Albatross Tour Reviews

Albatross
4.5 out of 5
118 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Albatross. Every review has been verified.

     
“Spectacular Scandinavia”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

While we were unlucky with the changeable weather, we were certainly not let down by the breathtaking scenery in Norway, and towns like Stavanger and Bergen were a delight. Among the highlights of Norway were the Lofoten Islands. The hotels were all very good, although the views from several allocated rooms were not.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Glorious scenery - mountains, lakes and forests”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019

My first tour with Albatross and will travel with them again. The itinerary was well thought out, and the hotels were in good, central locations, with character, though some of them had limited, or no, air conditioning, which is sometimes an issue with increasing temperatures in Europe. The group size of 17 was perfect, allowing for plenty of space on the coach, which was comfortable, clean and modern.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Italy with Albatross Travel”
- ACT, Australia Jun 2019

We have recently toured with Albatross Tours on their Italian Grande trip; an 18 day coach tour from Milan to Rome. It took in most important sites from the northern lakes, Maggiore and Como etc to the Amalfi Coast. Some of the major advantages of Albatross' tours are the multi-night stays and the provision of many night meals at our accommodation or a local restaurant.

We had 4 nights in Stresa and 5 nights in Montecatini Terme where we stayed in lovely four star hotels. From Montecatini Terme, we enjoyed day trips to Firenze, Pisa, Lucca and the Cinque Terre. Albatross Tours allow for "My time" which allows patrons to explore on their own and have a break from the group.

Our tour manager was professional, knowledgeable and personable. The coach driver was an ever smiling Italian who made us all feel safe and confident in his driving skills. There were only 18 Australians and New Zealanders on our large coach so there was ample room to spread out. All our travelling companions got on well and were a happy group.

We booked our tour through Global Journeys. Our consultant, Madeline, helped us with our holiday planning and offered us suggestions that assisted our holiday planning. Albatross Tours provide well resourced holidays, for small groups and many extras. We enjoyed our holiday immensely.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Beautiful and interesting Croatia”
- VIC, Australia May 2019

This small group tour of Croatia and the Adriatic was well organised. With accommodation at quality hotels in convenient locations and the individual stays from 2-4 nights enabled a more relaxed holiday with opportunities for free time. Despite it being a small group Albatross uses a large comfortable coach ensuring all have plenty of room.

The countryside through which we travelled with its diverse history, varied from limestone hills and valleys to delta plains. The quality of our tour director, and knowledge of local guides at various locations was excellent and very interesting making for an enjoyable tour filled with variety, excellent direction and comes highly recommended. Thank you and well done Albatross!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Just about perfect...”
- NSW, Australia Dec 2018

We had a fabulous trip, staying at Lauterbrunnen with the hospitable Mark and Ursula and never ending spectacular views. Accommodation is basic but very clean and comfortable, excellent breakfast and good night meals, a great bunch of fellow travellers and so much fun on New Years Eve - a place to revisit. The train system is brilliant, the area a perfect springboard to the best Alpine locations. Add to that an excellent value for money trip, the kindness of the Swiss people and perfect weather and it was a memorable week.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Austrian Lakes Christmas”
- NSW, Australia Dec 2018

We stayed at the White Horse Inn, Lake Wolfgangese. The hotel was right on the lake, the view from our balcony and breakfast room was picture prefect. We had an incredible 8 days stay. Our room was extra large with a TV / dressing room as well. The staff were all very friendly and polite. The meals were wonderful, something to please everyone.

The village is a beautiful little safe haven with plenty to do, at Christmas the streets are lined with Christmas stalls as well as their everyday shops. Surrounding villages are pretty and safe. The scenery everywhere is absolutely stunning, add a little snow and it's breathtaking.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing European Christmas Holiday!”
- ACT, Australia Dec 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

This trip was absolutely fantastic and we are already keen to travel in the summer time. The Alpine Christmas Adventure was absolutely worth the wait, Albatross Tours were fantastic, our tour guide and bus driver (Gilberto and Roberto respectively) were so incredible, full of knowledge, and always willing to help out and teach us something and spend time with us. The rest of the tour group were also great - we were the youngest on the trip, but that didn't stop us from getting to know everyone and making some incredible friends. We plan to book another tour with Global Journeys/Albatross in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Memorable and Exciting Italia !!!”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 6 Helpful Votes

Having briefly been to Italy before still did not prepare me for this amazing, beautiful and diverse country, not to mention so ancient and modern - classic and exciting! From the north to the south, Italia did not disappoint - from the gobsmacking historic places and buildings to the amazing mountains, lakes and the sea, there was never a dull moment. Aaaah, the canneloni in Roma!!!! DIVINE!! Best everrrr...pasta, pasta, pasta everywhere, of course!

