Costsaver Tour Reviews

Costsaver
4.4 out of 5
232 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Costsaver. Every review has been verified.

“Are you ready for your next adventure?”
- NSW, Australia Dec 2019 2 Helpful Votes

The title was our tour director's saying at every stop and it became our slogan and inspiration to look forward to what new things we could learn, see or experience. Although not my first trip to Europe, it was for my family and it was awesome to experience it all over again. The trip offered all the standard highlights you should see as a first or new traveler.

Most of the hotels were average at best, with a (very) few which was really not great. The ski lodge outside Lucerne was amazing. Most breakfasts were great, but the included dinners were very basic except for the Christmas dinner in Lyon, so we found we did spend more money on food than expected. In our family of four, we do have quite a few food in tolerances and even though our tour director tried very hard to accommodate, it is not always easy or possible.

Most of the specialist guides were good to excellent, except for the one we had in Rome. Free time provided is adequate, but when deciding to go on a coach tour like this, it should be expected that schedules are tight and the focus is on the experience and environment. A point to call out; we celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary as well as my 50th during the trip and our tour director had made it extremely special.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Japan Discovery ”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2019

Our trip started with Typhoon Hagibis coming through Tokyo. Whilst this was concerning our tour guide Yuki made everyone feel at ease and kept our moods buoyant for the days ahead.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Britain and Ireland Delight”
- OH, United States Oct 2019 1 Helpful Vote

We were looking to see as much as we could in a short time. This tour was great for seeing the highlights of these three countries. Would use Costsaver again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Interesting tour ”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Very interesting to hear all about the past and recent history in this region. All the local guides were very interesting and informative except for the one in Montenegro who was below par. This is a fast paced tour with some early morning starts. The scenery was wonderful in Croatia. The hotels although good were outside of the main city so if this is a problem then you would be better off with the higher priced Trafalgar tour. I mainly did this tour as it went to Medjorgje and many of the others don’t. The tour guide Jasmina and driver Dramir were both excellent.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic New England Experience”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019

My wife Robyn and I thoroughly enjoyed our 10 Colours of New England tour with Costsaver. Our tour leader Amy was extremely knowledgeable and personable. Amy certainly ensured we had a pleasant time. The driver Alan was exceptional. His skills and experience certainly shone through. We'll certainly be travelling again. The accommodation was fine except that some were too far out of town. Overall we had a great time.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Mark and Linda Davis review”
- WA, Australia Sep 2019 1 Helpful Vote

We were only able to complete 5 days out of the 24 days on our European Heritage tour as we had to fly home urgently due to a family bereavement. However , the time we spent on the tour was wonderful and we enjoyed every aspect. We intend booking the same tour next year to finish what we started. We are hoping we can get the $100 per couple discount for the next booking as we had to leave through no fault of our own. If you could confirm we will be eligible , that would be great. (GJ. Yes of course you will, and very sorry to hear of your loss.)

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Costsaver by name, rich by experience ”
- New Zealand Sep 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

We had previously travelled with Trafalgar and were a bit worried that Costsaver wouldn't be as good. Our worries were groundless. This was basically a Trafalgar tour but staying in a lower standard of accommodation (mostly Ibis). The tour itself was exceptional. The itinerary, although a bit hectic was perfect. Our tour director Jeff was a bundle of energy who was determined to give everyone the best holiday they have ever had. There were so many highlights but my personal favourite would be cruising down the Danube at night past the beautiful Hungarian Parliament building in Budapest.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Turkey”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2019

We really enjoyed the Turkey trip it was comprehensive and good value for money. I think next time there would be 2 things I would consider. We had 44 people on the tour and I would choose a smaller number of co travellers next time. Also it was fairly fast paced which meant except for stops which were 2 nights we had only one night stops which made it pretty tiring. Our guide was amazing he was such a wealth of knowledge and had been touring Turkey for 20 years so really knew his stuff. He handled a few hitches with people injurying themselves and having to go to hospital without any disruption to the tour. He was friendly and fun. Our driver was excellent and handled the huge bus with ease and accuracy. Overall we had an awesome trip and I would recommend Costsaver quality of hotels highly.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Definitely Spectacular”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 5 Helpful Votes View Photo

Well organised tour. We saw amazing scenery and learnt a lot of historical facts. The other travellers on our coach all got on really well, it was a very enjoyable tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Jewels of Italy”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Italy was a great tour to go on and terrific place to visit. I personally believe the optional trips along with its price should be included into the tour and price to start with. Sadly the hotels are way out from the cities you visit which allow very limited chance to visit those very cities when you return to the hotels. The breakfasts were poor, but our tour leader was wonderful.

