent overview of the area. We were happy with the accommodation provided which was always clean and comfortable. We were very happy with the help we had from Georgie Walpole at Global Journeys with this booking.
Outback Explorer   0 , VIC, Australia, Apr 2022
It was a wonderful trip show casing the wonderful outback from the flinders rangers to Uluṟu the Olga’s the wonderful kings canyon to Alice Springs. From the tour guide Christine and the bus drivers great driving skills and to the wonderful guest on the tour we all got on well and had many a laugh. To Georgie again for great organising of our trip everything ...read more went extremely well - she is the best.
Great tour of Tassie West Coast   0 , NSW, Australia, Mar 2022
As always Global Journeys were great to work with when deciding and booking our AAT Kings Tassies Parks and Nature tour. Thanks Georgie for your professionalism. Our tour was well run with a great guide (Dave) and excellent driver (Tom). Felt very safe throughout the tour. Tour was well placed. Boat cruise on the Gordon River and Sarah Island was excellent. ...read more Accommodation was good and most hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Included meals were good. Added bonus of 2 drink vouchers when having included dinners was also a nice inclusion. One hotel needs to update their staff on the conditions of use of these vouchers. I think AAT kings were going to address the issue as well.

Included stops were good. The only disappointment was the Wall in the Wilderness being deleted from our itinerary. As we stayed extra nights in Launceston after the tour we were able to travel there ourselves. AAT Kings need to resolve the issues that have prevented them visiting as other tour operators include it in their itineraries. Will happily use Global Journeys for future holidays and also AAT Kings.
Tasmanian Wonders   2 , QLD, Australia, Mar 2022
Good trip that covered the highlights of Tasmania. Would have liked to spend more time on East Coast and Cradle Mountain. There were 32 people on our trip. Excellent driving by Tom and hosted by Christin. My only recommendation to AAT Kings is to advertise optional trips available prior to getting there. Would have loved to have done a Bruny Island ...read more tour but was unaware of the trip being available to purchase until Day 1.
Tasmania Wonders   0 , NSW, Australia, Feb 2022
What a great trip we had on the AAT Kings 10 day Tasmanian Wonders. All parts were great and the driver of the coach and the tour guide were very knowledgeable and showed many places that others may not see. It was excellent value for money and the accommodation was excellent and the food was very moreish and delicious. The optional tours were well ...read more worth doing. It was an excellent overview of Tasmania. I would certainly do the trip again and will be recommending others to do it.

The additional tours that were added prior to and after the 10 day tour were excellent. The tour to Bruny Island by Petticotts was excellent and again great value for money. Georgie, our travel consultant from Global Journeys did an excellent job in coordinating it all. Nothing was of too much bother for her and she was always very pleasant and courteous and prompt in all dealings. I was able to coordinate travel to and from Tasmania by "Spirit of Tasmania" in preference to flying and this worked well with all aspects. Overall a really value for money first class tour well handled, arranged and coordinated by Georgie. I have no hesitation in recommending the tour by AAT Kings and Georgie to one and all.
Excellent food and scenery   0 , NSW, Australia, Feb 2022
Tasmania was truly awesome. Food was spectacular and scenery likewise. Wherever we went, we had gorgeous meals and there is more variety of food to choose from in the shops and being an Island, I am sure it's all grown locally and soooooo fresh. Tour driver and tour guide were excellent, accommodation was good, plenty of toilet stops and other stops ...read more for scenery views. Comfortable seats on coach.
Wonders of the Kimberley   0 , VIC, Australia, Jul 2021
We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Kimberleys with AAT Kings and feel extremely lucky to have made it as all future tours for 2021 have been cancelled. Our guide Delma, and driver Cam were excellent. Because of border closures we only had 19 fellow passengers, all of whom were very easy to get along with. We would like to thank Georgie, from Global ...read more Journeys for her help in planning this trip. We will certainly be looking at booking any future trips with her.
Essential Adventure for all Australians     2 , SA, Australia, Jun 2021
I rated this trip as a 10/10 adventure based on the scenery, the experiences in terms of the Bungles, Emma Gorge and Zebedee Gorge, the 4 boat trips and the overall wilderness, which were all enhanced by AAT's Nellie and Mark.
Fantastic Taste of the Australian Outback - Has inspired me to see more of Australia!   2 , NSW, Australia, Jun 2021
I thoroughly enjoyed this tour as I love outback country. All travel is on sealed roads. Be prepared for a few long travel days, as there are some big distances to cover, but we had good stops at least every couple of hours on those long days. There are a number of very early mornings, and if you’re doing the tour in winter, make sure you have your ...read more winter woolies, as it was very cold, particularly to watch the sunrise at Uluru!! Accommodation was excellent all the way. The rooms at Wilpena Pound Resort were more basic than the others, but they were comfortable and clean, and in a beautiful bush setting. Meals were fabulous, with plenty to choose from the set tour menu for each course, even for me being GF. Breakfasts in SA were by preorder due to COVID19 restrictions on buffets, but there were great buffet breakfasts in NT.

