AAT Kings Tours

Wonders of the Kimberley Reviews

26 Wonders of the Kimberley reviews from past travellers that booked with Global Journeys.
4.54
AVG. RATING 4.54 / 5
26 REVIEWS
5 Star
58%
4 Star
38%
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Wonders of the Kimberley

Wonders of the Kimberley 0 , VIC, Australia, Jul 2021
We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Kimberleys with AAT Kings and feel extremely lucky to have made it as all future tours for 2021 have been cancelled. Our guide Delma, and driver Cam were excellent. Because of border closures we only had 19 fellow passengers, all of whom were very easy to get along with. We would like to thank Georgie, from Global ...read more Journeys for her help in planning this trip. We will certainly be looking at booking any future trips with her.
Kimberley Highlights 0 , QLD, Australia, May 2021
Comfortable trip - accommodation and food excellent (had to stop eating breakfasts) - tour director (Cam) and driver (John) were first class always on hand to help the tourists. Highlights were the day trip to the Bungle Bungles and the fast cruise with the crazy Alaskan chick. We probably expected a slightly more adventurous trip a la Gibb River road ...read more but still very enjoyable. All the passengers got on well which is important with a trip like this.
Wonders of the Kimberley   0 , NSW, Australia, Sep 2019
Would travel with AAT Kings again. Excellent tour director and coach driver. Tour all the better because it only had 22 passengers.
11 Day Wonders of the Kimberley 0 , VIC, Australia, Sep 2019
The tour was very well organised and the tour leader was very informative due to him having lived in the area we visited. The stories he had heard in his time living there gave us insight to the people who live in these places. The accommodation in most places was exceptional and the meals included surpassed my expectations. The overall experience ...read more was enlightening and very enjoyable.
Wonders of the Kimberley with AAT Kings   3 , WA, Australia, Jun 2019
Thanks to Madeline at Global Journeys for arranging our tour with AAT Kings. All went very smoothly. Whilst some days required early starts the tour was most enjoyable. The Tour Director Delma and driver Ben were exceptional. They were caring and most considerate professionals. The coach was comfortable, scenery was wonderful, especially the four ...read more river and gorge cruises, and the accommodation, considering the remote location of towns, was very good. The tented cabin at Emma Gorge was great. I would strongly recommend this tour for anyone who would love to get a feeling and understanding of Northern Australia.
Wonders of the Kimberley   0 , VIC, Australia, Aug 2018
I am very happy, firstly with Juliet from Global Journeys who managed all aspects of the tour including single supplement, on a rather late booking. This trip was all I dreamed and more, mainly from the way the tour was organised, and the many extras that were included, the cruises where on one we were treated to afternoon tea in the middle of nowhere. ...read more Another highlight was the quality of the accommodation, always the best that could be provided in this remote area. Vouchers for two free drinks each evening. My trip was made so much more enjoyable by our couch driver Warren, who went beyond his duties when I had an unfortunate hiccup on the bus, thank you Warren. Our tour guide Dave, scores 11 out of 10 for his courtesy, helpfulness to all the 35 of us, his knowledge of the area, the history, giving everyone the feeling that we were his friend. Lastly AAT Kings, my first trip with your company, but definitely not my last. As you know word of mouth is the best advertisement, and I will be praising the tour, the personnel, and making this trip so enjoyable.
An excellent way to see the sunburnt country!   0 , ACT, Australia, Jul 2018
We were most impressed by both the tour director (Dave) and the driver (Stu). The information that was relayed to us by Dave along the way was invaluable in appreciating the top of Australia. We felt the pace was just right and the places we visited were clearly well researched by AAT Kings. The accommodation was just right and there were a few gems ...read more like El Questro. Dinners were buffet style and were of variable quality but most were acceptable and one (Halls Creek) was outstanding. Stu took great care of the bus which was cleaned and disinfected every night. The other passengers were a convivial bunch and friendships were made. Overall a wonderful experience.
