Albatross Tour Reviews

Albatross
4.5 out of 5
126 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Albatross. Every review has been verified.

     
“Outstanding tour all round”
- WA, Australia Sep 2019 2 Helpful Votes

I have recently returned from the Albatross Sardinia & Corsica Tour, and I had a truly wonderful time! For travellers like myself who have been to most European countries, this tour itinerary offered something new and very exciting to visit. Even though Sardinia is technically part of Italy, and Corsica part of France, they even still maintain their original languages in both regions. Both places are large islands with very mountainous landscapes, beautiful azure blue harbours and seas, history and sites reaching back at least to the Bronze Age and wonderful cities and towns to visit. Corsica was actually where Napoleon Bonaparte was born, and one of the inclusions was to visit where he lived.

Our Tour Guide Gilberto was excellent and he looked after us very well. All places were at least a 2 night (if not 3) stay and the tour was at a relaxed pace with plenty of free time. Gliberto was always happy to give suggestions and to organise outings during that time for who wanted to go. There was quite a few single travellers on the tour and everyone got on well and had a wonderful time. Thank you so much to my Global Journeys Travel Advisor, Tracey, who very professionally organised this tour for me, and really made me feel at ease as I was travelling by myself, which I haven't done in a long time.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Beautiful Scandinavia”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Firstly, dealing with Global Journeys was excellent. A big thank you to Juliet & Jodie for organising our group of 8. This was our first Albatross tour after studying their brochures for years. I had liked the sound of the smaller group size, relaxed starts, longer stays at each destination, no optional tours and tips included. Also the fact that many meals were included helped with budgeting. Normally they offer a drink with dinner, but that doesn’t apply on the Scandinavian tour. After seeing the price of drinks we could understand why. Expect to pay anywhere from $14 - $20 for a beer & $20 - $25 for a glass of wine!

This was a new tour for Albatross and I think with a bit of tweaking it would be fantastic. Not that we didn’t have a great time, because we did. Our fellow travellers were the best I’ve ever had on any group tour. So much fun & laughter. 24 Aussies & 3 Kiwis! We weren’t blessed with the best weather which was a bit disappointing. Scenic cruises & train rides aren’t quite the same in pouring rain! However, we did get to see some amazing waterfalls so it wasn’t all bad. The sun did come out in the Lofoten Islands which were breathtakingly beautiful. The scenery was amazing and some of the group even managed to glimpse the northern lights. The accommodation was generally good as was the food, although most meals were a set menu. It would be nice to be given a choice and it’s hard to understand why there’s not. For example, one dinner we were given roast beef & sauce so the gluten free lady in our group was given a beautiful piece of grilled salmon & veges. You would think they should be able to offer everyone the choice of beef or salmon. But that’s just a minor quibble. A couple of hotels had buffet dinners though which was nice. One thing we did miss was tea and coffee in our rooms. Some hotels provided it, others didn’t. Also some bathrooms had the shower over really high baths which some of the group found difficult to get into.

Our Spanish tour director was lovely and though she seemed a little unsure of the Aussie sense of humour at the start, by tour end she was joining in the banter as well! She went out of her way to ensure we all had a great time. It wasn’t made easy with the changeable weather or the fact many things were closed for the season. I would advise going earlier in the season if possible as some things on our itinerary were changed due to that fact. There was probably a few too many museums for my liking, but that’s just my opinion. Tips for Norway - bring a good quality raincoat and waterproof shoes and be prepared to pay a lot for food and drinks! All in all we had a wonderful, relaxing holiday and would be happy to travel with Albatross again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour through Glorious Germany and the Czech Republic”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

We booked this tour through Jemma at Global Journeys and she did a great job. After the initial booking I wanted to make changes and she handled these with patience and efficiency. I would certainly book my next holiday through her and Global Journeys again.

This was our second Albatross tour and definitely the best. There were 16 participants from Australia and NZ and we all got on very well. The Albatross hotels at the start and end of the tour were located near major railway stations which made it easy to get to and from the airports. The other hotels during the tour were also located in or near the city or town centres. The Berlin public transport system is easy to use and very efficient.

We used the S-Bahn on several occasions to get around. There is so much to see in Berlin that we were glad we had booked an extra day at the start. We could easily have spent another 2 days there. Dresden was another highlight with its Gothic architecture and position on the Elbe. The tour included plenty of excellent activities including a river cruises, beautiful scenic walks in Saxony Switzerland, visits to Potsdam palaces, Konigstein Fortress and Colditz Castle. The latter was particularly interesting with the part it played in WW2 as a POW camp. Prague was also great but far too crowded with tourists. I liked that we were taken out of Prague to visit other interesting places like Kutna Hora and Trebon which are not yet on the tourist radar.

