Taste of Tasmania (Original)

6 Day Small Group Adventure from Hobart to Hobart with Intrepid

Read 2 reviews and enjoy exclusive savings on Intrepid's 6 Day Taste of Tasmania (Original). Much of this pristine wilderness state was , up until around 100 years ago , considered too remote to be used as much more than a penal colony. Fast-forward to now and that environment...read more

     
Our Price From:
$ 1,231
Per Person ($AU)
Save This Month:
$ 165
Per Person ($AU)
Small Group Adventure Starts In
Starts In
Hobart
Small Group Adventure Ends In
Ends In
Hobart
Trip Budget
Budget
Affordable
24
Max Group Size
24
Short Break
Trip Style
Short Break
Adventure Tour
Trip Style
Adventure Tour
Moderate
Trip Pace
Moderate
Countries Explored:
Australia
Trip Operated By:
Intrepid
Intrepid
50 Reviews
Trip Reviews:
3.5 out of 5
2 Reviews
Trip Code:
PNTW6-O

Itinerary

Expand All
1 Hobart - Central Plateau
Today we traverse the island from east to west. Escaping Hobart through the Derwent Valley, we walk in the land of the giants and admire the beauty of Russell Falls and Mt Field National Park. Visit Lake St Clair, Australia’s deepest freshwater lake. Enter the temperate time capsule that is the Franklin- Gordon Wild Rivers National Park. Along the way we stretch the legs on some great short walks including Donaghy’s Lookout and Franklin River. Pass through Queenstown with its intriguing eroded landscape of treeless hills. Finish the day in Strahan at the very edge of the west coast. Today's driving time approx: 324 km / 5hrs. Approx hikes include 1 60 min, 2 x 45min
2 Tarkine Region
In the untouched wilderness of Tasmania’s West Coast we will explore the shifting sands of Henty Dunes, visit Ocean Beach and smell the freshest air in the world. Then we continue into the Tarkine region and walk amongst its rainforest and check out a cool waterfall while we are there. Todays driving time approx: 150 km / 2. 5 hrs. Hike approx: 3 hrs
3 Cradle Mountain - Launceston
Join a guided walk or free walk on one of the many trails around Cradle Mountain, Dove and Crater Lakes. The mountain at 1545m high, is one of the favourite features in the park and is surrounded by stands of native deciduous beech, rainforest, alpine heath lands and button grass. Icy streams cascade down the mountainsides, and ancient pines are reflected in the still glacial lakes. Later today, transfer to Launceston via Sheffield, the town of murals. Today's driving time approx: 279 km / 4 hrs. Approx hike 3 hrs.
4 Bicheno
Departing Launceston, transfer east to Wukalina / Mt Willaim National Park nestled in the remote and peaceful north-east corner of Tasmania. Mt William National Park is remarkable for its beauty, wildlife and cultural history with long stretches of dazzling white beaches at the edge of the Bay of Fires, shimmering turquoise waters, coastal heath and woodlands that abound with wildlife. We continue late in the day to Bicheno where tonight you can take a guided tour for a closer look at the life of the Little Penguins as they return nightly to their rookeries to feed their young. Today's driving time approx. 315 km / 4. 5 hrs. Approx hike 1. 5 hrs
5 Freycinet National Park
This morning we arrive at Freycinet National Park. For those seeking a challenge, try the climb to the summit of Mt Amos or join the walk to Wineglass Bay, voted one of the world’s top 10 beaches There are other free walking choices and a visit to Cape Tourville. Today's driving time approx. 80 km / 1. 5 hrs. Approx. hike 3 hrs.
6 Maria Island - Hobart
This morning we catch the ferry to Maria Island, a national park in its entirety. This is a special place with something for everyone – historic ruins, sweeping bays, rugged cliffs and mountains and remarkable wildlife. It’s free from cars and its only residents the animals, including large numbers of Cape Barren Geese and Forester Kangaroos. Explore the fascinating features such as the Painted Cliffs, the millions of years old Fossil Rocks, and the old township of Darlington and its mixed history. We return to Triabunna and transfer to Hobart via the historic town of Richmond. Today's driving time approx. 182 km / 2. 5 hrs. Approx. hike 2-4 hrs.

Intrepid Inclusions

Expand All
Sightseeing Highlights
  • As well as visiting key attractions such as Wineglass Bay and the Bay of Fires, this pioneering trip takes you to parts of Tassie that are more off the beaten track
  • Your guide will provide information about the flora, fauna and landscapes of Tasmania, giving you an insight into some of the country's World Heritage listed areas
  • Trek along multiple walking trails through spectacular Cradle Mountain National Park
  • Visit stunning Maria Island, a National Park in its entirety
  • Tasmania is known world wide for excellent quality food and wine, wonderful landscapes and pristine wilderness.
Accommodation
  • Motel (5 nights)
Included Meals
  • 5 Breakfasts included
Read Trip Notes
  • Trip Notes outline what's included, visa information, important notes, how to get to your accommodation, packing checklist, optional activities, travel insurance requirements - pretty much everything you need to know about this adventure and more. Please take time to have a read through, and contact us if you have any questions. View Trip Notes

Reviews (2)

6 Day Taste of Tasmania (Original) reviews from past clients of Global Journeys.

Rating 3.5 out of 5
5 Star
0%
4 Star
50%
3 Star
50%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%
“6 Day Taste of Tasmania”
- VIC , Australia Apr 2018

Had an amazing time, Brad our tour leader was fantastic we were fortunate to be with a group of like minded people both young and old which made this a wonderful mix. The first day turned out to be a bit of a surprise and poor Brad had to tell us the itinerary had changed, so we missed out on Mt Wellington and the Mona as well as a free dinner that night.
It would have been nice to have been sent the updated travel notes or itinerary, no complaints! It was what...read more

Was this review helpful?

