Viking Reviews

51 verified Viking river cruise reviews from past clients of Global Journeys.

NSW, Australia
Nov 2018
1 Trip
“Stress free trip for China highlights”
Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Viking provide a very hassle free itinerary to experience the highlights of China. Accommodation and the cruise down the Yangtze were of a very high standard. The 6 day cruise was very enjoyable and you experience travelling through the locks of the Three Gorges Dam, something that I don't think other groups all do. Extra time, especially in Xian, would be good and some rail travel rather than all air connections within China would improve the itinerary. There were no hidden extras, but the inevitable shopping stops! It was our first time travelling with Viking... The group was 95% American and most were return Viking travellers. I would have liked some more free time and options to do a little independent exploring of the cities we visited.
NSW, Australia
Oct 2018
2 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Golden Wedding Anniversary cruise”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Four years ago we sailed with Viking on the Budapest to Amsterdam cruise and loved it so it was a no brainer for us to choose Viking again for this special cruise, France's Finest, to celebrate our Anniversary. It didn't disappoint! Viking thinks of everything and their guests are looked after from beginning to end. All the tour guides are amazingly knowledgeable and provide a wonderful commentary on the various stops along the way whether they are little hamlets or big cities, as well as including interesting little snippets of information about personalities and such..

We chose 7 optional tours in addition to the included ones because we didn't want to miss out on anything. This did make for a full on itinerary and we've returned home quite tired but that was our choice and we don't regret it at all.

We also decided to include the 3-day Loire Valley extension which was wonderful but again, very full on. The accommodation was absolutely beautiful and once again our guide was superb.

A slight disappointment for us was the cabin we chose. On our last cruise we chose a French Balcony stateroom. This time and in order to save a bit of money, we chose a room on the lowest level which didn't have an opening window. We wish we had paid the extra as we felt a bit claustrophobic. We know other people who have had no problem at all with this so this is just a personal thing.

Also impressive is the way Viking looks after everything regarding the transfer to the airport at the end of the holiday with a guide accompanying us literally to the check in counter at the airport!

Unfortunately one of us was unwell during our holiday which put a bit of a dampener on things and when the Maitre d' at the restaurant on the ship was told he was so accommodating, providing warm and comforting soup. Nothing was too much trouble.

Juliet, from Global Journeys was a gem! Attention to detail and customer service was absolutely top notch. Whenever we had a query it would be answered almost immediately and definitely the same day. We have recommended Global Journeys to our friends as being a company which really takes an interest in their customers. We wouldn't book with anyone else now that we have experienced the professionalism and friendliness that was shown to us.

Thanks so much for a great holiday.
QLD, Australia
Aug 2018
3 Trips
“Wine & Stein on the Rhine”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Loved cruising the Rhine with Viking. They are very good at what they do and looked after us extremely well. Because of our busy pre-cruise coach tour through Europe we chose only to do the included options. This gave us time to enjoy the Rhine and the scenery that went with it while sipping on a glass of wine or beer from our balcony, lounge or top deck. Everyone from the captain to the room attendant were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing and it was great to have the choice of formal and casual dining.
Once again Georgie from Global Journeys found this cruise for us which slotted into our time frame and also liaised between Viking and ourselves for our flights.
NSW, Australia
Aug 2018
1 Trip
“Viking wine region cruise in Acquitaine, France”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
This cruise completely lived up to our expectations. The comprehensive excursion-included nature of this Viking cruise was highly appreciated, as it carried the consequence that there was no need to book any optional tours. The food was delicious and the accompanying local wines were excellent. Although the cruising is limited to relatively short sections of the Gironde estuary, and the Garonne and Dordogne Rivers, it covers many of the renowned wine producing regions of the Bordeaux region, through visits to quaint and historic towns and villages. All-in-all, we highly recommend this cruise.
ACT, Australia
Jul 2018
1 Trip
“Seine river cruise with Oxford extension”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
A truly wonderful experience packed with beautiful scenery and interesting historical sites, all organised extremely well. The Oxford extension added a unique personal touch when we were given a guided tour of Highclere Castle by the Duchess herself.
VIC, Australia
Jul 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Beautiful scenery, wonderful tours”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Everything was very well organised, from the tours to the daily schedule of activities. The staff were both friendly and obliging, and the food was great. The facilities were first class and spotlessly maintained.
SA, Australia
Jul 2018
3 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Leisurely river cruise down the Seine”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Viking endeavoured to make sure that the cruise was seamless and worry free. I liked the fact that the Viking staff made the effort to get to know you and called you by name. Shore trips were well organised but due to problems in respect of closures for Bastille Day, it meant that we had less leisurely time than we originally intended. Monet's Garden was definitely a highlight, satisfying the original aim of the trip. There was only one disappointment for me, and that was not spending enough time at the Canadian War Memorial in Normandy. It is an excellent, quite large display of Canada's role in the wars and far more time should have been devoted to it. I would have preferred to go without lunch, which was OK but nothing special. It was a long bus ride for little return. The issue seems to be that they tried to include all the Commonwealth countries, which just didn't do it justice. Other than the Canadian Memorial, we just drove around to cemeteries. Apparently, the American Memorial tour was far better. I did take photos of the naval display as my father was in the navy in the North Atlantic; that's all I had time for.