Staying 2 nights in Cesky Krumlov was also good as it meant you could walk around the town after all the day tourists had gone. The tour director Ernst was very knowledgeable especially in respect of German history and all the local tour guides were excellent. Overall we thought that this tour was excellent value for money. I would certainly consider booking an Albatross Tour in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic holiday Southern Italy and Sicily”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019

We enjoyed every moment of our holiday from the excellent accommodation and places we visited to our tour guide Vanessa who was the very best guide ever as nothing was too much trouble for her, she was never fazed by our questions, always patient, knowledgeable and caring in every situation. Sicily is a hidden gem of delightful surprises and is the Disneyland of the ancient world... not to be missed. Albatross don't have optional excursions as everything on the tour is included except for "free time".

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Scenic and enlightening tour of Ireland with Albatross ”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019

Having travelled twice before with Albatross, we were confident of the quality of the tour and the accommodation, which is always a great mix of styles while always being top class. We were not disappointed and would travel with them again.

It was our first time booking online with Global Journeys and might we say we could not have been happier and it was an easy and trouble free process. Our assigned Agent, Jemma, was always contactable and so helpful. As we live in remote country, it made the whole process so easy and stress free knowing we could contact Jemma about any aspect of our trip and she could help us. Once again, we have no hesitation in recommending Global Journeys.

This tour turned out to be a very enlightening and educational experience, with our tour leader delving deeply into the history of Ireland and the journey that the people of Ireland have been on. Relating this to many places we visited, this was well balanced, with scenery and entertainment particularly 'Trad on The Prom' being a wonderful night, of Irish dance ,music and song.

Our tour commenced mid August and the weather was cool and mild, so comfortable travelling, any misty rain always seemed to clear when we arrived at a location. The age group on our tour was mixed, probably an older group than we have been on before, but everyone got on and we all had a great time.

One thing that was obvious was that quite a few people were tired right from the start. They had basically come straight from Australia and that extra length of time to get to Dublin took its toll, even only a one night stop didn’t seem to help.We had a week in London prior and we were fine.

The tour pace was fairly well balanced, we didn’t have early starts, and no really late finishes or rushing onto something in the evening. but there were times where it was a rush to get something to eat at the very busy, popular locations we found ourselves in sightseeing.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Italy at its Best”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Antonia was an exceptional guide - very knowledgeable, enjoyable to be with, supported all the group, and spent a lot of My Time guiding us around. Outstanding accommodation and excursions. We knew we were experiencing Italy at its best. Would recommend to others.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Spectacular Scandinavia”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote

While we were unlucky with the changeable weather, we were certainly not let down by the breathtaking scenery in Norway, and towns like Stavanger and Bergen were a delight. Among the highlights of Norway were the Lofoten Islands. The hotels were all very good, although the views from several allocated rooms were not.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Scandinavia with Albatross ”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 4 Helpful Votes

This was our first Albatross. We felt qualified to make a fair judgement as we have done 10 tours with a variety of tour companies before. Please do not recommend this tour until at least 2021- this might give the company time to review and change many aspects to make this a good tour.

Our guide Annette had a stutter which made her difficult to listen to and obviously shortened her explanations. The tour offered one glass of wine on arrival and nothing after - not even on the last night. A glass of wine here and there and some aperitifs helps to develop the social side of the touring group. This group struggled to gel as there were few opportunities and no encouragement. There was also too much 'My Time' without any support or guidance.

The Hurtigurten day was up at 5 am for a flight, 2 hours in a shopping mall of no interest to anyone, followed by 2 hours waiting for the cruise to start, followed by 4 hours of cruising which was pleasant, followed by 1.5 hours to get to the accommodation. A really long day which wasn’t seen as worthwhile by our group. Lofoten islands were good but cabins varied in quality and views.

There were several in our group who had done other Albatross tours and we all felt this tour was not up to the standard it should have been. Very disappointing. Norway is a beautiful country but tour operator did not offer value in that market. I will advise against using Albatross for Scandinavia.

