Home > Operators > AAT Kings > AAT Kings Reviews
AAT Kings Tours

AAT King Tours Reviews

The 423 AAT Kings reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with AAT Kings. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.5
AVG. RATING 4.5 / 5
423 REVIEWS
5 Star
57%
4 Star
34%
3 Star
8%
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To AAT Kings

Wonders of the Kimberley   0 , VIC, Australia, Jul 2021
We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Kimberleys with AAT Kings and feel extremely lucky to have made it as all future tours for 2021 have been cancelled. Our guide Delma, and driver Cam were excellent. Because of border closures we only had 19 fellow passengers, all of whom were very easy to get along with. We would like to thank Georgie, from Global ...read more Journeys for her help in planning this trip. We will certainly be looking at booking any future trips with her.
Essential Adventure for all Australians     0 , SA, Australia, Jun 2021
I rated this trip as a 10/10 adventure based on the scenery, the experiences in terms of the Bungles, Emma Gorge and Zebedee Gorge, the 4 boat trips and the overall wilderness, which were all enhanced by AAT's Nellie and Mark.
Fantastic Taste of the Australian Outback - Has inspired me to see more of Australia!   0 , NSW, Australia, Jun 2021
I thoroughly enjoyed this tour as I love outback country. All travel is on sealed roads. Be prepared for a few long travel days, as there are some big distances to cover, but we had good stops at least every couple of hours on those long days. There are a number of very early mornings, and if you’re doing the tour in winter, make sure you have your ...read more winter woolies, as it was very cold, particularly to watch the sunrise at Uluru!! Accommodation was excellent all the way. The rooms at Wilpena Pound Resort were more basic than the others, but they were comfortable and clean, and in a beautiful bush setting. Meals were fabulous, with plenty to choose from the set tour menu for each course, even for me being GF. Breakfasts in SA were by preorder due to COVID19 restrictions on buffets, but there were great buffet breakfasts in NT. As can be expected due to the isolation, costs for food/drinks/snacks/coffees at the outback roadhouses/shops are fairly high. If you need special dietary snacks/biscuits, I would suggest buying these at the supermarkets along the way, as not many of the roadhouses have these available. Strangely we saw only a handful of kangaroos the whole trip, but we did see a herd of about 20 camels as we drove out to Uluru, which was a treat. Huge flocks of wild budgies and cockatiels were seen all the time rising from the trees or off the road. The 3 hour walk at Wilpena Pound was lovely, and you can do as much as you like. It’s only at the end that you can choose to climb up an uneven rock path to get to the lookout over the pound before you head back down along the same flat track. I did the 11km Uluru base walk and thoroughly enjoyed it. The walk is completely flat on a dirt/sand track. Most of it isn’t right at the base, but this gives you better views from a distance. You are given 3.5 hours to do the walk, and once you start walking, you’re committed, as the bus won’t pick you up from anywhere other than where they drop you off! A few of our group did the 3 hour King’s Canyon Rim Walk which they said was great, with views down into the canyon, however it starts off with 500 steep and uneven rock steps, so you need to be able to handle the steps and definitely not be afraid of heights if you want to take on that loop walk! The rest of us did the lovely canyon floor walk which took us just over an hour. We marveled at the amazing red canyon walls, beautiful white gums in the dry riverbed, and beautiful birds. Our tour director Dave Overton was fantastic - very friendly, helpful and funny, and he gave just the right amount of interesting commentary, without overloading us. Tom our driver was also excellent and friendly, and a very safe and careful driver. The bus had very comfortable leather seats, plenty of leg room, big windows for sightseeing, and a toilet on board if needed. Although they do have free Wi-Fi on board, it’s quite spasmodic, and on some days you can go hours without any internet or phone reception. It wasn’t until the start of the tour that I found that AAT Kings always run 3 different tours concurrently, so you may find that on the bus there will be guests doing the full Adelaide to Darwin tour, some are only doing the Adelaide to Alice Springs tour, and other guests will join you at Uluru for the Uluru to Darwin tour, so don’t be surprised if there are guests coming and going on the bus! Thanks to Georgie Walpole and the team for their assistance in keeping me appraised of things with my booking, and also with the ease that they transferred another booking to 2022 for me. This is the second time I’ve used Global Journeys, and I will continue to do so in the future.
Untamed Pilbara and West Coast   0 , WA, Australia, Jun 2021
A great way to see the diversity of Western Australia from the red dust in the Pilbara to the pristine blue waters of the Indian Ocean. While some early starts and long days are a necessity the coach was very comfortable, cleaned daily and sanitised regularly. Be prepared for cold nights and some windy days at this time of the year. If you want to see ...read more wildflowers I would suggest taking this trip in late August/September. Global Journeys took the hassle out of organising this trip. Everything went smoothly and a thanks to Georgie for her help.
