Home > All Tours > UK & Ireland Tours > England Tours > Walking The Best of Hadrian's Wall

Walking The Best of Hadrian's Wall

  No Trip Reviews No Booking FeesDedicated Consultant
Our Price From 1,126 Per Person
Exclusive Savings 35 Per Person
 Trip Length
6 Days
 Trip Starts
Greenhead
 Trip Finishes
Corbridge
6 Day Walking The Best of Hadrian's Wall Itinerary (Exodus)
Countries Explored: England
Trip Operator:
Budget
Affordable
Pace
Leisurely
Trip Style
Walking & Trekking
Trip Code
W05HW

Overview

Book online and enjoy exclusive savings on Exodus 6 Day Walking The Best of Hadrian's Wall. An immense feat of labour, the building of the wall started in AD122 during the reign of emperor Hadrian and took 6 years to complete. Three Roman legions completed the task of building a 73 mile long wall with 80 milecastle fortlets with two observation turrets between each one and then larger garrison forts every five miles or so along the wall.

This 5-night self-guided walk along Hadrian's Wall, from West to East, starts at Lanercost Priory and ends in Corbridge, taking in some of the best-preserved...read more Roman sites in the UK. We've chosen this route direction so the prevailing winds (and any inclement weather!) are always at your back and the scenery in this direction is considerably better than the other way round.

You'll have the possibility of visiting some amazingly well-preserved sites including the following: the Roman forts of Birdoswald, Vindolanda, Housesteads and Chesters and Lanercost Priory. The route also passes the world-famous Sycamore Gap as well as some fabulous rolling Northumberland countryside and craggy hillsides, such as those of Walltown, Winshield and Sewingshields Crags. You finish your route in the affluent and once-bustling Roman town of Corbridge.

You'll stay in welcoming inns, guesthouses and B&B's with hearty Northumberland breakfasts to set you up for a day of exploring.

Itinerary

Arrive in Greenhead and overnight.

Take a taxi to Lanercost Priory (payable locally) to discover the beauty and tranquillity of Cumbria's best-preserved Augustinian monastery with its intact triple tier arches and cloisters. Walk back to the hotel in Greenhead along Hadrian's Wall Path via Birdoswald fort and the longest remaining stretch of the wall. Overnight in Greenhead (B).

Follow the Hadrian's Wall Path (and parts of the Pennine Way) to Once Brewed, passing the Walltown Crags, Cawfields Milecastle and Winshield Crags. Extend your walk to the Roman Fort and Museum at Vindolanda, constructed before Hadrian's Wall as a garrison on the Stanegate Road – the first Roman frontier in the north. Stay in Once Brewed overnight (B).

Today's walk takes you along Hadrian's Wall Path past the famous Sycamore Gap to enjoy fabulous views of Crag Lough and the rolling Northumberland hills. Visit the Housesteads Roman Fort & Museum – one of the best-preserved Roman forts in the country and enjoy the interactive museum experience. Walk along the Sewingshields Crags and on to Chesters Fort before stopping overnight in Chollerford (B).

Follow the Hadrian's Wall Path to visit St Oswald's Church, then head south, away from the B-road section, towards Corbridge and Aydon Castle (closed on a Mon & Tues). This fortified 13th century English manor house is almost completely intact and has a walled orchard perfect for picnics. Continue on to affluent Corbridge to visit this once bustling Roman town and supply base. Stay in Corbridge overnight (B).

Depart after breakfast (B).

