Home > Operators > Uniworld > Uniworld Reviews
Uniworld River Cruises

Uniworld River Cruises Reviews

The 79 Uniworld River Cruises reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Uniworld River Cruises. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.6
AVG. RATING 4.6 / 5
79 REVIEWS
5 Star
68%
4 Star
27%
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Uniworld

Wonderful trip down the Nile     1 , QLD, Australia, Nov 2019
What an amazing country Egypt is! We travelled in November, temperature averaged around 25C and no humidity, perfect for touring the temples, low crowds. The River Tosca is a beautiful older ship with lots of timber and a relaxed atmosphere. Staff were absolutely amazing, as with all Uniworld cruise staff, remembering drink preferences and names after ...read more the first day. The food fresh and lots of choice, including local flavours. Plenty of fresh bottled water each day. With only 60 guests on board (mainly American, 2 Brits and 4 Aussies; ages 17-70s) we were split into groups of 20 each with our own Egyptologist, Sabaa, and own full sized coach. Wonderful stories and explanation of everything we visited was given, we never felt rushed. Luxor and Aswan were beautiful and clean after crazy polluted Cairo. Hotel in Cairo was excellent. Very busy tour schedule with some early starts and long days. Highlights were balloon ride over the Valley of the Kings/Queens at sunrise, high tea at sunset at Old Cataract Hotel, bird watching on the Nile in a small boat, flying to Abu Simbel temples and of course the Pyramids. The locals were very friendly and welcoming, we didn’t feel uncomfortable in any situation, except for very zealous stall holders in the markets! Excellent security on board and everywhere we visited. If Egypt is on your bucket list, don’t hesitate! Amazing to be able to touch history thousands of years old.
Lisbon & Douro River Cruise      0 , NSW, Australia, Oct 2019
Had an amazing time. Beautiful scenery along the Douro River. Global Journeys our travel agent Hannah Campbell did an amazing job organising our tour. Thank you Hannah. Uniworld who we travelled with were fabulous, staff were so obliging and friendly. Accommodation at hotel and on board were 1st class. Met some very friendly people. Overall a wonderful ...read more experience.
Sensational river cruise     1 , VIC, Australia, Sep 2019
Fantastic crew with outstanding service. Great food and already looking at a follow up cruise. Very informative tours. Extensive variety of drinks and the embarkation was very relaxed. Definitely recommended.
A roam around the wineries     3 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2019
This was a bit of an unusual trip compared to other river cruises we have undertaken. Most go from A to B (and maybe back again) along a river but this one seemed to go around in circles due to the nature of the river estuary being explored. This meant that even though we seemed to move a long way, in essence it was only ever a short distance from Bordeaux, ...read more and time and time again we passed the same landmarks. Despite that, it was still an excellent experience with several shore trips to visit small and very picturesque villages and wineries. We have been on several UniWorld cruises previously and all have been exceptional. My sense is that Uniworld is slowly reducing their level of service and included options that made them a standout amongst river cruise operators. This may be a trend across all operators, which reflects the tough times they are going through. However, if you want to taste the wine growing region of France in a leisurely relaxed fashion then this is a great way to do it.
Fascinating Cruise through Eastern Europe     3 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2019
Should you be interested in visiting a less frequented part of Europe this is the one. The Uniworld experience was excellent. The crew was great, the food first class and the ship top rate. But watch cabin sizes as the SS Beatrice cabins come in two sizes. The French Balcony doors do not open very wide. This part of the Danube is now starting to be ...read more busy, so you are likely to find another ship docked alongside at most ports eliminating any views - a problem as this area becomes more popular. We had two full days off ship touring into Croatia and Bulgaria and interesting excursions at other stops such as Belgrade with lectures on the history of the region including the genesis of the Balkan conflict in the 1990's. Bucharest was a pleasant surprise, an attractive city with its own interesting history. If you have an interest in learning more about this region and its history, this is a most pleasant way to do it.
Ultimate France Uniworld River Cruise     4 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2019
Our Uniworld River Cruise was amazing but there were a lot of optional tours which we think should be included for all passengers when you have already paid top dollar for the river cruise.
