Home > Operators > Costsaver > Costsaver Reviews
Costsaver

Costsaver Reviews

The 240 Costsaver reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Costsaver. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.4
AVG. RATING 4.4 / 5
240 Reviews
5 Star
51%
4 Star
39%
3 Star
8%
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Costsaver

Great jaunt through Eastern Europe     0 , NSW, Australia, Nov 2022
Very good tour with Costsaver. Five countries in 2 weeks with two nights spent in each city wasn't nearly enough, but gave a good insight into each place. The pace was good with not too many 'travelling' days to get from one place to the next. Our tour director Mike was excellent, providing detailed commentary and guidance with lashings of English-Czech ...read more humour and a dose of commendable Photoshopping skills to boot!

Hotels were good to very good (with the best being in Warsaw of all places), and as expected for Costsaver, most were a bit far from the centre of the city (about half an hour away) but easily serviceable by public transport in all the cities. Provided dinners were so-so, with most hotels serving a perfunctory chicken and rice/potato dish, but Hotel International in Prague were surprisingly great with a well-prepared buffet selection instead of the aforementioned chicken and rice/potato.

The only thing we found excessive were the number of optional tours offered; we didn't do any because we did our own thing, but for those who did all or most of the optionals, that left very little time to self-explore (and in fact, there were times when an hour here or there was all those people got to explore on their own). Otherwise it was a highly recommended tour if you want to see some of Europe's most understated and underrated cities.
Whirlwind wonders!     0 , BC, Canada, Oct 2022
What a fun and exciting getaway to some fabulous cities in a short amount of time. If you want to see a lot in a limited timeframe, this trip is for you! The guide was extremely knowledgeable and there was just the right amount of interaction with travellers. I enjoyed meeting people from all over the world. The accommodation was much better than expected ...read more and the breakfasts were super. I would recommend travelling at this time of year (mid October) as the weather was still fantastic and you didn't see the crazy crowds of summer and holidays.
Wonderful USA National Parks with Costsaver.     0 , NSW, Australia, Oct 2022
During this trip I visited too many National Parks : Grand Canyon, Zion, Bruce, Teton, Yellow Stone and Badland National Parks & more. All were very beautiful. The scenery along this trip was awesome in Autumn. It was more spectacular than I expected. Most of hotels were excellent. No any complaint for this budget tour. The tour Director Stephen and ...read more the driver Ariane were fantastic. I really enjoyed 2 weeks time with them and other guests in this trip. I also would like to thank Global Journeys and especially Jemma who organised my wonderful trip.
Worry Free - Germany / Czech / Hungary / Austria- Imperial Highlights Tour   0 , VIC, Australia, Sep 2022
The trip of the imperial highlights tour was truly amazing - Munich, Regensburg, Prague, Bratislava, Budapest, Vienna and Salzburg - all different cities with long histories, beautiful landmarks and sights to see. CostSaver organised a really great itinerary to ensure each location was truly captured with local guides organised to take us through each ...read more location and all were extremely knowledgeable. The extra optional tours were all great as well and highly recommended. CostSaver placed all the tourists safety and welfare at the forefront at all times and the communication for all requirements - start times, finishing times, and knowledge of locations was of the highest order. Well done CostSaver for a most memorable time in Europe.
Essence of Eastern Canada with cruise   0 , NSW , Australia, Aug 2022
We were disappointed on the tour as a whole . It was very unusual not to include breakfast & even the farewell dinner which should have been included in the price. Unfortunately the cruise meals were repetitive.
8 Day Britain and Ireland delights   0 , WA, Australia, Jul 2022
The tour leader Steen Harris was very organised and extremely knowledgeable on the history of all the places we visited. My only complaint was he didn't provide us with a phone number and although I sent him 4 emails during the duration of the tour he didn't reply to any. I missed a tour because I got the meeting place wrong and couldn't get hold of ...read more him to obtain the correct information. We covered a lot of ground in the eight days visiting many interesting places. However you have to be prepared for long days! The hotels ranged from fairly sub standard - Jury's inn Bradford to 5 star luxury - Johnston Spa resort in Enfield.
Spectacular parks and canyons   0 , NSW, Australia, Jul 2022
This was indeed a spectacular trip, which definitely exceeded my expectations. Had initially thought that it was a pity we were doing the Grand Canyon first as I had thought that would be the highlight, but every day had astonishing places that we visited. The tour director was fabulous, very well informed, accomodating and very organised. The driver ...read more was great as well. I would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone who wants some breathtaking insight into the landscapes of southwestern USA.
European Experience   1 , New Zealand, May 2022
What a great experience this trip was. We got to see so much of Europe, in 12 days. Would highly recommend Costsaver to travel with. Our tour guide and driver helped make us feel safe and well looked after. They were able to take us places, that we would never have been able to find ourselves. We made many new friends. And enjoyed many amazing places. ...read more Can’t wait for our next trip.
Are you ready for your next adventure?   2 , NSW, Australia, Dec 2019
The title was our tour director's saying at every stop and it became our slogan and inspiration to look forward to what new things we could learn, see or experience. Although not my first trip to Europe, it was for my family and it was awesome to experience it all over again. The trip offered all the standard highlights you should see as a first or ...read more new traveler.

Most of the hotels were average at best, with a (very) few which was really not great. The ski lodge outside Lucerne was amazing. Most breakfasts were great, but the included dinners were very basic except for the Christmas dinner in Lyon, so we found we did spend more money on food than expected. In our family of four, we do have quite a few food in tolerances and even though our tour director tried very hard to accommodate, it is not always easy or possible.

