Luxury Gold Tour Reviews

Luxury Gold
4.6 out of 5
44 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Luxury Gold. Every review has been verified.

     
“Truly Majestic Rockies”
- WA, Australia Sep 2019

Thank you Jemma you did a great job of organising our trip! Absolutely dazzling! Highlight was definitely the Rockies, however I would omit the Okanagan Valley and the stay in Kelowna in favour of an additional night in Lake Louise or Banff! Tour pace was hectic but it ensured we saw everything! The Optional Excursions were all flight related and were cancelled due to weather conditions so our rating is not really a reflection of the quality!

Our tour guide Nancy and driver Owen were wonderful!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Eastern Canada”
- VIC, Australia Jul 2019 1 Helpful Vote

We were very disappointed with the Omni Hotel experience as there was a mistake with the booking. Sleeping on a fold up bed is not $604 a night, goodbye experience! You have photo. The dining experiences were very poor as well as attention to detail with the experiences e.g. promising Champagne and serving Cava at the welcome drinks and more! Our tour leader Ben was fantastic behind the microphone on the coach, funny, quick witted and informative. Also Eugene was a very good driver and a gentleman. Overall very disappointed and there is no luxury in Luxury Gold!

Reply from Luxury Gold:
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience in Canada with Luxury Gold. Furthermore, we are proud to hear of the tremendous efforts put in by your Travel Concierge and Coach Driver to ensure a memorable time on the road. However, we acknowledge your concerns in relation to the elements of your trip which did not go as you had perhaps anticipated. For this reason, our dedicated team will be sure to review these observations further to see where improvements could be made to better the experience for our guests going forward. Nonetheless, we are extremely pleased to know that we were able to help you create lots of amazing memories of your time on the road in Canada.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic well organised tour ”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

We had an incredible time away in Canada with Luxury Gold! A fantastic company, well organised, great accommodation, wonderful places and fabulous itinerary. Thank you again to Yvonne who always does a magnificent job in organising everything from accommodation, flights etc. Thank you again!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour of Italy”
- VIC , Australia May 2019 3 Helpful Votes

Cannot fault this tour. The tour concierge Andie, accommodation, coach and coach driver Francesco and delightful inclusions and sights made this an awesome tour to remember.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A dream holiday come true”
- WA, Australia Mar 2019 View Photo

We had an amazing dream holiday come true. We loved it. Our Cairo Host Mohammed was simply amazing. He greeted us and covered all of what our schedule entailed. Top marks! Our first guide Hany Atta (land component), was exceptional, he was warm in his greeting, and made us feel welcome and safe. Abdullah the driver could not have been more courteous and accommodating, even to the point of picking up our amazing falafel sandwiches (gobsmacking).

Our tour of the museum with Hany was truly informative and at times moving. His knowledge of Cairo as a city and of the history the pyramids brought our experience to life. From start to finish the land excursions were never to be forgotten.

Our accommodation was at the Conrad Hilton, where we also planned to extend our stay to conclude our Egyptian Odyssey. However, this plan was changed due to several reasons. In our opinion, we suggest the use of the Conrad Hilton be reconsidered, as we believe it is letting down the quality service of the tour.

The reception was unwelcoming, the concierge was preoccupied and unable to assist with our inquiries, the lock on the hotel room door was broken, the cutlery was unwashed (sticky and unwashed), the air conditioner was noisy, and when we went to visit the pool we advised the ground staff there was water all over the toilet floor and we were asked if there was a problem. So based on this, not to spoil our vacation, we opted to change hotels prior to the conclusion of our holiday.

All pickups, all transfers, all drivers and all hosts arranged through Luxury Gold and Global Journeys were exceptional in their conduct at all times. We were made to feel welcome and safe at all times.

The River Tosca cruise from Aswan to Luxor was definitely a highlight. The three nights were not long enough and it is possible we will come back to do a longer cruise. The staff were just beyond words with their help and conduct. Our guide Khaled Ezzat brought the Ancient Egyptian world to life for us, and his passion, communication skills and willingness to share knowledge was outstanding. High praise all round for our excursion guides, drivers and Tosca staff - they were truly wonderful. The food onboard the Tosca was amazing - the level of hygiene to be complemented.

