Romantic Rhine Reviews

Avalon River Cruise starting in Amsterdam and finishing in Basel

4.6 out of 5
65 Reviews

Ratings

5 Star
75%
4 Star
23%
3 Star
2%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Most Popular Reviews

  30 Votes   Arthur & Marian
  10 Votes   Jill & Toumi
  7 Votes   Debra
“Romantic Rhine”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019 1 Helpful Vote

We loved this trip! Avalon met expectations. I admit personally I had set a very high standard for them to meet after travelling with Viking for a Danube cruise. The rooms, the food, the options, the service, everything was of the highest quality. I have two points of feedback that let them down slightly, but I cannot stress enough, these are my observations only and did not impact on my enjoyment of this great trip.
1. Older passengers were struggling and left behind/unaccounted for by excursion guides on several occasions. Only other members of the group raised concerns regarding footing safety and their lack of keeping pace with the group. 2. Timings were very tight around excursions on several occasions and the crush/complaints and behaviour, along with the corresponding rush to eat, at the buffet was disheartening. Everyone was fed perfectly well but an adjustment to timings here would leave people a whole lot happier.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“8 Day Romantic Rhine Cruise”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019 2 Helpful Votes

We were looking for a relaxing pre-home trip after having travelled on the Trans-Siberian train trip from Japan to St Petersburg for 4 weeks. We found this Rhine cruise to be surprisingly active and a lot of fun, in a "have a look at each town and city along the way and get out and see everything", kind of way. The food on board was excellent, rooms were well set out and regularly serviced by some really diligent and committed staff. The tour director knew exactly what she was on about and had things organised to the nth degree. Wait staff were also very friendly and very keen to see to our every request.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Very enjoyable cruise”
- WA, Australia Aug 2018 10 Helpful Votes

My husband and I really enjoyed our Romantic Rhine river cruise in August this year. The weather was good and the places we visited were very interesting and we saw some very quaint towns with their timbered houses. We found Avalon to be a very organised and enjoyable cruise line. The quality of the ships and their cabins was excellent. The food was delicious as well. Was a bit disappointed that somehow we ended up with 2 single beds in our cabin and my sister who was travelling alone had a nice queen in her room. I think I was offered the stateroom with 2 singles and never queried it which I guess I should have.
As they have had a very warm summer in Europe the water levels on the Rhine have dropped considerably, there was one section of the Rhine that our ship could not get through. Consequently we had to change ships and bus it between the two ships. Unfortunately it was the section of the Rhine Gorge where all the castles are but Avalon organised for us to see it on a smaller boat so we didn't miss out on that section entirely. Considering the problems, Avalon handled the change of plans very well with very little inconvenience to us. This was our second cruise with them and I would definitely recommend them and would travel with them again.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Romantic Rhine”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2018 8 Helpful Votes

We enjoyed our holiday. The food was excellent and the activities we did were very good. We thought that some of the free excursions could be more explained in detail for particularly the two that went through the Black Forest. It was a pity the boat had to dock on the last night in the middle of a major city party as many passengers really got concerned about it and especially when 7 policemen came to guard the boat from the revellers. Waking up in the morning to a dock full of empty bottles and rubbish was not nice.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing river cruise”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

Really enjoyed the cruise. The staff were lovely everything was so well organised. Plenty of sightseeing trips available. A nice easy way to travel everything is organised for you.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing trip down the Rhine”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2018 7 Helpful Votes

The river cruise with Avalon was lovely. Coming from a sea cruise with 2000 people to the small river cruise of 120 people was great. So much more intimate and the cruise director (Isobel) really looked after everyone like we were all family.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“River cruising at its best”
- WA, Australia Oct 2017 30 Helpful Votes View Photo

As we had never been on a river cruise before and only heard from others who had done this, we were unsure what we would find. Well the only word to describe it is luxury. The Imagery II we were lucky to get on, was in its second season, and wow what an experience. Capt Marian was a very friendly Host.
We were on the top floor for accommodation, it was spacious and beautiful, sitting at our table and chairs with the sliding door opened with a drink, sailing down the Rhine was very relaxing, our steward Jerry gave us a beautiful smile every day. The food was never boring, each region you visited the wine and food reflected this.
The tour director provided all information twice daily to us , once by a daily newsletter, always found on your bed after dinner and Vlads talk each evening before dinner. All places we visited they provided excellent local guides, optional tours were fairly priced and interesting. All we can say is this is our new way of holidaying.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Loved River Cruising”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2017 7 Helpful Votes

This was our 1st river cruise & I hope its not my last, I loved the fact that there was only a maximum of 120 people on board, which equates to a more personalised service. The food was great, the dinner service was great. The cabins were comfortable & well kept. I just loved it.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing trip down the Rhine”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2017 5 Helpful Votes

This is the second time that I have travelled with Avalon River Cruises and once again it was fantastic!! The crew and the accommodation were 5 Star! The food was incredible and never disappointed and we loved the way that it was always presented so creatively!! Thank you once again for a great time and a very relaxing trip down the Rhine!!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Romantic Rhine”
- SA, Australia Jun 2017 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