Leisurely cruise along the Nile     0 , NSW, Australia, Feb 2019
Well organised trip with terrific tour guides (all seemed to be named Mohamed). Accommodation in Cairo and on the boat (River Tosca) was excellent. We saw numerous temples and other historical sites and artifacts. Two other highlights were the balloon ride (optional extra) and the chaotic Cairo traffic during the transfer to the airport by a very skilled ...read more Spring Tours driver.
It snowed - the countryside was wonderful     1 , WA, Australia, Dec 2018
Christmas markets were a treat, the staff on the "Beatrice" were wonderful, the food outstanding, cabins are a little small and we were on the top deck. The water levels caused a few problems resulting in us being "detained" at the most dreadful place you can imagine ashore. We had to remain at the Bavarian barn that was not a barn until 0100 in ...read more the morning. This was a shore excursion disguised as a dinner in a barn but allowed the ship to reposition; it was disgusting (the venue) and we would not be cruising with Uniworld again as a result. However, this is my view only, all the other shore excursions were brilliant with wonderful guides particularly the Bavarian forest horse carriage ride. This is why you will see an outstanding for shore excursions. The booking experience with Hannah was seamless as usual and we will always use Hannah for this type of travel.
Highly recommend this tour      3 , WA, Australia, Aug 2018
Fantastic not a single negative thing to say! Amazing tour guides very knowledgeable and amazing food and cruise staff. Astrid the hotel manager was lovely. Bar Staff couldn’t do enough. It was very moving at Utah and Omaha beaches and Honfleur was so pretty!
Uniworld - Bordeaux cruise     5 , QLD, Australia, Aug 2018
The daily excursions were excellent. Each day a different winery in a different part of the Bordeaux region with expert commentary from the local wine makers. The ship doesn't quite come up to the marketing media that one looks at prior to booking. Perhaps their other river boats reflect the brochures? The crew were, as is usual, from eastern Europe ...read more and were very good at their jobs. Their managers however left quite a bit to be desired. Unlike other river cruise companies we never saw any day time cleaning of the vessel being carried out and after cutting my finger on a nail hanging out of the bottom of a lounge chair I pointed out to the Hotel Manager that the chairs were far from clean and quite a few were "sticky" . The shower had mould and a leak from the sink into the drawer beneath was obviously known to the staff because before my wife could tell them where the leak was they suggested it was into the drawer! That took 3 attempts to fix. The resident piano player seemed to think that loud was better than background music, subsequently everyone spoke louder than was necessary to be heard over the music, silly. Food was pretty good except the first night when all our main courses were cold and when I asked for a coffee it was presented stone cold, obviously left over from breakfast. Which brings me back to the lack of management. Overall if it wasn't for the excellent excursions the trip would have been a failure. I think we'll stick with Australian companies for future river cruises.
Lovely trip of Portugal and Spain     7 , VIC, Australia, May 2018
This was a lovely trip and weather was perfect. It was well organised and as a single person travelling alone some great friendships soon developed. The hotel in Lisbon was central and comfortable and the sightseeing gave one a good insight into this vibrant city. Highlights for me were the famous pastry shop of the original absolutely delicious Portuguese ...read more Tart in Belem and the magnificent 18th century library at the university of Coimbra which we visited going up to Porto to board the ship. The Queen Isabel was a very comfortable ship and the meals fabulous. After sightseeing around the historic and lovey city of Porto we cruised through beautiful terraced vineyards, visiting wineries and given a good insight into this important industry. Other favorites were the museums, the UNESCO World Heritage city of Salamanca and the 12 Century walled village of Castelo Rodrigo. This trip certainly lived up to my expectations and I highly recommend Uniworld. Thank you Georgie for your excellent care in organizing my whole trip.
Excellent trip     8 , NSW, Australia, May 2018
We selected this trip as a fill in after the Tulips and Windmills cruise to slot in and meet the timing of the following trip to Iceland. Again we were not disappointed. Typical Uniworld, service, excursions and attentiveness to customers plus a good bunch of fellow travelers made this a great experience. Possibly the only downside was that the trip ...read more finished in Basel and that was it! No city tour to round of the trip, just disembarkation which seemed to be a lost opportunity as others, such as Viking, seemed to be catering for this a bit better.
Another great Uniworld experieince     2 , NSW, Australia, Apr 2018
We booked the last Tulips and Windmills trip for the season with the hope that there would be still plenty of Tulips to see. We were not disappointed, more flowers that you could poke a stick at. However the trip was not all about tulips. The towns and scenery seen and visited were exceptional. The Uniworld level of service that we had experienced on ...read more previous trips was still there. The food as usual was plentiful and extremely tasty, the crew was extremely attentive and helpful. These guys do it well!
