Home > Operators > Viking River Cruises > Viking River Cruises Reviews
Viking River Cruises

Viking River Cruise Reviews

The 98 Viking River Cruise reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Viking. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.6
AVG. RATING 4.6 / 5
98 Reviews
5 Star
71%
4 Star
21%
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Viking

Perfect way to see Europe   1 , QLD, Australia, Dec 2023
Two weeks aboard Viking River Ships is the most relaxing way to explore a beautiful part of Europe. To wake up in the morning and look out the floor to ceiling window and see the stunning river and scenery go past is magical. Viking made everything so seamless (including a ship swap due to flooding rivers). The staff were incredible and the ship was ...read more so comfortable and beautifully decorated for Christmas. Each town and city offered something different and we had plenty of free time in each place. A truly perfect way to travel.
Viking Grand European River Cruise     0 , NSW, Australia, Nov 2023
Our first river cruise with Viking did not disappoint! We enjoyed the excellent experience and attention we received from the staff onboard. They welcomed us onboard around 10:30am even though our boarding time was 4:00pm. We were able to leave our luggage and continue to explore Budapest. Viking provided our lunch on the first day and if we needed ...read more we could have had lunch on the last day of our cruise after checking out of our cabins at 9:00am. Viking will hold your luggage as well if you have a late flight and want to continue to see the sights after leaving the cruise. This was a thoughtful gesture.

We had a couple of things that did not go to plan. Our ship the Viking TIR had some damage because a log hit a part of the propeller and it was causing vibrations so we had an unscheduled stop in Linz so they could repair the damage. The rivers were in flood which made it difficult for the nautical crew and when we reached Passau we were advised the water level was too high for us to continue. Viking had a sister ship coming from the other side of the river and we had to pack up our things and they transferred them to the Viking VALLI whilst they put us on a bus for the planned excursion and then onto the Vali docked in Nuremberg. Because all their ships are the same we were allocated the room and we continue on without further disruption.

The included tours were informative and because we have traveled to Europe many times before we didn’t do any of the optional tours offered. I will say that I found the price of the optional tours expensive as we had been to most of the places offered and at a much cheaper cost. The food was restaurant quality and you could have as much as you wanted. The one thing I didn’t like was that lunch and dinner were at set times. The laundry was expensive however we were able to do everything except our jeans in the bathroom which had a heated floor and most things dried overnight. Most of the other passengers were in their seventies with a sprinkling of a few younger and older. Overall the experience was great and we were able to see the Christmas markets in Budapest, Vienna, Nuremberg, Kolbenz, Cologne and Amsterdam. Global Journeys and Georgie always give exceptional service and advice and we look forward to making our future travel plans with them.
Viking's France's Finest Adventure   0 , QLD, Australia, Nov 2023
We booked Viking's France's Finest river cruise with Georgie after previously sailing on their Amsterdam to Budapeat river cruise. It was fantastic. Top class cabins, tours, food, drinks and staff. We cannot praise Viking and their staff highly enough. Very pleasant and helpful. There was a problem with high water and strong current on the first half ...read more of the cruise but the staff organised for buses to take us on our tours and return us to the ship after it sailed without passengers to our next port. Everything went without a hitch.
Like many others, we have another cruise waiting for us in a few months time. Global Journeys Georgie does a great job with our bookings.
8 DAY CHATEAUX, RIVERS & WINE     0 , VIC, Australia, Nov 2023
Our Viking river cruise far exceeded our expectations. The crew provided exceptional service, the food was sensational the tour guides were professional, fun & informative, and the comfortable cabins were spacious and cleaned regularly. We will only book with Viking for future cruises and definitely recommend them to our friends. We also wanted to ...read more thank Georgie from Global Journeys for her great communication and help with our Viking holiday including organising our flights to ensure we have a seamless experience.😊
Grand European Tour     0 , SA, Australia, Oct 2023
Tracey and Global Journeys made the whole trip fit together! Viking was an excellent company to travel with and although getting late into Autumn, we didn't have all the crowds to contend with and the autumn colours were magnificent. From the moment you stepped on board, the staff were there to help you with any queries, magnificent meals, touring and ...read more just generally taking care of you. The peace of floating down the rivers and looking out were soothing. We had a main deck cabin but spent our time in the lounge or on the Aquavit Terrace. There were times on the sundeck, but fresh. The included tours were great and well organised, and then there was still a little time to explore yourself. Well worth it.
Relaxing river cruise     0 , Queensland , Australia, Oct 2023
We set off from Australia at the end of August on an almost 10 week European adventure. On our last 2 weeks we did Viking’s France’s Finest 15 day river cruise, which is in fact 2 cruises marketed as one trip. We did the Avignon to Lyon cruise first, followed by a round trip from Paris for the second. Viking transfers you via train from Lyon to Paris ...read more to do the second cruise. Both cruises were a wonderful, relaxing way to end our sometimes exhausting 10 week journey! We were blessed with pretty good weather and the itineraries on both ships were interesting .

