Back-Roads Tour Reviews

Back-Roads
4.7 out of 5
81 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Back-Roads. Every review has been verified.

     
“Excellent tour of Emerald Isle with Back-Roads”
- QLD, Australia Jul 2019

Ireland surely is "40 shades of green", absolutely stunning and beautiful. Back-Roads was able to take us to out of the way places that larger coaches would not be able to do. The Titanic Museum was very impressive; we loved the walled city of Derry and the day excursion to Malin Head, County Donegal. Sadly we missed the beautiful south-west because of an unscheduled "excursion" to the Galway University Hospital but caught up again with the tour in Cork. The day trip to the beautiful port village of Kinsale was a highlight of the tour. Overall an excellent tour. Our tour leader, Bree, was outstanding and as always, Yvonne, from Global Journeys organised everything beautifully for us. Perfect!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“One of the most poignant, thought provoking experiences I have had”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

I’m a seasoned traveller and this tour was one of the most poignant, thought provoking experiences I have had. The wonderful guide Francis told us stories about each town, cemetery, monument and field as we visited them.

We shed silent tears together at the Menin Gate as they played the last post, we smiled at the stories of mateship, we were awestruck at the many tales of bravery by ordinary Australians so far from home, the school in Fromelles that has the huge sign in the playground “We will never forget Australia“.

I was a proud Aussie when visiting the new Sir John Monash Centre at Villers-Bretonneux. I shed the most tears at the new statue of Don’t Forget Me Cobber a call made to a chap going out into no mans land to bring back his mates. This may all sound sad but it was a wonderful experience that seeped into my soul, it was a privilege to share their stories. Lest We Forget.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Beuatiful.”
- WA, Australia Jun 2019

We went from one beautiful garden or castle to another. So much was seen. One of the highlights was the Tenterden Steam Railway. But so were Hever and Bodiam Castles! Our stay in the Mermaid Hotel in Rye was a delight. Thank you Georgie at Global Journeys for organizing everything so efficiently.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Would definitely recommend Back-Roads' Iberian Inspiration”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

Thank you Yvonne. We really appreciated your careful consideration of allowing sufficient time for connecting flights whilst still getting us the best flight deal. The Back-Roads trip was exactly what we had hoped for. Small number of great people, terrific tour and lovely guides who enhanced our travel experience with their knowledge and enthusiastic commentary, beautiful hotels and plenty of free time to explore. Would definitively recommend.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Paris to Paris, a wonderful circular journey”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

Good trip, knowledgable guide and careful driver plus a very sociable group of fellow travellers. Accommodation and included meals were variable and were indicative of the regions.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great British Tour”
- ACT, Australia Jun 2019

Our “Highlights of Britain” ten day tour was an excellent experience. The tour was very well paced and we had enough time to enjoy ourselves at each place we visited. All of the accommodation was first class with our stay at The Mulberry Inn in Wales a special treat.

Harriet is a lovely caring person and very knowledgeable guide. Chris made the whole tour feel safe and secure as he drove us through the back roads of Britain. A big thank you to the entire Back-Roads and Global Journeys teams for an excellent experience.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A Taste of Bordeaux”
- VIC, Australia May 2019

We really enjoyed our Back-Roads tour, we thought it was great that the other travellers were Australian and New Zealanders. The first night accommodation was pretty small but everything else was really good. I would've liked to have early notification of where the tour started and finished so that we organised our accommodation there but that is the only criticism- everything was really really good.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A taste of Bordeaux”
- Vic, Australia May 2019

We really enjoyed our Back-Roads tour, we thought it was great that the other travellers were Australian and New Zealanders. The first night accommodation was pretty small but everything else was really good. I would've liked to have early notification of where the tour started and finished so that we organised our accommodation there but that is the only criticism- everything was really really good.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Ireland in a week”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Everything on the tour was well organised. The timing was good but the guide was flexible too so that, for example, when the fog cleared at the Cliffs of Moher, we were still able to take the opportunity to see them. The itinerary covered a lot of territory but didn't feel rushed. I thought the selection of sites was very well chosen with good variety.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“10days highlights of Britain Back-roads”
- QLD, Australia May 2019

Wonderful way to see England and Scotland, great scenery, lots of photo stops and flexible on places and times. Our driver and guide worked together and were part of the tour, extra walks before dinner. Stopping and looking at some of the family history on the way. Highly recommend Back-Roads.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Corners of Cornwell tour”
- QLD, Australia May 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Wonderful trip, great guide and driver, scenery and little back roads travelled was just like Back-Roads said. Accommodation was excellent. I would use Back-Roads again as our preferred tour company. Tour guide Ian Williams and driver Ken were excellent and have the tours on Youtube.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour of Southern Ireland”
- WA, Australia May 2019 1 Helpful Vote

The tour was great. We had a great group of fellow Aussie travellers on the tour and our Irish coach driver and tour leader we great. The tour leader was very knowledgeable being able to talk about his country, history etc. and had a good sense of humour. The accommodation was very good as well and local guides very informative.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Ireland”
- QLD , Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

Our trip to Southern Ireland was a most memorable one. Our guide Eva was a lovely young woman with a comprehensive knowledge of the history, fables and places of interest of this beautiful country.

