Travelmarvel Tour & Cruise Reviews

Travelmarvel
4.5 out of 5
255 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Travelmarvel. Every review has been verified.

     
“An amazing Travelmarvel cruise! ”
- WA, Australia Apr 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Well, I can honestly say this was one of the best holidays I have ever had. Everything about the cruise just fell into place, due to the competence of Cherie Cooper, our cruise director! Cherie is a wealth of knowledge and has an awesome sense of humour and is really a wonderful person. I'm sure she is an asset to the company.

We were extremely lucky to have been blessed with excellent weather, and although nobody could control this, it worked well in our favour. Marko looked after us in the dining room, even though with open dining it could have been any one of the waiters, but we chose to remain on the same table and it certainly was worth it.

A lot of friendships were made but most of all were the wonderful memories we will all have forever. Thank you Travelmarvel. Hope to see you again sometime.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonders of Vietnam and Cambodia ”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2019 View Photo

Accommodation was really great on this trip with Travelmarvel. Tour Director Mr Tu was first class, the tour guides he had were very informative and also caring.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A Wonderful Combination of Culture, Scenery and Cuisine”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2019 View Photo

This tour is conducted in partnership with Great Rail Journeys (a British Company) and our smaller than usual group comprised 9 Brits, 6 Australians, a Scottish Tour Director and a Japanese local guide. We travelled by both rail (regional and bullet trains) and bus, giving us a pleasant variety. When we travelled by train, our luggage was transported separately by bus so that we didn’t need to struggle with large cases on those journeys.

The tour itinerary had a wonderful mix of culture and scenery, despite Mount Fuji being shrouded in cloud. A bad back dictated that we couldn’t choose a tour that used ryokans and the hotels we stayed in were excellent. While some rooms and bathrooms might be considered a little on the small side by Western standards, they were all a very generous size for Japan.

Electric pots or kettles were provided everywhere, though sometimes only with green tea and no milk. Breakfasts were all quite good, and the included dinners were excellent. They gave us a variety of culinary experiences that enabled us to understand which specific Japanese food we loved and which we might not bother with again. We found the more rustic food just delicious but the “haute cuisine”, though exquisitely presented, was less to our taste.

Our Tour Director was very well organised and everything went exactly to plan. Our local guide was a delightful man with exceptional local knowledge and gave us some wonderful insights and experiences. We would certainly travel with either company again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Well organised tour of Tassie”
- SA, Australia Jan 2019 1 Helpful Vote

The trip was well organised. All highlights were covered. We could have spent more time in some places, like Port Arthur and Anvers. It was a small group but we all enjoyed each others' company. We were well informed throughout the tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Vietnam to Cambodia on the Mekong River”
- VIC, Australia Jan 2019

All staff on the boat were very friendly and cooperative. We enjoyed their company and service immensely. The guides were very friendly, helpful and personable throughout the trip. The Shinta Mani Shack in Siem Reap is a really nice hotel.

We were first placed on the lower deck at water level. This smelled so mouldy that we knew as soon as we opened the cabin that we could not stay there. The atmosphere was dank and frankly toxic. At the same moment, a cabin became available on deck 3 which was immediately taken up by another passenger. This left her cabin available which I immediately requested – at an upfront cost of another $1,000 for the upgrade.

We were lucky. Having spoken to some of the other passengers, I think that may well apply to the rest of the lower deck as well. On returning I put a request for a refund of that $1,000 to Travelmarvel, which they honoured immediately, I am happy to say. Overall, the trip had a good mix of activities both on-board and ashore.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent value for money! Best holiday ever!”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 7 Helpful Votes View Photo

We have just returned from the Xmas Markets river cruise on “the Jewel” with Travelmarvel. Travel was first class all the way. Plenty of included activities as well as several extra optionals. All the crew were fabulous and our cruise director “Emma” was very experienced and ever so helpful. This truly was a worry free 15 day river cruise. We made quite a few new friends that we plan on keeping in touch with. We plan on using Travelmarvel for our next river cruise in Russia. Booking ahead with the fly free offer made this great value for money.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“River cruise Budapest to Amsterdam plus Prague and Paris”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2018 5 Helpful Votes

Had a great time on the cruise, Xmas Markets were amazing. The organisation and information supplied by our guides was second to none.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fascinating country really worth a visit”
- QLD, Australia Nov 2018 2 Helpful Votes

