Uniworld River Cruise Reviews

Uniworld
4.7 out of 5
72 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Uniworld. Every review has been verified.

     

Ratings

5 Star
71%
4 Star
25%
3 Star
4%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Most Popular Reviews

  11 Votes   Kerry & Peter
  11 Votes   Roger & Mary
  9 Votes   Roger
“Leisurely cruise along the Nile”
- NSW, Australia Feb 2019

Well organised trip with terrific tour guides (all seemed to be named Mohamed). Accommodation in Cairo and on the boat (River Tosca) was excellent. We saw numerous temples and other historical sites and artifacts. Two other highlights were the balloon ride (optional extra) and the chaotic Cairo traffic during the transfer to the airport by a very skilled Spring Tours driver.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Highly recommend this tour”
- WA, Australia Aug 2018 View Photo

Fantastic not a single negative thing to say! Amazing tour guides very knowledgeable and amazing food and cruise staff. Astrid the hotel manager was lovely. Bar Staff couldn’t do enough. It was very moving at Utah and Omaha beaches and Honfleur was so pretty!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Uniworld - Bordeaux cruise”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018 1 Helpful Vote

The daily excursions were excellent. Each day a different winery in a different part of the Bordeaux region with expert commentary from the local wine makers. The ship doesn't quite come up to the marketing media that one looks at prior to booking. Perhaps their other river boats reflect the brochures?

The crew were, as is usual, from eastern Europe and were very good at their jobs. Their managers however left quite a bit to be desired. Unlike other river cruise companies we never saw any day time cleaning of the vessel being carried out and after cutting my finger on a nail hanging out of the bottom of a lounge chair I pointed out to the Hotel Manager that the chairs were far from clean and quite a few were "sticky" . The shower had mould and a leak from the sink into the drawer beneath was obviously known to the staff because before my wife could tell them where the leak was they suggested it was into the drawer! That took 3 attempts to fix.

The resident piano player seemed to think that loud was better than background music, subsequently everyone spoke louder than was necessary to be heard over the music, silly. Food was pretty good except the first night when all our main courses were cold and when I asked for a coffee it was presented stone cold, obviously left over from breakfast. Which brings me back to the lack of management. Overall if it wasn't for the excellent excursions the trip would have been a failure. I think we'll stick with Australian companies for future river cruises.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Lovely trip of Portugal and Spain”
- VIC, Australia May 2018 7 Helpful Votes

This was a lovely trip and weather was perfect. It was well organised and as a single person travelling alone some great friendships soon developed. The hotel in Lisbon was central and comfortable and the sightseeing gave one a good insight into this vibrant city. Highlights for me were the famous pastry shop of the original absolutely delicious Portuguese Tart in Belem and the magnificent 18th century library at the university of Coimbra which we visited going up to Porto to board the ship.

The Queen Isabel was a very comfortable ship and the meals fabulous. After sightseeing around the historic and lovey city of Porto we cruised through beautiful terraced vineyards, visiting wineries and given a good insight into this important industry. Other favorites were the museums, the UNESCO World Heritage city of Salamanca and the 12 Century walled village of Castelo Rodrigo.

This trip certainly lived up to my expectations and I highly recommend Uniworld. Thank you Georgie for your excellent care in organizing my whole trip.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent trip”
- NSW, Australia May 2018 7 Helpful Votes

We selected this trip as a fill in after the Tulips and Windmills cruise to slot in and meet the timing of the following trip to Iceland. Again we were not disappointed. Typical Uniworld, service, excursions and attentiveness to customers plus a good bunch of fellow travelers made this a great experience. Possibly the only downside was that the trip finished in Basel and that was it! No city tour to round of the trip, just disembarkation which seemed to be a lost opportunity as others, such as Viking, seemed to be catering for this a bit better.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Another great Uniworld experieince”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2018 2 Helpful Votes

We booked the last Tulips and Windmills trip for the season with the hope that there would be still plenty of Tulips to see. We were not disappointed, more flowers that you could poke a stick at. However the trip was not all about tulips. The towns and scenery seen and visited were exceptional. The Uniworld level of service that we had experienced on previous trips was still there. The food as usual was plentiful and extremely tasty, the crew was extremely attentive and helpful. These guys do it well!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Castles on the Rhine”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2018 3 Helpful Votes

Very comfortable journey, everything met our expectations. Crew and staff were first rate. Hannah from Global was very professional. Booking and all relative procedures went very smoothly. Very happy with whole exercise.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Uniworld is wonderful”
- NSW, Australia Dec 2017 5 Helpful Votes

This was our second Uniworld cruise this year, we travelled on the River Beatrice to Eastern Europe in April and this time round to Paris and parts of Normandy on the Joie de Vivre. Uniworld has found the right balance for their cruises, interesting excursions in port, but enough leisure time to choose to do your own thing and relax.

