Home > Operators > Topdeck > Topdeck Reviews
Topdeck Tours

Topdeck Tours Reviews

The 30 Topdeck reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Topdeck. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.6
AVG. RATING 4.6 / 5
30 REVIEWS
5 Star
67%
4 Star
27%
3 Star
7%
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Topdeck

A great getaway, so much to see and do.     1 , SA, Australia, Aug 2019
Amazing tour and a great group to travel with. Would definitely recommend to others and do again at some stage.
Simple and easy way to see picture-perfect Norway and Mother Russia      2 , QLD, Australia, Jul 2019
The Red Star Special is a long trip (37 days), but you will never want those 37 days to end. It is very fast paced and exhausting tour but really worth it. And you visit all of the places I only used to dream of visiting, ticking off many bucket list items. This trip takes you up to the top of Europe, stopping at many small towns in Norway. Accommodation ...read more through Norway is very basic, but they all come with some amazing views (just make sure you bring a sleeping bag). There is a lot of driving, but the group had quite a strong camaraderie which makes the bus days still a lot of fun. To keep the cost down through Norway, a Topdeck Chef travels with you and cooks breakfast, lunch and dinner for you. They are generally basic bulk meals (i.e. lots of pasta, salads, toast/cereal), but still taste good. There are a large number of people on this trip that only do the Scandinavian section of the trip (leaving before Russia) and a number of people joining for the Russia section. This makes the trip feel like a whole new tour and helps to combat any fatigue you many be feeling from the last 21 days. Russia is equally as amazing as Scandinavia. Don't let the issue of having to get a Russian visa put you off going to Russia. Topdeck use a local Russian guide to take you through St Peters, Novgorod and Moscow. The Russia days have a lot more jam-packed than most of the other days on the trip, with a lot less free time to wander and explore the place yourself. But Topdeck take you to a lot of the places that you would want to see on your own anyway. If you are looking to see as much as you can in as little time as possible I would recommend this. Our trip leader was highly knowledgeable and always happy to help if you had a question about where to go or what to do. The other people on the trip were mostly from Aus/NZ and were mostly age 25+. Booking through Global Journeys was easy and I would use them again. Overall this is an amazing trip and I couldn't recommend it enough!
Amazing highlights trip of Europe     2 , SA, Australia, Jul 2018
My partner and I completed a 34 day discover Europe trip with Top Deck and had the most amazing time. Our tour leader was so professional and incredibly knowledgeable and our driver was amazing. We made life long friends and saw some of the best parts of Europe. Would definitely travel with Top Deck again. We booked the tour with Jemma through Global ...read more Journeys. She was brilliant, easy to contact and very efficient. Everything was hassle free, and I would definitely book with Global Journeys again. Overall, brilliant service from all involved and an unforgettable holiday.
Fast paced trip through many locations in Italy     3 , VIC, Australia, Aug 2017
Bravo Italia was a fantastic tour that included 16 stops around Italy. This is not for someone looking for a leisurely holiday - every bus day had stops at towns with walking tours and then time for lunch along with a group dinner once you arrived in your location, and most free days had included walking tours or activities that took up most of the ...read more morning. If you are looking to see as much as you can in as little time as possible I would recommend this. Our trip leader was highly knowledgeable and always happy to help if you had a question about where to go, what to do, etc. The other people on the trip were mostly from Aus/NZ and were mostly age 25+, with a lot of couples. Booking through Global Journeys was easy and I would use them again.
Great time on Topdeck     4 , SA, Australia, Jun 2017
This tour is great for someone who wants to get a taste of many different countries in Europe and plans on returning later for some more in-depth travel. The tour is very fast paced, as you are on the bus almost every day, but the trips go by quickly and before you know it you are in a new place. The accomodations were all of decent quality, the included ...read more meals were nice and there was a great mix of planned activities and free time. There was never any pressure to do any activities though, so you could always go off on your own accord if you wish. My tour leader Jass and driver Filipe made the trip fun and I will never forget this experience. If you are thinking about it and are not sure... just do it. It's the best thing I've ever done and as a solo traveller was a great way for me to make friends. Juliet at Global Journeys was an excellent travel agent - she put through all my request efficiently and promptly and was happy to answer any questions. Would highly recommend booking through Global Journeys as they gave me the best price I could find on this trip.
A trip of a lifetime     2 , NSW, Australia, Jun 2017