Trip Inclusions

  • Walk along Hadrian's Wall - the largest historical monument in Britain
  • Visit the ancient Roman forts of Birdoswald, Vindolanda, Housesteads and Chesters
  • Walk from West to East, keeping the prevailing winds behind you (and better views)
  • Beautiful scenery with views across to the Lake District and the Northumberland Coast
  • Discover other historical buildings including Lanercost Priory and St Oswald's Church

  • All breakfasts
  • Route notes and maps
  • Luggage transfers between hotels

  • Itinerary and inclusions are subject to change
  • Price is for land, cruise and internal flights as specified.
  • Flights not specified are not included
About Exodus Travels
About Exodus Travels

Hit the trails with Exodus - from challenging peaks to leisurely coastal and countryside walks. Read more

Exodus Trip Leaders
Exodus Trip Leaders

Exodus chooses their Leaders carefully. Professional, dedicated and are passionate about sharing their home countries. Read more

Accommodation with Personality
Accommodation with Personality

Wherever possible, Exodus chooses properties that are locally owned and that reflect the area you are visiting. Read more

Availability

Tuesday 04 Apr 2023
Sunday 09 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Wednesday 05 Apr 2023
Monday 10 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Thursday 06 Apr 2023
Tuesday 11 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Friday 07 Apr 2023
Wednesday 12 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Tuesday 11 Apr 2023
Sunday 16 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Wednesday 12 Apr 2023
Monday 17 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Thursday 13 Apr 2023
Tuesday 18 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Friday 14 Apr 2023
Wednesday 19 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Tuesday 18 Apr 2023
Sunday 23 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Wednesday 19 Apr 2023
Monday 24 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Thursday 20 Apr 2023
Tuesday 25 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Friday 21 Apr 2023
Wednesday 26 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Tuesday 25 Apr 2023
Sunday 30 Apr 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Wednesday 26 Apr 2023
Monday 01 May 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Thursday 27 Apr 2023
Tuesday 02 May 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Friday 28 Apr 2023
Wednesday 03 May 2023
Status
From: $1,149 $1,126
Save $23 Enquire
Tuesday 02 May 2023
Sunday 07 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Wednesday 03 May 2023
Monday 08 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Thursday 04 May 2023
Tuesday 09 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Friday 05 May 2023
Wednesday 10 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Tuesday 09 May 2023
Sunday 14 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Wednesday 10 May 2023
Monday 15 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Thursday 11 May 2023
Tuesday 16 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Friday 12 May 2023
Wednesday 17 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Tuesday 16 May 2023
Sunday 21 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Wednesday 17 May 2023
Monday 22 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Thursday 18 May 2023
Tuesday 23 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Friday 19 May 2023
Wednesday 24 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Tuesday 23 May 2023
Sunday 28 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Wednesday 24 May 2023
Monday 29 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Thursday 25 May 2023
Tuesday 30 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Friday 26 May 2023
Wednesday 31 May 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Tuesday 30 May 2023
Sunday 04 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Wednesday 31 May 2023
Monday 05 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,699 $1,665
Save $34 Enquire
Thursday 01 Jun 2023
Tuesday 06 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 02 Jun 2023
Wednesday 07 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 06 Jun 2023
Sunday 11 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 07 Jun 2023
Monday 12 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 08 Jun 2023
Tuesday 13 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 09 Jun 2023
Wednesday 14 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 13 Jun 2023
Sunday 18 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 14 Jun 2023
Monday 19 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 15 Jun 2023
Tuesday 20 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 16 Jun 2023
Wednesday 21 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 20 Jun 2023
Sunday 25 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 21 Jun 2023
Monday 26 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 22 Jun 2023
Tuesday 27 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 23 Jun 2023
Wednesday 28 Jun 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 27 Jun 2023
Sunday 02 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 28 Jun 2023
Monday 03 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 29 Jun 2023
Tuesday 04 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 30 Jun 2023
Wednesday 05 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 04 Jul 2023
Sunday 09 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 05 Jul 2023
Monday 10 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 06 Jul 2023
Tuesday 11 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 07 Jul 2023
Wednesday 12 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 11 Jul 2023
