Scenic Tour & Cruise Reviews

Scenic
4.5 out of 5
36 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Scenic. Every review has been verified.

     
“Terrific river cruise :)”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

We totally enjoyed our River Cruise. Booking through Global Journeys was sooo easy. Communication was great and nothing was to much trouble. We found communication with Global Journeys much easier than communicating directly with river cruise company. The cruise was great - we were a bit concerned that the age demographics would be older than us but that was not the case. There was a great mix of ages on the ship and we have formed some strong friendships. There was a late change of ship which we were disappointed in but Scenic went out of their way to ensure they made up for any disappointment. We would definitely do another river cruise and we certainly will be booking that through Global Journeys. Very happy customers.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Scenic Tour Portugal, Spain & Bordeaux river cruise in France”
- SA, Australia Sep 2019

Our booking through Global Journeys was all via email and went very smoothly, without any hitches. We would not hesitate to book with them once again and in fact already have!! The Scenic 21 Day Western Discovery Tour was very well organised and all went well. The Bordeaux River cruise varied a little from the original program, but this part of the tour depends on tides and water levels. We saw everything that was listed in the programme and more, but just not in the same order as listed. Scenic is a very professional team and we have travelled with them several times before and certainly will do again. They may be a little more expensive than some other tour companies, but we would recommend them to everyone.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

The scenery was brilliant. The service in the restaurant was just below perfect. The reason for this qualification was due to all the smorgasbords. There was an additional specials menu - twice we ordered from this but the meals didn't turn up. Free beverages were excellent.

Another thing mentioned and rectified was all the 'double beds' on the ship were in reality single beds put together. Put my leg through the centre and could have broken a leg or ankle. Fell out of bed with the mattress. Hello, passenger in danger. They did bind this one up and then I was okay. The Palais Liechtenstein Mozart and Strauss concert was perfect. All transfers were very good and prompt.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Holiday”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

Rocky Mountains are an exciting experience. The beauty of the mountains and lakes are everywhere around you. A sight to behold.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing river cruise”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2019 1 Helpful Vote

The river cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest was an excellent way to travel. It was fully catered and the food selection was varied to provide dishes from the country you travel through. It gave us an opportunity to taste food that we may not have ordered from a restaurant elsewhere. We enjoyed the ability to integrate cycling with our sight seeing. The Scenic river cruise was indeed scenic and the onboard app provided great insights to the various castles, churches and towns as we passed by.

The staff on this Scenic river cruise were friendly and very pleasant to deal with. Our cruise director was the best we have ever had compared to our travels. He was always around to help people with their queries and had a great dry sense of humour. We really enjoyed this cruise and would recommend it to others. Our booking through Global Journeys was simple, easy and without any problems. Anything that was promised was delivered on time and without any need for us to chase. This gave us the opportunity to start our trip in relaxed frame of mind and to enjoy the experience.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fascinating trip from Moscow to Berlin via St Petersburg and the Baltic States”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019 View Photo

We booked this trip because it offered something a bit different from our usual European holidays, and we were not disappointed. The tour operator, Scenic, were excellent. Our trip started in Moscow, where we were met at the airport and driven to our cruise ship, the Scenic Tsar. This is a smaller ship than some others, only taking a maximum of 96 guests, which meant people mixed well and we met some lovely friends. Three tour directors looked after all our excursions, as well as offering some fun entertainment on board. They were a talented group, and we learnt Russian history, language, cooking and Matryoshka decoration. The ship's crew, all Russian, spoke good English, and catered for our every need.

After the cruise we were accompanied on a train journey to Helsinki, where we continued our tour through the Baltic States, again learning much history and culture, as well as seeing some lovely cities and countryside. Our tour director was wonderful, and we couldn't have been better looked after. On both parts of the tour we experienced some wonderful cultural events, excellent accommodation, comfortable travel and some great meals. We would definitely take another trip with Scenic, and happily use Global Journeys to book, as they were very organised and helpful. We really appreciated being able to log on to our record and check how the planning was progressing.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“22 days from Paris to Porto with Scenic”
- ACT, Australia Jun 2019

Firstly, I have nothing but praise for Jemma Rosen and Global Journeys in how our trip was organised. Jemma was always helpful, efficient and considerate in replying to any queries we had. This trip included two river cruises, the first in Bordeaux and the second on the Douro River in Portugal. Compared to other river cruises we have done, the Bordeaux trip was a little disappointing - the scenery is not as picturesque and the rivers are very muddy.

