Grand Pacific Tour Reviews

Grand Pacific
4.6 out of 5
186 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Grand Pacific. Every review has been verified.

“19 Day New Zealand Showcase”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2020 View Photo

Very well organised tour. Everything was attended to in a professional manner, from getting our luggage to and from our rooms, to comfort stops and moving us from place to place. The hotels were of a high standard, and the meals provided were delicious and had lots of variety. The tour was in my opinion, of excellent value. We didn’t have a lot of free time, however that meant we were covering a lot of territory, giving us the best travel experience.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Highlights of the South Island of New Zealand”
- WA, Australia Mar 2020

An enjoyable tour that showed us the highlights of the South Island. The coach held 48 people and it was full on our tour but that caused no delays. We were with a lovely group of people from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, Canada and Australia. The tour moved at a consistent pace and we especially enjoyed the two night stopovers as that gave us a little bit of extra recovery time. The planned excursions were all enjoyable and we had many other options to try other things such as helicopter flights, when time and weather allowed. This was our first coach tour and we found that 10 days was long enough. Overall this was an enjoyable experience and we will consider other coach trips in future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent New Zealand tour”
- VIC, Australia Feb 2020 View Photo

Thoroughly enjoyed this well organised, extremely comfortable and interesting tour. Group size was perfect and the Ultimate coach made travelling a breeze. Of the optional tours, we particularly enjoyed Skippers Canyon, but everything we did and saw was enjoyable.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“South Island NZ with GPT”
- SA, Australia Feb 2020

Firstly, Global Journeys was excellent in their pricing and handling of the booking, and I am booking another tour through them again. I appreciated Hannah's involvement in the process. The scenery, of course, in the South Island is magnificent. I would travel with Grand Pacific tours again and may do a repeat next year as we missed out on Milford Sound and Te Anau due to floods. Both the driver, Rod, and tour leader, Brenda, were of a high standard and extremely helpful.

Accommodation was variable, but as it was the "affordable" tour option I did not expect too much. What did surprise me was the high quality of included meals, especially the dinners. The tour comprised mainly retirees aged in their 70s and 80s, and the bus had 45 passengers, all of which may appeal to some potential travellers but not others. Note that the single supplement is quite substantial. One piece of advice for anyone going to do an activity in Queenstown, is to check special offers through the site BookMe. I use this site in Australia but did not realise it was active in NZ too, until told by a local tour operator.

For me the main highlights were: adventure activities in Queenstown, the constant majestic mountainous scenery, and strangely, the evening meals. A few things to be aware of, is the the first night 'Welcome Drinks' are not complimentary, which is different from tours I have done in other countries. Also, there is no Wi-Fi on the bus, where overseas this is now included. The carry bags given out were only used by a small number of passengers, and a backpack of the same size would have been preferable.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Grand Pacific New Zealand Tour”
- United States Jan 2020 1 Helpful Vote

Grand Pacific was very accommodating in allowing us to join the tour on day four due to our initial tour operator cancelling our tour just 2.5 months prior to our arrival in New Zealand. The tour had a great pace and involved several modes of transportation. This included coach, boats and trains. The overall experience was excellent and the tour guide and drivers were extremely knowledgeable and worked very well together. The nightly accommodations were very good. All were clean and outfitted with updated amenities. As there are sections of travel within New Zealand which take long periods to transit, the days on either side are usually filled with close by excursions and activities.

Global Journeys was excellent to work with and was in continuous contact to assure all elements of the booking were completed on time. We were extremely satisfied with our agent, Hannah, and her ability to work out the unique elements of our booking. We would use again and recommend both Global Journeys and Grand Pacific Tours to our family and friends.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“New Zealand - an experience worth having again”
- VIC, Australia Jan 2020

We’ve just arrived back from our NZ trip and were overwhelmed by the beauty and variety of this engaging country. We travelled from Christchurch, down the east coast to Dunedin, then across to Te Anau and Queenstown before heading up the West Coast through glaciers, fjords, alps, and finally pausing at Arthur's Pass. The TranzAlpine train brought us back to Christchurch before we headed to Picton and were ferried across to the North Island.

