Home > Operators > Emerald Cruises > Emerald Cruises Reviews
Emerald Cruises

Emerald Cruise Reviews

The 18 Emerald Cruise reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Emerald. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.9
AVG. RATING 4.9 / 5
18 Reviews
5 Star
89%
4 Star
11%
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Emerald

A wonderful break   0 , Christchurch, New Zealand, Jun 2024
The Danube was flooded and the ship couldn't travel as planned but Emerald kept us well informed and provided excursions that were just as exciting as the cancelled ones. We had a great time, saw amazing things and met some lovely people. We did not feel we missed out on anything with the changes. Well done Emerald.
My Perspective     0 , QLD, Australia, Jun 2024
My wife and I have just returned from our cruise on board the Azzurra. For my wife it was her first time on the open seas, and for me, an opportunity to experience small ship cruising with one of our long term cruise line partners. I'm the CEO of of Global Journeys, so I thought I should put in some extra effort and provide you with a thorough review ...read more of our experience on board and on shore. Our rating gives it away a bit...but it's not all smooth sailing! Read my full review here if you're interested, but if not, then suffice to say, small ship cruising with Emerald will be a new experience for many and we'd both recomend this cruise and the ship to our friends and family.
Enchantment of Eastern Europe     0 , TAS, Australia, May 2024
Having already done two cruises with Emerald, we knew we would be in for a treat and invited our whole family to join us for a special celebration. The youngest two were 29 and they had as much fun with the active tours, the quizzes, the dancing and the fabulous food and wine as we did. Eastern Europe was little known to us and it's not all pretty, ...read more but we loved hearing the history and seeing the very obvious differences in architecture between the different periods. Bucharest and Belgrade were surprisingly beautiful and we loved returning to Budapest at the end of the cruise having been there five years ago. We also enjoyed a tour of Transylvania before the cruise started. We particularly appreciated the extras like a meal in a home of a local, the various rock and archaeological features along the way and the happy atmosphere on board. This was a very special family time, made even more so by the staff and facilities onboard Emerald Destiny!
Wonderful time   0 , QLD, Australia, May 2024
Relaxing river cruise with wonderful staff. Fantastic food and service. Information from cruise director very informative. They take care of people with walking disabilities in making sure we weren't left behind.
Très bon! Cruising through the south of France was one highlight of our trip!   0 , TAS, Australia, May 2024
This was our second river cruise with Emerald and we had high hopes! In spite of the email a couple of days before we were to leave Paris, that said the cruise might not be able to go ahead because of high water, we barely noticed a glitch in the itinerary. We enjoyed the pre-cruise tour of Paris and then were taken to the ship at a different location ...read more and were bussed to the scenic spots. Once again, we could not fault the service of the wonderful staff on the Emerald. The attention to detail by the housekeeping staff, the kitchen and dining room staff and the activity staff was commendable. Of course, French foods and wine were fabulous and we also enjoyed being given 30 euro to spend on lunch in Lyon. Canoeing at Avignon, the Pont du Gard and the hospital at Beaune were also highlights! C'est la vie!
Emerald European River Cruise   1 , NSW, Australia, May 2024
Have just returned from an European river cruise Amsterdam to Budapest with Emerald booked with Hannah. Communication was fast and efficient. Flights, transfers, hotel accommodation and cruise all ran smoothly. The cruise itself was amazing! We will definitely book our next holiday will Global Journeys…..thank you.
Slowly down the Mekong     1 , NSW, Australia, Feb 2024
Wonderful experience on the Emerald Harmony . Lovely crew and delicious food on board, plenty to do or as little as you want. Highlight was experiencing Siem Reap and Angkor, much changed after 20 years since last here, as was Phnom Penh and Bustling Saigon, made more colourful by being there in Chinese NY and TET.
Relaxing and interesting cruise through heart of Europe   0 , TAS, Australia, Nov 2023
We booked this cruise mid year, our first ever river cruise, to see parts of Europe we hadn't previously been to. Also for the xmas markets. The first part of our expectations was absolutely met, but for the first few days, Xmas markets were few and far between. It was a little too early it seems. I'm not sure how much information the cruise company ...read more gets about the markets, but I know there were a lot of disappointed people.

The crew were fantastic, I couldn't fault them, they gave 110% but there was still a feeling that we should have had more information before leaving and maybe a couple of the locations for tours might have been better, particularly the Cathedral at Krems. This tour was a bit of a non event as much of the building was closed. The Vienna concert evening was expensive for what it was and not particularly well organised, there was a lot of standing around before people were shown to their seats, not good for over passengers. The concert was also very short. We did another one in Vienna a week later, half the cost and lasted another 40 minutes.

All the tour guides were great though. Very informative and often funny. Great history lessons to be had. The food was excellent, varied and plentiful for a first time cruiser, there were some old hands who had done multiple cruises that didn't agree, so maybe that needs looking at. The entertainment was fun and well done, Dressen was always on the go making sure everyone was happy.

Janina worked really hard to ensure everyone was informed and catered for. Her port talks were excellent. I would have liked to have seen more scenery as we sailed along , most of our movements were done at night, possibly partly because of the shorter days too. All in all it was great , we both enjoyed it very much.
Wonders of Vietnam, Cambodia & The Mekong   2 , QLD, Australia, Nov 2023
Firstly I would like to thank Tracey, my travel consultant at Global Journeys, for all the help she gave to me in booking and processing this tour. This Emerald Cruises tour was the best trip I have been on for a long time. From day 1 arriving in Ho Chi Minh City to the end in Siem Reap the Tour Directors and their support staff along with the staff ...read more and crew on the Emerald Harmony were absolute professionals and the service provided by all was excellent.

