Japan Hike, Bike & Kayak

13 Day Small Group Tour from Osaka to Tokyo with G Adventures

Book online and enjoy exclusive savings on G Adventures 13 Day Japan Hike, Bike & Kayak. There's so much to discover in the Land of the Rising Sun. So we've taken our favourite must-see highlights and major cultural touchstones like Kyoto and Hiroshima, combined them with visits to lesser known areas, and packed everything...read more

     
Our Price From:
$ 4,863
Per Person ($AU)
Save This Month:
$ 996
Per Person ($AU)
Small Group Tour Starts In
Starts In
Osaka
Small Group Tour Ends In
Ends In
Tokyo
Trip Budget
Budget
Affordable
16
Max Group Size
16
Rail Journey
Trip Style
Rail Journey
Cycling
Trip Style
Cycling
Moderate
Trip Pace
Moderate
Countries Explored:
Japan
Trip Operated By:
G Adventures
G Adventures
38 Reviews
Trip Reviews:
No Reviews
Trip Code:
AJHB

Itinerary

Expand All
1 Osaka
We highly recommend booking pre-accommodation in Osaka to see more of this interesting city. Stay: Shin-Osaka Esaka Tokyu Rei
2 Osaka - Chikatsuyu
Take the train from Osaka to Chikatsuyu to begin the Kumano Kodo pilgrimage hike. Stay: Sansuikan Kawayu Matsuya (D)
3 Chikatsuyu - Katsuura
Enjoy a day hike along the Kumano Kodo pilgrimage route, reach the Hongu Taisha Shrine with the largest torii gate in Japan. Afterwards, board a bus for coastal Katsuura. Stay: Urashima Hotel (B/D)
4 Katsuura - Wakayama
Hike to one of Japan's best-known waterfalls and the Kumano Nachi Taisha, an ancient site along this pilgrimage trail, before heading to Wakayama for the night. Stay: City Inn Wakayama
5 Wakayama - Kyoto
Visit the impressive site of Wakayama Castle before transferring by train to Kyoto. Stay: The b Kyoto Sanjo
6 Kyoto
Take in the vibrant colours of Fushimi Inari shrine and explore the historic side of Kyoto. Stay: The b Kyoto Sanjo
7 Kyoto - Onomichi
Explore more of Kyoto with free time before taking the train to Onomichi. Stay: Alpha 1 Onomichi
8 Onomichi - Ikuchi Jima
Enjoy a day of cycling across bridges and islands to the south of Honshu, exploring small villages along the way. Spend the night in a ryokan inn on Ikuchi Jima and savour a traditional kaiseki meal. Stay: Suminoe Ryokan (D)
9 Ikuchi Jima - Matsuyama
Cycle along the Shimanami Kaido towards Imabari City. Continue on to Matsuyama to rest for the night. Stay: Matsuyama Tokyu Rei Hotel (B)
10 Matsuyama - Hiroshima
The large Peace Park in the centre of the city is an extremely moving place dotted with memorials of those killed by the atomic bomb and others who subsequently died. The burning flame in the park will only be extinguished when all nuclear weapons in the world have been destroyed. Take a tram ride through the city to reach Peace Park. Stay: Hotel New Hiroden (B)
11 Hiroshima
Travel to the island of Miyajima from Hiroshima. Hop into a kayak and paddle out to the iconic torii gate which floats in the bay. Stay: Hotel New Hiroden
12 Hiroshima - Tokyo
Transfer to the bustling metropolis of Tokyo by train and explore with some free time in the afternoon. Stay: The B Ikebukuro Tokyo
13 Tokyo
Depart at any time. We highly recommend booking post-accommodation to fully experience this vibrant city.

