Caribbean Adventure: The Lost City Trek & Medellín

12 Day Small Group Tour from Cartagena to Medellin with G Adventures

Book online and enjoy exclusive savings on G Adventures 12 Day Caribbean Adventure: The Lost City Trek & Medellín. You've seen it on TV and in the movies, and now's your chance to explore the real Colombia beyond the big screen. This 12-day tour is made for energetic travellers that know the best way to experience a destination...read more

Our Price From:
$ 2,303
Per Person ($AU)
Save This Month:
$ 107
Per Person ($AU)
Small Group Tour Starts In
Starts In
Cartagena
Small Group Tour Ends In
Ends In
Medellin
Trip Budget
Budget
Affordable
16
Max Group Size
16
18 - 30's
Trip Style
18 - 30's
Challenging
Trip Pace
Challenging
Countries Explored:
Colombia
Trip Operated By:
G Adventures
G Adventures
55 Reviews
Trip Reviews:
No Reviews
Trip Code:
SMCT

Itinerary

Expand All
1 Cartagena
Arrive at any time. Tonight, check out the local flavor of bustling Plaza Trinidad and head to a local bar to get to know your fellow travellers. Get to know the group over a few drinks and get excited for the adventure of a lifetime. Stay: Hotel Villa Colonial
2 Cartagena
The day is yours to explore this coastal colonial city. Wander through the streets of historic old town, check out the San Felipe fortress, or get dirty with a mud bath and massage at Totuma Volcano. Stay: Hotel Villa Colonial (B)
3 Cartagena - Santa Marta
Travel like a local by hopping on a public bus to the port town of Santa Marta. Take advantage of your free time with a visit to the Gold Museum, go shopping for any last minute necessities (You probably forgot something, right?) or chill out on the beach. Stay: Hotel Tayromar (B)
4 Santa Marta - Ricardito Camp
Wake up and hit the road to Machete Pelao where your trek to the Lost City of Teyuna begins. Trek through farmland, steamy jungle, and rural Kogi communities. Enjoy and let it all soak in – this is your opportunity to get a glimpse into the local way of life in the remote river valleys of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. (B/L/D)
5 Ricardito Camp - Wiwa Camp
Venture further into the lush jungle en route to Ciudad Perdida. Be prepared – today is a tough portion of the trek with a lot of steep views. Arrive at the campsite in the afternoon for some much needed relaxation by the river. (B/L/D)
6 Wiwa Camp - Paso Lorenzo Camp
Wake up early feeling refreshed, recharged (hopefully!) and start your trek to Paso Lorenzo Camp. Settle in at the campsite around noon and eat some lunch. If the weather is nice, take a dip in the Buritaca River. Learn about Wiwa customs in the afternoon and then kick back and relax in a hammock. (B/L/D)
7 Paso Lorenzo Camp - Wiwa Camp
Continue exploring the deep jungle today on winding path through banana trees, cacao plants as you make your way to Wiwa Camp. (B/L/D)
8 Ricardito Camp - Taganga
Take in your last views of the jungle this morning as you trek back to Machete Pelao. Transfer to Tangaga where the rest for the day is yours to relax. (You've earned a few drinks after that trek!) Stay: Ocean Taganga (B/L)
9 Taganga - Parque Nacional Natural Tayrona
Head into Tayrona National Park for a moderate hike with a local guide. Experience the incredible nature that surrounds you while learning more about the rich, natural diversity of northern Colombia. Stay: Ocean Taganga (B/L)
10 Taganga - Medellín
Wheels up! Fly inland today to Medellín. A once infamous city, vibrant Medellín has transformed into one of Latin America's safest destinations. Get to know your surroundings with an orientation walk and an optional night out with the group. Stay: Selina Medellin (B)
11 Medellín
Choose your own adventure today with a free day in Medellín. Paraglide over the city, catch a ride on the cable car, visit Explora Park, or El Peñol Stone. Stay: Selina Medellin
12 Medellín
Depart at any time.

G Adventures Inclusions

Expand All
Journey Highlights
  • Hike through the jungle to the Lost City of Teyuna.
  • Venture up steep inclines of the Sierra Nevada Mountains.
  • Stay overnight in jungle campsites.
  • Explore the vibrant city of Medellin.
Trip Inclusions
  • Your G for Good Moment: Wiwa Community Visit & Lunch, Gotshezhy Village
  • Your Discover Moment: Connect With New Friends
  • Trek to the Lost City with an Indigenous guide (5 days)
  • Guided tour of the Lost City
  • Internal flight
  • Transport between destinations and to/from included activities
Accommodation
  • Simple hotels (7 nts, some multi-share) , camping (4 nts in hammocks or rustic bunks)
  • Please note that hot water shortages and power outages can be fairly common in Latin America (even in upgraded hotels and private homes). We appreciate your patience and understanding that these occurrences are outside of our control.
  • A variety of styles of hotels/guesthouses are used on this trip. In many instances, they might not be like what you are used to back home as service and efficiency can vary.
  • Lost City Trek: In the campsites, the majority of the accommodation is in hammocks or bunks, with a mosquito net for cover. In the campsites, there are cold showers, flushing toilets and seating areas. Some of the campsites have lighting and power sockets, although these are not always guaranteed to be available. Because of the humidity, we do not suggest bringing a sleeping bag, as it would be too hot. Recommended is a sleeping sheet or a sleeping bag liner that can provide a level of comfort at higher temperatures.
Your Tour Guides
  • Chief Experience Officer (CEO) throughout, local guides
Meals Included
  • 9 breakfasts, 6 lunches, 4 dinners
Transport
  • 4x4, walking, plane, local bus
Read Trip Notes
  • Trip Notes outline what's included, visa information, important notes, how to get to your accommodation, packing checklist, optional activities, travel insurance requirements - pretty much everything you need to know about this adventure and more. Please take time to have a read through, and contact us if you have any questions. View Trip Notes

