Viking Cruise Reviews

Viking
4.8 out of 5
12 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Viking. Every review has been verified.

     

Ratings

5 Star
75%
4 Star
25%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Most Popular Reviews

  32 Votes   Adrian & Susan
  29 Votes   Julie & David
  27 Votes   Bill & Jan
  15 Votes   Rob & Carol
  11 Votes   Diane & Frank
“Japan, Taipei and Hong Kong”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

The quality of the Viking Orión was stunning. The food was excellent with good variety and choice. The crew were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The shore excursions were generally informative and interesting. Time on the ship went quickly due to the wide choice of entertainment, talks and topical information provided.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Viking Homelands”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019 3 Helpful Votes

We were so impressed with our recent ocean cruise onboard the Viking Sky. We boarded the ship on 25th August to do The Viking Homelands, and loved everything about the whole journey. So much to do onboard with space for everyone and the free excursions in every port with excellent local guides and time to explore afterwards, as well as optional more in-depth tours on offer. The service throughout was exceptional, as was the food and restaurant choices .

The Baltic offers so much in scenery, culture and history in a compact area and charming ports along the way. We love the mid-size ships and there was no hassles or queues getting off or on, the organisation was well done. We were blessed with wonderful weather everywhere which even Viking couldn’t have planned, only two showers in the whole two weeks, so all the warm clothing and raincoats were hardly needed. Read more about Vikings cruises, it’s all true and book through Global Journeys, they never let us down.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Viking Ocean cruising ... hard to fault”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Thanks Jemma at Global Journeys for all the work to get us on this fabulous trip. The planning and documentation phases were perfect - as was the trip. We had travelled on a Viking river cruise before - so felt confident of our choice for Viking for an ocean cruise. Wow - the Viking ocean performance was absolutely fantastic in every aspect - from the pick up at the airport, including porters for our luggage to our cabins, to an outstanding itinerary, marvellous staff, food, entertainment and variety of shore excursions. The itinerary was amazing - taking in small and large ports with amazing scenery and activities onshore.

Iceland was amazing and provided stunning scenery. The trip to the Golden Triangle was well worthwhile as an optional extension trip. The days at sea between Iceland and the Faroes and Faroes to Norway were relaxing and filled with interesting activities. Faroe Islands also had much to offer and the stop at Torshavn and included tour gave a real insight into the life of this remote place. The 4 stops in Norway were also lovely and the trips to Geiranger and Flam were excellent with great shore excursions by coaches winding up amazingly steep mountains with spectacular views.

Everything about the trip and Viking was excellent - so much so that we've booked another Viking ocean cruise for next year. Viking has spoilt us for all other cruise lines and we won't be looking further when seeking a company for our future cruising holidays. Thanks Jemma and Viking for a memorable and wonderful time.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Five Star in every respect.”
- VIC, Australia Jul 2019 9 Helpful Votes

This cruise was wonderful. The scenery was spectacular. An included optional excursion was available at every port and the arrangements for these ran like clockwork. Additionally there were a number of optional trips for which there was a charge. The times for these could be booked online pre cruise and so your personal itinerary was created. The cruise catered for approximately 900 passengers and because the ship was extremely well designed with a variety of spaces you never ever felt "crowded".

We really enjoyed the high quality of the food and we especially liked being able to book into the fine dining "Chef's Table" or the Italian "Manfredi's restaurant" if we pleased (available to all at no extra charge). A real highlight for me was participating in a French cooking lesson with 11 others. It was run by one of the chefs on the cruise. We also appreciated the talks given by the resident historians and specialists on board.

We certainly would book another cruise with Viking - in fact we have already done so! Jemma at Global Journeys was excellent. She responded to any enquiries relating to the trip very promptly and ensured all paperwork was in place in a timely manner. Thank you Jemma.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Lovely Viking cruise”
- SA, Australia Jun 2019 4 Helpful Votes

We recently travelled on the Viking Jupiter from Bergen, Norway to Greenwich, London. Our cruise ship was almost brand new, we had a very spacious room, staff were lovely and friendly, meals of very good quality. The scenery along the coast of Norway was stunning.