In contrast, our second Albatross trip - Italian Grande, taken straight after this trip was excellent. Our guide Antonia was outstanding. The trip could be seen to value the group and offered value for money. Alcohol appropriately offered and 'My Time' was well guided and supported. A fabulous trip and agreed by all in the group.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Glorious scenery - mountains, lakes and forests”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote

My first tour with Albatross and will travel with them again. The itinerary was well thought out, and the hotels were in good, central locations, with character, though some of them had limited, or no, air conditioning, which is sometimes an issue with increasing temperatures in Europe. The group size of 17 was perfect, allowing for plenty of space on the coach, which was comfortable, clean and modern.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Italy with Albatross Travel”
- ACT, Australia Jun 2019 2 Helpful Votes

We have recently toured with Albatross Tours on their Italian Grande trip; an 18 day coach tour from Milan to Rome. It took in most important sites from the northern lakes, Maggiore and Como etc to the Amalfi Coast. Some of the major advantages of Albatross' tours are the multi-night stays and the provision of many night meals at our accommodation or a local restaurant.

We had 4 nights in Stresa and 5 nights in Montecatini Terme where we stayed in lovely four star hotels. From Montecatini Terme, we enjoyed day trips to Firenze, Pisa, Lucca and the Cinque Terre. Albatross Tours allow for "My time" which allows patrons to explore on their own and have a break from the group.

Our tour manager was professional, knowledgeable and personable. The coach driver was an ever smiling Italian who made us all feel safe and confident in his driving skills. There were only 18 Australians and New Zealanders on our large coach so there was ample room to spread out. All our travelling companions got on well and were a happy group.

We booked our tour through Global Journeys. Our consultant, Madeline, helped us with our holiday planning and offered us suggestions that assisted our holiday planning. Albatross Tours provide well resourced holidays, for small groups and many extras. We enjoyed our holiday immensely.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Beautiful and interesting Croatia”
- VIC, Australia May 2019 2 Helpful Votes

This small group tour of Croatia and the Adriatic was well organised. With accommodation at quality hotels in convenient locations and the individual stays from 2-4 nights enabled a more relaxed holiday with opportunities for free time. Despite it being a small group Albatross uses a large comfortable coach ensuring all have plenty of room.

The countryside through which we travelled with its diverse history, varied from limestone hills and valleys to delta plains. The quality of our tour director, and knowledge of local guides at various locations was excellent and very interesting making for an enjoyable tour filled with variety, excellent direction and comes highly recommended. Thank you and well done Albatross!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Breathtakingly beautiful Italian Lakes & Tuscany ”
- VIC, Australia May 2019

Our recent tour of the Italian Lakes and Tuscany was fabulous! I really can't recommend it highly enough! From the beautiful Lake Maggiorre, where we visited the exquisite Borromeo Palace and lovely manicured gardens alongside it on Isola Bella, to the magnificence of Michelangelo's 'David' in Florence, this tour has it all. The Albatross difference is that you stay in lovely hotels (and I'm the fussy type!) and most meals and all touring is included (some companies like to charge you extra for 'optional' add-ons). Albatross also have much smaller groups and really delicious meals, served with quality wines. Another big difference is that they allow you more time to see everything (mostly 2 or 3 night stays.. even 4!) and allow you an afternoon and evening off to do your own thing, or just relax in your wonderful hotel. We won't be travelling with anyone else!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Just about perfect...”
- NSW, Australia Dec 2018

We had a fabulous trip, staying at Lauterbrunnen with the hospitable Mark and Ursula and never ending spectacular views. Accommodation is basic but very clean and comfortable, excellent breakfast and good night meals, a great bunch of fellow travellers and so much fun on New Years Eve - a place to revisit. The train system is brilliant, the area a perfect springboard to the best Alpine locations. Add to that an excellent value for money trip, the kindness of the Swiss people and perfect weather and it was a memorable week.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Austrian Lakes Christmas”
- NSW, Australia Dec 2018

We stayed at the White Horse Inn, Lake Wolfgangese. The hotel was right on the lake, the view from our balcony and breakfast room was picture prefect. We had an incredible 8 days stay. Our room was extra large with a TV / dressing room as well. The staff were all very friendly and polite. The meals were wonderful, something to please everyone.

The village is a beautiful little safe haven with plenty to do, at Christmas the streets are lined with Christmas stalls as well as their everyday shops. Surrounding villages are pretty and safe. The scenery everywhere is absolutely stunning, add a little snow and it's breathtaking.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing European Christmas Holiday!”
- ACT, Australia Dec 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

This trip was absolutely fantastic and we are already keen to travel in the summer time. The Alpine Christmas Adventure was absolutely worth the wait, Albatross Tours were fantastic, our tour guide and bus driver (Gilberto and Roberto respectively) were so incredible, full of knowledge, and always willing to help out and teach us something and spend time with us. The rest of the tour group were also great - we were the youngest on the trip, but that didn't stop us from getting to know everyone and making some incredible friends. We plan to book another tour with Global Journeys/Albatross in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Memorable and Exciting Italia !!!”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 9 Helpful Votes

Having briefly been to Italy before still did not prepare me for this amazing, beautiful and diverse country, not to mention so ancient and modern - classic and exciting! From the north to the south, Italia did not disappoint - from the gobsmacking historic places and buildings to the amazing mountains, lakes and the sea, there was never a dull moment. Aaaah, the canneloni in Roma!!!! DIVINE!! Best everrrr...pasta, pasta, pasta everywhere, of course!