We will have no hesitation in recommending Luxury Gold and Global Journeys to anyone. They are first class companies to deal with. Madeline Lewis, who coordinated our holiday was on point every step of the way, and nothing was ever too much trouble. For that we thank her very much.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fascinating journey through Rajasthan history”
- ACT, Australia Dec 2018 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

Luxury Gold's Imperial Rajasthan gave us a marvellous taste of India through centuries of history. Finally saw the Taj Mahal, one of those few places that actually goes beyond the hype, and enjoyed the range of forts and palaces in various states of repair and detail. The trip does have a number of long travelling days, but once you get to the interesting, and sometimes off the beaten track locations you might not get to otherwise, they're well worth the time.

Some of the hotels were stunning - it felt so special to be sleeping in a former royal residence, or lying in bed watching the sunrise over the Udaipur lake with the window thrown wide open. And the special inclusions, like high tea in the private area of the Jaipur City Palace, added a lovely extra touch. A wonderful trip, and so easy to organise through Yvonne at Global Journeys.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Classical India with Nepal ”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2018 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour, it was very well organised and so interesting. All the hotels were of a high standard, except for the Radisson at Khajuraho. Our room was alright but other tour group members requested a room change because of the low standard of cleanliness.

We were prepared for something different and India was another world! Our tour director Taj was excellent, nothing fazed him and he was very caring towards the older, less mobile tour members. He was so knowledgeable on India and Kathmandu. Having local guides was another plus. Everyone found day 9 a very long, tiring one as we arrived so late in Agra after travelling on the Shatabdi Express. The train ride was comfortable but it was dark and there wasn't much to look at outside.

We had so many interesting and great experiences too numerous to mention them all, but the tuk-tuk ride in Varanasi to the Ganges and watching the evening ceremony was an experience we'll never forget. The Taj Mahal is so beautiful, photos can't do it justice. All the meals were delicious and we were supplied with all the bottled water we needed. Anyone who is interested in India and Nepal should try and do this tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Good overview of Japan ”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 7 Helpful Votes

The tour covered a large area of the main island, made possible by most of the travel being on bullet trains and the small group. It was interesting to visit the north of the island rather than just visiting cities. Excellent hotels, guide and at least one included meal every day. Could maybe have been a few days longer to give more free time to explore cities etc, and to spend longer in the national park.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Casual but stylish and luxurious trip in Eastern Canada ”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Relaxed itinerary with 2 day stay in Toronto, Ottawa & Quebec and finishing in Montreal. Fantastic organisation and very informative host. Ben was very knowledgeable with regards to the history of this lovely country. Ben and Eugene the bus driver were both so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they are a valuable asset for luxury gold and great ambassadors and proud Canadians. The Fairmont hotels were beautiful to stay in and the coach was roomy and comfortable.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Awesome Italy”
- New Zealand Sep 2018 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

The hotel lobbies were very nice, and the restaurants generally good, however the rooms were more 4 star than 5 star. The only true 5 star hotel we experienced was the one we booked in Milan after our trip, for a price significantly less than the extra night at the beginning through Insight Vacations. We enjoyed our trip, but question the value of Luxury Gold over a normal Insight Vacations trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Canada and Alaska holiday”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2018 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

What a wonderful experience we had, we saw so much; killer whales, humpback whales, eagles, moose, antlers, sled dogs, glaciers, snow (even though it was the wrong time of year for it), and much more. The Canadian Pacific Train was amazing, the food was 5 star, and the Neiuw Amsterdam cruise ship was unbelievable. We loved meeting all different people from all around the would, we even met a couple that lives near one of our sons and is a friend of our daughter-in-law. Our travel guide Nancy was absolutely amazing and passionate about her country, and our coach driver known as The Fox was brilliant, got us through without any difficulty. There is nothing about this journey I would change.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Majesty of the Rockies and Alaska Cruise”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

Trip was excellent. No hiccups. Connections and transfers went well. Seamless. Fortunately weather turned for the better and we saw magnificent scenery. According to tour operators, "Best for the season". Accommodation was first class and most meals were very good. Food at Vermillion restaurant was ordinary and my only other criticism was with the cruise. On the ship Nieuw Amsterdam, the entertainment was pretty ordinary and the buffet meal poor quality and badly served. Dining Room food was excellent.