The whole trip was spectacular and the Travelmarvel guides were terrific, knowledgeable and always helpful. If you have ever considered going to Burma as it was known it is still a beautiful country and well worth the visit. The negative press that it receives is seriously impacting the tourism and as usual the press has put their spin on the situation. We felt completely safe where we travelled to and have wonderful memories of the friendly happy people. If you do go make sure you add the Inle Lake extension it is really worth it.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic tour of South America ”
- WA, Australia Nov 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This was a fantastic tour with a very friendly and informative tour director and knowledgeable local guides. All the included meals were excellent as was the accommodation.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A Taste of Vietnam”
- WA, Australia Nov 2018

I found the Ha Long Bay cruise the best part of our 11 day Vietnam holiday. The guides were excellent, very informative and Son, the head guide, was wonderful. As I had my birthday while away they went all out to give me a wonderful day. They were very attentive and I have no hesitation in recommending Travelmarvel.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Overall a good trip.”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018

Overall a good trip. My biggest complaint was the last two days free time - we would rather have been dropped off at a location & then picked up after certain amount of time. Also on the last day, dinner wasn't an included so there was no chance to say farewell to fellow passengers.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“10 day South West Explorer (Travelmarvel)”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 2 Helpful Votes

Really enjoyed our trip with Travelmarvel. Accommodation and food were excellent. Our coach driver Andrew was a wealth of information and Louise our tour director was always helpful. We saw lots of interesting things. Our last day in Freemantle could have been organised a little better. An optional extra could have been added to our itinerary to visit Rottnest Island if it was organised earlier. Was also disappointed that there wasn't a departure last night dinner to say goodbye to other fellow passengers. Would travel with Travelmarvel again as the trip was well organised otherwise.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A genuinely great holiday where every effort is made to ensure a good outcome”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 12 Helpful Votes View Photo

This was an exceptional cruise in the very literal sense. I have fortunately had the luck to experience quite a diverse & varied presentation of holidays by various cruise/holiday organisations - this would have to have been THE BEST!

Now, granted, not everything went according to plan, but I hasten to add that in my experience, Travelmarvel made exceptional effort to minimise inconveniences & maximise experience. I pay ultimate respect to Cruise Director - Sue Obermoser, she did an outstanding job to ensure everyone’s situation was the best, under some pretty adverse situations, namely prevailing river conditions. Very well done to her and the entire crew.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Our tour with a difference!”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 11 Helpful Votes View Photo

We set off for a 15 Day European River Cruise aboard the Travelmarvel Diamond with great expectations. What we actually got was a 15 Day European Tour on the Travelmarvel Jewel, Sapphire & the Diamond, plus 2 luxury hotels in Budapest & Regensberg & many entertaining kilometers aboard comfortable coaches. Due to the unprecedented lack of water, a once in one hundred year event, we were able to do what no Travelmarvel group has yet to do, i.e. travel on each one of its fabulous fleet.

We saw much of the countryside as well as the rivers, so it was all an added bonus! Extra tours were added for us & the care & consideration shown to all by our tireless Cruise Director Hedleigh Emberson was excellent. Many thanks go to the crews of all the vessels in a very trying situation for all, & our local tour guides aboard our coaches were so knowledgeable & entertaining. Our first Travelmarvel adventure, but certainly not our last.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food

Was this review helpful?

“From Budapest to Amsterdam ”
- Nsw, Australia Oct 2018 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

This is the best value European holiday ever. Great food, great company. Travelmarvel were great, we had a few hiccups, such as the low river levels and using 3 ships instead of one. Minimal interruptions, but the logistics Travelmarvel had to take care of to get us through the trip was nothing short of amazing. Cannot speak highly enough of Global Journeys, we dealt with Jemma who kept us informed of the low river situation all the time. Best ever.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Some organisational worries”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

All did not however go as smoothly as expected with this October India and Nepal tour which was run by Great Railway Journeys in conjunction with APT/Travelmarvel in Australia. We finished up only doing two train journeys. When one 7.00am train which we were booked on did not turn up after an hour they got the bus which had all our luggage to take us to Varanasi. It had waited just in case, since our efficient English tour leader had experienced such delays in the past! The excellent Indian tour leader later found out that the train ran well over 4 hours late. Apparently that is common; a fact which Great Rail Journeys in York should have known.

I’ve done 34 organised tours and the company really didn’t give sufficiently detailed information which I consider was deliberate. The final tour booklet given to the Australians when the tour leader arrived was not the same as what we received in Australia. They misled us on the timing of much travel giving the impression that we would reach places in time to do certain things or have free time. It would have been good to know in advance that a journey of just over 200km from Kathmandu to Pokhara [a very pleasant location] would take 9.5 hours and another 9 hours to return three days later! Fortunately the hotels were all excellent and the English tour director was a gem. A previous tour I did in India a few years ago - mainly in Rajasthan - was much better.