Everything onboard was amazing, from the friendly staff, the wonderful food & wine to the included tours, complete with excellent local guides. We couldn’t fault it. It was the perfect way to end a long trip abroad. France in Autumn was beautiful with the trees changing colour and the scenery we saw from our ship was spectacular. We chose the lower deck cabins as we were travelling with a group, so not in cabins much. Perfectly fine for our needs. Many thanks to Georgie for organising this part of our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble and she happily answered all our queries!😄
Average River Cruise   0 , NSW, Australia, Sep 2023
The itinerary for this cruise was excellent. Ports of call and guides were excellent. This ship was too crowded and and the lounge could not accommodate passengers for port talks. Folding chairs needed to be found to accommodate the overflow. All passengers were Americans except for my husband and myself. Feel there needed to be more of a mix. Hotels ...read more used at each end of the tour were not that great. Hotel in Paris was supposed to be 5 star, but our fridge did not work, power outlet over desk was broken and there were cracks in the hand basin.
Everything went smoothly! Great Trip     0 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2023
Global Journeys and Jemma handled our booking process well. We loved our Viking France’s Finest cruises. We made some new friends and found the staff excellent. Loved the onshore excursions particularly Monet's Garden, and all the walled medieval villages, especially Viviers night walk. Accommodation was lovely and cruising enjoying the view was perfect. ...read more The crew of the Heimdal were particularly outstanding.
Wonderful Two River Cruise   0 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2023
We had an incredible two river cruise from Amsterdam to Avignon with Viking Cruises. Everything was first class right down to the impeccable state room service. Wonderful dining and entertainment experiences, very friendly and experienced staff and tour guides. Wouldn't hesitate in doing another Viking trip.
Amsterdam to Basel with Viking   0 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2023
Our first time with Viking. Our thoughts - the ship and crew and meals were excellent. Some communication from Viking was a little scratchy. We weren't sure which dock we were to meet the ship at and couldn't find this information in our My Viking Journey account nor was there a phone number or web site address to get the information. In the end we ...read more got it from a Viking rep who was in the foyer of our hotel the morning before we were to start the cruise. The programme seemed a bit busy. Doing an optional excursion generally meant missing the included excursion. Maybe all 7 night river cruises are like this? Viking optional tours, accommodation, transfers etc are very overpriced. Limited drinks are included with meals. A lot of top end cruise companies include all drinks in the fare. Overall we had a very enjoyable cruise, but we will always check out competitor offers before booking again with Viking.
A wonderful cruise 4 years in the making     1 , VIC, Australia, Aug 2023
Thanks to the support we received from Global Journeys and Viking we were able to finally complete our much delayed river cruise due to COVID. The communication from Global Journeys was outstanding and very supportive. Viking are the kings of the river and accomplish everything with professionalism and care.
Wonderful Viking river cruise   0 , QLD, Australia, Jul 2023
Jemma at Global Journeys was great as always. Viking river cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The tours great. Really could not fault Viking. Would recommend Viking.
Budapest to Amsterdam   0 , WA, Australia, Jul 2023
I booked a Viking river cruise through Global Journeys. The booking process was easy and having a dedicated travel consultant (Tracey) was a bonus. Tracey followed up on my queries in a timely manner. I would book online through Global Journeys again.
The river cruise was enjoyable - saw some amazing places. The on board stateroom was small but serviceable. ...read more Food was of a high quality. Due to low river water levels a boat change was necessary, however this was a streamlined process. If you enjoy river cruising would recommend Viking.
Great relaxing river cruise from start to finish.     0 , TAS, Australia, Jun 2023
My wife and I decided to travel on a Viking River cruise for the second time because of their well organised shore excursions. The ship caters for everything that you can possibly need. The accommodation was great. The food was five star to go with the overall service from the staff. From the time we walked on to the dock we were welcomed like royalty. ...read more During our cruise we have met so many nice people from all over the world and are still in touch with some and hope to catch up on our next tour. The accommodation was great. We unpacked our cases and felt like we were at home. Thank you to Globus ( and Georgie) for organising this for me. A truly wonderful holiday.
River Cruising in France   0 , WA, Australia, Jun 2023
Have just completed France’s Finest and we had a wonderful time. The first part of the cruise from Paris was very interesting with Normandy and Monet’s Garden being the high lights. I was particularly impressed with the efficiency of the cruise directors on each journey who ensured that all of the transfers to the daily excursions operated smoothly ...read more and efficiently. A little disappointed with the food on the cruises as we expected more typically French cuisine. The optional excursion we took to Ponte du Garde was fabulous and reasonably priced. Another highlight was a trip to a winery where we were able to taste wine made in the Beaujolais region. Booking with Georgie from Global Journeys was easy and Georgie answers any questions with an immediate email or telephone response.
Great cruise   1 , NSW, Australia, Jun 2023
Between great river water and awesome weather all the way, Viking's attention to service, food and overall care this was a terrific cruise. Can’t speak highly enough really. All the staff were amazing. The Verandah stateroom storage was plenty, great to get cases under bed, little fridge in room for any personal drinks you want. Nice toiletries and ...read more plenty of. We didn’t do additional tours, only included ones, all worthwhile to get an idea of the place then can go of on your own.
Grand holiday   0 , VIC, Australia, May 2023
Right from the start Hannnah from Global Journeys took care of everything she kept us up to date on information and the portal that you use is great and easy to use. The holiday is itself was amazing. Staterooms were small but comfortable and cleaned daily. Food was very very good and plenty of it. The included tours were very well organised although ...read more the optional tours I thought were too expensive. Only downside was for 5 days the sundeck was closed due to low bridges. All in all a great experience and one I would do again with Global Journeys.
Eastern Europe   2 , QLD, Australia, May 2023
Amazing cruise with exceptional views. A truly amazing trip from Bucharest to Amsterdam travelling with Viking. Definitely looking at other river cruises for the near future.
Fabulous trip through Europe   0 , TAS, Australia, May 2023
We have just completed a fabulous 3 week cruise from Bucharest to Amsterdam with Viking and could not be happier with the itinerary, the ship or its fantastic staff. The itinerary was packed with as much or as little as one required and there was absolutely no chance of getting bored! The included tours, particularly in the first week in Bulgaria, Serbia ...read more and Croatia were comprehensive and very enlightening. There was scope to look, in depth, at key political and historic aspects of the countries that we visited, or simply take in the views. The tour guides were tremendously informative and the cruise director on our ship, Viking Vidar, was peerless in his knowledge of the Rhine/Main/Danube Rivers and their respective histories. I feel as though I have learned so much and this was in spite of the fact that we had cruised from Bucharest to Amsterdam on a previous cruise!