I booked through Global Journeys and Jemma Rosen did an excellent job with our booking and was responsive and helpful with all my queries.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Canada & Alaska”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2018 2 Helpful Votes

The tour commenced on 25th August which was perfect. Any later the weather is colder & some things are not open. The coach was very comfortable & the tour director was great. Accommodation was amazing. The cruise on a large ship was our first time. We could see ourselves booking another cruise at some stage.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Canadian Rockies and Alaskan cruise.”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2018 4 Helpful Votes

Unfortunately for us there was so much smoke from forest fires that we didn’t get to see a lot, but what we did see was spectacular. Would advise people not to go in August, as apparently this is usually when forest fires occur. The bus tour was interesting and very well planned with an excellent guide Lori and driver Owen. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she really worked hard. There was plenty of room on the bus, as Insight takes seats out so there is a maximum of 40 seats.

I found that Luxury Gold is not as good as Insight Vacations. For what you pay, the accommodation was not as good as that which I have experienced with Insight. In Jasper the room had no aircon and it was really hot. The pipes made terrible noises when neighbours showered and the shower ran cold. That was a Fairmont property. The properties were 5 stars, but in many cases the rooms weren’t.

The cruise was wonderful - Glacier Bay was breathtaking.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing South America”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2018 2 Helpful Votes

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and would happily recommend it to anyone interested in seeing South America. We were fortunate that we had the most amazing weather basically for the entire trip of 21 days to enjoy the countries we visited. The rainbows showed up at Iguassu Falls for us at daytime then we saw the falls at night due to the full moon, how wonderful! Our Tour Director was excellent and attentive to all our needs and our fellow travellers provided very enjoyable company. Just amazing!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour in Rockies”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2018

The tour itinerary was well planned. I liked our visit Whistler, Victoria and Banff. The scenery in the Rockies was impressive. The hotels were excellent, in particular The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. Hannah did a good job in helping me to book the tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Luxurious Eastern Canada Trip”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

An excellent tour overall, highly knowledgeable tour director, well planned itinerary, luxurious hotel stays, and excellent tour inclusions - exclusive guided tours, themed dinners, breakfasts and a lot of flourishes. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone particularly planning to go to Canada. This tour has been wonderfully organised for us by Hannah at Global Journeys and we are already planning our next trip with her. Hannah has always been prompt in replying to my emails and always keeps us updated. Thanks so much again Hannah.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Majesty of the Rockies & Alaska Cruise”
- SA, Australia May 2018 5 Helpful Votes View Photo

Perfect holiday, great Tour Director and driver. Good balance of relaxed starts and free time. Excellent hotels and included activities i.e. Capilano swing bridge, gondola and rafting, tour to glacier on large purpose built all-terrain vehicle. Not to mention Holland America cruise. Not a problem in the world.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“15 Day Indulgence in Eastern Canada & Cruise”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2017 5 Helpful Votes

This is the 3rd trip we have done with Insight Tours and yes we would travel with them again if the opportunity arises. There is always a good mix of people and personalities on the tours. The highlight for us was the extra helicopter flight over Niagara Falls and also loved Quebec. Unfortunately, because of the weather being so warm for that time of the year there was not a lot of Fall colours.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Worry free holiday. It was magic.”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2017 5 Helpful Votes

The hotels were fantastic on the whole. Only one which wasn't up to standard and apparently Insights not staying there next year anyway. Ben, our Tour Director was absolutely fabulous. He had us in fits of laughter lots of times. Jemma was helpful all through the quote and then the booking and payment right up until we left on our magic trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 44