A very fast paced and exhausting tour but really worth it. I got to visit all of the places I only used to dream of visiting. The accommodation was lacking in some cities but generally pretty good. The Topdeck tour leader and coach driver were very professional and lovely people. Some of the optional excursions were disappointing but I'm glad that I ...read more got to experience them. Booking through Global Journeys was a breeze and Juliet Scott was fantastic! I would definitely recommend this trip and booking through Global Journeys to friends and family.
Nice pace     5 , VIC, Australia, Apr 2017
I really enjoyed the laid back pace of this tour. Unlike the usual Europe coach tours, this felt more relaxed, mostly as it was one county and main transport by ferry. The accommodation could be better, hotels usually not in central locations (apart from the really small islands we visited) and fairly dated/old. Also, a large chunk of the tour are very ...read more young, be prepared for lots of alcohol/late nights. I found the pairing of roommates quite odd (e.g I'm in my mid twenties and shared with an 18 year old, another was a 30 year old with a 20 year old). Otherwise the tour was very enjoyable and I really enjoyed the amount of free time. The optional tours were worth it as well.
Spirit of Europe     1 , QLD, Australia, Apr 2017
We both had a great time, got to see so much and learnt a lot along the way. Booking through Global Journeys made it very easy.
Best week in Europe!     8 , QLD, Australia, Nov 2016
If you are looking for a week of fun and adventure tasting some of eastern Europe's most amazing cities this is the tour for you! I made the most amazing memories with some pretty amazing people! Just a warning this tour does join a bigger group who has been travelling for about 2 weeks prior but don't let that turn you off because I had not problem ...read more me and the other people going in bonded and we integrated pretty well into the larger group. Starting with Budapest the welcome dinner was massive and the ruin bar we visited was awesome! But we turned in early on the first night as a lot of the new travellers had a big day of travel. We walked up to the Budapest castle and relaxed in the thermal baths, drank way too much in the ruin bars and danced out hearts out! The optional dinner cruise was a great way to kick of a big night and seeing the city lit up from the river was incredible. The dinner was amazing though should have been advertised as a buffet as I was expecting a sit down meal and 2 bottles of wine (which for my table turned into 4) were a great compliment to the cruise. Krakow was the next city and the quick walking tour that night was good for getting our bearing on the city! I paid for the optional pub crawl which I highly recommend it was a night I will never forget and the hour of free drink definitely helped that. The next day I did the optional Jewish walking tour and the salt mines both were informative but with the hangover form the night before by 3pm I was struggling. Auschwitz was something you just can't miss when in Poland and I'm happy that was an inclusion in the tour. It was also made clear that if we were struggling with the visit we were more than welcome to come back to the bus and have a chat! It was nice to know we had a safe place if it was too much! The only overall downside to Krakow was our accommodation classified as a hotel upgrade it was awful and was a real let down. it was also far form the city center. A lot of us would have preferred to have stayed in a hostel closer to the city centre. After that we ventured onto Prague a city which I fell in love with and probably the best time I had on the tour. The city was gorgeous filled with amazing food, beautiful architecture and it was easy to navigate. The night we arrived in Prague we had an informative walking tour and then we headed out for a night in the 5 story club. Being a Sunday night it was pretty quiet but our group made fun for itself. My night ended on a bad night having my phone lost/stolen (the latter more likely as i found out later that the club is notorious for things going 'missing'). But none the less I had a good night and I was having so much fun that the next day it was a joke and my new friends kept my spirits up and let me forget about it! We spent that day running around the city visiting all the gorgeous sites and just having too much fun! That is a day I will never forget and it is because I was on this tour! All of the inclusions from the hotels to the breakfast and the extra activities were well worth the money. But being in Europe everything is cheap and you can enjoy without having to worry too much about money. You do spend about 3 days on a bus but I enjoyed the bus journeys even when were delayed because we caught up on the sleep we were lacking (only sleeping for 3 hrs a night was catching up) watched movies and chatted. There were plenty of breaks as well. Our tour leader Amanda was amazing could not recommend or praise her enough! She included us newbies, had itineraries, Facebook groups, recommendations everything you could ever want or need from a tour leader she had! Sergio our bus driver was hilarious, including and a lot of fun! Booking with Global Journeys was easy, quick and would definitely book through them again! Overall this is an amazing trip and I couldn't recommend it enough!
Europe Tour     0 , New Zealand, Sep 2016
Great tour. Travelled in September, while this was at the back end of the summer season the weather was still warm, with the added bonus of sites being less crowded than during peak summer season. Tour manager was knowledgeable and arranged for additional options outside of those listed in the brochure.
Topdeck Grand European     0 , New Zealand, Aug 2016