Fantastic trip down the Rhine River. Modern ship, quality cabins, quality service and outstanding meals. We would highly recommend Avalon and look forward to another journey with them. Thanks for arranging such a well organised trip.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great communication, effective booking”
- New Zealand Apr 2017 4 Helpful Votes

The trip was fantastic, most of all, the cruise and the daily itinerary was well explained and organised. The Avalon river cruise was exceptional, the staff was wondering, and the meals were a delight, although when compared to an ocean cruise, there were less variety, however, each meal was delicate and finely done. The itinerary and onboard entertainment was really good, on most towns/cities, there were a city walking tour organised, and choice of other tours in the afternoon with extra payments if so desired. The highlight would be the walking tours as well as the onboard entertainment invited on board on the Avalon. The downside I feel is that the river cruise is a lot more expensive in general compared to a ocean cruise, keeping in mind that a lot of excursions are included. Global Journeys have made it easy for us to follow the instructions and provided great communications during the time of organisation. I would definitely book with again again in the near future.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing time”
- VIC, Australia Jul 2016 2 Helpful Votes

Very relaxing holiday with heaps to see and do. Wonderful crew on the Avalon Felicity who looked after us to a T. Upgraded us to a suite when the air conditioner in our room leaked. The food was first class and the choice of wine was perfect.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Plenty of 'ups', some 'downs'”
- SA, Australia Jun 2016 1 Helpful Vote

Most of the cruise was very enjoyable, with a comfortable standard of ship, food and service. Visits to towns along the way we're interesting though brief. Unfortunately the ship did not take us past Mannheim due to high water. Alternative arrangements were very efficient, but of course involved many hours of bus travel. River travel is subject to the vagaries of nature!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“8 Day Rhine River cruise with Avalon”
- VIC, Australia Apr 2016 1 Helpful Vote

The whole trip ran very smoothly and was well organised by the operator operator Avalon and its staff on board. I would happily travel, with Avalon on another river cruise. The ship was called Imagery II. It began cruises in 2016 , so everything on board was very new. Trip highlights :- All the included shore excursions esp Heidelberg. Optional excursion to tulip flower show at Keukenhof, Holland was stunning. Being a solo traveller, I appreciated the opportunity mix with all passengers and dine with different people at every single meal. I was never alone. All the meals were of excellent quality and most suited to me being a diabetic as I could choose easily between many options offered. My cabin was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole cruise.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“We certainly recommend this cruise!”
- WA, Australia Oct 2015

We had an enjoyable, relaxing and fun Romantic Rhine River cruise. The quality of food and beverages was very good and the atmosphere was excellent. As the cruise ship which we on was quite new, the facilities were excellent. Booking our holiday was a breeze with Global Journeys and all inquires were quickly and professionally attended to by our cruise consultant, Emily. We certainly recommend this cruise! Thank you.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“All very good, restful & well organised!”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2015

It was all very good,restful & well organised! There was not much entertainment, mostly just a one man band, but good music to dance to & have fun. No complaints really!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Absolutely loved it and we will recommend to anyone”
- WA, Australia Aug 2015 1 Helpful Vote

This was our first river cruise and we absolutely loved it and we will recommend to anyone. The staff were so polite and very helpful and the excursions were very informative. We have nothing negative to say about the whole cruise trip and we will definitely go again. Thank you so much for a wonderful, breathtaking cruise adventure and we will see you soon!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Cruise was perfect for us”
- NT, Australia Aug 2015 2 Helpful Votes

The 8 day cruise was perfect for us. Anything longer I believe would have been too much. In retrospect I should have booked the cruise at the end of our travels instead of in the middle as it would have been a good way to unwind after a very busy sight-seeing two weeks in Italy.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Very memorable experience”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2015

Every day was minutely scheduled to get the most out of the day. Mostly travellers were older people and many found the early starts tiring. I think the younger ones who drank and partied the night before were even objecting to the early starts. Otherwise it was a very memorable experience.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Most enjoyable and certainly to be recommended”
- WA, Australia May 2015

The Avalon Luminary is a fine river ship which provided ample room in the public areas to relax and move about. The cabin we had was on deck 2 with a French balcony and it was a good size for two with well laid out facilities and ample storage. All the staff on board were excellent and responsive to our every request. The food was excellent and there was never any shortage either for the breakfast buffet or the al a carte lunches and dinners. The included shore excursions were well organised and the guides were, for the most part, very knowledgeable. One slight disappointment, and not the fault of the cruise line or captain and crew, was that due to the low level of many bridges and the numerous locks we passed through, the sky deck was only open for use for the first day and the last two. This meant that for 10 of the 13 days this area was unavailable. The only other issue was, for an Australian, the beer was almost always never served as cold as we would have liked. Regardless of these two minor issues, the cruise was most enjoyable and certainly to be recommended.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 65