The Italian Grande was everything it offered. The hotels, especially in Mira, were great with the exception of one that was very disappointing. The Tour Guide, Gianfranco, was just Top Shot as was the driver of the coach, especially on the hair-pin bends - so many heart-stopping moments - so exciting yet very safe. Loved going through a lot of towns en route to the next stop and they were often the icing on the cake. Ravello, so beautiful and that winding road up to Anacapri - Wow !! And what a view from the top of the rock that is Capri.

The group was all Australian which was a pleasure and a very cohesive group at that too - what a relief !! One word says it all of this trip ABSOLUTELY AWESOME ( oops, two words !).

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Good value tour of Italy”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

The tour I thought was good value for the money. Accommodation was very good and the meals at dinner were very good except in one location. I did not like the bath/shower in 2 locations as there were no hand rails and dangerous for mature people like myself. The walking was more than expected but as I am a fit person was able to manage it. Would have liked longer in some places but nice not to be moving on each day and the 5 /4 nights in locations was good. The Tour Manager and Driver were exceptional and the Tour Guides in the locations were very good and knowledgeable and passionate about what they were telling us.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The Italian Grande with Albatross ”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 8 Helpful Votes View Photo

This was our first trip with Albatross after several tours with Insight so we were interested in a comparison between the two. We loved the 3, 4 and 5 night stays and the smaller group size. Our tour companions were all Australians and we got on well. Overall, the itinerary was excellent and we saw everything that we wanted to see.

The highlights of the tour were the days we spent at Lake Maggiore and the cruises we did at Cinque Terre and the Amalfi Coast. This was the best way to appreciate the spectacular scenery and coastal villages. We thought the character hotels would enhance the local experience and expected quality to suffer. The hotel locations were great but there were some problems. Generally, elevators were too small and there wasn’t enough of them which meant a lot of stair climbing for those fit enough. The hotel at Montecatini only had 2 very small elevators (maximum 4 people) and one of them broke down the day we arrived and was not fixed until 4 days later. Bathroom sizes seemed to vary and some of our companions thought they were too small though we were reasonably happy with ours.

The dinners at the hotels were of average quality except for Maiori where the food was poor. Breakfasts at all locations was very good. We found ants in our bedding each morning at Maiori and when we mentioned this to the staff we were told that it was a result of the climate and nothing could be done about it. This hotel also had a policy of no wifi in the rooms and you had to go to reception to use it. Several of our travel companions complained about the wifi on the coach. It seemed that only a certain number of passengers could log on at one time. I was keen to track our progress using the Vamoos app but I gave up early in the tour because I couldn’t get wifi access when I needed it.

On some of our stops we had too much time and at other places not enough. We found the activities that were included in the tour price were as much or less than what you would expect with Insight. Their claim that there are no optional extra costs is only because they don’t offer any. This is why, I expect, that we found we had too much time to ourselves at some places. You could wander around the streets, have lunch, shop or visit museums at your pleasure and own expense. To my mind theses are optional activities even though they are not organised or advertised. Our Tour Director was a local with more than 30 years experience but he lacked the professional experience of the Insight Tour Directors. In summary, we feel that you get better value for your money with Insight even if you have to pay for the optional experiences and tips to the Tour Director and driver.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Albatross Tours - Italian Grande Tour”
- QLD, Austalia Oct 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Had a great time & saw some fantastic places. Small group tour of 24 people was a good size. Tour guide & bus driver were excellent. Some of the hotels were not as good as we have had in the past, but overall a great trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great trip to get to know Italy!”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This is a really good trip with lots of included meals. The trip covered a lot of varied places and activities, some stunning scenery (coastal, lakes, mountains) as well as museums, cathedrals and pretty towns. My main criticism is that too many meals were in the hotel and not in local restaurants (only 3). With the small group size, it was implied that more meals would be in restaurants rather than the hotel. The best eating experiences were at the restaurants. The hotels were generally well located and had good facilities. The castle was a unique experience. There was a good mix of local walking tours and free time, however, a couple more entry fees could've been included.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Southern Italy & Sicily, so different to the North”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 View Photo

We have toured Italy several times in the past but never the southern region. When we discovered Albatross Tours' "Italy, the Deep South & Sicily" we thought, why not give it a go. I am so glad we did. I could not believe the difference between the two. The south is much more rugged and less touristy than the north. The accommodation we stayed in was like nothing else we have experienced anywhere else in the world. Like the north, the food and wine is very good, and the locals are very friendly and welcoming. Our guide, Gilberto was second to none. He had a thorough knowledge of the area and always had the welfare and comfort of his guests foremost in his mind.

I must also commend Jemma from Global Journeys. Like other staff I have dealt with in the past, Jemma always kept me advised on what was happening with our booking from the moment we sought a quote, and we got the best price available. Can't complain about that. Thank you Jemma and Global Journeys.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Croatia and the Adriatic ”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 View Photo

This was our third tour with Albatross and it ran like clockwork, mainly due to the expertise and professionalism of our guide, Sibila. We were with a mixed group of married couples and 8 single ladies who were all out to enjoy themselves. Accommodation was of a good standard with Mostar being the exception, but given the war-torn history this was not surprising.

