Viking River Cruise Reviews

Viking
4.5 out of 5
66 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Viking. Every review has been verified.

“River Cruise in Russia ”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019 3 Helpful Votes

We have completed many coach tours and independent travel in Europe and the United States. Viking's Waterways of the Tsars was our first River Cruise - so it was a new country as well as a new travel style! There were 192 passengers on our trip, the majority from US and many seasoned cruisers! We had selected the "cheaper" window style cabin rather that a verandah cabin - it was quite spacious, provided plenty of storage and accommodated adequate river views when underway. We spent most of our on board time in scenic common areas. There were often 3-5 boats berthed alongside each other at river ports and it was often necessary to traverse several of these to access our boat, Akun.

September was "cool to cold" with beautiful Autumn coloured leaves in gardens and forests; skies were a little grey and the tourist season was drawing to a close... I would hate to be a visitor at its peak! We enjoyed having the same comfortable bed and the superb quality meals (small buffet or table service for Breakfast and Lunch; a la carte for dinner with choices from Local Specialties (this was a great way to sample traditional Russian foods) or Classic menu items. We immersed ourselves in the varied programs provided by Viking - there are no casinos or "stage shows" on board... and we did not miss them! The organisation was very efficient and professional; the staff were warm, friendly and helpful.

We travelled in the Moscow to St Petersburg direction and in retrospect I think this was the preferable direction - we had booked two extra nights, through Viking, in hotels both in Moscow and St Petersburg. It was great to have those extra nights especially in St Petersburg where the accommodation was very central and allowed lots of opportunities to explore independently. We weren't as confident and adventurous at the start of the trip! I hadn't expected the Viking river berths in both cities (3 nights at each) to be situated in such outer locations. Fortunately, the company offers many Included Tours in the program. We also selected several Optional tours. On a "free day" we travelled independently from the Moscow river berth to view Victory Park (the Great Patriotic War 1941-1945 Museum). We would recommend this if you have an interest in these tragic years of Russian History - the Viking program, as the name of the tour would indicate tends to focus more on the Tsarist history. We have visited many European cities and St Petersburg would now have to be our favourite city.

Be warned that the application for a Russian Visa is a time consuming exercise and can be costly. After obtaining the required "Invitation Letter" from Viking we were able to complete and submit our Visa application to the Russian Consulate online. Our passports were returned to us 20 days later. Our Viking booking included flights with Emirates as well as transfers to and from the airport, a stress free exercise.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic river cruise!”
- NSW , Australia Sep 2019

Viking never disappoints! This was a really interesting journey with excellent included excursions. It was a nice mix of people on the ship from different parts of the world. The food of course was of very high quality and the staff were lovely. Would highly recommend this river cruise.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2019

I will be contacting Viking directly to voice my concerns as this trip did not meet expectations. The ship repair for change of generator at the start of our journey in Lyon was a concern which dampened our enthusiasm. The quality of wine offered in the the Silver Spirit package was considerably below expectations and some of the better champagnes were out of stock mid trip. The included excursions were padded out and not to the standard experienced on our previous cruise. Very disappointing. Please feel free to forward this to Viking - it would be appreciated.

Reply from Viking:
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We always strive to exceed your expectations, therefore feedback such as yours can help us to identify areas that may require improvement. We will pass on your feedback to the appropriate teams at Viking, and we strongly recommend you include your feedback within your post cruise survey, in case you haven’t already. Despite these issues, we do hope you have some amazing memories from your time in France. Thank you once again for taking the time to write to us.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Viking river cruise”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2019

Many thanks to Juliet (who has since left!) and Jodie for organising our holiday. All dealings with Global Journeys were excellent and I have recommended your services to many others. Whilst we enjoyed our river cruise with Viking, and it was reasonably priced, it wasn’t quite what we expected. Firstly, it wasn’t as relaxing as we thought it would be, as the included tours left around 8.30am most mornings, which meant getting ready and having breakfast quite early in order to board the coach on time.