Wonderful Kimberley's adventure   1 , QLD, Australia, Aug 2017
We had the best trip thanks to AAT Kings and our wonderful Tour director Dave and Best bus driver Warren. They made our trip trouble free and everything ran to plan. They do a fantastic job and Daves knowledge is unbelievable. The places we stayed were wonderful and the food was fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed the outback show in Katherine. The ...read more flight over the Bungle bungles was a special treat.
Great trip through the Kimberleys 4 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2017
We had a wonderful holiday thanks to our tour director Liz ,driver Mark and a good touring group that made our trip very enjoyable, from Broome to Darwin we visited a lot of incredible locations our favourite places would have to be El Questro, the Ord river cruise and the full day tour of Bungle Bungles, most of the accommodation and meals were very ...read more good considering places we visited although it involves a lot of travelling and a hectic schedule it was all worth it we would definitely travel with AAT Kings and book through Global Journeys again, thanks Jemma.
Amazing trip of the Kimberley's 0 , WA, Australia, Aug 2016
I always wanted to do this trip and absolutely loved it. The tour was very well organised and guided. The food and accommodation very good, though I thought Fitzroy Crossing was pretty basic. I do realise it is a small town, so maybe a different stop could be considered. Our guide Liz and driver Warren were incredible and made all the difference to ...read more the trip, even serving up lovely morning/afternoon tea with bickies/ lamingtons etc.- I called them the " Gloria Jeans and Star Buck " duo. Thank you Michelle for keeping me well informed every step of the way. The group on the tour were very friendly and helpful, a great bunch. The cruises down the gorges were beautiful, the sussets and scenery just amazing. All in all a great tour, full marks to Global Journeys.
Wonders of the Kimberley - The Easy Way 1 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2016
The Kimberley's is something you must see, it is amazing . A coach tour takes the stress out of it. Our tour group was good and agreeable.
Wonders of the Kimberley 2 , QLD, Australia, Jul 2016
This was a tour that we had wanted to do for a long time and we found it to be excellent with spectacular scenery, great cruises and other wonderful inclusions. Our group was generally of retirement age but included two young AAT Kings Travel Consultants from Sydney who joined us to gain knowledge and experience of such a tour. The whole group mixed ...read more well together, was always organised and this contributed to the trip. We were very appreciative of the efforts of our Tour Director Dave and Driver Warren who went out of their way to ensure that the tour was enjoyed by everyone. Because of the remoteness of the area we travelled through some days were long but others easier. The accommodation and meals varied but generally were very good considering where we were .Possibly we were a bit spoilt by starting at Cable Beach Club Resort. The tented cabins at Emma Gorge were different but very comfortable, and as there is no TV or phone coverage resulted in a couple of early nights. I would like to thank Georgie for her effortless handling of all tour arrangements. This is a trip that everybody should do at some stage and I would highly recommend AAT Kings for the tour they provided. Similarly Global Journeys is the only way to go.
Great Experience 0 , SA, Australia, Jul 2016
We would like to give some reasons behind our ratings in some instances. eg accommodation was hard to rate as it changed dramatically from site to site & we would have rated it excellent if all the places we stayed at were like Cable Beach & Mantra in Darwin. However all other sites were just average with El Questro different but nothing special so ...read more where does that leave us? We fully appreciate the fact that accommodation on the road had very limited choices through the individual towns remoteness. As far as value for money goes if we paid full price its would have been maybe pretty good but we got a significant discount so it was very good! Tour pace was a bit hectic but we had massive distances to travel so its was OK. This fact was made better because we had a very good group who appreciated the need for cooperation & his helped a lot. Not sure how it would have gone if the coach was full & the crowd difficult but gladly that wasn't the case. The Tour Guide was very experienced & worked very well with everybody & that helped as well. We have gone on a number of overseas coach tours where it was expected that we tipped both the tour guide & driver but apparently that's not expected here in Australia. However I asked our group if they thought if our driver & tour guide where worth tipping & most agreed it was & I was pleased to be able to show our gratitude with about $100 each which was appreciated. We where both very pleased with this tour & glad that we chose Global Journeys to take care of us & are very appreciative of all Emily's & the rest of the teams hard work. Unfortunately we are now probably past coach tours & are therefore unlikely to look at Global Journeys for any further holidays of this type or with anybody else for that matter. On top of that there are virtually no more hidden treasures awaiting us as we have pretty much done them all here in Australia. There are plenty of other alternatives left when we consider the rest of the world but these will need a win in Lotto before we can afford it. Still you never really know & Global Journeys will be the first port of call if something changes & opportunity knocks. Cheers & thank you all.