Awesome trip, would 100% recommend. The tour guide Charlotte was really nice and helpful. The accommodation was great for the most but the Nice and "hotel upgrade" was a 6 bedroom dorm was extremely hot and had no air conditioning same with the accommodation in Amsterdam. Global Journeys were very helpful in coordinating my booking and dealing with ...read more any queries.
Beautiful, Stunning and highly recommend!     2 , New Zealand, Jul 2016
I loved that this tour was chilled and relaxed! We had 16 people on our tour (two big boats with 8 people on each) so we weren't cramped at all, had plenty of space. The waters were beautiful, crystal clear and nothing like I'd ever seen before!! We spent half the time swimming and the other half eating :D I would seriously pay the price again just ...read more to have our onboard chef (Mustafa!) cook for me again, it's that good!!! The fishing villages were cute although empty of tourists, I felt sorry for the souvenir shops trying to sell their merchandise. Inside the rooms are really hot to sleep in so most of us slept up top on the deck, but with the warm weather and beautiful scenery it was a plus. Highlight was paragliding over Blue Lagoon - absolutely breathtaking I highly recommend!
Great summer getaway     0 , NSW, Australia, Jul 2016
Overall, it was a great holiday - stress free as most things were pre planned for us. The tour guide was very helpful and knowledgable. Favourite places would have to be Corfu and Budapest!
Free spirited experience     1 , NSW, Australia, Jul 2016
I really enjoyed the Spirit of Europe tour because of my fellow tour buddies who were as passionate and enthusiastic about history and Europe. Our tour leader spoke with the most infectious and inspiring passion and enthusiasm that made us all interested and happy in the locations and countries. It was the best holiday of my life and I would recommend ...read more it anyone who wants to learn, live life to the fullest and be surrounded by like minded happy people on their journey through Europe.
Russia a must to visit     2 , VIC, Australia, Jul 2016
The Norwegian landscape was amazing, postcard pictures every turn. The water at the fiord were turquoise blue. Lakes and waterfalls every. Once in your life you have to experience 24 hour of light. Fellow travelers and I were up chatting away at 3am in the morning, which was still light waiting for the sun to rise again. There were so many lakes in ...read more Norway, but then we enter Finland which had even more lakes. Finnish people are really shy people and they really open up once we started talking to them. Well that's was what I was told by a local Finnish girl after I started the conversation. Russia was definitely the highlight. Not what I expected at all. The local guides were really helpful and I learnt a lot about Russian history. I know now Peter is great. Russian architecture is.......special. There's so much to see in St Peterborough, my favorite was the cathedral "Saviour on Spilled Blood", beautiful inside and out. Moscow was surprisingly modern, clean and beautiful. Red square great. I felt really safe. There were plenty of local tourist striking the pose in red square. St basil cathedral was also beautiful but the highlight for me in Moscow was the Moscow subway. Each station was like a museum not like any subway I've seen before. Really hard to describe but I think it's best if I don't so don't spoil it for travelers planning to visit Moscow. The other Baltic countries were pretty I their own way. The history of each country and how they were form made interesting reading. I can go on but I won't. You will have to experience it yourself!
A+++     1 , New Zealand, Jun 2016
I absolutely adored this trip! I was a solo female traveller and was a bit nervous about travelling alone, however, Topdeck has this so well organised I felt fine after the first hour! There are like-minded people on these tours so it didn't take long to find people in the same situation as myself :) we had 17 on the first half of our trip and they ...read more were all amazing, I've easily made friends for life. The history through this trip was really informative, albeit very sad in some places (be prepared!). Sarajevo was unexpectedly my favourite location (seriously amazing), although Croatia is absolutely stunning! Thanks Global Journeys!
Wow Europe      0 , NSW, Australia, May 2016
Very well organized. Loved this trip! Would go on one again! I think this was the best trip to go on because you get a bit of everything!
Great tour if you have limited time     0 , Australia, Aug 2015
Great tour if you only have limited time. Austria was a highlight, very quaint little town we stayed in. Tour leader, Jess was great and very helpful with providing extra info in each city about where to eat, visit etc
Fantastic     0 , VIC, Australia, Jul 2015
Fantastic tour - great trip leader and wide variety of places visited from Rome to London. Global Journeys staff were also very helpful with the booking!
Fantastic value for money     0 , QLD, Australia, May 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed this 2 week trip around Turkey. Excellent included and optional activities, acceptable accommodation and overall fantastic value for money. The tour guide was a disappointment however for me this did not detract from the trip as I used the tour more as a means of getting around Turkey as opposed to a guided tour. I would recommend ...read more this to anyone who wants to see all the main sites of this incredible country.
Results 1-20 of 30

Travel Styles

Starting & Ending