Secondly, the walking tours were painfully slow so quite frustrating for those of us who are quite fit, even though they broke the groups into “classic” and “leisurely”. The city stays at both ends of the cruise were okay, but it did mean long days travelling in the coach to get to the destinations i.e. from Paris to the ship via Luxembourg then from the ship to Prague. The included tours were pleasant (apart from the snail pace!) but the optionals were rather overpriced in my opinion so we didn’t do any.

The ship itself was quite nice. Not luxurious, but tastefully decorated and our water level cabin was adequate for our needs. We had envisaged we wouldn’t be spending much time in there and we didn’t. We were travelling with my brother and his wife and we were the only Australians on board with predominantly Americans which we found a bit loud and demanding! One man actually apologised to us for his “fellow countrymen’s behaviour”.

The tour director was lovely with a wonderful sense of humour and the service onboard was excellent. The meals and included drinks were great although the portion sizes were way too big. We did write on our review sheet that perhaps they should offer a smaller sizing for those of us who don’t usually eat that much as it seemed a waste not to eat it so we did at the start, but towards the end just couldn’t as our waistlines were expanding too much! If we were to do another river cruise we would probably look at going with a company with more Australians, New Zealanders & Brits as the clientele...

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Russian Surprise”
- SA , Australia Aug 2019

The booking procedure was seamless from selecting our holiday to the receipt of our travel documents. The airfares were organised by Viking Cruises as part of the package we chose. The major problem being the inability to pick our own seats on the plane.

The Waterways to the Tsars tour was well thought out and provided an extensive look into the past and present life of the Russian people. The local guides provided well thought out information, although we became a little tired of the Romanovs by the end of the cruise.

The on board staff were exemplary going about their tasks with a smile on their faces and were always helpful. A tremendous little touch was the gift of chocolates and a personal note from our cabin steward on the last day. The meals were OK and the ability to eat local food was a good touch. The only downside as far as the cruise was concerned was, free soft drink and alcohol was limited to meal times only and the local red wine was almost undrinkable. I was too tight to buy wine from the wine list.

The major downside happened on our way home. The plane from Moscow was an hour late leaving and we missed our connecting flight from Frankfurt to Singapore even though the plane was still in the terminal and the ground staff knew we were coming. This lead to extremely basic accommodation and meals and resulted in us having to halve our stay in Singapore and was a significant reason for our jetlag when we came home. All in all it was a good experience that could have been great if the air component had been better. I have grave doubts if I would ever fly with Lufthansa again.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable Rhine river cruise”
- TAS, Australia Aug 2019 1 Helpful Vote

We very much enjoyed our first river cruise. The included excursions were excellent though started quite early in the morning (8 - 10am) so you had to be up quite early. The lower floor cabins were fine though probably not as well laid out as some of the ocean cruises we have been on. Some of the food was lovely other meals ok. The only thing which may put me off river cruising in future is that it was near impossible to spend time away from other travellers unless you were in your room. There were no little hideaways where you could be by yourself. This surprised me but of course the boats are not that big.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A wonderful relaxing holiday!”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2019

Our first river cruise ever and it didn't disappoint! We had a French balcony room which gave us a lovely view of the river and the ship was lovely as were all the staff. The trips into the ports along the way were well organised and very enjoyable with lots to see. Food on board was very nice and the silver drinks package was well worth the cost as we got to try lots of different wines and cocktails we wouldn't normally have ordered. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable cruise. Thank you Global Journeys for making it possible!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous European Sojourn”
- WA, Australia Jul 2019 View Photo

We had a fabulous river cruise and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was excellent and varied depending on which country you were in. Our Entertainment Manager was absolutely fabulous and he had a great variety of hilarious games. Thank you.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A wonderful week of fun and relaxation ”
- WA, Australia Jul 2019

