Home > Operators > Back-Roads > Back-Roads Reviews
Back-Roads Tours

Back-Roads Touring Reviews

The 89 Back-Roads Touring reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Back-Roads Touring. Each review has been individually verified by our team.
4.7
AVG. RATING 4.7 / 5
89 REVIEWS
5 Star
70%
4 Star
27%
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

< Back To Back-Roads

Worry free battlefield tour     1 , NSW, Australia, Nov 2019
The highlight of the trip for our group was Armistice Day, our tour guide Steve was amazing he organised for us to lay a wreath at the Hooge Crater cemetery, 11am service. That night we attended Menin Gate to watch the Last Post, for me this was one of the most touching experiences I have witnessed, again Steve made sure we were positioned perfectly ...read more to view the ceremony. Steve’s patience and thoughtfulness made this trip a pleasure, we had great accommodation and exceptional food for the whole journey. Steve’s knowledge regarding WWI was extensive.
Great trip through Normandy, Brittany and Loire Valley   1 , ACT, Australia, Sep 2019
Trip certainly covered highlights of the areas (Monet’s Garden, Normandy Beaches, Mont St Michel and chateaus in the Loire Valley) as well as introducing us to local specialties (cider, calvados, galettes and crepes). Local accommodation added to overall feel of the trip. Days were leisurely and could have fitted more in on some days. A couple of lunchtime ...read more picnics coordinated by guide and driver really added to overall experience.
Fabulous Iberian Inspiration!     4 , NSW, Australia, Sep 2019
11 days of driving through Spain and Portugal, visiting World Heritage sites on an almost daily basis. Wonderful organisation, careful driving and a truly professional guide made this a trip to remember.
Back Roads. Back streets, back in history   4 , Auckland, New Zealand, Sep 2019
Loved our week in southern Italy wandering the back streets, driving into the hills and catching local ferries along the coast. Good friendly group of 11 from four different countries. Great guide and mother hen Elda.
Viva España   0 , NSW, Australia, Sep 2019
This is the second Back-Roads trip we have taken. The decision to try them again was very much based on the great experience we had with Back Roads in Ireland. This trip seemed a little chaotic compared to the Irish trip. Something happened to our originally designated tour leader and a replacement was made at short notice who could only be with us ...read more for 8 days then another Tour Leader joined us for the last 2 days. Both tour leaders were very good with the latter one being exceptional. However, despite this bit of chaos, the trip was great. The various towns we visited, wineries we sampled and hotels we stayed in were all first class. Our group consisted of 15 other travellers, a bus driver, a tour leader and a trainee tour leader. All accommodation was centrally located and unique, something we would struggle to organise on our own or would not happen if we were part of a large bus tour group. Overall it was a great trip, we saw a part of Spain that is not that highly over run with tourists and very unique. It was also great fun with a good group of like minded fellow travellers. Back-Roads are still very much on my preferred options list.
Outstanding introduction to Scottish Highlands and Islands   2 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2019
We were looking for a tour that would give us as much exposure to Scotland as possible in a limited time and without having to drive ourselves. This tour gave us all of that and more. We covered considerable ground but at a pace that did not feel rushed and which gave us time to visit and explore the key places of interest. The accommodation was excellent ...read more - comfortable but also with plenty of charm and atmosphere. The tour guide was superb - very mindful of our comfort and sensitive to the varied interests of the group. He also had an extraordinary knowledge of Scottish history and the ability to present it in humorous, interesting and relevant ways (and, really, you can't understand Scotland without understanding the history). The fact that we also had a bus driver meant that our guide was freed up to talk without having to focus on driving. I thoroughly recommend this tour. This was our first experience with Back-Roads and Global Journeys, and I'll certainly look seriously at both organisations for future travel.
Really informative tour   0 , NSW, Australia, Aug 2019
Georgie supplied great service and the tour was really good and informative, a lot to comprehend in a short time. The hotels started out great and in all were pretty good, the guide was good.
Fantastic round trip in Bavaria   2 , New Zealand, Jul 2019
Our tour in Bavaria last July is still a wonderful memory!! We had a great driver and very well qualified Tour Guide to fill our days with information, historical and political (her special subject), as we drove through magnificent scenery or visited the many side trips along the way. Both of us had been to this area before many years ago, but never ...read more experienced it in so much detail that this tour provided. The coaches are comfortable, even for the full compliment of passengers which was 18. I am already looking at booking another Back Roads with Global Journeys, which will be my third!
Excellent tour of Emerald Isle with Back-Roads   4 , QLD, Australia, Jul 2019
