Following St James' Way

13 Day Self Guided Tour from Leon to Santiago de Compostela with Exodus

Book online and enjoy exclusive savings on Exodus 13 Day Following St James' Way. The Camino de Santiago de Compostela is one of the world's oldest pilgrimage routes, and in 1987 was declared the first European Culture Route. Since Apostle James' tomb was discovered in the ninth century, the route has also been known as...read more

Our Price From:
$ 3,503
Per Person ($AU)
Save This Month:
$ 158
Per Person ($AU)
Self Guided Tour Starts In
Starts In
Leon
Self Guided Tour Ends In
Ends In
Santiago de Compostela
Trip Budget
Budget
Affordable
Adventure Tour
Trip Style
Adventure Tour
Self-Guided
Trip Style
Self-Guided
Leisurely
Trip Pace
Leisurely
Countries Explored:
Spain
Trip Operated By:
Exodus
Exodus
1 Reviews
Trip Reviews:
No Reviews
Trip Code:
W12CS

Itinerary

Expand All
1 Start Leon.
Arrive at your historic hotel in the heart of Leon. There are masses of restaurants and tapas bars on your doorstep, so we've left the choice up to you for dinner tonight. Stay: Comfortable Hotel.
2 Free Day in Leon
Your day starts with a guided tour of Leon's magnificent gothic Cathedral which is often called the 'House of Light' and a visit to the Basilica of San Isidoro, one of the most important Romanesque churches in Spain and resting place of Leon's medieval monarchs. You will then receive your pilgrims passport at the local albergue. After this, you are free to explore the rest of Leon which is famous for its historical and architectural heritage, perhaps visit the Casa Botines, a creation of the famous Antoni Gaudi or the Museum of Contemporary Art (MUSAC) which is also is a superb example of modern architecture.
3 Trek from Cruz de Ferro to Molinaseca.
Your day starts with a guided tour of Leon's magnificent gothic Cathedral which is often called the 'House of Light' and a visit to the Basilica of San Isidoro, one of the most important Romanesque churches in Spain and resting place of Leon's medieval monarchs. You will then receive your pilgrims passport. We then provide a transfer (1hr) to Cruz de Ferro, the highest point on the Camino, marked by a pre-Roman cross. The Camino winds downhill through fragrant pines where once the Knights Templar protected pilgrims from bandit attack. A path lined with wild chestnuts, cherries, peppers and fennel leads to riverside Molinaseca, known to be one of the most beautiful villages on the Camino. Two options: Distance 8km/5mi, approx. 2 hours walking or 19km/12mi, approx. 4 hours walking. Stay: Comfortable Hotel.
4 Ascend the Rio Valcarce Valley to O'Cebreiro; sunset viewpoint.
After a short transfer (30 mins), you ascend the Rio Valcarce valley, climbing into moody oak woods strung with lichen and strewn with early purple orchid. O Cebreiro is a 11th Century village in the heart of the Cordillera Cantabrica. Walk to the viewpoint above the village for a perfect sunset and views over four ranges of hills then return along the narrow, cobbled streets, past traditional thatched houses known as pallozas. Stay: Comfortable Hotel.
5 Walk between villages overlooking the Monastery of Samos; continue to Sarria.
After a short transfer we drop you off at Triacastela. As the Camino meanders between heather-clad villages overlooking the Monastery of Samos, you can hear the bells ringing. On reaching Sarria - the antiques capital of Galicia, you'll be whisked to Javier and Raquel's elegant country rectory (10 mins), complete with chapel and al fresco dining patio area. Stay: Comfortable Hotel.
6 Head up the Celerio Valley; descend into Portomarin.
A Roman bridge leads out of Sarria up the Celerio Valley, where you'll traverse the hamlets of the southern flank of the Sierra del Paramo. Descend into Portomarin - the original village was drowned by the Belesar Reservoir, and some remains still shimmer below the surface! Stay: Comfortable Hotel.
7 Walk up Torres Valley to the delightfully rural farmhouse at Lestedo.
Drop into Portomarin's church then follow the Torres stream, passing between cornfields lined with ox-eye daisies. Stamp your Pilgrim Passport in country churches dedicated to the Order of St James before arriving at your beautifully restored rectory. Stay: Comfortable Hotel.
8 Hike to O'Coto via Palas del Rei.
Country lanes lead past fortified farmhouses into the hillside town of Palas de Rei (Palace of the King) as you enter the province of A Coruna. You'll pass typical, raised Galician granaries, and chickens scamper across narrow streets as you enter vineyards, with views east to the Montes del Vacaloura. Stay: Comfortable Hotel.
9 Leave hamlet of O'Coto; walk to Arzua.
Today's first stop is Melide - a thriving country town where tavernas brim with locals enjoying Galician seafood in specialist pulperias (octopus restaurants). Drop into the Romanesque church to admire the frescoes, before lanes lined with bright yellow celandine bring you into the lively market town of Arzua. Continue on to your elegant manor house, surrounded by tranquil countryside, just outside the town. Stay: Comfortable Hotel.
10 From Arzua walk to a converted watermill in Rua.
Arzua's colonnaded streets lead into open country where local farmers wear berets as they tend vines and build haystacks with pitch forks. Your route rises and falls through river valleys, crossing rushing streams. This evening you can marvel at Javier's breathtaking converted water mill, where original machinery has been turned into spectacular period features. Stay: Comfortable Hotel.
11 Walk to Santiago via Monte do Gozo; visit the cathedral.
Excitement mounts as you set off towards Monte do Gozo (Mount of Joy), where pilgrims of old caught their first glimpse of the spires of Santiago. On reaching Santiago's historic centre, congratulations are everywhere as a steady stream of pilgrims reach their journey's end below the cathedral's spectacular Baroque facade. Drop into the Pilgrim Office to collect your certificate if you wish, before checking into our historic hotel near the old marketplace - still a riot of colour! Stay: Comfortable Hotel.
12 Free Day in Santiago de Compostela
You can choose to attend the Pilgrim Mass (at 12 noon) before exploring this beautiful city. The old town has Romanesque, Gothic and Baroque buildings and has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The oldest monuments are grouped around the tomb of St James and the cathedral, which contains the remarkable Portico de la Gloria.
13 End Santiago de Compostela.
Enjoy Santiago and the cathedral before taking a taxi to the airport (pay locally approx 15 euro). Alternatively, stay on for extra nights to explore this beautiful historic city. Walking through the old streets of Santiago is a fantastic way to spend your time here, with Romanesque, Gothic and Baroque buildings lining the old town's streets and plazas.