Very well organised cruise with exceptional crew. We made many friends from Canada, Greece, South Africa and the U.S. Included excursions on the cruise were great. We didn’t sign up for any of the optional excursions as we wanted to enjoy the relaxation on the ship. The weather was hot so it was nice to come back to the air conditioning on the ship after a morning excursion. Meals on the ship were first class.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A wonderful experience”
- WA, Australia Jul 2019

We have booked with Yvonne from Global Journeys for two European river cruises on Viking, very well organised, a wonderful experience, thank you for fantastic work Yvonne organising our flights etc.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Viking trip from Budapest to Bucharest”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019 3 Helpful Votes

Like any trip there are a lot of positives and an occasional grouch. Our last trip with Viking fell into that category. The trip was well organised, delivered excellent weather which made all the activities pleasant to complete and had a group of people with us of similar age and outlook.

Viking manage these trips very well and have a skilled team to ensure your outcome is as pleasant as possible. They employee local guides with good knowledge and generally coherent English language skills which is really important for those of us with hearing difficulties.

The only downside to the trip was food choices particularly at dinner were too much of the same and in some cases quality was not up to a previous high standard.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing river cruise through wonderful Holland”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019

What was so enjoyable about the cruise was the relaxed pace and plenty of opportunities to get to know our friendly fellow passengers. All the staff were also very friendly and took a personal interest in us. We were the only two non US residents out of 180 passengers and it seemed as if they were out to make us feel at home- which we felt very much indeed. There was a lot of laughter and friendly teasing.

The excursions from the ship were exceptionally chosen for their cultural and educational value. We were very impressed with our tour to the world's largest agriport and learned about their green house technology. Holland is indeed a wonderful country to explore with so much variety and diversity to offer e.g. history from the Operation Market Garden, the ingenuity of the people in their water management, and of course the beautiful tulips in Keukenhof.

One complaint is the fact that nobody told us that we could book the optional tours months before beginning the cruise - as a result of which, even though we had booked 1 year ago, we missed out on the bicycle tour. Also, if making your own transfers, one can be dismayed by the uncertainty of the ship's docking positions. We ended up cancelling our private arrangements and opted for the more expensive option of using Viking's transfers. But all in all, it was a very enjoyable experience.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Holiday! ”
- ACT, Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

We had a wonderful time and were lucky to have excellent weather. The ship was so luxurious, and we were impressed by the fantastic staff and service. Everyone was welcoming and kind. The food was delicious. Shore excursions were well organised and informative - all the locations were beautiful. Would definitely go again!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“River Cruising at its Very Best”
- NSW , Australia Apr 2019 4 Helpful Votes

We chose Viking for a higher end river cruise but value for money, including flights, and weren't disappointed! From the moment we booked with Global Journeys our travel plans and organisation was hassle free - all necessary documentation and arrangements were taken care of and anything we were required to do was well communicated and easy to complete.

Our Viking cruise was outstanding; quality food and drinks in abundance, wonderful sights and highly enjoyable included tours as well as additional ones to choose from. The crew on board were all amazing from the ship's captain to the room stewards, they function as a team and interact with all guests with a highly professional and friendly manner regardless of their position and role. This, along with the relaxed and casual atmosphere aboard, made for a quality cruise without any formalities.

Although we are in our early 50s and many of the passengers were retired, we did not feel out of place. Definitely not a party scene like larger cruise ships but plenty of opportunities for fun and relaxing. We had a lower deck cabin without a balcony or French window and it was fine as we enjoyed the views from both sides of the ship from the lounge or upper deck. The other options can be pretty one-sided and most cruising is done at night when not too much to see.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Stress free trip for China highlights”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2018 2 Helpful Votes