The services on board the ship were excellent with no request too difficult for either the hotel or dining staff. The meals were fabulous and very well considered. We were fed really well, but we didn't roll off the ship in Amsterdam fearing exposure to rich food. There was always scope to eat "plain" food if desired and the access to fresh fruit and salads was exceptionally good.
The rooms were more than adequate. It would be really nice if the beds faced towards the side of the ship rather than along its length, but this was the only issue that we had with the room, which was excellently maintained and kept spotlessly clean and fresh whilst we were on board by our extraordinarily diligent room attendant. All up, we enjoyed a brilliant crise and we couldn't recommend Viking more highly.
Wonderful cruise   0 , VIC, Australia, Dec 2022
This was a really wonderful cruise with Viking from Budapest to Amsterdam. We went in December to see the Christmas Markets, which we saw in every town or city we visited. They were absolutely magical! It also snowed a few times, which made it even more special.

The shore tours that we did were great and the local guides very knowledgeable. We couldn’t f ...read moreault anything on the cruise. The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was always delicious, with plenty of choice. All of the staff on board were very friendly and always ready to help. Our room was very comfortable, with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, which is very important.

Thank you Tracey, from Global Journeys, for your help with our booking. Global Journeys have always been great to deal with and will definitely book with them again in the future. We loved absolutely everything about our cruise and can highly recommend Viking (which we have already done) to anyone wanting to do a river cruise.
Results 1-20 of 98