Costsaver Tour Reviews

Costsaver
4.4 out of 5
196 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Costsaver. Every review has been verified.

     
“Fantastic tour of Italy”
- New Zealand Apr 2019

We had not realised the tour started right on Easter when we booked it - lesson learned, it was busier than normal and itineraries were changed. Despite this, the 12 days were fantastic, great group of people aged between 20 - late 70's, everyone got on so well.

Mainly I would say thanks to our wonderful Tour Director Giacomo who was just so accommodating, patient, passionate about his country, empathetic to our needs, he really brought us all together as one big family. As with Costsaver tours you end up paying more because of the Optionals, however, at least you can decide if you want to do them or not. This was our third Costsaver tour and we highly recommend this company.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Costsaver in Turkey”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 8 Helpful Votes View Photo

We did not really have Turkey on our radar but after friends invited us to stay with them in Didim we fell in love with the place. This is when we decided to see more of the country and booked a Costsaver tour. This was one of the best coach tours we have done. There is so much history in the country and our tour director Cem (pronounced Gem) was an absolute expert. We learnt so much and he made us fall deeper in love with the country. Hannah at Global Journeys organised the tour for us at short notice and we loved everything about the tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“European Experience”
- WA, Australia Oct 2018

We did and saw SO much on our Costsaver 12 day tour. We loved the variety of optional extras available, the coach was comfortable and had charging points (yay!), our guide Esther was awesome and the destinations were just gorgeous! It was very fast paced so if you are looking for more of a relaxing holiday, I don't think this one will suit you.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic tour around Ireland ”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This tour was the best. If you love exploring old castles or ruins then this is the tour for you. I was totally enthralled every step of the way, from the amazing scenery to the beautiful motels we were privileged to stay in. The coach driver was an ideal driver and the tour director was never lost for words. I would definitely recommend this tour. Ireland was what I expected and much more. Hannah Campbell from Global Journeys was amazing in how she booked and prepared everything. I didn’t have to worry about a thing. Thank you Hannah. I would definitely recommend Global Journeys for all your holiday needs.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour through Europe”
- WA, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Very happy with both the tour and the booking experience with Global Journeys. Highly recommended and definitely will use them again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful 8 day Highlights of Russia tour with Trafalgar Costsaver”
- New Zealand Sep 2018 4 Helpful Votes

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour, from the moment we were picked up from the airport until the end. My suitcase did not arrive, the Trafalgar representative at the airport was very kind and our Travel Director (Ilya) did all he could and luckily my suitcase arrived at the hotel the next day. The first evening when the Travel Director went through it all was a bit confusing and it turned out there weren't many excursions included in the actual tour so with the optional excursions we wanted to do we needed to pay an extra $1200. But it was all worth it. Our accommodation was great, the bus was comfortable, our driver (Ivan) was extremely good and the local guides we had in St Petersburg and Moscow were extremely knowledgeable and organised. Our Travel Director was also very organised and nothing was too much for him. This was our second Costsaver tour and I would not hesitate to book another one.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful European Impressions”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2018

This was the first time booking with Global Journeys and we were very happy with the service. Madeline was great and we were very happy with her customer service, she was very quick to respond to any questions at all. We look froward to booking with Global Journeys again in the future. This was our 3rd trip with CostSaver and would recommend them.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“European Heritage 2018”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2018 4 Helpful Votes

I believe September was the best time of the year to visit Europe, Our driver Georgio and Travel Director Javier were a great help. Initially, when I booked through Global Journeys I got a message only to enquire if I was an Australian or New Zealand citizens, however, was surprised to find tourists from Canada, Philippines and Singapore sharing the tour.

We had a mixed group from an 11 year to 85 year olds and all got along well. The hotels were a mix, did not like the Ibix in Bardeau at all, Switzerland location was beautiful. Few of them did not have tea making or small fridge facility. Tour guides available in each country so that was a great help, it was tiring as very face paced but stress free as everything was taken care of from check in to check out. The tour is good if you want to see a lot in short time, but if you want a relaxed holiday better to do a leisure one covering only 2-3 countries. Overall liked the holidays, beautiful place a must visit at leisure.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Costsaver Cossack Explorer ”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 3 Helpful Votes

Good trip to see the basics of Scandinavia and Russia. The long drive to Belarus and then onto Warsaw (including 3.5 hrs wait to get through the border into Poland) was a waste of a couple of days and would have preferred to stay longer in Russia instead. Hotels were good but a bit far from town centres so would have preferred lower quality with better locations.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great taste of Europe!”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2018 9 Helpful Votes

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour with Bern as our travel director. We visited all the major famous sights Europe has to offer, and more! While the days were long and demanding at times, it was totally worth it when we arrived at landmarks before all the other tour buses! The tour is designed for you to do as little or as much as you’d like, so my tip is make the holiday yours and get creative while being driven all over Europe! P.S. don’t be afraid to stray from the group and catch public transport once in a while!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spectacular Canadian Rockies and Alaska cruise”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

Booking with Global Journeys made the whole process seamless. I especially like the checklist and links to other sites like visas etc so no searching the web. Everything we needed was in one place and we had plenty of time to save up as the total amount wasn't due for many months.

I can't speak highly enough of Trafalgar's Costsaver Tours. The tour guide Robina and Al the driver went above and beyond. The hotels might be a bit further out but they made regular shuttles to town and back and for those who wanted to stay late there were plenty of instructions on how to get back. I actually liked the free time we had, the added extras were very reasonably priced. There were a few minor injuries and Robina the guide stopped at a chemist to get supplies when the first aid kit didn't have what she wanted. She was excellent, best guide ever and we were sorry to leave. The hotels were quite comfortable.

