Travelmarvel Reviews

249 verified Travelmarvel tours & cruise reviews from past clients of Global Journeys.

QLD, Australia
Dec 2018
1 Helpful Vote
“Excellent value for money! Best holiday ever!”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
We have just returned from the Xmas Markets river cruise on “the Jewel” with Travelmarvel. Travel was first class all the way. Plenty of included activities as well as several extra optionals. All the crew were fabulous and our cruise director “Emma” was very experienced and ever so helpful. This truly was a worry free 15 day river cruise. We made quite a few new friends that we plan on keeping in touch with. We plan on using Travelmarvel for our next river cruise in Russia. Booking ahead with the fly free offer made this great value for money.
NSW, Australia
Nov 2018
1 Trip
“River cruise Budapest to Amsterdam plus Prague and Paris”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Had a great time on the cruise, Xmas Markets were amazing. The organisation and information supplied by our guides was second to none.
QLD, Australia
Nov 2018
2 Helpful Votes
2 Trips
“Fascinating country really worth a visit”
Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Guide
Pace
Booking With Global Journeys
The whole trip was spectacular and the Travelmarvel guides were terrific, knowledgeable and always helpful. If you have ever considered going to Burma as it was known it is still a beautiful country and well worth the visit. The negative press that it receives is seriously impacting the tourism and as usual the press has put their spin on the situation. We felt completely safe where we travelled to and have wonderful memories of the friendly happy people. If you do go make sure you add the Inle Lake extension it is really worth it.
WA, Australia
Nov 2018
“Fantastic tour of South America ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
This was a fantastic tour with a very friendly and informative tour director and knowledgeable local guides. All the included meals were excellent as was the accommodation.
WA, Australia
Nov 2018
2 Trips
“A Taste of Vietnam”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
I found the Ha Long Bay cruise the best part of our 11 day Vietnam holiday. The guides were excellent, very informative and Son, the head guide, was wonderful. As I had my birthday while away they went all out to give me a wonderful day. They were very attentive and I have no hesitation in recommending Travelmarvel.
QLD, Australia
Oct 2018
2 Trips
“Overall a good trip.”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Overall a good trip. My biggest complaint was the last two days free time - we would rather have been dropped off at a location & then picked up after certain amount of time. Also on the last day, dinner wasn't an included so there was no chance to say farewell to fellow passengers.
QLD, Australia
Oct 2018
1 Helpful Vote
2 Trips
“10 day South West Explorer (Travelmarvel)”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Really enjoyed our trip with Travelmarvel. Accommodation and food were excellent. Our coach driver Andrew was a wealth of information and Louise our tour director was always helpful. We saw lots of interesting things. Our last day in Freemantle could have been organised a little better. An optional extra could have been added to our itinerary to visit Rottnest Island if it was organised earlier. Was also disappointed that there wasn't a departure last night dinner to say goodbye to other fellow passengers. Would travel with Travelmarvel again as the trip was well organised otherwise.
QLD, Australia
Oct 2018
7 Helpful Votes
“A genuinely great holiday where every effort is made to ensure a good outcome”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
This was an exceptional cruise in the very literal sense. I have fortunately had the luck to experience quite a diverse & varied presentation of holidays by various cruise/holiday organisations - this would have to have been THE BEST!

Now, granted, not everything went according to plan, but I hasten to add that in my experience, Travelmarvel made exceptional effort to minimise inconveniences & maximise experience. I pay ultimate respect to Cruise Director - Sue Obermoser, she did an outstanding job to ensure everyone’s situation was the best, under some pretty adverse situations, namely prevailing river conditions. Very well done to her and the entire crew.
QLD, Australia
Oct 2018
5 Helpful Votes
“Our tour with a difference!”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Booking With Global Journeys
We set off for a 15 Day European River Cruise aboard the Travelmarvel Diamond with great expectations. What we actually got was a 15 Day European Tour on the Travelmarvel Jewel, Sapphire & the Diamond, plus 2 luxury hotels in Budapest & Regensberg & many entertaining kilometers aboard comfortable coaches. Due to the unprecedented lack of water, a once in one hundred year event, we were able to do what no Travelmarvel group has yet to do, i.e. travel on each one of its fabulous fleet.

