Romantic Rhine Reviews

Avalon River Cruise starting in Basel and finishing in Amsterdam

4.6 out of 5
45 Reviews

Ratings

5 Star
76%
4 Star
20%
3 Star
4%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Most Popular Reviews

  5 Votes   John Winzer
  3 Votes   Solo Traveller
“Gorgeous little towns along the Rhine”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

Pretty towns with decorated stores everywhere. A great variety of quality keepsakes instead of the usual stuff. Had plenty of time to explore the town or stop for coffee and cake. Townfolk warm and welcoming and good sense of humour. Wear good walking shoes as most streets have the original cobble stones. Avalon staff were thoughtful and professional. Food on the ship was fantastic and changed each day.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“An excellent experience”
- TAS, Australia May 2019

The whole experience was excellent. The help and communication I received from Yvonne Brooks of Global Journeys was first class.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Just terrific, exceeded our expectations ”
- WA, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Our expectations were reasonably high but this trip exceeded them all. Jemma at Global Journeys made the booking process a breeze and Avalon delivered on all occasions. The staff were exceptional, Nico, the Tour Manager, couldn't have been more accommodating or well organised. I have no problem in recommending this cruise.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Relax Romantic Rhine river cruise”
- QLD, Australia Jul 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

What a way to finish a trip of a life time! We had spent the previous 4 weeks on coach and train tours so this river cruise was the perfect way to end our holiday! The Avalon team on the ship were so good - the ship and cabins were kept spotless, the food was delicious, city tours were informative, the sights amazing not to mention the pure pleasure of being able to lay in bed and watch the beautiful countryside glide by! A big thank you to Yvonne who found and suggested this cruise that fitted in nicely with our other tours - it was the perfect end to our holiday!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Romantic Rhine”
- NSW, Australia May 2018 2 Helpful Votes

We had a wonderful time travelling the Rhine. Our ship was a joy to stay on. The cabin was small but we were only in it to shower and sleep after busy exciting days ashore. Avalon were a great company to travel with, supportive and helpful. The crew were always willing to ensure we experienced a happy holiday.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Our wonderful Rhine adventure”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2017 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

My adult daughter and I had 7 wonderful nights aboard Imagery II. From first boarding until we left everything and everyone was just amazing. Our cruise director made sure we all knew what was happening every day and even made sure we didn't get hit by bicycles on our many excursions ashore. The Executive Chef and his team made sure we were well fed at all times, providing both healthy and not so healthy choices for each meal - we were in heaven.
Our friendly waitstaff made our meals, particularly dinner, very enjoyable and relaxing. Out wonderful cabin steward spoilt us every morning with a tidy of our room and also made an elephant with the towels (very talented). And lets not forget the Captain and his crew. We met some very lovely people, which helped make the cruise all the more special. I will definitely be taking another Avalon cruise at some time. Our agent at Global Journeys made our wonderful holiday very special. Thank you so much.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“8 Day Romantic Rhine (Avalon Felicity) from Basel”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2017 7 Helpful Votes

Unfortunately wet weather played a big part where we had to use umbrellas when site seeing and could not sit on the top deck to view best part of the Rhine where the vineyards and castles were. Our cabin on the royal deck was a bit tight where the chair was an obstruction when walking around the bed end. Staff were polite, efficient and very professional and their customer service was exceptional. In regards to entertainment there was not enough variety. Shore excursions were run professionally but due to returning back to the ship the time factor for sight seeing was rather short.
The tour guides that we were involved with did a great job and showed how passionate and how knowledgeable they were. The cruise guide did a fantastic job making sure all passengers were fully aware what was in store for them before dinner the night before. Wasn't what we expected there was a lot of travel at night where we missed a lot of viewing of towns and what existed on the shore line this included going through the river locks which was an experience we didn't see but was done at night.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Magic on the Rhine”
- NSW, Australia May 2017 2 Helpful Votes

We undertook this cruise as an alternative to an ocean cruise. We were looking for a more intimate experience with less people. We were not disappointed. Noting was too much trouble for the staff on the cruise. They attended to our every need and were very friendly. We felt very pampered. Cabins were first class and meals were very good. Fellow travellers, were largely American, and very friendly. Memorable highlights included ancient castles on the Rhine and visits to Strasbourg and Cologne. We are happy to recommend Avalon Cruises to anyone. We arrange all our tours through Global Journeys and are very happy to recommend them for their professionalism and their competitive prices.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Romantic Rhine”
- New Zealand Apr 2017 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

As with any cruise, the overall experience depends on a combination of the ship and crew, the quality of the itinerary, and the social mix with fellow passengers. On a small ship, such as this, there is the opportunity to develop friendships with other passengers, and to enhance the trip in that way. That was certainly our experience. We were also pleased that most travel between destinations was at night, thus allowing us to make the most of the day in port. The shore excursions were well organised and the guides were exceptional in their knowledge and ability to bring the history of a destination alive. We learnt a great deal.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Superb, relaxing with unobtrusive well trained staff”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2016 3 Helpful Votes