Had an amazing time on the Volendam. The cruise to Alaska was fantastic. Honestly I couldn't fault any of the trip from start to finish. Highly recommend Global Journeys and Costsaver.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent Experience”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018 9 Helpful Votes View Photo

I enjoyed the trip very much, there were a few hiccups, below quality hotels on two occasions, staff not understanding or letting you know a request could not be met. One dinner we had a guest on our table was left without a meal, very upsetting for people at the table. When we tried to sort it out with staff the Travel Director got angry with us, where if he had relayed instructions properly this should never had happened. On more than one occasion I asked a question of the Travel Director and was not polite in his answer. He discovered Ron was a nurse and sent all the sick passengers to see him, we are on holiday. He went out of his to humiliate me when out looking at historical site. When departing the coach, he completely ignored us, asked others if they needed help or taxis but just walked away from us with no goodbye or time of day. The Travel Director tended to waffle on a lot and lost our attention very quickly, I know from taking people away, you need to stick to basics, be polite at all times.

The other people on the coach made it great, they were very friendly, polite and enjoyed their company immensely. Loved the places we saw and visited and the other guides were awesome. My only other disappointment was when I asked about the last day in Paris and the office at Trafalgar replied with the wrong information, if they had informed me correctly we could have done other tours on that day with people of the coach. The office in London needs to train staff to be informed on little details of trips. I will definitely do another trip and have already started looking, I have also given details on the trip done to others.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Glimpse of Europe”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018 2 Helpful Votes

This tour is as described. A quick glimpse and historical account of Europe. Firstly, this is the second tour that my husband and I have taken with Trafalgar, booked through Global Journeys. If you are one who doesn't fare too well on long drives, then this tour is not for you. There are 2 days where all you do is drive through Europe in your coach. We had Bern, as our tour guide. She was fabulous. Loved to chat, but was very personable, friendly and very much approachable and knowledgeable of all areas visited.

Day to day consisted of time lines, mostly early, but this was to ensure you missed peak hour, got to spend more of your free time in locations and beat all the other tour buses to the rest stops/services. Hotels, look, going via a costsaver trip, there are costs saved to ensure the tour is within the budget you set. All places were clean and for my husband and I, were very spacious. However, European rooms are generally smaller. Most complaints come from American travellers. We were in Europe during their heatwave. Europe is not prepared for hot days. More often than not there are no air conditioning units and one of the hotels ran out of fans (literally fans were sold out in one of the areas we stayed). Most locations are safe to leave your window open when going to bed but we didn't.

We did all the optional experiences. Some couples went off and did their own thing. We knew that if we didn't join the optional experiences, we would have just stayed indoors and missed out on seeing and experiencing unique experiences for that location. Highlights was certainly the folklore evening and going up to the top of Mt Pilatus. The Arc De Triomphe and Eiffel Tower were amazing. Paris was certainly cleaner than I had been told. I didn't find it dirty at all.

Food. I'm lactose intolerant. Again, this is something that is very foreign in Europe. Patience and understanding is required, as they will offer alternatives which include other dairy or you will literally get three slices of orange and 2 slices of tin pineapple on your plate for dessert. If you have no limitations, you will have plenty of options.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great area of Italy”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2018

Had a wonderful time in the Italian Lakes district with a great group of fellow travellers. Great value for money and would recommend this to friends.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Cossack Explorer”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2018

We really enjoyed the tour with our lovely and experienced driver, knowledgeable and wonderful tour director, and beautiful tour companions. Overall, we had a fantastic time and enjoyed every single day of the trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Panoramic Canadian Rockies with Alaska Cruise”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2018 1 Helpful Vote

From booking to finishing our tour experience was great. Madeline from Global Journeys looked after our booking with timely advice and reminders. The tour pace was comfortable and tour director Dave was very helpful and knowledgeable. Accommodation was reasonably good except at Banff. Wish the tour included daily breakfast and at least one farewell dinner at the end.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“European Accent”
- WA, Australia Jul 2018 1 Helpful Vote

The trip was excellent in terms of content and delivered in terms of what we were expecting. Jemma was brilliant in assisting us with our bookings and made the whole process was seamless. Overall we would definitely book again with Global Journeys for another tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Highlights of Scandinavia”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2018

I really liked and enjoyed every single day of the tour. We were lucky to have such a wonderful and experienced driver as well as a lovely tour director. We had a beautiful group of travellers which made our experience even more delightful. Special thanks to Jemma for organising our trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Beautiful Scandinavia”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2018 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

Really enjoyed the trip. Norway is just breathtaking, it's like a postcard. Oslo is very vibrant, Stockholm is also very beautiful. Scandinavia is going cash free, so make sure you have a credit/debit card with PIN. Sweden is a good place for shopping, much cheaper than in Norway. Admission is free for kids under 18yo at Vasa Museum (Stockholm) but the optional tour will charge you full price. You can buy a ticket at 7/11 and catch the tram behind the Central Station to the museum. Entry to the museum costs 12 euro ($19 AUD) - no queue at all. The hotel in Bergen is in a very good location, It's only 8 min walk to The Fløibanen funicular where you pay $8AUD/one way to go up the mountain and you can wander around at your leisure with a fraction of the price listed in the optional tour. I even found a beautiful lake up there which the people who went on optional tour didn't have time to see.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip through Scandinavia”
- NT, Australia Jun 2018 2 Helpful Votes

We had a fantastic time! The tour was really well organised. Our tour director, Greg, was great - always friendly, helpful and full of information. The hotels were clean and well situated. Saw a lot of amazing places in the 12 days. Thank you for the wonderful trip Greg, Costsaver and Global Journeys! Highly recommend Costsaver and Trafalgar.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 196