From a night in Wellington we headed to Rotorua for some cultural experiences and exposure to geysers and bubbling mud. We organised an option of our own, venturing to Matamata for a half-day Hobbiton tour, then rejoining our group we went on to Auckland for an hour before motoring to Paihia. A cruise to (and through) the Hole in the Rock was followed by a quick walk around Russel before heading back to Auckland to fly home.

What a whirlwind of an experience. We couldn’t call it a holiday given the pace and the waking hours but we gorged on natural beauty, visited museums, learned new cultures, cruised glacial waters, marvelled at earthquake devastation, scaled the heights and depths of man made structures, all while travelling in luxury and eating like royalty. We were exhausted but delighted.

Our tour guide ensured everyone's needs were met with a great degree of professionalism. Tours were organised on the run, advice given, directions were clear, and even the odd traveller's mishap was handled with aplomb. The drivers on both the North Island and South Island were equally professional and each fountains of local knowledge. Their commentary was engaging and their skilful manoeuvring of the coach around tight city streets and precipitous mountain roads had everyone feeling safe and comfortable at all times. We would gladly book with Global Journeys and travel Grand Pacific again. In fact, next time we travel they'll be the first places we look!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“New Zealand Rail, Cruise and Coach trip around both islands”
- NSW, Australia Jan 2020

What a wonderful trip. Great coach drivers on both islands and a wonderful tour guide, nothing was too much trouble. The two night stays at some locations were a blessing and made the trip less tiring. Plenty of free time and most meals and activities were included. Excellent value. Would recommend this tour with no hesitations. Fully enjoyable.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing New Zealand ”
- NSW, Australia Jan 2020

Our Grand Pacific tour of New Zealand was amazing. Jo the tour guide was fabulous and her knowledge and love for her country made the experience even better. The tour group were great and many friendships were formed. Highly recommend Grand Pacific and will certainly be visiting New Zealand again. Thanks Global Journeys for your trouble free service.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“NZ Festive Tour 2019”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2019

Travelled on a 10 day tour with Grand Pacific Tour over Xmas and could not recommend the tour company enough. Driver and Guide were excellent.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Loved it all”
- TAS, Australia Dec 2019

Loved it all even when a little "busy" and occasionally suffered from scenic overload. Exceptional driver and Christmas dinner. Remainder was very good with one or two very minor gripes. Normal start time very early and we would have preferred an extra day rather than a 2am night at an expensive hotel. Coffee and wine were pretty expensive.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour through NZ's South Island”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Grand Pacific tours were very well organised and considerate to all passengers on the tour. Our tour guide Peter and Coach Captain Geoff were excellent and very knowledgeable. The route was great and beautiful scenery too. Accommodation in some places can be better but the food in the hotels was excellent. Good pace on the tour but wish we could have spent more time in the smaller towns and not be back to the hotel sometimes a tad bit early. Booking through Global Journeys was a good experience. Yvonne was very helpful, courteous, patient and kind right throughout the entire process. She even assisted in ensuring that I received my parcel from the tour company without any hassles. I would definitely book through Global Journeys again and would definitely go on a Grand Pacific tour again if travelling in New Zealand. Overall fantastic experience.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Sheep to sheep tour of NZ”
- United States Nov 2019

We saw whales, dolphins, seals, penguins, kiwis, and herds of grazing cattle, sheep, horses, and deer. We also saw some politicians in their natural habitat (Parliament, in Wellington). The Gallipoli exhibit, in the Te Papa Museum was well worth the trip. (We needed more time for that). The trip was packed with sights and information. We need some time to decompress and research some questions that arose during the tours, to better understand the significance of what we saw. For example, we have to read the terms of the Treaty of Waitangi. There was a lot of time spent on the road, in the bus. WiFi would have been useful.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“New Zealand tour of both Islands”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Lovely 2 week tour of North and South Island. Very good accommodations. Our twin rooms could very easily accommodate 4. Very punctual transport to and from airport. A good mix of travellers from different countries.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A trip of two halves, I dont mean the Islands”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Kauri Museum, Waitangi Treaty Grounds, optional trip to Cape Reinga & Ninety Mile Beach, Lord of the Rings Movie set and dinner at Walter Peak Station would be the highlights. We missed going to Milford Sound the road was closed due to snow fall and possible avalanche. The drivers provided information about New Zealand which was different. Kev our North Island driver did a great job, he enjoyed a chat. The South Island driver was informative but lacked a bit of the personal touch. He didn’t mix with us much at all, he handled the coach OK. The coach was not cleaned while travelling in the South Island. Some stops were very rushed, others were longer than needed. We did not have much opportunity to appreciate some of the beautiful scenery i.e. no photo stops.