Exodus Inclusions

Expand All
Journey Highlights
  • A spectacular walk along one of the most famous UNESCO pilgrimage routes in the world
  • Two nights in beautiful Leon - great historical and architectural heritage, and in Santiago de Compostela - a UNESCO World Heritage Site
  • Excellent variety of accommodation: converted water mills, restored parish houses, stylish farmhouses
  • Poppy sprinkled wheat fields, orchid rich water meadows, pine-scented woodland
Trip Inclusions
  • 12 nights in 2 to 4-star hotels
  • 9 days point-to-point walking
  • All buffet breakfasts and 8 dinners
  • Route notes
  • Standard Madrid to León rail ticket
  • Pilgrim Passport to record your adventure en-route
Read Trip Notes
  • Trip Notes outline what's included, visa information, important notes, how to get to your accommodation, packing checklist, optional activities, travel insurance requirements - pretty much everything you need to know about this adventure and more. Please take time to have a read through, and contact us if you have any questions. View Trip Notes
About Exodus Travels
About Exodus Travels
Hit the trails with Exodus - from challenging peaks to leisurely coastal and countryside walks. Read more
Exodus Trip Leaders
Exodus Trip Leaders
Exodus chooses their Leaders carefully. Professional, dedicated and are passionate about sharing their home countries. Read more
Accommodation with Personality
Accommodation with Personality
Wherever possible, Exodus chooses properties that are locally owned and that reflect the area you are visiting. Read more