The overall feel of their ships is European elegance, beautifully furnished and maintained, the cabins and public areas are always spotless. The meals on board are really good and with plenty of choice, we did feel the Beatrice had a slight edge in the cuisine overall.

The staff on both ships were excellent, they make the cruise what it is. Personable, cheerful, helpful young people, always willing to go the extra mile. The staff in the main dining room often address you by name and remember your choice of drink, etc.

We met mainly American and Canadian travellers, also from the UK, Australia, China, an opportunity to meet people from all over the world and many walks of life. We are seriously thinking of another trip with Uniworld, that should say it all. Hannah from Global Journeys is the best, we trust her implicitly, she knows what we want when we travel and always delivers. Thank you dear Hannah.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Uniworld Cruise through France”
- WA, Australia Nov 2017 3 Helpful Votes

Very enjoyable cruise - well organised and competent. We have done river cruises with other companies and enjoyed them more.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“We had a wonderful time on our river cruise.”
- New Zealand Oct 2017 7 Helpful Votes View Photo

We had a wonderful time on our river cruise and would like to do another tour in 2019 . This river cruise was of high standard and a quality service . We would recommend Uniworld tours to friends and family as it provided for all our needs and much more. We met wonderful people of same interests from around the world and have exchanged details with an opportunity to visit their countries . This would not have been possible if we had not done the tour. We would like to take our families next time but unsure if there would be something similar available in 2 years . Thank you very much for the great service .

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“The Best Experience Ever”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2017 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

We have had the most delightful holiday ever! Fantastic service, quality inclusions, fabulous food, wine, tours, room service. The whole trip beginning with the organisation with Global Journeys to our disembarkation went extremely well. Not one problem . Loved Uniworld and would recommend to anyone.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Amsterdam to Budapest with Uniworld on River Empress ”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2017 11 Helpful Votes View Photo

Uniworld provided a worry free holiday that you can only imagine in your dreams. From the moment we boarded River Empress we were treated like knigs and queens. We arrived at the dock in Amsterdam dragging our luggage and a staff member walked towards us and took our bags and introduced us to the front office staff. We were then shown to our room and given the run down on how things worked in our room and told lunch was available in the dining room. We unpacked and went to the dining room for lunch and we knew immediately by the attention of the dining room staff we were in for an amazing trip. The personal attention never faltered and we were made feel as if we were the most important people in the world for the next 15 days. They said "if you are happy, we are happy".

We enjoyed every aspect of our cruise, all the ports and excursions. There were excursions and activities to suit all activity levels and interests. We wish we could have sailed forever, although our clothes would not have fitted for much longer as the food was such high quality and there was so much on offer. Breakfast and lunch was buffet style and dinner was sit down. Uniworld definitely exceeded all our expectations, don't hesitate, just book. Thank you to Georgie for organising this trip for us, I have never spoken to her but she has provided a wonderful service.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent cruise”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2017 6 Helpful Votes

We only had 76 on our cruise, very comfortable and gave us a chance to chat with almost everyone. Rooms are not big but comfortable. Very clean. Captain and all the crew were very friendly. Cruise director excellent. Each evening you were briefed on the following days activities. Bar stay friendly and generous. Washers and dryers on board excellent. There was no need to put your hand in your pocket for any other expenses. Excursions well run. Food excellent.

Ports of call were all good and lively. Opportunity to go on organised bike tours and pick up the boat further up the river or short hikes and a bus would drive you to the boat. Hard pressed to find fault with itinerary. Marvellous cruise. Uniworld are an excellent river cruise line.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Grand France River Cruise”
- SA, Australia Jul 2017 4 Helpful Votes

Uniworld has done it again with their quality ship, service, food and on shore excursions. This was our second river cruise with Uniworld and again it was outstanding. Global Journeys again provided excellent handling of our bookings. Everything went as anticipated adding to an overall fantastic experience. Thanks to all.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing journey in wine region”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2017 3 Helpful Votes

This was our second cruise with Uniworld. Like the first, on this cruise we felt like royalty - the staff were attentive and caring, the food was excellent and the organisation of the shore excursions was very good. As there were only 60 passengers on this cruise it felt very personal.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“An insight into Russia”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2017 11 Helpful Votes

This is a cruise along several rivers system that have been united through flooding of vast areas of land to make it possible. It covers some sections where you could easily swim from bank to bank through to others, that for all intents and purposes, you are in vast lakes that the shores are not visible.As a means of exploring the two principle cities of Moscow and St Petersburg and the huge land mass and towns in between this trip is ideal. Certainly St Petesburg with its Hermitage museum and the various ornate churches and palaces is a highlight but to stand in Red Square and visit the Kremlin in Moscow with all its history and current political situation is something well worth experiencing.

The cruise itself was well organised with a very attentive and caring crew. The ship is Russian owned and managed, as are the ships run by other river cruise companies (e.g. Scenic, Viking) and all appear to be of similar design and follow each other on roughly the same itinerary. The stair ways on the ship were very steep and, in my view, pretty risky given the age profile of most Uniworld travelers. There was a lift available for those that did not want to navigate the stairs.