Sunday 16 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 12 Jul 2023
Monday 17 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 13 Jul 2023
Tuesday 18 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 14 Jul 2023
Wednesday 19 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 18 Jul 2023
Sunday 23 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 19 Jul 2023
Monday 24 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 20 Jul 2023
Tuesday 25 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 21 Jul 2023
Wednesday 26 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 25 Jul 2023
Sunday 30 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 26 Jul 2023
Monday 31 Jul 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 27 Jul 2023
Tuesday 01 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 28 Jul 2023
Wednesday 02 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 01 Aug 2023
Sunday 06 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 02 Aug 2023
Monday 07 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 03 Aug 2023
Tuesday 08 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 04 Aug 2023
Wednesday 09 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 08 Aug 2023
Sunday 13 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 09 Aug 2023
Monday 14 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 10 Aug 2023
Tuesday 15 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 11 Aug 2023
Wednesday 16 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 15 Aug 2023
Sunday 20 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 16 Aug 2023
Monday 21 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 17 Aug 2023
Tuesday 22 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 18 Aug 2023
Wednesday 23 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 22 Aug 2023
Sunday 27 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 23 Aug 2023
Monday 28 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 24 Aug 2023
Tuesday 29 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 25 Aug 2023
Wednesday 30 Aug 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 29 Aug 2023
Sunday 03 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 30 Aug 2023
Monday 04 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 31 Aug 2023
Tuesday 05 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 01 Sep 2023
Wednesday 06 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 05 Sep 2023
Sunday 10 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 06 Sep 2023
Monday 11 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 07 Sep 2023
Tuesday 12 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 08 Sep 2023
Wednesday 13 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 12 Sep 2023
Sunday 17 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 13 Sep 2023
Monday 18 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 14 Sep 2023
Tuesday 19 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 15 Sep 2023
Wednesday 20 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 19 Sep 2023
Sunday 24 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 20 Sep 2023
Monday 25 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 21 Sep 2023
Tuesday 26 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 22 Sep 2023
Wednesday 27 Sep 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 26 Sep 2023
Sunday 01 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Wednesday 27 Sep 2023
Monday 02 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Thursday 28 Sep 2023
Tuesday 03 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Friday 29 Sep 2023
Wednesday 04 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,749 $1,714
Save $35 Enquire
Tuesday 03 Oct 2023
Sunday 08 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,649 $1,616
Save $33 Enquire
Wednesday 04 Oct 2023
Monday 09 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,649 $1,616
Save $33 Enquire
Thursday 05 Oct 2023
Tuesday 10 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,649 $1,616
Save $33 Enquire
Friday 06 Oct 2023
Wednesday 11 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,649 $1,616
Save $33 Enquire
Tuesday 10 Oct 2023
Sunday 15 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,649 $1,616
Save $33 Enquire
Wednesday 11 Oct 2023
Monday 16 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,649 $1,616
Save $33 Enquire
Thursday 12 Oct 2023
Tuesday 17 Oct 2023
Status
From: $1,649 $1,616
Save $33 Enquire
Show more dates...
Key
Definite Departure. Minimum numbers reached for this departure to operate.
Available Departure. Minimum numbers not yet reached, so while this departure is expected to operate, it’s not yet a Definite Departure.
Not Available. Places on this departure are unavailable.
Exclusive Global Journeys Savings. Available for a limited time or until sold out.
Note
Your Global Journeys Travel Advisor will check the availability of your departure date when you enquire. Additional savings may apply. We guarantee the lowest price in Australia. T&C’s apply.
Note
Tour & cruises prices are per person. Prices shown have savings applied, are subject to availability and may be withdrawn at any time without notice. Prices and trip information are correct at the time at this point in time, however are subject to confirmation at the time of booking and are subject to change by Exodus.

Similar Tours

7 Day Walk the Welsh Highland Railway (Exodus)

7 Days Porthmadog Caernarfon

Operated By: Exodus

From 1,812
Save 53
7 Day North East Wales Heritage Trail (Exodus)

7 Days Ruthin Llanarmon

Operated By: Exodus

From 2,449
Save 56
7 Day North Pembrokeshire Coast Walk (Exodus)

7 Days Newport St Davids

Operated By: Exodus

From 1,910
Save 39
7 Day Loch Ness & the Caledonian Canal Walk (Exodus)

7 Days Inverness Inverness

Operated By: Exodus

From 2,723
Save 63