The Emerald Harmony was a beautiful and comfortable ship and the food provided was beyond amazing, a great chef and his staff provided some of the most enjoyable meals I have experienced. The tours were short but interesting, taking into account the humidity still rather high in November. I had an amazing look into Vietnamese and Cambodian life and culture. The hotels in Ho chi Ming City and Siem Reap were excellent and very comfortable. I applaud Emerald for the support they give to various organisations, the dancing troupe, Satcha Cambodian handicrafts etc. I am highly recommending Emerald cruises and this tour and hopefully will be able to return to Vietnam and Cambodia in the future.
Vietnam and Cambodia by river   0 , Christchurch, New Zealand, Sep 2023
We have just returned from an amazing cruise on board the Emerald Harmony. Our only other river cruise was in Europe in the winter (Emerald also) so we were not sure what to expect on hot steamy days in South East Asia. From the Cruise director, AB, to the cabin staff and all in-between we were treated like VIPs and always knew what, where and why things ...read more were happening.
Sampan rides, tuktuk rides, rickshaws - all safely navigated.

The cultural events on board were worth attending and were given with passion by the people of the culture. Our new cruise friends were great fun but we also were able to find a quiet place if needed. The transfer and hotel service provided by Emerald made everything so easy so I really could relax for the whole journey. The cabins were all that was needed and were super clean and comfy.
Splendours of Europe     3 , NSW, Australia, Jul 2023
Overall a great trip with Emerald. Had good rapport with all staff and the chef catered for me being a Coeliac to the extent of a special cake for my birthday. Weather was great in July, needed a light jacket despite reports of heatwave in Europe. Group was a mixture mainly of Australians and Canadians with a few UK and USA travellers. All friendly. ...read more Overall apart from the long haul flight enjoyed every bit of it. Thanks Tracey for your help. The photo is of Durnstein. A lovely small town, try the apricot ice cream!
Sensational Emerald River Cruise!   1 , ACT, Australia, Jul 2023
Fabulous river cruise down the Danube organised through Global Journeys. We weren't sure what to expect for our first river cruise but it was sensational! We travelled with teenagers and they loved it also. Emerald organises lots of active tours for those that prefer that, as well as having the traditional activities as well. This cruise catered for ...read more everybody and we loved every part. The food, the suites, the onboard facilities and the wonderful wonderful staff. Thank you to Global Journeys for making the booking process so easy and for their great portal which was able to be accessed when we were overseas. Provided peace of mind and ease of access to all necessary information and documents.
The Majestic Rhine - Zurich to Frankfurt     3 , VIC, Australia, Jun 2023
The booking went very smoothly. The trip was fabulous and I was lucky that there was continuous sunshine. The view from the luxurious ship (Emerald Luna) was best on the last part of the trip. The highlights were Lucerne, Colmar and Strasbourg. The photograph is of Cochen Castle on the Moselle River, a short and beautiful drive from Koblenz. I ...read more enjoyed the sights, history and the wonderful food and wine.
Amazing Azzurra   4 , VIC, Australia, May 2023
Eleven days of pure bliss, our expectations were surpassed on this voyage from Athens to Athens. We could not fault any aspect of our time aboard or any of the activities we enjoyed. Special mentions go to Karen (activities), Paul (chef & his crew) and Ozay in the spa.
A wonderful insight to the history of Vietnam and Cambodia   3 , VIC, Australia, Dec 2022
This was our first river cruise and was a wonderful experience. Thanks to Hannah at Global Journeys and the helpful, attentive and friendly guides and crew. Oh so much better than a large cruise ship. The itinerary was varied and encompassed some truly magical spots, the varied cultures and history of the region, even if it was confronting from time ...read more to time. Top marks to Emerald!
Christmas Markets on the Rhine   3 , Christchurch, New Zealand, Dec 2022
We made new friends and took home many wonderful memories. From the hotel on arrival in Amsterdam to the hotel at the end in Basel, the whole trip was supremely organized. The crew onboard were very good at their job and clearly enjoyed what they do. Nothing was a problem and the smaller number on board a river boat meant we could be alone if we wanted ...read more or part of a group when we wanted. The food was outstanding.
The Best Christmas Ever   2 , Christchurch, New Zealand, Dec 2022
We made some wonderful friends, had lots of Christmas cheer and it was so easy every day. Emerald Cruises - your staff are the best. Nothing was a problem and everyone was helpful and happy. I can not believe how much Christmas we packed into 8 days!
Fantastic European River cruise   3 , QLD, Australia, May 2019
We had a fantastic trip from the initial contact with Global Journeys to the final day of the cruise. Nothing was too hard for Hannah and her communication with us was excellent. Emerald were great, the organisation of the cruise left nothing wanting, from pickup in Amsterdam to drop off at Budapest Airport. The cruise itself was very well planned, ...read more the ship is only three years old which was great. Wonderful and friendly staff and of course the food: what can be said about it , other than excellent. We would highly recommend this cruise. Our Cruise Director could not have been better, she was very knowledgeable of all areas of the rivers travelled. The shore tour guides supplied by Emerald, also, were very good and enthusiastic about the towns they were showing us.
Results 1-18 of 18

Travel Styles