The cabin on Scenic Diamond was very cramped and smaller than those we have experienced on APT river cruises. Staff on board and meals were excellent. Most excursions were very good but some hot weather at the time spoilt several excursions. We enjoyed the cruise on the Douro River very much and would recommend it. Scenery was beautiful and excursions were excellent. The cabin on Scenic Azure was a better size. At least there was room for a chair but there was still a problem with very limited room between the sides of the bed and the walls.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Tour”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019

We had a wonderful time on this tour with a great group of Australians. We stayed in amazing hotels and lodges and ate plenty of delicious food. In total we saw over 40 different mammals and many birds. It got to the stage where we didn't think we could possibly take another photo of an elephant etc but the next day we would be taking yet another photo. It was in the first game park we saw the big five and we saw them again in some other parks. It was very exciting to see so many animals right beside our vehicle. Our tour director was absolutely amazing. His knowledge was incredible. He was super organised and had a great sense of humour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Scenic River Cruise Amsterdam to Budapest exceeded our expectations”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

We booked our Scenic River Cruise with Paris and Prague extensions through Hannah at Global Journeys and I cannot speak highly enough of the excellent service we received. Hannah was always available to answer our questions and always answered our queries promptly and courteously.

Our Scenic trip through Europe was fantastic and was everything we imagined. This trip would suit anyone in our age group (+65) looking for an all inclusive, fully organised tour through some of the prettiest places in Europe with the bonus of unpacking just once. The food on board the Scenic ship was first class and Scenic's included experiences and activities made it an unforgettable holiday.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Magnificant sites but poor quality of most of the accommodation and food”
- QLD, Australia May 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This tour was not stand alone (which was unbeknown to us) it was added onto another tour that started in San Francisco so nearly all the participants had already been together for about 12 days so no welcome meeting.

The Bellagio was very good and all the National Parks were magnificent, just what we hoped for, but with the exception of Las Vegas and Springdale the quality of service and accommodation was not up to the standard we expected of a Scenic tour and for the price we paid. The accommodation in the Grand Canyon was very disappointing and we had to get a shuttle bus to another hotel to have breakfast each morning. The tour director did this as she felt the breakfasts were better there. We are not so sure it was terrible service as was the food.

The Enrich excursions we rate as follows; Cirque du Soleil's "O" was fantastic. The Grand Canyon Flightseeing was excellent with the exception of the provided lunch which was terrible. The cruise on Lake Powell was very disappointing and over-crowded boat with no bar facilities, not what we expected from a Scenic Enrich excursion. The accommodation and service at the hotel was very unsatisfactory. It would have been better to have had an additional day in Springdale.

On other tours with APT, Trafalgar and Scenic there was a choice on provided Dinners of where you could eat, not on this tour. We also received at least one complimentary drink with dinner and an official group photo was always provided (by a qualified photographer) not a blurred photo taken by the tour director on her iPad.

We wondered, as did other travellers, whether this was a Scenic tour or their sister company Evergreen. In addition the tour bus was uncomfortable compared with other tours we have been on but we were wowed by the natural beauty and awe of the national parks and the glitz and hype of Las Vegas

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Canadian Rockies and Alaskan tour”
- SA, Australia May 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Thank you to Jemma at Global Journeys and Scenic for organising this once in a lifetime trip for us. Everything was perfect and we thoroughly recommend this tour. The Canadian Rockies are just stunning from the coach trip and Gold Leaf Rocky Mountaineer train trip and the boat trip to Alaska were unforgettable.

We didn't have to worry about a thing and the scenery, accommodation, food, and service was just wonderful. Our Scenic Tour guide Karen was exceptional. We could not fault a thing and we will definitely be booking again with Jemma and Global Journeys.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing and stress free City Stay and River Cruise”
- SA, Australia May 2019 3 Helpful Votes

The trip started in Prague where the hotel was very good and centrally located. All you get from Scenic here is a walking tour of the old town on the first morning and my only criticism would be that the walking tour was a bit too long. The rest of the time was ours to explore the town.

The river cruise is difficult to fault. Everything was very well done and totally stress free. A word of advice for those who think river cruising is like the advertisements where you sit on your balcony and watch the world go by. Reality on this cruise is that most cruising is done overnight. The best daytime cruising happens on the day between Passau and Linz but most people miss it because they are off the ship on all day excursions to either Chesky Krumlov or Salzburg. If you don't want to spend 10 hours on either of these excursions with a lot of time spent in the buses getting there and back, stay on the ship for a very nice and quiet day of cruising.

About 20 people stayed on board that day and we enjoyed a nice relaxed lunch while cruising a very nice stretch of river. You also get time to walk around Passau and Linz whereas those on the excursions don't see these places as they leave at 8 am and don't get back until 6 pm. The only other daytime cruising occurs one afternoon through the Wachau Valley and an afternoon between Vienna and Budapest.