GJ. Hi William. Costsaver trips are designed with quite a few 'Optionals' so you can choose to join in or not. This keeps the price down and allows for a more 'independent journey if you want to do your own thing. Trafalgar - Costsavers' parent brand - provides more inclusions and a better level of accommodation in the (higher) price.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Britain & Ireland Explorer”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019

Enjoyed the trip very much, particularly Edinburgh Tattoo, which was included in trip, and for me a highlight. Tour leader, Joel, was very knowledgeable and informative and kept us all on schedule and a really nice guy. We had two drivers, Grant and Willy, who were both great. Accommodation on the whole was reasonable, some great, one in particular, terrible - Treacys in Waterford Ireland. Breakfasts all good but those dinners that were included in package left a lot to be desired. There was only two options other than a vegetarian choice and it was basically the same at each venue. Would suggest Trafalgar organise this a little better. On the whole would rate tour as a great success and left us with fond memories.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Coach tour of Spain, Portugal and Morocco”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2019

Highlights of this tour for us were the sights, sounds and tastes of Spain and Portugal. The group on tour was an eclectic mix that provided lots of opportunities for fun and laughter. The tour director was excellent and the drivers were most obliging. The pace was too hectic at times and in future we will consider tours that provide greater opportunities for leisure. In hindsight we may have to take responsibility for opting to do all of the available excursions. The downside of this tour was the choice of hotels in Morocco.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Thoroughly enjoyable Irish Wonder ”
- Australia Aug 2019 1 Helpful Vote

We thoroughly enjoyed this 8 day tour. Our Tour Director James had a wonderful interesting knowledge of Ireland & its long history. He helped make the trip very enjoyable. Aidan our driver was very skilful at manoeuvring the coach around some very tight bends & was a safe careful driver. The accommodation was very good & clean, with very large rooms. The breakfasts included catered well for all people from different countries. The places visited were great with ample time to explore on our own. Overall we could not fault this tour & I highly recommend it.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent tour if you are an independent traveller on a budget.”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Needed one more day in Washington... too much to see in one day! Day 13 and 14 were not to our itinerary. Day 13 we were supposed to stop at Concord and view the State Capitol. Instead we just drove all day with only rest breaks, no sight seeing at all on the long coach ride. Day 14 we were supposed to have a sightseeing tour of the Freedom Trail included but instead we had to pay $12 US and they took us the night before. Day 14 ended up being an entire free day in Boston.

Reply from Costsaver:
Hi Merilyn, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are glad to hear that overall you had a positive experience with Trafalgar. We aim to put quality at the forefront of our service and we apologise that you felt day 13 and 14 of the itinerary were under par. We hope you enjoyed your free time in Boston despite it not being part of the original itinerary. We have passed this feedback onto our Team so they can investigate this in more detail.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Highlights of Bohemia”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2019 2 Helpful Votes

I thoroughly enjoyed the trip - the tour guide was friendly, funny and very professional. The trip was as advertised and good value for money. I would like to see some of the extras included into the itinerary. I would definitely travel with Costsaver again and recommend it to others.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great European Experience”
- United States Jul 2019 4 Helpful Votes

Our experience was great, Kassie Jones was great, the way she softly woke us up was something not expected, the patience she had was admirable, we had a great time, thank you.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful trip through Spain and Portugal”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

Accommodation was better than expected, good group. Would book through Global Journeys again thanks to Yvonne for a great trip. Especially enjoyed Spain and Portugal. Great sightseeing, medinas were different. Fun tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great itinerary”
- Auckland, New Zealand Jul 2019

Bought most of the options as well so had a great all round experience of the towns that we visited.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Rocks and trees and water”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

The Canadian Rockies are a sight to behold, the many rivers and lakes with the clear glacier water and trees makes the most beautiful scenery. Our Costsaver tour was everything and more than we expected. Our tour guide Robina was exceptional, her cheerful, caring, personality added with her knowledge and organisational skills left us all just to enjoy and relax with our other travellers.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“European Calvacade ”
- New Zealand Jul 2019 3 Helpful Votes

It was an amazing experience, the tour director Raymond was well organised and very knowledgeable. Our driver and the tour group was the best crowd to spend 18 days with.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 232