We saw much of the countryside as well as the rivers, so it was all an added bonus! Extra tours were added for us & the care & consideration shown to all by our tireless Cruise Director Hedleigh Emberson was excellent. Many thanks go to the crews of all the vessels in a very trying situation for all, & our local tour guides aboard our coaches were so knowledgeable & entertaining. Our first Travelmarvel adventure, but certainly not our last.
Nsw, Australia
Oct 2018
2 Helpful Votes
“From Budapest to Amsterdam ”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
This is the best value European holiday ever. Great food, great company. Travelmarvel were great, we had a few hiccups, such as the low river levels and using 3 ships instead of one. Minimal interruptions, but the logistics Travelmarvel had to take care of to get us through the trip was nothing short of amazing. Cannot speak highly enough of Global Journeys, we dealt with Jemma who kept us informed of the low river situation all the time. Best ever.
VIC, Australia
Oct 2018
1 Helpful Vote
“Some organisational worries”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Booking With Global Journeys
All did not however go as smoothly as expected with this October India and Nepal tour which was run by Great Railway Journeys in conjunction with APT/Travelmarvel in Australia. We finished up only doing two train journeys. When one 7.00am train which we were booked on did not turn up after an hour they got the bus which had all our luggage to take us to Varanasi. It had waited just in case, since our efficient English tour leader had experienced such delays in the past! The excellent Indian tour leader later found out that the train ran well over 4 hours late. Apparently that is common; a fact which Great Rail Journeys in York should have known.

I’ve done 34 organised tours and the company really didn’t give sufficiently detailed information which I consider was deliberate. The final tour booklet given to the Australians when the tour leader arrived was not the same as what we received in Australia. They misled us on the timing of much travel giving the impression that we would reach places in time to do certain things or have free time. It would have been good to know in advance that a journey of just over 200km from Kathmandu to Pokhara [a very pleasant location] would take 9.5 hours and another 9 hours to return three days later! Fortunately the hotels were all excellent and the English tour director was a gem. A previous tour I did in India a few years ago - mainly in Rajasthan - was much better.

Due to a flight change about 3 weeks before the tour I did not have sufficient time [85 mins] at Delhi airport to go through Immigration, collect my case and get to domestic check-in which closed 45 minutes prior to the flight to Amritsar. A flight later in the day was full however I was prepared to wait at the airport for the first flight the next day [Monday]. I rang APT/Travelmarvel and was told by a lady that I had to be there on Sunday since the tour started early on Monday. The airline had met their requirements by offering to send me on the next day so I had had no option but to completely forget about that booking and look for new flights. I finished up booking with Thai Airways however finished up $1400 out of pocket. As it happened, getting to Amritsar, it was discovered that the English Tour Director and the UK tour members were not due to arrive in Amritsa until Monday afternoon so I would have been OK. Travelmarvel's information was totally incorrect. [It actually took two and a half hours to get through the formalities at Delhi airport; something that is well worth knowing!]
NSW, Australia
Oct 2018
5 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Marvellous Travelmarvel cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
My best friend and I did this cruise to celebrate 50 years of being best friends and what a way to celebrate! Fabulous weather and scenery and unforgettable special experiences like a Mozart and Strauss concert in Vienna and watching an incredible demonstration of glass blowing by a master artisan. Our ship and its crew were magnificent and the food was fabulous. Definitely not the last river cruise we will do.
QLD, Australia
Oct 2018
4 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Danube - Rhine Experience”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
A thoroughly enjoyable river journey. After 4 weeks prior travelling independently "back packing" around Croatia this was absolute luxury. The cabin was fantastic. The bed so comfortable plus a 'balcony' view. The food was amazing. I was conscious to eat healthily. I avoided the pastries and bread but still had 3 'big' meals a day. I had sparkling wine with breakfast and wine with lunch and dinner. Why not indulge a little. I would also walk for 1 to 1.5 h each morning before breakfast whenever the ship was docked. Amazingly when I got home and weighed myself I hadn't put on weight. Which goes to show with healthy eating (and some drinking) plus exercise you don't have to put on those kilos on a 'cruise'.

Marion our Tour Director was fantastic. The excursions were great except for Vienna. We only had a very short 'guided tour', then were left at St Stephens for 1/2 h which was not long enough to do anything. We then went (and wasted 1h) to the Nasch Market to sample a piece of cheese, a mini" pancake" and glass of wine. This was a complete waste of time! With so much food/wine on the the 'ship' no one needed more food. This component should be dropped. There is so much else to see in Vienna. Fortunately I have lived there so know! Entertainment: because I got up at 6.30am each morning to go for my walks I was always too tired after dinner to partake in the evening entertainment. I did enjoy the very informative afternoon talk by the professor about the Danube-Rhine Canal.
NSW, Australia
Oct 2018
2 Helpful Votes
“Wonderful river cruise experience”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
This was our first cruise trip and we'll definitely have more in the future. I wasn't aware of the dependency of European river cruise on weather before I booked this trip. It turned out the journey could have been ruined by the water level in the Rhine, Main and Danube. When the water level is too low due to drought, the tour company has to use coaches to transport passengers along the river. This will be accompanied by a daily check-in and check-out of hotels instead of staying in the same cabin throughout the whole trip. The water level indeed was too low in part of our cruise. Luckily Travelmarvel had a good contingency plan. They had two ships start from both ends at the same time. We had a ship swap in the middle where the water level was too low that the ships could not pass. We just packed our luggage on that day and it was moved to the same cabin on the other ship after our day excursion. It all happened seamlessly. I couldn't image if we had to finish the rest of our journey by coaches.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
1 Trip
“Edinburgh, the Highlands and Islands”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
On our first night there was a little confusion in that we were on a Great Rail Journeys tour rather than with Travelmarvel. That was soon sorted and we could not fault the organisation, even with a cancellation due to the weather. The alternative in that case was well received.