Ireland surely is "40 shades of green", absolutely stunning and beautiful. Back-Roads was able to take us to out of the way places that larger coaches would not be able to do. The Titanic Museum was very impressive; we loved the walled city of Derry and the day excursion to Malin Head, County Donegal. Sadly we missed the beautiful south-west because ...read more of an unscheduled "excursion" to the Galway University Hospital but caught up again with the tour in Cork. The day trip to the beautiful port village of Kinsale was a highlight of the tour. Overall an excellent tour. Our tour leader, Bree, was outstanding and as always, Yvonne, from Global Journeys organised everything beautifully for us. Perfect!
One of the most poignant, thought provoking experiences I have had     1 , VIC, Australia, Jun 2019
I’m a seasoned traveller and this tour was one of the most poignant, thought provoking experiences I have had. The wonderful guide Francis told us stories about each town, cemetery, monument and field as we visited them. We shed silent tears together at the Menin Gate as they played the last post, we smiled at the stories of mateship, we were awestruck ...read more at the many tales of bravery by ordinary Australians so far from home, the school in Fromelles that has the huge sign in the playground “We will never forget Australia“. I was a proud Aussie when visiting the new Sir John Monash Centre at Villers-Bretonneux. I shed the most tears at the new statue of Don’t Forget Me Cobber a call made to a chap going out into no mans land to bring back his mates. This may all sound sad but it was a wonderful experience that seeped into my soul, it was a privilege to share their stories. Lest We Forget.
Beuatiful.   0 , WA, Australia, Jun 2019
We went from one beautiful garden or castle to another. So much was seen. One of the highlights was the Tenterden Steam Railway. But so were Hever and Bodiam Castles! Our stay in the Mermaid Hotel in Rye was a delight. Thank you Georgie at Global Journeys for organizing everything so efficiently.
Would definitely recommend Back-Roads' Iberian Inspiration     3 , NSW, Australia, Jun 2019
Thank you Yvonne. We really appreciated your careful consideration of allowing sufficient time for connecting flights whilst still getting us the best flight deal. The Back-Roads trip was exactly what we had hoped for. Small number of great people, terrific tour and lovely guides who enhanced our travel experience with their knowledge and enthusiastic ...read more commentary, beautiful hotels and plenty of free time to explore. Would definitively recommend.
Paris to Paris, a wonderful circular journey   0 , VIC, Australia, Jun 2019
Good trip, knowledgable guide and careful driver plus a very sociable group of fellow travellers. Accommodation and included meals were variable and were indicative of the regions.
Great British Tour   0 , ACT, Australia, Jun 2019
Our “Highlights of Britain” ten day tour was an excellent experience. The tour was very well paced and we had enough time to enjoy ourselves at each place we visited. All of the accommodation was first class with our stay at The Mulberry Inn in Wales a special treat. Harriet is a lovely caring person and very knowledgeable guide. Chris made the ...read more whole tour feel safe and secure as he drove us through the back roads of Britain. A big thank you to the entire Back-Roads and Global Journeys teams for an excellent experience.
A Taste of Bordeaux   1 , VIC, Australia, May 2019
We really enjoyed our Back-Roads tour, we thought it was great that the other travellers were Australian and New Zealanders. The first night accommodation was pretty small but everything else was really good. I would've liked to have early notification of where the tour started and finished so that we organised our accommodation there but that is the ...read more only criticism- everything was really really good.
A taste of Bordeaux   0 , Vic, Australia, May 2019
We really enjoyed our Back-Roads tour, we thought it was great that the other travellers were Australian and New Zealanders. The first night accommodation was pretty small but everything else was really good. I would've liked to have early notification of where the tour started and finished so that we organised our accommodation there but that is the ...read more only criticism- everything was really really good.
Ireland in a week   2 , NSW, Australia, May 2019
Everything on the tour was well organised. The timing was good but the guide was flexible too so that, for example, when the fog cleared at the Cliffs of Moher, we were still able to take the opportunity to see them. The itinerary covered a lot of territory but didn't feel rushed. I thought the selection of sites was very well chosen with good vari ...read moreety.
10days highlights of Britain Back-roads   2 , QLD, Australia, May 2019
Wonderful way to see England and Scotland, great scenery, lots of photo stops and flexible on places and times. Our driver and guide worked together and were part of the tour, extra walks before dinner. Stopping and looking at some of the family history on the way. Highly recommend Back-Roads.
Wonderful Corners of Cornwell tour   2 , QLD, Australia, May 2019
Wonderful trip, great guide and driver, scenery and little back roads travelled was just like Back-Roads said. Accommodation was excellent. I would use Back-Roads again as our preferred tour company. Tour guide Ian Williams and driver Ken were excellent and have the tours on Youtube.
Great tour of Southern Ireland   2 , WA, Australia, May 2019
The tour was great. We had a great group of fellow Aussie travellers on the tour and our Irish coach driver and tour leader we great. The tour leader was very knowledgeable being able to talk about his country, history etc. and had a good sense of humour. The accommodation was very good as well and local guides very informative.
Results 1-20 of 89

Starting & Ending