In respect of the pre-cruise stay in Paris, we had a nice hotel in a prime location but our Viking Host was hopeless. She didn't do her job and as a result 10 of us were left stranded in Paris and we had to find our own way to the Kadlin which was docked at Le Pecq. In the morning of the day we were to board the ship, the Host told us to be at a certain place at a specific time later in the afternoon to get the bus to the ship. The bus didn't show up because the location had been changed; the host gave us the wrong information. She didn't respond to Viking's emails or phone calls. I phoned the ship and was told we had to find our own way there. We finally found a taxi rank but it took some time to talk the driver into taking us there as it was a long distance and out of his zone. He didn't speak English and we didn't speak French, which made things doubly difficult. However, we finally got there and Viking paid the fares. It was a stressful start to the cruise, which shouldn't have occurred if the Viking host had done her job.
VIC, Australia
Jul 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Wonderful experience ”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Viking were absolutely magnificent. Staff, food etc all of the highest quality. Had a wonderful 15 days and met a lot of very nice people, some we have continued a friendship with even though we are from different parts of the world. Hannah from Global Journeys was superb to deal with. I hope to have the pleasure of booking with Hannah again! Thank you.
New Zealand
May 2018
2 Trips
“Imperial Jewels of China”
Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
It was a great trip. So well organized. We had a few internal flights, and it was so well organized that we did not have to worry about anything. Bags were picked up from the room and arrived (just like that) at our destination.
NSW, Australia
May 2018
5 Helpful Votes
“Sensational Holiday of a Lifetime ”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Our entire experience was without a hitch and more than what we could have imagined or expected. We knew we had a very high quality cruise ahead of us, but once we embarked on Viking Vidar at Amsterdam, we constantly exclaimed "Isn't this incredibly amazing". We felt we had really reached the pinnacle of exceptionally refined holiday living. Our suite was so well designed with every comfort considered. The overall style of the ship reflects quality in materials and design.

Going beyond the physical appearance and functionality of this superb craft, we were extremely impressed on a daily basis with our dining experience. The deliciousness and variety of meals we enjoyed were only improved and made even more enjoyable by the friendly and helpful staff and the company of our fellow cruisers. Our entire experience, including the initial reservation through to the hugely informative and exciting tours, included and optional, has left us with a great desire to relive it all in the future. It was seamless and pure enjoyment.
ACT, Australia
Mar 2018
5 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“First Rate Holiday”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
From start to finish, everything was very well organised by Viking and Global Journeys. The transfers were smooth throughout, however our arrival time in Amsterdam was so close to sailing that we were not there in time for the Amsterdam tour.

The vessel was very well set up, clean and welcoming and most of all the staff were the best we have ever encountered. Most excursions were interesting with some excellent guides, however we would question the high cost of the Munich and Salzburg trips.

We will be looking at another Viking Cruise but we would not wish to fly QATAR airways again. It is not that Qatar are not a reasonable airline, it is more to do with Doha Airport security. We were treated in a way that made us feel very unwelcome by inefficient, arrogant and rude security staff. At one check the staff member took Robyn's Boarding pass for some form of check and did not return it denying he had got it.