G Adventures Inclusions

Expand All
Journey Highlights
  • Hike along the Kumano Kodo pilgrimage route.
  • Cycle between islands in rural Japan.
  • Visit the Fushimi Inari Shrine in Kyoto.
  • Explore Wakayama castle.
  • Kayak to the famous floating torii gate at Miyajima.
Trip Inclusions
  • Hike the Kumano Kodo Trail (3 days)
  • Wakayama Castle visit
  • Fushimi Inari Shrine visit
  • Shimanami Kaido Cycling Route (2 days)
  • Hiroshima Peace Park and Museum visit
  • Miyajima Island visit with sea kayaking
  • Traditional ryokan stay with kaiseki meal
  • All transport between destinations and to/from included activities
Accommodation
  • Hotel (9 nights), traditional inn (3 nights)
  • Japan is one of the most populous countries in the world and space is at a premium. Therefore, hotels rooms are small! Additionally, most Japanese hotels do not have designated non-smoking rooms. Therefore, we ask hotels to deoderise rooms before check in.
  • Ryokan are traditional inns found across Japan. Featuring tatami floors (soft mats of woven straw), futon beds, Japanese-style baths, cotton kimono (casual robe worn to lounge around or to head to the bath), and elaborate meals (often served in the comfort of your own room), a ryokan is the perfect place to experience traditional customs and hospitality. As ryokan are usually top tier accommodations, most guests stay only one night, often to celebrate a special occasion or holiday. Don't be intimidated by the formalities inherent to a stay at a ryokan, your hosts will welcome you the same way they do all their guests. Have fun and enjoy this relaxing opportunity to learn more about Japan's unique customs.
  • Minshuku are Japan's answer to the Western bed and breakfast. Similar to ryokan, they have traditional features like tatami floors, futon beds, and Japanese-style baths. Minshuku are often family-run, and as such they offer a great opportunity to interact with local people and learn more about the nation's customs. More affordable and simpler than ryokan, minshuku tend to have smaller guestrooms, shared bathroom facilities, and any included meals (traditional, local, and delicious) are served in a communal dining room.
Your Tour Guides
  • Chief Experience Officer (CEO) throughout, local guides
Meals Included
  • 3 breakfasts, 3 dinners included throughout this tour
Transport
  • Local train, local bus, bicycle, kayak, walking
Read Trip Notes
  • Trip Notes outline what's included, visa information, important notes, how to get to your accommodation, packing checklist, optional activities, travel insurance requirements - pretty much everything you need to know about this adventure and more. Please take time to have a read through, and contact us if you have any questions. View Trip Notes

Prices & Dates

Best Price Guarantee We'll beat any G Adventures quote!
Repeat Travellers Past 'G' clients save additional 5%!
Past Client? Save an additional $100 per booking!
Trip Starts Trip Ends Status Offer Save Now Our Price  
Wednesday 11 Sep 2019 Monday 23 Sep 2019 234per person 5,625per person Enquire
Wednesday 25 Sep 2019 Monday 07 Oct 2019 234per person 5,625per person Sold Out
Wednesday 16 Oct 2019 Monday 28 Oct 2019 234per person 5,625per person Enquire
Wednesday 20 Nov 2019 Monday 02 Dec 2019 996per person 4,863per person Enquire
Wednesday 25 Mar 2020 Monday 06 Apr 2020 234per person 5,625per person Enquire
Wednesday 01 Apr 2020 Monday 13 Apr 2020 234per person 5,625per person Enquire
Wednesday 08 Apr 2020 Monday 20 Apr 2020 234per person 5,625per person Enquire
Wednesday 15 Apr 2020 Monday 27 Apr 2020 234per person 5,625per person Enquire
Wednesday 13 May 2020 Monday 25 May 2020 234per person 5,625per person Enquire
Wednesday 27 May 2020 Monday 08 Jun 2020 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 10 Jun 2020 Monday 22 Jun 2020 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 24 Jun 2020 Monday 06 Jul 2020 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 15 Jul 2020 Monday 27 Jul 2020 220per person 5,279per person Sold Out
Wednesday 19 Aug 2020 Monday 31 Aug 2020 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 09 Sep 2020 Monday 21 Sep 2020 234per person 5,625per person Enquire
Wednesday 23 Sep 2020 Monday 05 Oct 2020 234per person 5,625per person Enquire
Wednesday 14 Oct 2020 Monday 26 Oct 2020 234per person 5,625per person Enquire
Wednesday 18 Nov 2020 Monday 30 Nov 2020 234per person 5,625per person Enquire
Wednesday 24 Mar 2021 Monday 05 Apr 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 31 Mar 2021 Monday 12 Apr 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 07 Apr 2021 Monday 19 Apr 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 14 Apr 2021 Monday 26 Apr 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 21 Apr 2021 Monday 03 May 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 05 May 2021 Monday 17 May 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 12 May 2021 Monday 24 May 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 26 May 2021 Monday 07 Jun 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 09 Jun 2021 Monday 21 Jun 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 23 Jun 2021 Monday 05 Jul 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 14 Jul 2021 Monday 26 Jul 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 28 Jul 2021 Monday 09 Aug 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 18 Aug 2021 Monday 30 Aug 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 08 Sep 2021 Monday 20 Sep 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 15 Sep 2021 Monday 27 Sep 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 22 Sep 2021 Monday 04 Oct 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 13 Oct 2021 Monday 25 Oct 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Wednesday 17 Nov 2021 Monday 29 Nov 2021 220per person 5,279per person Enquire
Key
Exclusive Global Journeys Savings. Available for a limited time or until sold out.
Note: Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.

Similar Tours

14 Days Tokyo to Tokyo
Operated By: G Adventures
13 Days Tokyo to Sapporo
Operated By: G Adventures
12 Days Tokyo to Kyoto
Operated By: G Adventures
Trip Notes
Trip prices are per person, and reflect applicable discounts. Discounts are subject to availability, exclusive to Global Journeys and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Trip prices are correct at the time of the products going live, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking. All trip information is correct at time of trips going live, however are subject to change by G Adventures. Full terms & conditions are available here.