Overall we had a great trip and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“River cruising on The Rhine & Moselle”
- VIC, Australia Apr 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Throughout our journey we were looked after every step of the way. We came across Global Journeys online and were very impressed with the service right from the beginning and each step of the way. Hannah was very friendly, helpful and kept us well informed.

We were away for a total of three weeks on a Scenic European River Cruise along the Rhine and Moselle Rivers which also included a 5 day land tour of Switzerland. The ship was very comfortable, well equipped and modern. The staff and local guides were all very knowledgeable and we enjoyed the variety of day tours and activities on offer. The scenery was amazing and it was lovely to sit back, relax and watch the world go by.

We highly recommend this trip and thank you to Global Journeys for all their help. We would definitely use their services in the future.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour through the South of France ”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019 3 Helpful Votes

Our second trip with Scenic on this particular cruise. As usual the staff were great and the accommodation clean and comfortable. A very enjoyable trip and we visited a couple of places that hadn’t been included on the last one. All in all we had a very enjoyable trip.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Christmas Wonderland with Paris & Prague”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 5 Helpful Votes View Photo

Had a great time in Paris, the Lido was club fabulous. Found the ship & crew very accommodating, the excursions were rushed & if you weren’t one of the tour directors favourites you didn’t receive same service. Very disappointed with Xmas day, the food was ordinary & nothing different was offered. Except for 6 people all Australians on board, no entertainment to accommodate them. Crew were great. Overall a good trip but not a great trip. Global Journeys did a great job of organising this trip thanks to Hannah.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Scenic River Cruise Basel to Amsterdam”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 9 Helpful Votes

This was our third river cruise, and it is still the best way to travel. Unpack once, sit back and watch the world go by. However tours are available every day in a different city. Please yourself with what you do. All people are different and expect different things, we rarely used the butler as it is not our thing. We have been with another river cruise company (Avalon) and found their food and entertainment much better. Once again it's the only way to travel and relax.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful holiday”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 18 Helpful Votes

We thought the cruise was terrific even though we changed boats three times. I don't think Scenic could be blamed for lack of water in the river system, and the transfer from one boat to the other ran smoothly. I do think Scenic could have been more direct in the information given. I am definitely going with Scenic again and am looking to do USA/Canada/Alaska either next year or the year after. I think the all inclusive trip was just what it said, all inclusive, which I found was exceptional.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Grand Alpine and River cruise”
- SA, Australia Sep 2018 5 Helpful Votes

We travelled from Zurich to Budapest by coach and then did a river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam, both trips with Scenic Tours. We had a fabulous time on both trips. The scenery in Switzerland was amazing, particularly when we travelled through the Swiss Alps. Seeing the Matterhorn was one of the highlights, we had a magnificent view from our bedroom window in Zermatt.

The river cruise was wonderful, although a little stressful as river levels were very low and we weren’t sure if we would be able to cruise all the way to Amsterdam. Our cruise director was very good and kept us informed daily. We were actually the first Scenic cruise ship in 3 months to make it to Amsterdam without needing to transfer to coaches or change ships, we were very fortunate. Made some lovely new friends who we are going to catch up with next year. Yvonne was always very helpful and prompt in returning any calls or emails I sent, we really appreciate all her help with our booking. We would certainly recommend this trip.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great wildflowers in WA”
- ID, United States Sep 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo
Trip: Scenic Tour & Cruise (MWA-1)

My Dolphins and Wildflowers tour in Western Australia was very enjoyable and just the right length. Working with Global Journeys made the booking process easier, probably, than going direct to the tour operator. I don’t live in Australia, yet was booking the tour to be in Australia, so I needed folks who would be responsive and attentive. Madeline kept me informed of the booking confirmation process along the way and, I’m sure, saved me a bit of money.

As for the tour, I was the only non-Australian, and appreciated the acceptance of the group and their willingness to answer my touristy questions. I travel solo and was pleased to see there were other solo travellers too. We went to places I never would have known about if I were trying to book everything myself. The tour guide and driver both were very knowledgeable and a joy to be around.

I was happy not to have to get back on a coach again after the tour was over, but long days of travelling is just part of the process when travelling in Western Australia. I would have liked some more time to explore some of our stopovers, but then that might have meant an even longer tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Holiday ”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2018 4 Helpful Votes

Right from the first contact with Global Journeys through to the end of our cruise it was seamless and carefree. Hannah was great with our booking and Scenic Tours is simply amazing.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 36