At Sydney airport Qatar did not have an Air Bridge and hence much time was wasted in shuttle buses (this also happened on the Budapest to Doha flight which was the equivalent to a Ryanair flight, old aircraft, seat reclining mechanism not working properly and the worst meals we have had in 40 years of travel).
NSW, Australia
Oct 2017
1 Helpful Vote
7 Trips
“We loved our Paris to Swiss Alps Viking cruise.”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Once again we were very pleased with the Viking cruise. Mathias the cruise director was excellent. The crew were all very friendly and helpful. The shore excursions were very well organised. They even catered for passengers who have mobility issues and Viking run a leisurely group on all of their shore excursions. For this group they try to walk at a slower pace, minimise the number of steps and slopes to make things easier. A great hotel location in Paris which was very close to the Eiffel Tower. Madeline from Global Journeys did a great job in organising our holiday for us.
WA, Australia
Sep 2017
4 Helpful Votes
“A very relaxing escape”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
If you want a very relaxing escape this would be the cruise for you. The average age would be 60+ and mostly Americans. If you want activity you are not going to get it, but meeting new people, seeing the sights, eating lovely food and drinking great French wine does! We were two days into the cruise when a fellow traveler reminded us that we have the silver wine package included in our price. This certainly made the wine experience interesting indeed. Although it would have been nice if they had reinforced this when we initially boarded the ship.
NSW, Australia
Aug 2017
2 Helpful Votes
2 Trips
“Value for money cruise with interesting itinerary”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
This was our sixth European River Cruise and whilst it met expectations in most areas it fell short in some areas and those were ones which we are important to us. In terms of the cabin, the catering, the friendliness of the crew, the on-board facilities and the routine on board, we found that Viking were on par with the other major operators we have cruised with.

The areas we were disappointed with were the on-board entertainment and the excursions. The on-board entertainment did not include a German folklore/music evening (the cruise was totally within Germany)until the last night of the cruise and many guests did not show up, presumably as they were preparing for departure the following day. There was also a glass blowing demonstration one evening which more of a souvenir/sales event than a cultural event.

The excursions contained too many hours of coach travel (particularly as it had extensions either end in Prague and Paris with several hours by road between ship and hotel). There was also no folklore night offered in advance by Viking in Prague and we booked our own only to find that on the day of our arrival in Prague a folklore evening was being offered by Viking. Also in Rudesheim the main attraction (for us) was the Musical Instrument Museum but not included in any tour offered by Viking, so we and several other passengers had to do our thing. On the other hand the tour to Heidelberg included a local lunch with a foreign student from the university (our student was from Sudan) which we found to be a pleasant change.
NSW, Australia
Aug 2017
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Viking Rhine River Cruise”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
This was one of our best holidays. Viking did a fantastic job from the time we were picked up at the airport until we were transported for our flights home. The staff were professional and very friendly. The ship was great (too much food!) Tours were well organised and guides very knowledgeable. Would certainly recommend to anyone that wants to get away and relax for a week or two and we are now looking at a cruise on another river.
NSW, Australia
Aug 2017
4 Helpful Votes
3 Trips
“Very good ship, good personnel but average guide”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Not international clientele, almost all American, land excursion guides are very stupid. Ship is modern and very comfortable, extremely good. Food is excellent. River smelt awful. Housekeeping is excellent. Some staff were not kind.
NSW, Australia
Jun 2017
1 Trip
“Easy and relaxing luxurious cruise down the Danube”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Beautiful scenery, great ship with excellent staff and great food. Good choice of shore excursions with very good guides. We really enjoyed meeting our fellow travellers, even though by nature we are not very outgoing. Most were Americans, with the rest British and Canadian, Surprisingly, we were the only Australians. We were expecting a lot of old people but most were about our age -- 60-something! It cost a lot, but it's worth doing at least once.
VIC, Australia
Apr 2017
1 Trip
“Danube Waltz”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Just a superb trip, we could not fault the attention to detail, the care of the crew, or the easy relaxed nature of the river cruise itself. The trip highlights were too numerous to mention, every shore excursion was well planned, the finale of arriving at Budapest at night was truly spectacular. Global Journeys were kind, efficient and helpful with the planning of the trip.
QLD, Australia
Dec 2016
1 Helpful Vote
“Magical Christmas market tour”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Budapest beautiful city. Would recommend staying here for 1-2 nights before starting cruise. Book hotel close to Christmas markets and shopping street if travelling in December. Heaps of designer shopping than elsewhere in Europe. Extremely cold, sometimes below freezing so bring suitable clothing or buy great bear when you arrive. Wondrous city, Christmas lights and markets and excellent range of goods and Hungarian food in stalls. Danube rather drab at this time of year food, crew and entertainment onboard was excellent. No complaints about ship but would have liked more attention paid to the Christmas markets and shuttle buses provided to these venues. I would not do this cruise in winter if I wasn't interested in seeing the Christmas markets and decorations. Vienna, Linz and Passau lovely, interesting cities, would give Melk Abbey a miss if I went on this tour again and also possibly Bratislava. Not a lot to offer and too cold at Christmas.
NSW, Australia
Dec 2016
1 Trip
“Very relaxing holiday”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Viking cruises very comparable with other providers. Service, food & excursions all very good. Staterooms in some catergories far too small though.

Results 1-20 of 51  

Back to top