As there were only 6 passengers, the atmosphere on the coach was very relaxed and friendly. Our driver Brian handled his first trip with Back-Roads with professionalism and handled the sometimes very narrow back roads with caution. A great trip. Looking forward to seeing more of Ireland.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Back-Roads Belle France”
- South Australia, Australia Apr 2019

A really great trip with an excellent guide and a fantastic driver. Accommodation was great. The fellow travellers were easy, friendly company and all the places we visited lived up to expectations. Our guide took us to extra places of interest that added to the enjoyment of the trip. I just loved the part of France that we visited.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Holiday with Back Roads Touring in Ireland”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019

From start to finish our holiday to Ireland with Back Roads Touring was perfect. From Peter our wonderful Guide, his assistant Guide Gearoid (hope that's spelled right) and our very experienced and wonderful Driver Brent. We wouldn't change a thing, we went everywhere on the itinerary and had some surprise places added too. There were many laughs, some hilarious times, yes talking about you Gearoid...

The accommodation, the meals, the pre dinner get togethers, some after dinner get togethers, everything went smoothly, nothing was too much trouble and we were cared for by these 3 highly experienced and warm friendly people. Each day our destinations and plans were shared so at no time were we wondering the whys and hows, it was relaxed but organised and a well thought out itinerary.

By the end we felt as if we had gone on holidays with friends, and a few of us got a little tearful when saying goodbye back in Dublin.

We think perhaps we have been spoiled and will have trouble going on holidays with any other Touring Company. We have been on a few but this Company and the combination of people will be very hard to beat if at all possible.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A trip that didn’t quite live up to expectations”
- ACT, Australia Oct 2018 10 Helpful Votes View Photo

This was my second trip with Back-Roads - and, while good, it didn’t match the highlights of the Highlights of Britain tour. Group size of about 15, visits to key places on itinerary were good, though impacted by poor weather (no visit to St Michael’s Mount). The highlights were the visit to Tregothnan Estate and Polperro and lunch in Padstow.

Lots of references to TV series locations - Doc Martin, Poldark, Broadchurch and if you’re really into these, this tour would have extra interest. Also worth noting that the nature of a number of the villages visited (Port Isaac, St Ives and Polperro) means that the coach drops you at the top of a hill and you need to make your way back either walking (Port Isaac) or shuttle bus if available - anyone with mobility issues may need to consider this.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing tour - some great highlights including some I hadn’t expected”
- ACT, Australia Sep 2018 5 Helpful Votes View Photo

My first tour with Back-Roads and I was very impressed - group of 15 with a great guide and driver. We visited the highlights as outlined in the tour description but it was some of the additional things suggested by the guide which really elevated the tour - additional stops in small villages in the Cotswolds, a suggestion to walk up the hill above the accommodation in Wales (which was amazing in itself), or to attend a church service at York Minster on a free day. Lots of back roads (single lane country roads), great boutique accommodation that reflected the location (not large chains) and a tour guide and driver who you felt loved this part of the country and wanted to share it with you.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Iberian Inspiration”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2018 5 Helpful Votes View Photo

The trip was perfect in every way. Our tour guide Justin was friendly and approachable, very knowledgeable about the places we visited. Nothing was too much trouble and he often went out of his way to make our holiday memorable. Experienced some authentic centuries-old buildings, like palaces and convents etc. and that's just the hotels! They were great, some were in fact amazing as were the hand-picked locations. We found the middle of September was the perfect time to travel, not too hot, very comfortable to walk around and the nights were still warm. All the travellers on the coach got on exceptionally well and we made some great friends who we will keep in touch with. We would definitely recommend Back-Roads tours to our friends and family.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Corners of Cornwall”
- NSW , Australia Sep 2018 9 Helpful Votes

We did enjoy the tour. The group of travellers were all Aussies. This made for good interaction. However, it could have been pleasant with one or two Kiwis to taunt or North Americans to confuse. We were the only couple to comply with the operator's baggage limit. Our smaller bags were on occasion squeezed in, causing some concern when one of our bags was turned upside down. We were pleased with the operator's coach leader and our very competent driver. Eighteen travellers we thought was two too many. Accommodation and meals were both generally very good. However, the final night hotel was disappointing. Some of the stops on tour were rushed, leaving us disappointed with lack of sufficient time to appreciate them.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Worth Doing but a bit monotonous”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018 3 Helpful Votes

The tour was good. Small numbers on Back-Roads tours. The guide (Mark Banning) was excellent, he organised things really well and his extensive knowledge of the subject was amazing. I found the tour a bit monotonous as each day seemed to merge into all the others. The message was similar each day with only the location varying. The accommodation was varied... really excellent on day 1 (L'Hermitage) but not as good on other days. The tour does give excellent coverage of the Australian involvement in France and Belgium in WW1 so if that's your passion, you will enjoy it.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 81