Prices & Dates

Best Price Guarantee We'll beat any comparative quote!
Dedicated Travel Advisor Here to help every step of the way!
Past Client? Save an additional $100 per booking!
Trip Starts Trip Ends Status Offer Save Now Our Price  
Friday 03 Jul 2020 Wednesday 15 Jul 2020 146per person 3,503per person Enquire
Friday 10 Jul 2020 Wednesday 22 Jul 2020 146per person 3,503per person Enquire
Friday 17 Jul 2020 Wednesday 29 Jul 2020 146per person 3,503per person Enquire
Friday 24 Jul 2020 Wednesday 05 Aug 2020 146per person 3,503per person Enquire
Friday 31 Jul 2020 Wednesday 12 Aug 2020 146per person 3,503per person Enquire
Friday 07 Aug 2020 Wednesday 19 Aug 2020 146per person 3,503per person Enquire
Friday 14 Aug 2020 Wednesday 26 Aug 2020 146per person 3,503per person Enquire
Friday 21 Aug 2020 Wednesday 02 Sep 2020 146per person 3,503per person Enquire
Friday 28 Aug 2020 Wednesday 09 Sep 2020 146per person 3,503per person Enquire
Friday 04 Sep 2020 Wednesday 16 Sep 2020 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 11 Sep 2020 Wednesday 23 Sep 2020 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 18 Sep 2020 Wednesday 30 Sep 2020 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 25 Sep 2020 Wednesday 07 Oct 2020 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 02 Oct 2020 Wednesday 14 Oct 2020 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 09 Oct 2020 Wednesday 21 Oct 2020 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 16 Oct 2020 Wednesday 28 Oct 2020 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 26 Mar 2021 Wednesday 07 Apr 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 02 Apr 2021 Wednesday 14 Apr 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 09 Apr 2021 Wednesday 21 Apr 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 16 Apr 2021 Wednesday 28 Apr 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 23 Apr 2021 Wednesday 05 May 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 30 Apr 2021 Wednesday 12 May 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 07 May 2021 Wednesday 19 May 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 14 May 2021 Wednesday 26 May 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 21 May 2021 Wednesday 02 Jun 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 28 May 2021 Wednesday 09 Jun 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 04 Jun 2021 Wednesday 16 Jun 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 11 Jun 2021 Wednesday 23 Jun 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 18 Jun 2021 Wednesday 30 Jun 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 25 Jun 2021 Wednesday 07 Jul 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 02 Jul 2021 Wednesday 14 Jul 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 09 Jul 2021 Wednesday 21 Jul 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 16 Jul 2021 Wednesday 28 Jul 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 23 Jul 2021 Wednesday 04 Aug 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 30 Jul 2021 Wednesday 11 Aug 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 06 Aug 2021 Wednesday 18 Aug 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 13 Aug 2021 Wednesday 25 Aug 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 20 Aug 2021 Wednesday 01 Sep 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 27 Aug 2021 Wednesday 08 Sep 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 03 Sep 2021 Wednesday 15 Sep 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 10 Sep 2021 Wednesday 22 Sep 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 17 Sep 2021 Wednesday 29 Sep 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 24 Sep 2021 Wednesday 06 Oct 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 01 Oct 2021 Wednesday 13 Oct 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 08 Oct 2021 Wednesday 20 Oct 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 15 Oct 2021 Wednesday 27 Oct 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 22 Oct 2021 Wednesday 03 Nov 2021 158per person 3,791per person Enquire
Friday 03 Jul 2020 Wednesday 15 Jul 2020 146solo traveller 4,192solo traveller Enquire
Friday 10 Jul 2020 Wednesday 22 Jul 2020 146solo traveller 4,192solo traveller Enquire
Friday 17 Jul 2020 Wednesday 29 Jul 2020 146solo traveller 4,192solo traveller Enquire
Friday 24 Jul 2020 Wednesday 05 Aug 2020 146solo traveller 4,192solo traveller Enquire
Friday 31 Jul 2020 Wednesday 12 Aug 2020 146solo traveller 4,192solo traveller Enquire
Friday 07 Aug 2020 Wednesday 19 Aug 2020 146solo traveller 4,192solo traveller Enquire