Due to a flight change about 3 weeks before the tour I did not have sufficient time [85 mins] at Delhi airport to go through Immigration, collect my case and get to domestic check-in which closed 45 minutes prior to the flight to Amritsar. A flight later in the day was full however I was prepared to wait at the airport for the first flight the next day [Monday]. I rang APT/Travelmarvel and was told by a lady that I had to be there on Sunday since the tour started early on Monday. The airline had met their requirements by offering to send me on the next day so I had had no option but to completely forget about that booking and look for new flights. I finished up booking with Thai Airways however finished up $1400 out of pocket. As it happened, getting to Amritsar, it was discovered that the English Tour Director and the UK tour members were not due to arrive in Amritsa until Monday afternoon so I would have been OK. Travelmarvel's information was totally incorrect. [It actually took two and a half hours to get through the formalities at Delhi airport; something that is well worth knowing!]

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Marvellous Travelmarvel cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 10 Helpful Votes

My best friend and I did this cruise to celebrate 50 years of being best friends and what a way to celebrate! Fabulous weather and scenery and unforgettable special experiences like a Mozart and Strauss concert in Vienna and watching an incredible demonstration of glass blowing by a master artisan. Our ship and its crew were magnificent and the food was fabulous. Definitely not the last river cruise we will do.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Danube - Rhine Experience”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 8 Helpful Votes

A thoroughly enjoyable river journey. After 4 weeks prior travelling independently "back packing" around Croatia this was absolute luxury. The cabin was fantastic. The bed so comfortable plus a 'balcony' view. The food was amazing. I was conscious to eat healthily. I avoided the pastries and bread but still had 3 'big' meals a day. I had sparkling wine with breakfast and wine with lunch and dinner. Why not indulge a little. I would also walk for 1 to 1.5 h each morning before breakfast whenever the ship was docked. Amazingly when I got home and weighed myself I hadn't put on weight. Which goes to show with healthy eating (and some drinking) plus exercise you don't have to put on those kilos on a 'cruise'.

Marion our Tour Director was fantastic. The excursions were great except for Vienna. We only had a very short 'guided tour', then were left at St Stephens for 1/2 h which was not long enough to do anything. We then went (and wasted 1h) to the Nasch Market to sample a piece of cheese, a mini" pancake" and glass of wine. This was a complete waste of time! With so much food/wine on the the 'ship' no one needed more food. This component should be dropped. There is so much else to see in Vienna. Fortunately I have lived there so know! Entertainment: because I got up at 6.30am each morning to go for my walks I was always too tired after dinner to partake in the evening entertainment. I did enjoy the very informative afternoon talk by the professor about the Danube-Rhine Canal.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful river cruise experience”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 5 Helpful Votes View Photo

This was our first cruise trip and we'll definitely have more in the future. I wasn't aware of the dependency of European river cruise on weather before I booked this trip. It turned out the journey could have been ruined by the water level in the Rhine, Main and Danube. When the water level is too low due to drought, the tour company has to use coaches to transport passengers along the river. This will be accompanied by a daily check-in and check-out of hotels instead of staying in the same cabin throughout the whole trip. The water level indeed was too low in part of our cruise. Luckily Travelmarvel had a good contingency plan. They had two ships start from both ends at the same time. We had a ship swap in the middle where the water level was too low that the ships could not pass. We just packed our luggage on that day and it was moved to the same cabin on the other ship after our day excursion. It all happened seamlessly. I couldn't image if we had to finish the rest of our journey by coaches.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Edinburgh, the Highlands and Islands”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 3 Helpful Votes

On our first night there was a little confusion in that we were on a Great Rail Journeys tour rather than with Travelmarvel. That was soon sorted and we could not fault the organisation, even with a cancellation due to the weather. The alternative in that case was well received.

The highlight of the tour was the Scottish Dinner on the last night with piper, dancer and an excellent meal with the whole tour group really enjoying themselves. If you want to see autumn colours then this trip was a week too early as only a few trees had started to change. There was a good mix of nationalities which helped the cohesion of the group.

A few negatives. There was more coach travel than we expected and the coaches never seemed to have enough fresh air coming in even after we asked for the flow to be increased. Some of the coach sections would have been improved by playing of familiar Scottish tunes/songs to entertain the passengers.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 255