The accommodation was great, although a couple of the places were a bit tired and some up to three kilometres from town e.g. Queenstown. Showers over the bath make it difficult for people with limited mobility. The quality of meals generally were of a good standard although a little repetitive, being a roast meal most nights, everyone really looked forward to the nights we had a-la-carte menus. The coach was not equipped with Wi-Fi. Would suggest future travellers to New Zealand thoroughly research other operators before signing with Grand Pacific. Thanks to Yvonne for professionally organising our travel yet again with Global Journeys.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“New Zealand - Grand Pacific Ultimate ”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019 2 Helpful Votes

I booked my tour with Hannah from Global Journeys. This is my third tour that I have booked with them and Hannah. Hannah is brilliant. Always professional and nothing is too much trouble. Hannah communicated with me throughout the entire booking process and ensured that I had everything in order to ensure smooth travelling. Everything was so well organised and I cannot recommend Hannah and Global Journeys enough.

The tour started in Christchurch and I was met by a host from Grand Pacific at the airport to transfer me to the hotel. That was probably the last time that I handled my bag for any great length of time because throughout the tour bags were picked up from outside your room on day of departure and delivered to your rooms on arrival at your next destination. Being a small group tour was so nice as you actually got to know individuals well throughout the tour. The group was amazing and everyone really got along well. I was the only solo traveller on this tour but was made to feel very much part of the group. Everyone was so welcoming - wouldn't hesitate to go on another tour with this amazing group again.

Our coach driver and tour captain Linda was brilliant. Always felt very safe with Linda at the helm. Driving and commentating didn't appear to phase Linda and her stories were always informative and set the scene for the next stop on the tour. All this with a warm and engaging personality. Linda is a real treasure. The coach is state of the art! Everyone had their own seat with a private side table to plug in your electronic devices etc and with full view windows which made for very comfortable touring.

The tour itself was pretty fast paced particularly when you consider that in 16 days we did the South and North islands. The South Island is so scenic - the landscape is breathtaking and awe inspiring. You would be hard pressed to find anywhere else in the world like the South Island of New Zealand. The North Island appears to have a more cultural feel with most of the Maori population residing there. What beautiful stories they have about how New Zealand evolved - so rich in history. Some more two night stays on the South Island would have been great!

The hotels we stayed in were mostly of a very very high standard with only two hotels if I am honest not in keeping with the standard that the others provided or would be expected from a tour such as this, but with little time spent in the room this was manageable. Food on the tour was plentiful - oh how plentiful. No one went hungry and with buffet breakfasts and several selections to choose from when dining at the hotels in the evening everyone was catered for. The meals were always very nice. The special dinners included which were not provided by the hotels were fantastic.

The optional extras on the tour was a little lacking in some ways. There was little in the way of physical exercise - for eg: hiking, bicycle riding! There were many optional extras whereby scenic flights/helicopter rides were offered. Speed boat trips also. The other optional extras were less inspiring and could be reviewed. Overall this tour was the entree to a main meal! We just got a taste of New Zealand and I'm sure many of us will be back.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“NZ Cruise and Coach”
- WA, Australia Oct 2019
Trip: Grand Pacific Tour (GPNZ23)

Generally speaking very good but could improve. Some suggestions would be: 1. Have the coach trip first followed by a cruise to Sydney. The daily exercise of getting up early, breakfast, board bus, becomes exhausting after a while and it would be nice to relax on the ship to recover. 2. The farewell dinner (called an SD) was probably the worst dinner of the trip. That hotel needs to lift its game. 3. On the included flight from Auckland to Perth it would be nice to have the option to fly business class. We were lucky and there was 2 seats left so we upgraded but having spare capacity is not assured on all flights. 4. For some unknown reason the ship food was of poor quality at first but then improved significantly after leaving Hobart. Was there a crew change?