The optional excursions in each port were a little disappointing, not a lot to see or do in some of the ports and we had to use tender boats in most of the ports which was quite annoying. All in all though, a very good cruise, would definitely recommend doing a Viking cruise. Yvonne from Global Journeys organised our tour, she did a great job.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent cruise on Viking Sky, a lovely ship”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 5 Helpful Votes

First time we have sailed with Viking and will do so again if the right itinerary comes along. There seemed to be plenty of space on the ship. Entertainment was excellent and food was good. Met some lovely people on the cruise.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Vikings Homelands Cruise”
- TAS, Australia May 2019 8 Helpful Votes

We thoroughly enjoyed our two week Homelands cruise with Viking. From the moment we boarded this small ship we immediately felt the luxury, and the attention given by Viking staff was outstanding. We were spoilt all the way. Our stateroom was beautifully appointed. The food was excellent and the shore excursions were wonderful and so well organised. Beautiful ship Viking Sun, and the Nordic feel is very special. Great entertainment as well. The Spa is outstanding.

Looking forward to another cruise and will certainly book again with Global Journeys. Jemma organised everything so efficiently, booking good flights and attending to all my requests promptly. Our next trip will be even more relaxed knowing we will be looked after so well.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Discovering the Mediterranean ”
- QLD , Australia Apr 2019 11 Helpful Votes View Photo

We really enjoyed the cruise of the Mediterranean with Viking. The cabin with a small verandah was lovely. The meals were of high standard. The cabin crew and the dining room crew were very attentive and professional. The tours included were of high standard but had to be booked very early (as soon as they were opened on the internet) which left us no option but to book with local tours which we found were also of high standard.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Viking Orion Cruise, ”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2018 27 Helpful Votes

Almost new ship, with very good Penthouse suite, plenty of storage, great bathroom. Destinations were the attraction to book, and very good also, but August September 2018 very hot, especially in Egypt and Jordan, the worry of heat leading to our non-appearance for the Petra excursion. August & September proved to be a bad time for such a cruise and its excursions. Excellent on-board lectures/lecturers. Food OK, but a little below our expectations. Evening entertainment limited. All staff terrific.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Happy sailing with Viking”
- ACT, Australia May 2018 32 Helpful Votes

The cruise was everything we had hoped for. The ship was beautifully presented with many areas to relax and enjoy the scenery. The food and service in the World Cafe was exceptional. Housekeeping was also exceptional with friendly staff who were always there to assist. The Port Talks were very useful and informative and we recommend guests attend them to get the most from their shore excursions. Once again Global Journeys were great and we look forward to booking further cruises with them.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Viking Ocean Adventures”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2018 15 Helpful Votes View Photo

Great cruise, one of the best we have done. Our booking, Viking Sky, the food, the ports, the crew, the cabin were all excellent.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Cruising the Caribbean in Comfort and Style”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2018 29 Helpful Votes

As a first experience of ocean cruising, Viking has probably spoilt us for a number of other lines. While not a small ship (~900 passengers), we did not encounter the congestion that we imagine happens in much larger ships. The stateroom was lovely, the bathroom larger than expected and very functional, with plenty of storage for everything.

Dining options were varied and all very good. Most notably, the tasting menus at The Chef’s Table, which we booked three times, were absolutely exquisite. All the included extras (shore excursions, drinks and wifi) as well as the “no casino, no kids” policy made a positive difference.

The “Viking Sea” is only 2 years old and is decorated in sleek and simple Scandinavian style, featuring beautiful Scandinavian artworks. The ship is spotlessly clean, and one of the highlights was the exceptional quality of all the onboard staff, who were friendly, helpful, engaging, and always happy to have a chat. Viking must have an impressive staff training program.

Our itinerary for the 11 day cruise was a busy one and the included shore excursions were all excellent and very well organised. We visited 9 different islands, with different history, scenery and cultures, shown to us by excellent local guides, and all were both beautiful and fascinating.

The days when we did additional optional excursions were very busy, but we especially loved the French Cooking Class with a local chef in Saint Martin. We were sad to see the lingering devastation of cyclones going back a number of years on all the islands. I would recommend this cruise to others and I am sure that we will travel with Viking again in future.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-12 of 12