The Italian Grande was everything it offered. The hotels, especially in Mira, were great with the exception of one that was very disappointing. The Tour Guide, Gianfranco, was just Top Shot as was the driver of the coach, especially on the hair-pin bends - so many heart-stopping moments - so exciting yet very safe. Loved going through a lot of towns en route to the next stop and they were often the icing on the cake. Ravello, so beautiful and that winding road up to Anacapri - Wow !! And what a view from the top of the rock that is Capri.

The group was all Australian which was a pleasure and a very cohesive group at that too - what a relief !! One word says it all of this trip ABSOLUTELY AWESOME ( oops, two words !).

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Good value tour of Italy”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

The tour I thought was good value for the money. Accommodation was very good and the meals at dinner were very good except in one location. I did not like the bath/shower in 2 locations as there were no hand rails and dangerous for mature people like myself. The walking was more than expected but as I am a fit person was able to manage it. Would have liked longer in some places but nice not to be moving on each day and the 5 /4 nights in locations was good. The Tour Manager and Driver were exceptional and the Tour Guides in the locations were very good and knowledgeable and passionate about what they were telling us.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The Italian Grande with Albatross ”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 13 Helpful Votes View Photo

This was our first trip with Albatross after several tours with Insight so we were interested in a comparison between the two. We loved the 3, 4 and 5 night stays and the smaller group size. Our tour companions were all Australians and we got on well. Overall, the itinerary was excellent and we saw everything that we wanted to see.

The highlights of the tour were the days we spent at Lake Maggiore and the cruises we did at Cinque Terre and the Amalfi Coast. This was the best way to appreciate the spectacular scenery and coastal villages. We thought the character hotels would enhance the local experience and expected quality to suffer. The hotel locations were great but there were some problems. Generally, elevators were too small and there wasn’t enough of them which meant a lot of stair climbing for those fit enough. The hotel at Montecatini only had 2 very small elevators (maximum 4 people) and one of them broke down the day we arrived and was not fixed until 4 days later. Bathroom sizes seemed to vary and some of our companions thought they were too small though we were reasonably happy with ours.

The dinners at the hotels were of average quality except for Maiori where the food was poor. Breakfasts at all locations was very good. We found ants in our bedding each morning at Maiori and when we mentioned this to the staff we were told that it was a result of the climate and nothing could be done about it. This hotel also had a policy of no wifi in the rooms and you had to go to reception to use it. Several of our travel companions complained about the wifi on the coach. It seemed that only a certain number of passengers could log on at one time. I was keen to track our progress using the Vamoos app but I gave up early in the tour because I couldn’t get wifi access when I needed it.

On some of our stops we had too much time and at other places not enough. We found the activities that were included in the tour price were as much or less than what you would expect with Insight. Their claim that there are no optional extra costs is only because they don’t offer any. This is why, I expect, that we found we had too much time to ourselves at some places. You could wander around the streets, have lunch, shop or visit museums at your pleasure and own expense. To my mind theses are optional activities even though they are not organised or advertised. Our Tour Director was a local with more than 30 years experience but he lacked the professional experience of the Insight Tour Directors. In summary, we feel that you get better value for your money with Insight even if you have to pay for the optional experiences and tips to the Tour Director and driver.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Albatross Tours - Italian Grande Tour”
- QLD, Austalia Oct 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Had a great time & saw some fantastic places. Small group tour of 24 people was a good size. Tour guide & bus driver were excellent. Some of the hotels were not as good as we have had in the past, but overall a great trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great trip to get to know Italy!”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

This is a really good trip with lots of included meals. The trip covered a lot of varied places and activities, some stunning scenery (coastal, lakes, mountains) as well as museums, cathedrals and pretty towns. My main criticism is that too many meals were in the hotel and not in local restaurants (only 3). With the small group size, it was implied that more meals would be in restaurants rather than the hotel. The best eating experiences were at the restaurants. The hotels were generally well located and had good facilities. The castle was a unique experience. There was a good mix of local walking tours and free time, however, a couple more entry fees could've been included.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 126