Intrepid Travel Reviews

Intrepid
4.5 out of 5
44 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Intrepid. Every review has been verified.

     
“Central Australia by 4WD and Under 1 Million Stars”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

What can I say, first of all Global Journeys makes this process really easy. Second of all this trip was amazing. I saw everything I wanted to see, was fed every day, had a place to sleep and have so many photos to remind me of my adventure. If you don't mind roughing it a little, this is the perfect tour for you.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable tour with an excellent guide”
- WA, Australia Mar 2019

Enjoyed every day of the tour. Sam C. is an excellent guide - a young keen snowshoe hiker - he trained up our whole group of newbies and looked after everyone including the older slower one (i.e. me). We saw the Northern Lights on our second night out at Peace River. Both nights were clear and really cold but a big camp fire, hot drinks, marshmallows (and a couple of snifters) added to the fun.

I found a few old muscles I'd forgotten about on the first snowshoe outing but it was all easy going, with Sam monitoring everyone. He also produced the "Krazee Karpets" for some snow sliding on the kiddies slopes with laughs all round. The dog sledding was great fun but all too short - could easily gone around again - the dogs were real keen.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wow just wow!”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

Our 6 day Iceland adventure with Intrepid was fantastic. Our local guide Karl was excellent and shared so much local knowledge with us. We travelled in a mini bus - a total of 10 guests and although we were the oldest guests we never felt out of place. We visited so many special places along our trip that we have many memories that will last forever. Intrepid certainly knows how to organise a small group tour very well and everything runs smoothly.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The most amazing experience ever!”
- VIC, Australia Dec 2018

This trip exceeded every expectation! The boat was very comfortable. The staff were exceptional - from the cleaning staff to the expedition staff. I was worried about the sea days but I needed the sea days to have some down time to recover from our expedition days. The food was diverse and great quality. I would recommend this trip to everyone. You must go to South Georgia...do not go to Antarctica without going there as it is so amazing!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Awesome trip in the Canadian Rockies”
- VIC, Australia Dec 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This trip was just amazing! I enjoyed every single second, from the exciting first meeting to the final sad goodbye to my travel buddies and tour guide. It was my first time joining a group tour and I was a little bit nervous about it as I like my own independence. However, I loved the tour as the tour guide made the journey very flexible and tried to make sure that everyone's priorities were satisfied.

The tour was amazing, we saw amazing landscapes, crossed frozen lakes, snowshoed in mountains and walked through frozen canyons. All of this was just breathtaking. And on the top of that, we had the chance to see the Northern Lights on one of the two nights. Accommodation wise, all the hotels were very clean and respected high standards. Most of the breakfasts were inside the hotel where we were staying and had quality food from fresh fruit to eggs to freshly baked pastry. It was a very good start of the day.

The tour guide was genuine and spontaneous and made sure we all had a great time, taking into consideration every single person's opinion. I was travelling solo and most of the other travelers were too. The age of travelers was predominantly around late 20s. Everyone shared a passion for outdoors and an active lifestyle which made the trip enjoyable as lots of outdoor activities were planned. Our tour guide was also very nice and took us to unscheduled sightseeing and hikes. Overall, I highly recommend it.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Diverse culture trip”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2018

I loved this tour for its diversity (the 3 countries couldn’t be more different!) and I was very fortunate that it was a small group (only 5 of us). As much as I really enjoyed Singapore and Malaysia the highlight for me was Thailand especially Kao Sok Lake and Ao Nang.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A window into the east of South America”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018 View Photo

Our Intrepid guide was very friendly and helpful, and showed great flexibility when dealing with unforeseen circumstances. Iguazu Falls was amazing! Thank you, Global Journeys, for a great flight deal.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great snapshot of Peru”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018 View Photo

Seamless transitions between the three locations: Lima, Cusco and Puerto Maldonado. The Intrepid guides were friendly, helpful, and gave plenty of useful tips to help deal with the challenges of travelling to these areas, from mosquitoes, to personal security, to altitude sickness. The scenery was spectacular, highlighted by the peaks of the Andes contrasted with the Sacred Valley below, and the lush Amazon jungle. Highly recommend.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Discover Oman”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018

This was my 11th Intrepid Travel trip and it probably had the best accommodation I’ve experienced so far. Oman is like the Switzerland of the Gulf, they don’t have any issues with anyone. A comfortable country to travel in even for women and the people are very accommodating. The food was great, the shopping very cheap. Altogether a great trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The very real Spain and Portugal”
- SA, Australia Sep 2018

Rather than travelling in cocooned middle class luxury this small group tour offered a very real and active experience of Spain and Portugal, travelling by local trains as well as small tourist vans, going to the real local markets, having cooking lessons from locals and staying in small family owned hotels. The guide for each country was wonderful: friendly, knowledgeable, efficient and great company. We went to wonderfully interesting and varied places, some touristy, some not, and ate and drank widely and well, enjoying local specialties and learning a great deal along the way. This tour was both educational and fattening: we had a lot of fun. Our accommodation, while not luxurious, was varied and comfortable and usually well located.