Kata Tjuta, Uluru & Kings Canyon   0 , WA, Australia, May 2021
First time to join ATT King tour to Uluru which is different than normal group tour. The tour has different groups join in. They cancelled the Kata Tjuta Sunset in the first day is good, because the second day Sunset tour is the same thing! BBQ dinner was super! 4 days break is good enough. Spent a lot of time travel from Alice Spring to Uluru.
Great Introduction to the Top End   1 , QLD, Australia, May 2021
First time touring with AAT Kings but we'd travelled previously with associated companies Trafalgar and Insight Vacations. The top end scenery was great and we saw and did what we expected: swimming in waterfalls, Katherine Gorge cruise, Kakadu cruise, saw fresh and saltwater crocodiles, lots of birdlife and Aboriginal art on sandstone cliffs. The colours ...read more in this area are so vibrant! Accommodation was good, everything worked but don't expect anything flash. Included food was ok. The Tour Director told us at the tour meeting at the start that there were limited food options available due to lack of hospitality staff, we had to buy sandwiches for lunch every day as that was all that was available. There was only 1 optional and we didn't do that. A full bus of Aussies - all states except Tassie represented and all travellers were on time. Excellent Tour Director - Liz, she shared her extensive knowledge of flora and fauna as well as the local history. Thoroughly enjoyable tour.
Top End Highlights of NT   0 , VIC, Australia, May 2021
A great tour organised by AAT Kings of the Top End Highlights. The tour director Liz and Driver Mark were exceptional and were always available and nothing was a problem. They made sure everyone had plenty of water as it was quite hot. We ended up seeing what we wanted to see, and when we had to isolate we were not forgotten. This is the third ...read more time we have organised trips with Global Journeys and would not hesitate to book again.
Kimberley Highlights   0 , QLD, Australia, May 2021
Comfortable trip - accommodation and food excellent (had to stop eating breakfasts) - tour director (Cam) and driver (John) were first class always on hand to help the tourists. Highlights were the day trip to the Bungle Bungles and the fast cruise with the crazy Alaskan chick. We probably expected a slightly more adventurous trip a la Gibb River road ...read more but still very enjoyable. All the passengers got on well which is important with a trip like this.
AAT Kings Outback Safari     0 , VIC, Australia, May 2021
I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Probably the only positive thing out of Covid and the fact that I couldn’t travel overseas. It’s quite a full on itinerary but that’s understandable and a couple of long days on the road but that can’t be helped because of the distance that needed to be travelled. Overall the accommodation was very good except for ...read more a couple of a small motels in the smaller towns but I accept that there were no other options in said towns. They were clean and had everything in them. Would highly recommend the Uluru Field of Lights and Kakadu flight optional tours.
Kakadu & Arnhem land explorer     0 , SA, Australia, May 2021
Malcom was one of the best coach drivers/ tour leaders we have had the pleasure of meeting. His sense of humor was infectious as he laughed at most his own jokes and his knowledge of the area was outstanding. Debbie coach drivers/ tour leader was also happy and friendly with excellent communication skills which made us happy and relaxed. The Arnhem ...read more land explorer (4WD) was a highlight of the tour and although a little bumpy in stages was well worth the drive to see such a vast and beautiful part of Australia.
Outback Adventure   0 , NSW, Australia, Apr 2021
Great trip but very fast paced. A lot of early morning starts, but necessary because of distances travelled. Excellent driver and tour leader. A few hiccups because of continuing Covid problems, such as venues being closed when supposed to be open, bad service due to lack of staff. Unavoidable, but dealt with very well by tour leader, who together ...read more with driver were an unbeatable team, dealing with problems professionally and with good humour.
Very efficiently organized tour   0 , NSW, Australia, Apr 2021
Everything went seamlessly from booking the journey to the journey itself. Pre and Post accommodation at Adelaide was nice, if you don't count the proximity of the hotel to the CBD. We had been told that we would be picked up at Sage Hotel on day 1. But when I rang up the tour operator, just to be sure, they said they had not been informed about our ...read more pick up from Sage hotel. Communication? The accommodation at Kangaroo Island was also very nice. On day 1 at around 4.15pm were just 15 mins away from this accommodation but for some strange reason they took us all the way back to Ferry terminal, asked us to have dinner there and finally brought us to the accommodation at around 7.30pm. Why? All the activities were very well thought of and very interesting. Lunch provided on both the days were of high standard. We are vegetarians and they did provide excellent quality vegetarian food as per our request. Bus drivers were very live and knowledgeable.
Wonderful time     0 , VIC, Australia, Jan 2021
We had a great time in Tasmania as there were only 10 of us on the tour we had great fun we got on well together and made some new friends. Our tour guide was excellent with her knowledge of Tasmania which made every place we stopped at more interesting and our driver Tom was a great driver on the winding roads of Tasmania. The different parts of Tasmania ...read more were beautiful from the coast to the mountains. We would definitely travel with them again. Georgie as usual did a great job of arranging everything it all ran smoothly.