Wonders of the Kimberley 0 , WA, Australia, Jul 2016
The coach was not one of AAT Kings fleet and was not of the same class as the ones which we have travel on before. I have spoken with AAT Kings about the problems on the coach. I would however travel with AAT Kings again and would book with Global Journeys.
Fantastic scenery, amazing journey 0 , Victoria, Australia, Jun 2016
Absolutely loved my day at the Horizontal Falls, the bus was comfortable but the food was not so good but overall really enjoyed the trip!
Excellent, well organised and guided 0 , NZ, New Zealand, Jun 2015
We loved the tour well organised and guided. No problems at all with the included activities, food and accomodations. As we booked late our tour info wallet didn't catch us up but no problems resulted. Another tour will be on the cards I am sure. Overall excellent.
I would recommend this tour 1 , Australia, Aug 2014
Older age group - average age 70 to 75. Tour guide and driver did a great job. Accommodation was good, the best available in the small towns we stayed in. The meals were very good apart from one dinner we had in Katherine. We really enjoyed our trip and would recommend AAT Kings. We also had Global Journeys add on the 'Kakadu National Park Explorer' ...read more day trip to our holiday. It was long day but worth it. The coach was very comfortable as a new model and David Browne our driver did a great job. He gave us lots of information along the way and was very helpful. I would recommend this tour.
No real complaints 0 , Australia, Aug 2014
Michelle was a fantastic agent - thanks Michelle. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and all went well. We have no real complaints. Our meals were very good. We would have liked more walking through gorges etc but time didn't allow. The tour was quite fast paced with some long days and too many hours spent on the coach. We suggest adding a day or 2 to enable ...read more tourists to do more.
Would have liked a little more free time 1 , New Zealand, Jun 2014
Thought starting with a free day unnecessary. Tour manager and driver were excellent - organised, helpful and congenial. Accommodation and meal at Fitzroy Crossing below standard and $20 compensation seems inadequate. Generally I would have liked a little more free time at the end of each day. Sometimes a bare hour was all there was. Meals could be ...read more later.
An intense and inspirational time 1 , Australia, Jun 2014
It was an interesting trip. Our tour guide Nellie Sullivan was enthusiastic and informative and Mark our driver was very good on the roads and the trip generally. Favourite moments were Broome and the Stairway to the Moon, the Geiki Gorge and Ord River cruises although the Ord was my favourite. You could include another cruise. The guides were also ...read more interesting and informative and the organisers of the Ord cruise surprised us with afternoon tea and someone had even made gluten free cakes, a lovely touch. I also enjoyed the visit to the Yiylli Aboriginal Community and their art gallery - one of the highlights as was Ted, our Aboriginal Guide at the Argyl diamond mine. More of these Aboriginal experiences would be good.I was impressed with the Emma Gorge resort. Also the chef at Fitzroy Crossing accommodation was very helpful about g/f food and even made me a special dessert. My only crticism was that the g/f options weren't always available which is why I was appreciative when anyone made a special effort. Thre were two of us on the trip who had to follow a g/f diet. Most of the accommodation was very good especially The Cable Beach Resort. Overall it was an intense and inspirational time, the landscapes and people were amazing and worth every cent. One criticism, we were strongly encouraged not to use the toilet on the coach, which is a bit restrictive for a tour which included many over 55s - sometimes there were long delays between stops.
Results 1-20 of 26

Starting & Ending