Reply from Grand Pacific:
Kia Ora, I am very pleased to read that overall you found your Cruise & Coach tour enjoyable. I appreciate the suggestions that have been put forth; we genuinely welcome all traveller feedback that can contribute to us perfecting the touring experience. Each year we have a selection of itineraries within this style of touring with a flow of Cruise then Coach or Coach then Cruise, this direction is dictated by the Celebrity Solstice sailings. In regards to the Trans Tasman flights, all travellers are welcome to request availability of Business Class flights and the applicable upgrade charges will be quoted at time of booking. It seems you were lucky with spare capacity to upgrade prior to departure. It is disappointing to read that your Farewell Dinner was not rated highly, this is very unusual and we will follow this up with your Tour Guide to get further input on the evening meal and service as he is very familiar with the hotel and their usual high standards. In regards to the quality of meals at the beginning of your sailing on Celebrity Solstice, I am unaware if a crew change took place in Hobart but I am pleased to know that the standard and quality improved greatly for the remainder of the cruise. Thank you again for noting your feedback and thank you for choosing to travel with Grand Pacific Tours.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“South and North Island New Zealand”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2019 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

Jodie at Global Journeys helped book my tour - 16 days in New Zealand. I joined other solo travellers and we all chatted and shared experiences - you never felt alone yet were able to often do your own thing as well. A totally amazing trip - every day an experience never to be forgotten. The South Island was just a WOW experience - I took a fixed wing flight over the Southern Alps and flew over Mount Cook, an awesome flight. We were blessed with the weather and even enjoyed snow on the trip to Milford Sound. Kerrie the Grand Pacific tour guide ensured we had a fun trip as did both the drivers Geoff and John - and all gave interesting information. The North Island was gorgeous as well. The hotel staff looked after us at each place. You will never go hungry as the food was very good and plentiful - I still dream of the ice cream! If you have never been to New Zealand join a Grand Pacific Tour and go - and if you have been go again!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“New Zealand North Island coach tour”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019 View Photo

We would happily travel with Grand Pacific again and would definitely recommend them highly. Our coach driver did the commentary and he was extremely knowledgeable and humourous too. Our tour guide worked tirelessly organising us all and rounding us up when required. We were very lucky to have a small group of 23 passengers on a 48 seater coach which made it very comfortable for travelling with room to spread out. My only complaints about the trip was that perhaps the company tried to actually cram in too many inclusions. It made our moments of free time quite limited. The only thing I didn't really enjoy was the Agrodome which I found very circus like and amateurish, but that is just an opinion. The scenery was beautiful everywhere we went and the weather was ideal.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great Tour of New Zealand”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2019

I would highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting a great tour of New Zealand. Our tour guide and drivers were amazing, with a great deal of knowledge about all the places we visited. This is the third trip I have booked through Global Journeys and have had the same fantastic service every time. Georgie has been great every time and nothing has been too much trouble.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Awesome Holiday”
- India Oct 2019 View Photo

It was a very well organised holiday by Grand Pacific, I would recommend this operator. It was good weather most of the places, only in Milford Sound it was raining and we missed stunning views of the fiordland. Our Tour Guide, Raewyn Moors, was very friendly and took care of everyone. Coach Captains Andrew Brown and Kavin O'connell were good at driving as well as in their commentary. About accommodations it could have been a little better in Bay of Islands (facing the sea was better as we stayed 2 nights). Food was good for non vegetarians, for me as vegetarian I had problems in Ibis, Wellington, Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua. Passengers were very nice and cooperative. Overall it was a very nice and memorable holiday we had.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 186