Perfect tour of Tasmania     0 , Queensland, Australia, Dec 2020
I had one of the best journeys of my life - Tasmanian Wonders with AAT Kings. Everything was well-organized and exceeded our expectations. Our travel director Carolyn took care of every little detail, especially that of my parents who were traveling along with me, and made sure they were comfortable always. Besides, her fascinating tales made the journey ...read more more relatable and interesting. Our driver Tom and covid specialist David always greeted us with smiling faces and never gave us a chance to complain. Everything on this trip was perfect be it’s travel itinerary or accommodation or food. Traveling with AAT Kings was just like traveling with your own family. When it comes to Global journeys, not only did I receive a competitive package but also the representatives were extremely helpful. They followed up with AAT Kings on all my queries and responded promptly. I am looking to book my next trip through them.
Great 2 day Trip of Kakadu & East Alligator River   0 , QLD, Australia, Nov 2020
Great 2 day Trip with AAT Kings, only 18 of us on the tour, the coach held 58 people, so plenty of space to move around. Our Driver/Guide Michael was very knowledgeable & able to answer all questions that were given to him. On day 1, we had a busy day, we saw quite a few crocodiles & plenty of bird life over the 2 days on the river cruises, we then ...read more went to Cooinda Hotel for lunch we are staying at the Mercure Crocodile Hotel Jabiru, tonight, it was good, the hotel needs some work to bring it back to 5*. Prices were fair for drinks & food for the location. Day 2, was a trip to Ubirr Rock to see the famous Rock Art & then another cruise on the East Alligator River, more croc's & Bird life. Then back to the Hotel for lunch, which was included both days consisted of Cold Meat & Salad, Tea/Coffee. Then the trip back to Darwin, we were dropped back at the hotel at 6.30 pm. Great 2 day trip!
Perfect Tasmania   2 , United States, Mar 2020
Ms. Jemma Rosen took care of my reservation for the Perfect Tasmania tour with AAT Kings. Ms Rosen was very prompt and answered all my questions within 24 hours. This was my first reservation with Global Journeys and my experience was very positive and pleasant. I plan to visit Western Australia in the future and will definitely book again with Global ...read more Journeys. I highly recommend Ms. Rosen and Global Journeys to everyone. This was my third trip with AAT Kings and the tour was well planned and executed. The pace of the trip was good as we stayed two nights at most of the places. I thank you for making this holiday memorable.
An amazing adventure through the Red Centre   1 , QLD, Australia, Mar 2020
The tours were amazing and very well organised. Very busy so it was well worth having a couple of extra nights to relax.
NZ Vista   1 , United Kingdom, Mar 2020
The timing of the trip was unwittingly good bearing in mind the pandemic. Basically the last night dinner was underway when we were told that all subsequent trips had been cancelled. The travel guide and driver were extremely good. The accommodation apart from the Copthorne in Queenstown were very good. The group was a good mix of nationalities and ...read more gelled together well. The Itinerary was excellent. The one annoying factor with AAT Kings was that they had a second coach virtually shadowing us which had never been explained either before or after booking. This was particularly galling given the most intermediate stops were in small towns with limited services. Why is it that AAT Kings give details of the situation of each trip and date but never says it will runs two coaches simultaneously if necessary. (GJ. Thanks for the feedback David. That would be because they may not know until close to departure - it's rare but does happen occasionally due to the size of NZ and it's popularity. Great you managed to get home before the borders were shut! All the best.)
Wonderful AAT Kings Tour     1 , NSW, Australia, Feb 2020
Couldn’t have been better. ‘Southern Wonders NZ’ was a comprehensive and fun tour. I was blown away by the wonderful scenery in the South Island and the opportunities I had for extra tours like flights over glaciers and the alps. Our group was large - 47 people but we all got on well and everyone was really nice. Our Tour Leader Gina went out of her ...read more way to make sure we were always happy. She’s extremely well organised and everything ran like clockwork. Mark, our driver, was a competent and friendly driver, keeping us safe and happy. Our luggage was always delivered to and from our rooms so that was a pleasant surprise. Everything was fine for us! Thank you to AAT Kings and Global Journeys for such a well organised booking, follow up through the web and tour.
Excellent New Zealand South Island Coach Tour   0 , Canada, Feb 2020
We would like to thank Tracey for her excellent help in planning our trip with AAT Kings, the Southern Wonders of New Zealand. She constantly kept in touch with us as we were awaiting the NZeTA to complete the booking. Even now, after the trip, she is assisting us in getting a partial reimbursement from AAT Kings due to one day revision of tour due ...read more to weather. The trip was everything we had hoped for and we highly recommend booking with Global Journeys.
Results 1-20 of 423