As can be expected due to the isolation, costs for food/drinks/snacks/coffees at the outback roadhouses/shops are fairly high. If you need special dietary snacks/biscuits, I would suggest buying these at the supermarkets along the way, as not many of the roadhouses have these available.

Strangely we saw only a handful of kangaroos the whole trip, but we did see a herd of about 20 camels as we drove out to Uluru, which was a treat. Huge flocks of wild budgies and cockatiels were seen all the time rising from the trees or off the road. The 3 hour walk at Wilpena Pound was lovely, and you can do as much as you like. It’s only at the end that you can choose to climb up an uneven rock path to get to the lookout over the pound before you head back down along the same flat track. I did the 11km Uluru base walk and thoroughly enjoyed it. The walk is completely flat on a dirt/sand track. Most of it isn’t right at the base, but this gives you better views from a distance. You are given 3.5 hours to do the walk, and once you start walking, you’re committed, as the bus won’t pick you up from anywhere other than where they drop you off! A few of our group did the 3 hour King’s Canyon Rim Walk which they said was great, with views down into the canyon, however it starts off with 500 steep and uneven rock steps, so you need to be able to handle the steps and definitely not be afraid of heights if you want to take on that loop walk! The rest of us did the lovely canyon floor walk which took us just over an hour. We marveled at the amazing red canyon walls, beautiful white gums in the dry riverbed, and beautiful birds.

Our tour director Dave Overton was fantastic - very friendly, helpful and funny, and he gave just the right amount of interesting commentary, without overloading us. Tom our driver was also excellent and friendly, and a very safe and careful driver. The bus had very comfortable leather seats, plenty of leg room, big windows for sightseeing, and a toilet on board if needed. Although they do have free Wi-Fi on board, it’s quite spasmodic, and on some days you can go hours without any internet or phone reception.

It wasn’t until the start of the tour that I found that AAT Kings always run 3 different tours concurrently, so you may find that on the bus there will be guests doing the full Adelaide to Darwin tour, some are only doing the Adelaide to Alice Springs tour, and other guests will join you at Uluru for the Uluru to Darwin tour, so don’t be surprised if there are guests coming and going on the bus!