The pace of the tour was at times on the hectic side and the necessary border crossings added hours to a day's journey. The day trip to Montenegro was very long and arduous with two and a half hours spent at one border crossing. I believe this day of the trip should be deleted from the itinerary as it requires a very early start and late return, approximately 8.00pm at the very end of the tour. Split, Hvar and Dubrovnik were the stand out locations for me.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing Italy!!!”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 3 Helpful Votes

The Albatross Italian Grande was absolutely wonderful and another holiday organised perfectly by Georgie from Global Journeys! We loved the longer stays of 4 and 5 nights, and the accommodation was excellent. The highlights were Stresa on Lake Maggiore, the CastelBrando near Venice, Montecatini Terme in Tuscany, the Cinque Terre and Maiori on the Amalfi Coast which was absolutely stunning. Beginning the tour in the Lakes and finishing it on the Amalfi Coast was just perfect.

The itinerary was exactly where we wanted to go in Italy and it did not disappoint! Also everything was included which was an added bonus. We had a fabulous time visiting so many cities, towns, villages and tourist spots throughout Italy but still had plenty of free time to ourselves. Our tour guide Elena was wonderful, extremely knowledgeable and helpful in every way to make sure our trip was a wonderful experience. Marco our coach driver was amazing and mastered the tricky roads of Italy perfectly! We travelled in September and we had perfect weather for the whole trip. Thanks again to Albatross and Georgie for such an amazing experience we will remember forever!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tour met (nearly) all expectations”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

The tour was as advertised. The locations, towns and cities were memorable. The Tour Manager was knowledgeable, personable and organised. The bus was comfortable with a window seat for all those who might want it. The accommodation varied between OK to excellent. Included meals were mostly very good.

Two areas for improvement related to the free time in the various cities and towns. That free time almost always corresponded to the Spanish siesta time, so while restaurants and bars were open, other shops and attractions were closed. Which leads to the second improvement: it would be good to know the day before the potential activities at a location e.g. swimming in Biarritz. Also there was no chance of seeing the Sagrada Familia (Barcelona) because it had to be booked 4 days in advance. This requirement was never mentioned. Overall the pace was very relaxed and suited the older demographic on the tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Magnifico Spain and Portugal ”
- WA, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote

I had great experience booking through Global Journeys, Madeline was very helpful and responded to my emails quickly. Albatross tours are efficient and the tour guide was fantastic. She made sure everything ran smoothly even when events like marathons closed the roads. Plan B was executed without a fuss or any inconvenience! Max group size is 28 which is good. Nice traveling with Aussies who were well traveled and easy going. The itinerary was comprehensive but some free time. The accommodation was fabulous.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Comfortable and well organised tour of Spain & Portugal”
- SA, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote

This was a comfortable and well organised tour going to a great variety of wonderful locations with excellent local guides plus an efficient, likeable and very helpful tour guide. We stayed in excellent and well located hotels with Granada and Salamanca being particularly noteworthy. We travelled in a large coach and while this was comfortable the obvious negative impact these enormous tourist carriers are having in Spain and Portugal did worry me. I also felt Albatross could be more proactive in environmental awareness by discouraging plastic bottle use, etc. Arranging my tour through Global Journeys was a painless and efficient process with excellent ongoing communication. I would recommend them.

Reply from Albatross:
Hello Rosemary, Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed so many of the highlights of our 'Magnifico' Spain and Portugal program. Thank you for your comments regarding the environmental impact of some aspects of the tour, I will certainly pass these on to our operations team in the UK. In regards to the use of a full size coach, this is something we offer as a benefit to our customers. Please note though that we contract the youngest coaches available in each country, so the actual fuel emissions are far more efficient than the coaches of old. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you on board again in the future. Warm regards, Stephen York - National Sales Manager.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A beautiful experience in Croatia”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2018 View Photo

This is our third Albatross tour and we were not disappointed. Our tour guide, Sibila, was outstanding and very informative about the history of Croatia. She was entertaining, humorous and was always organised. The hotel, food, coach and driver were excellent. We are now home and already planning our next Albatross tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A Taste Of The UK”
- WA, Australia Aug 2018

Global Journeys again did their work very efficiently and without flaw....thanks Hannah.

We had a very enjoyable trip with Derek, the quintessential Englishman, as our guide and Joe the best fun driver one could ask for. Went to Wales day one which was a bit 'nothingy' but after that we hit the major tourist hot spots of England and Scotland (including the brilliant Military Tattoo in Scotland). A full Australian team of 28 on the bus but it was a 50 seater so stacks of room.

Albatross has got it right with generally 3 night hotel stays and some clear leisure time interspersed through the trip. Having a number of nights free for dinner is also a winner. Highlights were aplenty culminating in the final night state room stay at the Leeds Castle. As a first trip to the UK this was ideal and recommended for say the 50 years plus set.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 118