Global Journeys organised this tour very efficiently with excellent ongoing communication and a very clear process of payment . Recommended.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Easy going, well paced tour through Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland finishing in Berlin...wonderful”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 View Photo

We joined this trip was a continuation from our Intrepid Russia tour, and this connection through the Baltic states gave a great insight to the 100+ year history of this region. A big thank you to Sigrid our tour leader for making the tour enjoyable and keeping us informed along our travels.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great well planned and guided tour through Moscow and St Petersburg”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 View Photo

We had a great tour with Intrepid through Moscow & St Petersburg, and look forward to returning to Russia to travel on the Trans Siberian railway. Big thank you to Ksenia, our tour guide who really made the trip special.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Sunny trip to Scandinavia!”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2018 1 Helpful Vote

This was my first trip with Intrepid, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The trip was well paced (two nights in each place), and the schedule was well set out, with an orientation walk upon arrival at each location, and some sort of activity the morning after arrival. The afternoons were mostly free, so this gave a lot of flexibility to do as much or as little as I left like each day. Highlights included Bergen (wonderful walks on top of the surrounding mountains as well as plenty of history), Gudsvagen (Fjords!!!), and also a cycle through the countryside of Sweden.

The tour guide (Astrid) was excellent, and put a lot of effort into her research on each location. Only downside was that the hotels were not equipped for the unseasonably warm weather which occurred through this trip.

This was my first Intrepid tour, and I wouldn't hesitate to go on another tour with them in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Awesome Intrepid Balkan Tours”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Highly recommended... we were lucky to have an awesome and experienced tour manager (Theresa) and met 3 knowledgeable local tour guides. The group was a great mix and we all gel quite well. We seemed to have done a lot along this tour and learnt so much about the ethnic wars in the 90's that raged and split the former Yugoslavia to what it is now. I can't fault this tour and I had a ball... Intrepid always delivers. Finally, thanks to Yvonne at Global Journeys again for organising this trip on my behalf even though its wasn't in the list of tours on offer in their website.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Perfect adventure”
- QLD, Australia Jul 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Excellent trip of a lifetime. The wildlife is amazing and we would recommend it to anybody who loves seeing new and interesting wildlife, snorkelling and adventure. The Daphne was a great boat with excellent crew who looked after us very well. Our guide Jose was very passionate, entertaining (especially reinacting the mating ritual of the Blue Footed Boobie bird) and approachable. It was great being onboard with a small group of fellow travellers (12 in our group) which allowed for good conversation.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Epic Journey”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2018

Our family of 4 (mum, dad, 19 & 18 yr old) loved this tour. The whole trip was well organised and offered a great experience of walking the Inca Trail. There were 10 travellers in the overall group, which was a good number. The views of the Andes were amazing. The actual hike was not easy, so you need to have a good level of fitness to enjoy the experience. Our guides did a great job leading us, while the support group (porters, cooks etc) were fantastic in their effort. The camping was basic but fun. You need to be prepared for the lack of toilet facilities. Overall we would recommend this trip to travellers who want to experience the Majestic Andes, Machu Picchu & the history of the Inca's.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Croatia to Slovenia ”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Croatia is a beautiful country... so many highlights for me. My favourite being Korcula Island and Plitvice Lakes National Park. I love the mix of beaches, islands and so much history! Perhaps pack your snorkeling gear and rock shoes (pebble beaches). Bled is spectacular! Go up to the Castle and also do some hiking.

You’ll need different currencies for Croatia (Kuna) and Slovenia (Euro) but it’s easily manageable with a Travel Card (I used CBA). Intrepid is my favourite tour company. I like the small group, the age mix and flexibility in terms of choosing activities in my free time. I would highly recommend this tour. And booking with Global Journeys is easy and hassle free!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Balkan Highlights ”
- NSW, Australia May 2018 1 Helpful Vote

I really had a wonderful time exploring the Balkans. Sarajevo was a pleasant surprise. I think I left my heart there, after learning more about the Sarajevo Siege. Montenegro is amazing! You’ll need different currencies for Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro and Croatia but it’s easily manageable with a Travel Card (I used CBA). Intrepid is my favourite tour company. I like the small group, the age mix and flexibility in terms of choosing activities in my free time. I would highly recommend this tour. And booking with Global Journeys is easy and hassle free!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great trip”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2018 1 Helpful Vote

I had not used Intrepid previously, only the sister company Peregrine, so thought the quality of trip may have been less. But I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It all went smoothly. We had a very helpful tour guide, accommodation was great, only 6 of us on the trip and everyone got on well. I would definitely recommend this trip to other travellers.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful trip through Intrepid. ”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2018

Glad to do Morocco Uncovered. The country landscape is so varied and amazing. The Sahara desert was the highlight for me. Hassan the guide from Intrepid was very good and passionate about imparting his love of Morocco to us, he made the journey special. Jemma at Global Journeys has been very good and efficient and easy to contact when I decided to change the tour from basic to comfort.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 44