The highlight of the tour was the Scottish Dinner on the last night with piper, dancer and an excellent meal with the whole tour group really enjoying themselves. If you want to see autumn colours then this trip was a week too early as only a few trees had started to change. There was a good mix of nationalities which helped the cohesion of the group.

A few negatives. There was more coach travel than we expected and the coaches never seemed to have enough fresh air coming in even after we asked for the flow to be increased. Some of the coach sections would have been improved by playing of familiar Scottish tunes/songs to entertain the passengers.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
“Excellent trip”
Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Extremely happy with the services provided by Yvonne and the Global Journeys team. The trip to China was great, the small group [12] got along with everyone, the accommodation was premium and very comfortable and clean, the food was very delicious with lots of variety and plenty of food.

The Yangtze River Cruise was great, having our meals at the Executive Lounge was a great idea with a choice of European or Chinese food. It was nice to have tea, coffee, juices, soft drinks and cookies all day at the Executive Lounge on level 6. The cabin was very nice and clean. All the excursions were very interesting, lots of walking though but it was worth it. Travelmarvel provided bottled water with every excursion. Fred the tour director was very nice and helpful, the local tour guides were very good too. Some of the restaurant staff at the hotels did not speak English very well but using Google translate helped.

Overall we really enjoyed this trip and we highly recommend Travelmarvel to our family and friends. Optional tours we highly recommend include the Summer Palace in Beijing and the river cruise in Shanghai. For souvenir shopping we would recommend to do it in Beijing and Xian as in Shanghai it is very limited.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
2 Trips
“Fantastic tour of Imperial China”
Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Thank you Yvonne and Travelmarvel for organising this fantastic trip for me. I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The included activities were great and were at a good pace. We travelled a great distance and saw a lot. All the hotels were excellent and centrally located. There were only 12 people in my group and everyone got along really well. I was a solo traveller but never felt alone thanks to the lovely people in my group. Weather wise it was a good time to travel in September as it wasn't hot at all. The only negative for me was the farewell dinner in Shanghai. I think the tour director should take a bit more care for people with special dietary requirements. However I do like to say that the food was really good in other places.
QLD, Australia
Sep 2018
3 Helpful Votes
“Amazing Canada & Alaska”
Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Guide
Pace
Booking With Global Journeys
What an amazing journey. The 2 days on the Rocky Mountaineer lived up to every expectation and it snowed in Banff and Lake Louise. That was a touch of "Christmas" magic in September. On the coach leg, the scenery was majestic and beautiful and it was awesome to stand on the Icefields. The cruise to Alaska on the "Volandam" was a special highlight. The weather was amazing. Our float plane flight over the glaciers out of Juneau was picture postcard perfect; the train up to White Pass from Shagway was awe inspiring - incredible landscape coupled with the history of the Klondike and Yukon gold rush. Wow! But "the highlight" was Glacier Bay. A memorable day of soaking the majesty of God's creation and the calving of Margerie Glacier.
QLD, Australia
Sep 2018
“20 Day Wonders of Vietnam and Cambodia”
Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
First time traveling with Travelmarvel and would definitely do it again. Guides were excellent as was accommodation, meals and transport. Highlights of the trip for us were Halong Bay and visiting the small villages along the Mekong, where we got to talk to the children learning English at a school. We went in Sept at the end of the wet season and were very lucky because it only drizzled once through the day during our three weeks. Sunsets and night time storms were spectacular.
QLD, Australia
Sep 2018
2 Helpful Votes
“Magical Scenery”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
This was by far the best organised tour I have ever been on. The Tour Director was amazing. He made everything work like clockwork. He was always relaxed in spite of the occasional hiccup. All on the tour felt he could have done with an assistant to ease the load.

I do feel that porterage should always be included as there is sometimes just a small window of time for the suitcases of 40 people to be unloaded. Without the help of a chain gang of able-bodied men on the tour, there would have been pandemonium.

The scenery was just spectacular. Accommodation was excellent apart from tiny rooms in Bloomsbury and Colmar. Meals were very good. The evening meal in Colmar was exceptional.

Results 1-20 of 249  

Back to top