Viking provide a very hassle free itinerary to experience the highlights of China. Accommodation and the cruise down the Yangtze were of a very high standard. The 6 day cruise was very enjoyable and you experience travelling through the locks of the Three Gorges Dam, something that I don't think other groups all do. Extra time, especially in Xian, would be good and some rail travel rather than all air connections within China would improve the itinerary. There were no hidden extras, but the inevitable shopping stops! It was our first time travelling with Viking... The group was 95% American and most were return Viking travellers. I would have liked some more free time and options to do a little independent exploring of the cities we visited.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Golden Wedding Anniversary cruise”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 3 Helpful Votes

Four years ago we sailed with Viking on the Budapest to Amsterdam cruise and loved it so it was a no brainer for us to choose Viking again for this special cruise, France's Finest, to celebrate our Anniversary. It didn't disappoint! Viking thinks of everything and their guests are looked after from beginning to end. All the tour guides are amazingly knowledgeable and provide a wonderful commentary on the various stops along the way whether they are little hamlets or big cities, as well as including interesting little snippets of information about personalities and such..

We chose 7 optional tours in addition to the included ones because we didn't want to miss out on anything. This did make for a full on itinerary and we've returned home quite tired but that was our choice and we don't regret it at all.

We also decided to include the 3-day Loire Valley extension which was wonderful but again, very full on. The accommodation was absolutely beautiful and once again our guide was superb.

A slight disappointment for us was the cabin we chose. On our last cruise we chose a French Balcony stateroom. This time and in order to save a bit of money, we chose a room on the lowest level which didn't have an opening window. We wish we had paid the extra as we felt a bit claustrophobic. We know other people who have had no problem at all with this so this is just a personal thing.

Also impressive is the way Viking looks after everything regarding the transfer to the airport at the end of the holiday with a guide accompanying us literally to the check in counter at the airport!

Unfortunately one of us was unwell during our holiday which put a bit of a dampener on things and when the Maitre d' at the restaurant on the ship was told he was so accommodating, providing warm and comforting soup. Nothing was too much trouble.

Juliet, from Global Journeys was a gem! Attention to detail and customer service was absolutely top notch. Whenever we had a query it would be answered almost immediately and definitely the same day. We have recommended Global Journeys to our friends as being a company which really takes an interest in their customers. We wouldn't book with anyone else now that we have experienced the professionalism and friendliness that was shown to us.

Thanks so much for a great holiday.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wine & Stein on the Rhine”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018 2 Helpful Votes

Loved cruising the Rhine with Viking. They are very good at what they do and looked after us extremely well. Because of our busy pre-cruise coach tour through Europe we chose only to do the included options. This gave us time to enjoy the Rhine and the scenery that went with it while sipping on a glass of wine or beer from our balcony, lounge or top deck. Everyone from the captain to the room attendant were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing and it was great to have the choice of formal and casual dining.

Once again Georgie from Global Journeys found this cruise for us which slotted into our time frame and also liaised between Viking and ourselves for our flights.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Viking wine region cruise in Acquitaine, France”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2018 1 Helpful Vote

This cruise completely lived up to our expectations. The comprehensive excursion-included nature of this Viking cruise was highly appreciated, as it carried the consequence that there was no need to book any optional tours. The food was delicious and the accompanying local wines were excellent. Although the cruising is limited to relatively short sections of the Gironde estuary, and the Garonne and Dordogne Rivers, it covers many of the renowned wine producing regions of the Bordeaux region, through visits to quaint and historic towns and villages. All-in-all, we highly recommend this cruise.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Seine river cruise with Oxford extension”
- ACT, Australia Jul 2018

A truly wonderful experience packed with beautiful scenery and interesting historical sites, all organised extremely well. The Oxford extension added a unique personal touch when we were given a guided tour of Highclere Castle by the Duchess herself.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Beautiful scenery, wonderful tours”
- VIC, Australia Jul 2018 6 Helpful Votes

Everything was very well organised, from the tours to the daily schedule of activities. The staff were both friendly and obliging, and the food was great. The facilities were first class and spotlessly maintained.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 66