Prices & Dates

Best Price Guarantee We'll beat any G Adventures quote!
Repeat Travellers Past 'G' clients save additional 5%!
Past Client? Save an additional $100 per booking!
Trip Starts Trip Ends Status Offer Save Now Our Price  
Sunday 12 Jul 2020 Thursday 23 Jul 2020 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 26 Jul 2020 Thursday 06 Aug 2020 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 16 Aug 2020 Thursday 27 Aug 2020 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 30 Aug 2020 Thursday 10 Sep 2020 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 13 Sep 2020 Thursday 24 Sep 2020 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 18 Oct 2020 Thursday 29 Oct 2020 107per person 2,562per person Enquire
Sunday 25 Oct 2020 Thursday 05 Nov 2020 107per person 2,562per person Enquire
Sunday 08 Nov 2020 Thursday 19 Nov 2020 96per person 2,303per person Enquire
Sunday 22 Nov 2020 Thursday 03 Dec 2020 96per person 2,303per person Enquire
Sunday 06 Dec 2020 Thursday 17 Dec 2020 96per person 2,303per person Not Avail
Sunday 20 Dec 2020 Thursday 31 Dec 2020 96per person 2,303per person Enquire
Sunday 03 Jan 2021 Thursday 14 Jan 2021 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 17 Jan 2021 Thursday 28 Jan 2021 107per person 2,562per person Enquire
Sunday 07 Feb 2021 Thursday 18 Feb 2021 107per person 2,562per person Enquire
Sunday 21 Feb 2021 Thursday 04 Mar 2021 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 07 Mar 2021 Thursday 18 Mar 2021 102per person 2,437per person Enquire
Sunday 21 Mar 2021 Thursday 01 Apr 2021 102per person 2,437per person Not Avail
Sunday 28 Mar 2021 Thursday 08 Apr 2021 102per person 2,437per person Not Avail
Sunday 04 Apr 2021 Thursday 15 Apr 2021 102per person 2,437per person Enquire
Sunday 11 Apr 2021 Thursday 22 Apr 2021 102per person 2,437per person Not Avail
Sunday 25 Apr 2021 Thursday 06 May 2021 102per person 2,437per person Enquire
Sunday 23 May 2021 Thursday 03 Jun 2021 102per person 2,437per person Enquire
Sunday 06 Jun 2021 Thursday 17 Jun 2021 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 20 Jun 2021 Thursday 01 Jul 2021 107per person 2,562per person Enquire
Sunday 04 Jul 2021 Thursday 15 Jul 2021 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 18 Jul 2021 Thursday 29 Jul 2021 107per person 2,562per person Enquire
Sunday 01 Aug 2021 Thursday 12 Aug 2021 107per person 2,562per person Enquire
Sunday 15 Aug 2021 Thursday 26 Aug 2021 107per person 2,562per person Enquire
Sunday 29 Aug 2021 Thursday 09 Sep 2021 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 12 Sep 2021 Thursday 23 Sep 2021 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 19 Sep 2021 Thursday 30 Sep 2021 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 10 Oct 2021 Thursday 21 Oct 2021 107per person 2,562per person Enquire
Sunday 24 Oct 2021 Thursday 04 Nov 2021 107per person 2,562per person Not Avail
Sunday 07 Nov 2021 Thursday 18 Nov 2021 96per person 2,303per person Enquire
Sunday 14 Nov 2021 Thursday 25 Nov 2021 96per person 2,303per person Not Avail
Sunday 21 Nov 2021 Thursday 02 Dec 2021 96per person 2,303per person Enquire
Sunday 12 Dec 2021 Thursday 23 Dec 2021 96per person 2,303per person Enquire
Sunday 19 Dec 2021 Thursday 30 Dec 2021 96per person 2,303per person Enquire
Sunday 26 Dec 2021 Thursday 06 Jan 2022 96per person 2,303per person Not Avail
Show more dates...
Key
Exclusive Global Journeys Savings. Available for a limited time or until sold out.
Note: Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.

Similar Tours

13 Day Trekking the Huayhuash Circuit (G Adventures)
13 Days Lima to Lima
Operated By: G Adventures
13 Day Cuba Libre & Sailing (G Adventures)
13 Days Havana to Havana
Operated By: G Adventures
13 Day Costa Rica Active Adventure (G Adventures)
13 Days San Jose to San Jose
Operated By: G Adventures
Trip Notes
Trip prices are per person, and reflect applicable discounts. Discounts are subject to availability, exclusive to Global Journeys and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Trip prices are correct at the time of the products going live, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking. All trip information is correct at time of trips going live, however are subject to change by G Adventures. Full terms & conditions are available here.