Viking Cruise Reviews

Viking
4.8 out of 5
8 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Viking. Every review has been verified.

     

Ratings

5 Star
75%
4 Star
25%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Most Popular Reviews

  28 Votes   Julie & David
  27 Votes   Adrian & Susan
  17 Votes   Bill & Jan
  15 Votes   Rob & Carol
  8 Votes   Diane & Frank
“Lovely Viking cruise”
- SA, Australia Jun 2019 2 Helpful Votes

We recently travelled on the Viking Jupiter from Bergen, Norway to Greenwich, London. Our cruise ship was almost brand new, we had a very spacious room, staff were lovely and friendly, meals of very good quality. The scenery along the coast of Norway was stunning.

The optional excursions in each port were a little disappointing, not a lot to see or do in some of the ports and we had to use tender boats in most of the ports which was quite annoying. All in all though, a very good cruise, would definitely recommend doing a Viking cruise.

Yvonne from Global Journeys organised our tour, she did a great job.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent cruise on Viking Sky, a lovely ship”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 2 Helpful Votes

First time we have sailed with Viking and will do so again if the right itinerary comes along. There seemed to be plenty of space on the ship. Entertainment was excellent and food was good. Met some lovely people on the cruise.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Vikings Homelands Cruise”
- TAS, Australia May 2019 4 Helpful Votes

We thoroughly enjoyed our two week Homelands cruise with Viking. From the moment we boarded this small ship we immediately felt the luxury, and the attention given by Viking staff was outstanding. We were spoilt all the way. Our stateroom was beautifully appointed. The food was excellent and the shore excursions were wonderful and so well organised. Beautiful ship Viking Sun, and the Nordic feel is very special. Great entertainment as well. The Spa is outstanding.

Looking forward to another cruise and will certainly book again with Global Journeys. Jemma organised everything so efficiently, booking good flights and attending to all my requests promptly. Our next trip will be even more relaxed knowing we will be looked after so well.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Discovering the Mediterranean ”
- QLD , Australia Apr 2019 8 Helpful Votes View Photo

We really enjoyed the cruise of the Mediterranean with Viking. The cabin with a small verandah was lovely. The meals were of high standard. The cabin crew and the dining room crew were very attentive and professional. The tours included were of high standard but had to be booked very early (as soon as they were opened on the internet) which left us no option but to book with local tours which we found were also of high standard.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Viking Orion Cruise, ”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2018 17 Helpful Votes

Almost new ship, with very good Penthouse suite, plenty of storage, great bathroom. Destinations were the attraction to book, and very good also, but August September 2018 very hot, especially in Egypt and Jordan, the worry of heat leading to our non-appearance for the Petra excursion. August & September proved to be a bad time for such a cruise and its excursions. Excellent on-board lectures/lecturers. Food OK, but a little below our expectations. Evening entertainment limited. All staff terrific.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Happy sailing with Viking”
- ACT, Australia May 2018 27 Helpful Votes

The cruise was everything we had hoped for. The ship was beautifully presented with many areas to relax and enjoy the scenery. The food and service in the World Cafe was exceptional. Housekeeping was also exceptional with friendly staff who were always there to assist. The Port Talks were very useful and informative and we recommend guests attend them to get the most from their shore excursions. Once again Global Journeys were great and we look forward to booking further cruises with them.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Viking Ocean Adventures”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2018 15 Helpful Votes View Photo

Great cruise, one of the best we have done. Our booking, Viking Sky, the food, the ports, the crew, the cabin were all excellent.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Cruising the Caribbean in Comfort and Style”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2018 28 Helpful Votes

As a first experience of ocean cruising, Viking has probably spoilt us for a number of other lines. While not a small ship (~900 passengers), we did not encounter the congestion that we imagine happens in much larger ships. The stateroom was lovely, the bathroom larger than expected and very functional, with plenty of storage for everything.

Dining options were varied and all very good. Most notably, the tasting menus at The Chef’s Table, which we booked three times, were absolutely exquisite. All the included extras (shore excursions, drinks and wifi) as well as the “no casino, no kids” policy made a positive difference.

The “Viking Sea” is only 2 years old and is decorated in sleek and simple Scandinavian style, featuring beautiful Scandinavian artworks. The ship is spotlessly clean, and one of the highlights was the exceptional quality of all the onboard staff, who were friendly, helpful, engaging, and always happy to have a chat. Viking must have an impressive staff training program.

Our itinerary for the 11 day cruise was a busy one and the included shore excursions were all excellent and very well organised. We visited 9 different islands, with different history, scenery and cultures, shown to us by excellent local guides, and all were both beautiful and fascinating.

The days when we did additional optional excursions were very busy, but we especially loved the French Cooking Class with a local chef in Saint Martin. We were sad to see the lingering devastation of cyclones going back a number of years on all the islands. I would recommend this cruise to others and I am sure that we will travel with Viking again in future.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-8 of 8