Thanks to Georgie Walpole and the team for their assistance in keeping me appraised of things with my booking, and also with the ease that they transferred another booking to 2022 for me. This is the second time I’ve used Global Journeys, and I will continue to do so in the future.
Untamed Pilbara and West Coast   0 , WA, Australia, Jun 2021
A great way to see the diversity of Western Australia from the red dust in the Pilbara to the pristine blue waters of the Indian Ocean. While some early starts and long days are a necessity the coach was very comfortable, cleaned daily and sanitised regularly. Be prepared for cold nights and some windy days at this time of the year. If you want to see ...read more wildflowers I would suggest taking this trip in late August/September. Global Journeys took the hassle out of organising this trip. Everything went smoothly and a thanks to Georgie for her help.
Kata Tjuta, Uluru & Kings Canyon   0 , WA, Australia, May 2021
First time to join ATT King tour to Uluru which is different than normal group tour. The tour has different groups join in. They cancelled the Kata Tjuta Sunset in the first day is good, because the second day Sunset tour is the same thing! BBQ dinner was super! 4 days break is good enough. Spent a lot of time travel from Alice Spring to Uluru.
Great Introduction to the Top End   2 , QLD, Australia, May 2021
First time touring with AAT Kings but we'd travelled previously with associated companies Trafalgar and Insight Vacations. The top end scenery was great and we saw and did what we expected: swimming in waterfalls, Katherine Gorge cruise, Kakadu cruise, saw fresh and saltwater crocodiles, lots of birdlife and Aboriginal art on sandstone cliffs. The colours ...read more in this area are so vibrant! Accommodation was good, everything worked but don't expect anything flash. Included food was ok. The Tour Director told us at the tour meeting at the start that there were limited food options available due to lack of hospitality staff, we had to buy sandwiches for lunch every day as that was all that was available. There was only 1 optional and we didn't do that. A full bus of Aussies - all states except Tassie represented and all travellers were on time. Excellent Tour Director - Liz, she shared her extensive knowledge of flora and fauna as well as the local history. Thoroughly enjoyable tour.
Top End Highlights of NT   1 , VIC, Australia, May 2021
A great tour organised by AAT Kings of the Top End Highlights. The tour director Liz and Driver Mark were exceptional and were always available and nothing was a problem. They made sure everyone had plenty of water as it was quite hot. We ended up seeing what we wanted to see, and when we had to isolate we were not forgotten. This is the third ...read more time we have organised trips with Global Journeys and would not hesitate to book again.
Kimberley Highlights   0 , QLD, Australia, May 2021
Comfortable trip - accommodation and food excellent (had to stop eating breakfasts) - tour director (Cam) and driver (John) were first class always on hand to help the tourists. Highlights were the day trip to the Bungle Bungles and the fast cruise with the crazy Alaskan chick. We probably expected a slightly more adventurous trip a la Gibb River road ...read more but still very enjoyable. All the passengers got on well which is important with a trip like this.
AAT Kings Outback Safari     0 , VIC, Australia, May 2021
I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Probably the only positive thing out of Covid and the fact that I couldn’t travel overseas. It’s quite a full on itinerary but that’s understandable and a couple of long days on the road but that can’t be helped because of the distance that needed to be travelled.

Overall the accommodation was very good except for ...read more a couple of a small motels in the smaller towns but I accept that there were no other options in said towns. They were clean and had everything in them. Would highly recommend the Uluru Field of Lights and Kakadu flight optional tours.
Kakadu & Arnhem land explorer     0 , SA, Australia, May 2021
Malcom was one of the best coach drivers/ tour leaders we have had the pleasure of meeting. His sense of humor was infectious as he laughed at most his own jokes and his knowledge of the area was outstanding. Debbie coach drivers/ tour leader was also happy and friendly with excellent communication skills which made us happy and relaxed. The Arnhem ...read more land explorer (4WD) was a highlight of the tour and although a little bumpy in stages was well worth the drive to see such a vast and beautiful part of Australia.
Outback Adventure   0 , NSW, Australia, Apr 2021
Great trip but very fast paced. A lot of early morning starts, but necessary because of distances travelled. Excellent driver and tour leader. A few hiccups because of continuing Covid problems, such as venues being closed when supposed to be open, bad service due to lack of staff. Unavoidable, but dealt with very well by tour leader, who together ...read more with driver were an unbeatable team, dealing with problems professionally and with good humour.
Very efficiently organized tour   0 , NSW, Australia, Apr 2021
Everything went seamlessly from booking the journey to the journey itself. Pre and Post accommodation at Adelaide was nice, if you don't count the proximity of the hotel to the CBD. We had been told that we would be picked up at Sage Hotel on day 1. But when I rang up the tour operator, just to be sure, they said they had not been informed about our ...read more pick up from Sage hotel. Communication?

The accommodation at Kangaroo Island was also very nice. On day 1 at around 4.15pm were just 15 mins away from this accommodation but for some strange reason they took us all the way back to Ferry terminal, asked us to have dinner there and finally brought us to the accommodation at around 7.30pm. Why?

All the activities were very well thought of and very interesting. Lunch provided on both the days were of high standard. We are vegetarians and they did provide excellent quality vegetarian food as per our request. Bus drivers were very live and knowledgeable.
Results 1-20 of 431