Most of the specialist guides were good to excellent, except for the one we had in Rome. Free time provided is adequate, but when deciding to go on a coach tour like this, it should be expected that schedules are tight and the focus is on the experience and environment. A point to call out; we celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary as well as my 50th during the trip and our tour director had made it extremely special.
Japan Discovery   0 , QLD, Australia, Oct 2019
Our trip started with Typhoon Hagibis coming through Tokyo. Whilst this was concerning our tour guide Yuki made everyone feel at ease and kept our moods buoyant for the days ahead.
Britain and Ireland Delight   1 , OH, United States, Oct 2019
We were looking to see as much as we could in a short time. This tour was great for seeing the highlights of these three countries. Would use Costsaver again.
Interesting tour   3 , NSW, Australia, Sep 2019
Very interesting to hear all about the past and recent history in this region. All the local guides were very interesting and informative except for the one in Montenegro who was below par. This is a fast paced tour with some early morning starts. The scenery was wonderful in Croatia. The hotels although good were outside of the main city so if this ...read more is a problem then you would be better off with the higher priced Trafalgar tour. I mainly did this tour as it went to Medjorgje and many of the others don’t. The tour guide Jasmina and driver Dramir were both excellent.
Fantastic New England Experience   0 , NSW, Australia, Sep 2019
My wife Robyn and I thoroughly enjoyed our 10 Colours of New England tour with Costsaver. Our tour leader Amy was extremely knowledgeable and personable. Amy certainly ensured we had a pleasant time. The driver Alan was exceptional. His skills and experience certainly shone through. We'll certainly be travelling again. The accommodation was fine except ...read more that some were too far out of town. Overall we had a great time.
Mark and Linda Davis review   1 , WA, Australia, Sep 2019
We were only able to complete 5 days out of the 24 days on our European Heritage tour as we had to fly home urgently due to a family bereavement. However , the time we spent on the tour was wonderful and we enjoyed every aspect. We intend booking the same tour next year to finish what we started. We are hoping we can get the $100 per couple discount ...read more for the next booking as we had to leave through no fault of our own. If you could confirm we will be eligible , that would be great. (GJ. Yes of course you will, and very sorry to hear of your loss.)
Costsaver by name, rich by experience     1 , New Zealand, Sep 2019
We had previously travelled with Trafalgar and were a bit worried that Costsaver wouldn't be as good. Our worries were groundless. This was basically a Trafalgar tour but staying in a lower standard of accommodation (mostly Ibis). The tour itself was exceptional. The itinerary, although a bit hectic was perfect. Our tour director Jeff was a bundle of ...read more energy who was determined to give everyone the best holiday they have ever had. There were so many highlights but my personal favourite would be cruising down the Danube at night past the beautiful Hungarian Parliament building in Budapest.
Wonderful Turkey   0 , VIC, Australia, Sep 2019
We really enjoyed the Turkey trip it was comprehensive and good value for money. I think next time there would be 2 things I would consider. We had 44 people on the tour and I would choose a smaller number of co travellers next time. Also it was fairly fast paced which meant except for stops which were 2 nights we had only one night stops which made ...read more it pretty tiring. Our guide was amazing he was such a wealth of knowledge and had been touring Turkey for 20 years so really knew his stuff. He handled a few hitches with people injurying themselves and having to go to hospital without any disruption to the tour. He was friendly and fun. Our driver was excellent and handled the huge bus with ease and accuracy. Overall we had an awesome trip and I would recommend Costsaver quality of hotels highly.
Definitely Spectacular     7 , NSW, Australia, Sep 2019
Well organised tour. We saw amazing scenery and learnt a lot of historical facts. The other travellers on our coach all got on really well, it was a very enjoyable tour.
Jewels of Italy   1 , WA, Australia, Aug 2019
Italy was a great tour to go on and terrific place to visit. I personally believe the optional trips along with its price should be included into the tour and price to start with. Sadly the hotels are way out from the cities you visit which allow very limited chance to visit those very cities when you return to the hotels. The breakfasts were poor, ...read more but our tour leader was wonderful.

GJ. Hi William. Costsaver trips are designed with quite a few 'Optionals' so you can choose to join in or not. This keeps the price down and allows for a more 'independent journey if you want to do your own thing. Trafalgar - Costsavers' parent brand - provides more inclusions and a better level of accommodation in the (higher) price.
Britain & Ireland Explorer   0 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2019
Enjoyed the trip very much, particularly Edinburgh Tattoo, which was included in trip, and for me a highlight. Tour leader, Joel, was very knowledgeable and informative and kept us all on schedule and a really nice guy. We had two drivers, Grant and Willy, who were both great. Accommodation on the whole was reasonable, some great, one in particular, ...read more terrible - Treacys in Waterford Ireland. Breakfasts all good but those dinners that were included in package left a lot to be desired. There was only two options other than a vegetarian choice and it was basically the same at each venue. Would suggest Trafalgar organise this a little better. On the whole would rate tour as a great success and left us with fond memories.
Coach tour of Spain, Portugal and Morocco   0 , QLD, Australia, Aug 2019
Highlights of this tour for us were the sights, sounds and tastes of Spain and Portugal. The group on tour was an eclectic mix that provided lots of opportunities for fun and laughter. The tour director was excellent and the drivers were most obliging. The pace was too hectic at times and in future we will consider tours that provide greater opportunities ...read more for leisure. In hindsight we may have to take responsibility for opting to do all of the available excursions. The downside of this tour was the choice of hotels in Morocco.
Results 1-20 of 240