This was a perfect introduction to River cruising in a most scenic location providing an easy journey through ports that were central to European history. The ship was just a year old, the tour director kept things running smoothly and was available if needed, but didn't intrude. The cabin crew did a superb job and even my orchid was replaced mid-journey because it wasn't performing well enough. The captain and crew kept us running smoothly and without incident. We had a shore visit every day with a local guide and time to explore on our own and to visit a museum, a cathedral or shop or just relax in a European cafe or bar with the locals. Because we were a relatively small ship our numbers didn't overwhelm the historic cities at which we docked. The food was elegant, plentiful and delicious with many choices for breakfast and lunch and a more formal dinner with wines from the region. The waiters were well trained and polite and, as the crew concert showed, very funny. Avalon has a few sailings where they reserve a few cabins for solo travelers who don't have to pay a penalty which is why I chose the company. People were very nice to me and I didn't stand out because I am a widow on my own. As people age more of us will be left alone and we don't want to limit our horizons. Great journey Avalon. And as a bonus, the sun shone every day.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful journey on the Rhine”
- WA, Australia Aug 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed travelling again with Avalon. There staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. Each of the cities we visited was beautiful in its own way and lying on the top deck on a sunny day, watching the castles along the edge of the Rhine was a true pleasure.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Thank you for the experience”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2016 1 Helpful Vote

The whole experience was excellent, room was small but it made us comfortable (the bed was too comfortable!). The excursions were well planned and efficient, the staff could not do enough for us. The only comment I would have was that the Movenpick in Zurich had no facilities for showering - this could have helped us settle in after our overnight train from the Netherlands adventure.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent first time experience of European River Cruising”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2016 1 Helpful Vote

A first time experience of river cruising, has left two somewhat skeptical starters, converted. We had responded to the "you must do this" from friends with an open mind and have returned having enjoyed a wonderful experience. The ship, the tour director, and the crew were fantastic and the excursions were well organised and led by experienced and informative local guides. We have no comparisons, but we like the way Avalon do things, and we are very thankful that we had Yvonne from Global Journeys guiding us through the arrangements. Thank you.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Remarkable Romantic Rhine river cruise”
- Australia Dec 2015

Fantastic 8 day Rhine River cruise from Basel to Amsterdam, visited some wonderful places. Saw some good Christmas Markets as it was that time of year. Avalon Waterways is a great company to cruise with, highly recommend them and will cruise with them again. A big thank you to Emily for booking the cruise, nothing to hard and documents arrived with plenty of time.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent holiday!”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2015

Excellent holiday! The boat and crew were fabulous. Tour guide Helmut was pretty ordinary really - at no stage did he speak to us! Except when we asked a direct question, not personable or emotionally connected. Staff on boat wonderful communication! All round great experience.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Highly recommend this Avalon cruise”
- WA, Australia Jul 2015

Shore excursions very good but maybe need to show different things apart from lots of Cathedrals, although they were quite impressive. Tour guides, tour director and all ship's crew as well as hotel staff were very knowledgeable, professional, polite and helpful. We have never been on a cruise before but if we ever do another one then all I can say is that your standards will be hard to beat. Must also mention that Yvonne has been very helpful throughout the whole process. We have had a few people ask how it went as they may be considering something similar, we will highly recommend Global Journeys as well as Avalon Cruises.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic cruise and experience”
- WA, Australia Jun 2015

Overall it was a fantastic cruise and experience. As it was my first cruise, therefore I am not able to compare. However I think there is always room for improvements, such as better storage for suit cases in cabins or that no drinks were served during entertainer performances and events.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent ship & service”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2015

Trip very good, what was expected ship & service excellent, shore excursions very well handled & informative guides commentary & knowledge first class. Transfers to & from airports went without hitch additional accommodation good, I was definitely not impressed with the fact documents did not arrive till two days before departure this was stressful and unprofessional. (MD. Ouch - thanks for your feedback Robert, unfortunately we can only get them to you when we get them from the Operator. I've put processes in place to make sure all our clients are made aware if they are delayed for any reason - luckily this only happens rarely. Glad you enjoyed your holiday, and hope you give us another go!)

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“First river cruise and we utterly enjoyed it”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2015

This was our first river cruise and we utterly enjoyed it. The sitting room close to our cabin complete with 24 hour access to hot drinks - including real cappuccino - was a great bonus! Gwen's need for gluten-free food was met with no fuss and chef even made special cookies for her to have with her coffee in the cabin. Only disappointment was the first onboard visiting entertainer. The singer was not very good. By contrast, the string trio was amazing! Cruise guide was helpful and knowledgeable in his commentaries. Thank you for a great holiday.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“There was nothing we could fault”
- Australia Oct 2014

Wonderful, friendly staff who made sure we enjoyed our experience. Waiters/waitresses, cabin cleaning staff/housekeeping were very friendly and considerate. They added a great deal to our experience. Meals and accommodation were excellent. There was nothing we could fault. We had a ball, met some delightful people, and enjoyed the choices on offer. Thank you.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 45