Castles on the Rhine     3 , QLD, Australia, Mar 2018
Very comfortable journey, everything met our expectations. Crew and staff were first rate. Hannah from Global was very professional. Booking and all relative procedures went very smoothly. Very happy with whole exercise.
Uniworld is wonderful     6 , NSW, Australia, Dec 2017
This was our second Uniworld cruise this year, we travelled on the River Beatrice to Eastern Europe in April and this time round to Paris and parts of Normandy on the Joie de Vivre. Uniworld has found the right balance for their cruises, interesting excursions in port, but enough leisure time to choose to do your own thing and relax. The overall ...read more feel of their ships is European elegance, beautifully furnished and maintained, the cabins and public areas are always spotless. The meals on board are really good and with plenty of choice, we did feel the Beatrice had a slight edge in the cuisine overall. The staff on both ships were excellent, they make the cruise what it is. Personable, cheerful, helpful young people, always willing to go the extra mile. The staff in the main dining room often address you by name and remember your choice of drink, etc. We met mainly American and Canadian travellers, also from the UK, Australia, China, an opportunity to meet people from all over the world and many walks of life. We are seriously thinking of another trip with Uniworld, that should say it all. Hannah from Global Journeys is the best, we trust her implicitly, she knows what we want when we travel and always delivers. Thank you dear Hannah.
Uniworld Cruise through France     3 , WA, Australia, Nov 2017
Very enjoyable cruise - well organised and competent. We have done river cruises with other companies and enjoyed them more.
We had a wonderful time on our river cruise.      7 , New Zealand, Oct 2017
We had a wonderful time on our river cruise and would like to do another tour in 2019 . This river cruise was of high standard and a quality service . We would recommend Uniworld tours to friends and family as it provided for all our needs and much more. We met wonderful people of same interests from around the world and have exchanged details with ...read more an opportunity to visit their countries . This would not have been possible if we had not done the tour. We would like to take our families next time but unsure if there would be something similar available in 2 years . Thank you very much for the great service .
The Best Experience Ever      6 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2017
We have had the most delightful holiday ever! Fantastic service, quality inclusions, fabulous food, wine, tours, room service. The whole trip beginning with the organisation with Global Journeys to our disembarkation went extremely well. Not one problem . Loved Uniworld and would recommend to anyone.
Excellent cruise     6 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2017
We only had 76 on our cruise, very comfortable and gave us a chance to chat with almost everyone. Rooms are not big but comfortable. Very clean. Captain and all the crew were very friendly. Cruise director excellent. Each evening you were briefed on the following days activities. Bar stay friendly and generous. Washers and dryers on board excellent. ...read more There was no need to put your hand in your pocket for any other expenses. Excursions well run. Food excellent. Ports of call were all good and lively. Opportunity to go on organised bike tours and pick up the boat further up the river or short hikes and a bus would drive you to the boat. Hard pressed to find fault with itinerary. Marvellous cruise. Uniworld are an excellent river cruise line.
Amsterdam to Budapest with Uniworld on River Empress      14 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2017
Uniworld provided a worry free holiday that you can only imagine in your dreams. From the moment we boarded River Empress we were treated like knigs and queens. We arrived at the dock in Amsterdam dragging our luggage and a staff member walked towards us and took our bags and introduced us to the front office staff. We were then shown to our room ...read more and given the run down on how things worked in our room and told lunch was available in the dining room. We unpacked and went to the dining room for lunch and we knew immediately by the attention of the dining room staff we were in for an amazing trip. The personal attention never faltered and we were made feel as if we were the most important people in the world for the next 15 days. They said "if you are happy, we are happy". We enjoyed every aspect of our cruise, all the ports and excursions. There were excursions and activities to suit all activity levels and interests. We wish we could have sailed forever, although our clothes would not have fitted for much longer as the food was such high quality and there was so much on offer. Breakfast and lunch was buffet style and dinner was sit down. Uniworld definitely exceeded all our expectations, don't hesitate, just book. Thank you to Georgie for organising this trip for us, I have never spoken to her but she has provided a wonderful service.
Results 1-20 of 79

Starting & Ending