The food on board was pretty good but not at the standard that you would get on a Uniworld European cruise. The only included beer/wine drinks were with dinner, which was a bit of a surprise when we had to sign for a coffee we asked for on our arrival. Again this is a different from every other Uniworld trip we have been on. Also there was a lot of non included side trips which were not cheap.

One of the bigger issues was that the ship was moored well outside central Moscow and St Petersburg. The traffic conditions into both cities was very heavy with Moscow's being horrific. The bus rides into town was easily over an hour each way which made it very inconvenient and encouraged staying in the centre rather than returning to the ship for lunch. However due to the very wet and cold weather conditions this was not a very comfortable option. The metro was located close to the ship mooring and presented a better option to getting around for those that felt confident using it. However despite the slight negatives, this is a trip well worth undertaking. I am not too sure how you could experience a country like Russia without the comfort and guidance given by the cruise managers. However be wary of the weather, mid summer was freezing. Everyone said this was unusual but be prepared for the worst.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful start to our 5 weeks in Europe”
- ACT, Australia May 2017 4 Helpful Votes

3rd cruise with Uniworld, and are planning our next.......says it all! Yvonne at Global Journeys is always friendly and helpful.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“River cruising at its finest through France”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2017 5 Helpful Votes

River cruise with Uniworld Boutique River Cruises through two different areas of France. The first cruise on River Royale through the Bordeaux wine region was beautiful. Our favourite part was a 'Go Active' locally guided bicycle ride to a vineyard, stopping on the way to learn more about the area and growing of grapes, tour of the wine production and wine tasting...then cycle back to the ship...lots of laughs. Also lunch at a beautiful Chateau and exploring the town of St Emilion. All great local guides.

The second cruise was on the SS Joie de Vivre. The newest ship in the Uniworld fleet. She is absolutely exquisite! Luxury cruising at its finest from the staterooms, beds, facilities and food but it's the staff that make it amazing, as on all Uniworld Cruises. The perfect balance of 5 star service with a smile, a laugh & genuine friendliness. Guest Ages ranged from 30 to 80, most being 50-60yrs. Lots of different nationalities made interesting conversation at each meal, as we sat with different guests each time. Our favourite part of this Paris to Normandy cruise was for me the visit to Monets Garden at Giverny. The Spring flowers were in full bloom mid-April and my husband played golf at Etretat. The most spectacular & challenging course he has ever played. On board our favourite was dinner at 'Cave du Vins' Cave of Wines where we donned chefs apron and hat and helped one of the ship's Chef prepare our 5 course dinner with paired wines. Only 10 guests, great fun and lots of laughs, delicious food! This was our 4th cruise with Uniworld and each one has been very different but exceptional.

Our booking with Global Journey's Hannah was fantastic. Very easy with all the information provided online and fast response to our emails and questions. We wouldn't hesitate in booking with them again. Thank you Hannah.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“From North to South”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2016 2 Helpful Votes

We had undertaken a very enjoyable trip down the Mekong a few years ago so when this one came up with Uniworld we thought why not go again? It did not let us down. Two days in Hanoi was the appetizer followed by a flight to Siem Reap where the wonder of Angkor Wat and several other temples was the highlight. This is one place that carries the tag of a "must see". The trip from Siem Reap to our boat by bus was a very long affair but with the provision of food boxes and a few comfort stops along the way the scenery and commentary provided by our local guide made it enjoyable.

The boat itself was from the Pandaw company on lease to Uniworld. Although this boat did not have all the up to date bits found on more modern vessels it more than made up by the attentive caring nature of the crew where nothing was too big an issue. The food on board was first rate. I understand that for future trips another more modern boat will be leased, hopefully the crew is as good as what we had. The trip down the Mekong was great with daily stops to scramble up the river bank to visit local communities, temples markets ect. The trip concluded with two days in bustling Ho Chi Minh, which is an experience in itself. This was an excellent trip. The only down side was the very high temperatures and humidity which made getting around uncomfortable. It was just after the wet season so it was normal for the locals (good they said!). The upside was that mosquitoes were still a few weeks away. Overall a great trip well worth doing.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Lovely method to travel!”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2016

It was a very nice cruise & you could be as busy or sedate as you wish. There were plenty of options and the guides were excellent. There was a good mix of people & everyone was there for the same reason - having a nice leisurely holiday and visiting interesting places. We were fortunate enough to have good weather for the bulk of the trip. Uniworld could improve their visiting on board entertainment - one was pathetically bad, the rest very good. They could also improve their internet service! On board wifi was ok but the internet cafe computers were useless. The meals were very nice & the staff very accommodating. I've now traveled with both Avalon & Uniworld, and for value for money I would pick Avalon, but both were memorable, comfortable, & interesting. I'll river cruise again!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 72