“Great introduction to the beauty of Tasmania”
- QLD, Australia Feb 2018

Trent was the quintessential guide/driver. He's friendly, knowledgeable and committed to providing for everyone's needs. He's also very calm under pressure.
There was confusion over the relationships between Under Down Under and Intrepid. When I went to board the Augusta II on Pieman River I was asked if I was with the Under Down Under tour. This had never been mentioned before and I said "No, I'm with the Intrepid Tour." Perhaps provide an explanation of this to...read more

Was this review helpful?

Prices & Dates

Best Price Guarantee We'll beat any Intrepid quote!
Earn Qantas Points 1,000 Free Qantas points!!
Past Client? Save an additional $100 per booking!
Trip Starts Trip Ends Status Offer Save Now Our Price  
Saturday 05 Oct 2019 Thursday 10 Oct 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Saturday 12 Oct 2019 Thursday 17 Oct 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Saturday 19 Oct 2019 Thursday 24 Oct 2019 28per person 1,367per person Sold Out
Saturday 26 Oct 2019 Thursday 31 Oct 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Saturday 02 Nov 2019 Thursday 07 Nov 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Wednesday 06 Nov 2019 Monday 11 Nov 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Saturday 09 Nov 2019 Thursday 14 Nov 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Wednesday 13 Nov 2019 Monday 18 Nov 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Saturday 16 Nov 2019 Thursday 21 Nov 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Wednesday 20 Nov 2019 Monday 25 Nov 2019 28per person 1,367per person Sold Out
Saturday 23 Nov 2019 Thursday 28 Nov 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Wednesday 27 Nov 2019 Monday 02 Dec 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Saturday 30 Nov 2019 Thursday 05 Dec 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Wednesday 04 Dec 2019 Monday 09 Dec 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Saturday 07 Dec 2019 Thursday 12 Dec 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Wednesday 11 Dec 2019 Monday 16 Dec 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Saturday 14 Dec 2019 Thursday 19 Dec 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Wednesday 18 Dec 2019 Monday 23 Dec 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Saturday 21 Dec 2019 Thursday 26 Dec 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Wednesday 25 Dec 2019 Monday 30 Dec 2019 28per person 1,367per person Enquire
Saturday 28 Dec 2019 Thursday 02 Jan 2020 28per person 1,367per person Sold Out
Wednesday 01 Jan 2020 Monday 06 Jan 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 04 Jan 2020 Thursday 09 Jan 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 08 Jan 2020 Monday 13 Jan 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 11 Jan 2020 Thursday 16 Jan 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 15 Jan 2020 Monday 20 Jan 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 18 Jan 2020 Thursday 23 Jan 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 22 Jan 2020 Monday 27 Jan 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 25 Jan 2020 Thursday 30 Jan 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 29 Jan 2020 Monday 03 Feb 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 01 Feb 2020 Thursday 06 Feb 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 05 Feb 2020 Monday 10 Feb 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 08 Feb 2020 Thursday 13 Feb 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 12 Feb 2020 Monday 17 Feb 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 15 Feb 2020 Thursday 20 Feb 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 19 Feb 2020 Monday 24 Feb 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 22 Feb 2020 Thursday 27 Feb 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 26 Feb 2020 Monday 02 Mar 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 29 Feb 2020 Thursday 05 Mar 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 04 Mar 2020 Monday 09 Mar 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 07 Mar 2020 Thursday 12 Mar 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 11 Mar 2020 Monday 16 Mar 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 14 Mar 2020 Thursday 19 Mar 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 18 Mar 2020 Monday 23 Mar 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 21 Mar 2020 Thursday 26 Mar 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Wednesday 25 Mar 2020 Monday 30 Mar 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Saturday 28 Mar 2020 Thursday 02 Apr 2020 165per person 1,231per person Enquire
Key
Definite Departure. Minimum numbers reached for this depature to operate.
Available Departure. Minimum numbers not yet reached, so while this depature is expected to operate, it’s not yet a Definite Departure.
Sold Out. All places on this departure have been filled.
Exclusive Global Journeys Sale. Deal Expires 31st July 2019
Limited Time Sale. Limited availability at this price.
Note: Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.

Similar Tours

6 Days Hobart to Hobart
Operated By: Intrepid
7 Days Sydney to Brisbane
Operated By: Intrepid
7 Days Alice Springs to Adelaide
Operated By: Intrepid
Trip Notes
Trip prices are per person, and reflect applicable discounts. Discounts are subject to availability, exclusive to Global Journeys and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Trip prices are correct at the time of the products going live, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking. All trip information is correct at time of trips going live, however are subject to change by Intrepid. Full terms & conditions are available here.