Friday 14 Aug 2020 Wednesday 26 Aug 2020 146solo traveller 4,192solo traveller Enquire
Friday 21 Aug 2020 Wednesday 02 Sep 2020 146solo traveller 4,192solo traveller Enquire
Friday 28 Aug 2020 Wednesday 09 Sep 2020 146solo traveller 4,192solo traveller Enquire
Friday 04 Sep 2020 Wednesday 16 Sep 2020 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 11 Sep 2020 Wednesday 23 Sep 2020 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 18 Sep 2020 Wednesday 30 Sep 2020 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 25 Sep 2020 Wednesday 07 Oct 2020 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 02 Oct 2020 Wednesday 14 Oct 2020 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 09 Oct 2020 Wednesday 21 Oct 2020 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 16 Oct 2020 Wednesday 28 Oct 2020 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 26 Mar 2021 Wednesday 07 Apr 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 02 Apr 2021 Wednesday 14 Apr 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 09 Apr 2021 Wednesday 21 Apr 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 16 Apr 2021 Wednesday 28 Apr 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 23 Apr 2021 Wednesday 05 May 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 30 Apr 2021 Wednesday 12 May 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 07 May 2021 Wednesday 19 May 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 14 May 2021 Wednesday 26 May 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 21 May 2021 Wednesday 02 Jun 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 28 May 2021 Wednesday 09 Jun 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 04 Jun 2021 Wednesday 16 Jun 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 11 Jun 2021 Wednesday 23 Jun 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 18 Jun 2021 Wednesday 30 Jun 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 25 Jun 2021 Wednesday 07 Jul 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 02 Jul 2021 Wednesday 14 Jul 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 09 Jul 2021 Wednesday 21 Jul 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 16 Jul 2021 Wednesday 28 Jul 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 23 Jul 2021 Wednesday 04 Aug 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 30 Jul 2021 Wednesday 11 Aug 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 06 Aug 2021 Wednesday 18 Aug 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 13 Aug 2021 Wednesday 25 Aug 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 20 Aug 2021 Wednesday 01 Sep 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 27 Aug 2021 Wednesday 08 Sep 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 03 Sep 2021 Wednesday 15 Sep 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 10 Sep 2021 Wednesday 22 Sep 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 17 Sep 2021 Wednesday 29 Sep 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 24 Sep 2021 Wednesday 06 Oct 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 01 Oct 2021 Wednesday 13 Oct 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 08 Oct 2021 Wednesday 20 Oct 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 15 Oct 2021 Wednesday 27 Oct 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Friday 22 Oct 2021 Wednesday 03 Nov 2021 158solo traveller 4,480solo traveller Enquire
Show more dates...
Key
Definite Departure. Minimum numbers reached for this depature to operate.
Available Departure. Minimum numbers not yet reached, so while this depature is expected to operate, it’s not yet a Definite Departure.
Not Available. Places on this departure are unavailable.
Exclusive Global Journeys Savings. Available for a limited time or until sold out.
Note: Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.

Similar Tours

13 Day The Best of the Via Dinarica (Exodus)
13 Days Tirana to Tirana
Operated By: Exodus
12 Day Tour du Mont Blanc Trek (Exodus)
12 Days Chamonix-Mont-Blanc to Chamonix-Mont-Blanc
Operated By: Exodus
12 Day Discover the Baltics (Exodus)
12 Days Tallinn to Vilnius
Operated By: Exodus
Trip Notes
Trip prices are per person, and reflect applicable discounts. Discounts are subject to availability, exclusive to Global Journeys and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Trip prices are correct at the time of the products going live, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking. All trip information is correct at time of trips going live, however are subject to change by Exodus. Full terms & conditions are available here.