Travelmarvel Tour & Cruise Reviews

Travelmarvel
4.6 out of 5
274 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Travelmarvel. Every review has been verified.

     
“Thoroughly enjoyable Douro River cruise with Travelmarvel ”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed the cruise, it was relaxing taking in the scenery as we cruised to our next village. The boat doesn’t sail at night therefore you get to sit on the deck and take it all in. You are not on the go all the time like some other tours, the fact that you are on board for a week means that you unpack and that’s it until you disembark for your next destination. The people on the boat were all very friendly. Our cabin was very noisy which was disappointing as we were on level three, we also experienced a smell from the drain.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Tick off the bucket list!”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

What an amazing trip! We ticked so many things off our bucket list. Every day was a jam packed adventure! We got to see Mother Nature at its best. Bears, elks, eagles, salmon, long horned sheep, and this list goes on. We got to visit so many wild and wonderful towns all so different to one another. Our tour guide Ben Direen was fantastic as was our driver Big Mike. The 7 day cruise to Alaska was a nice way to finish the trip with some time to chill out as well as options for adventure on shore. First time with Travelmarvel and I’ll definitely be travelling with them again. I was very impressed with their service.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Voyage Through Africa Tour by Travel Marvel in August 2019”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019

Travelmarvel tour Voyage Through Africa (from Capetown to Nairobi) was amazing because it offers probably the greatest wildlife experience in the world. From the relative safety of a large 4 wheel drive Land Cruiser vehicle or a large boat on the river, you can view, within a few metres on many game drives within various National Parks in multiple countries, animals such as Lions, Elephants, Zebras, Wilderbeast, Antelopes, Giraffes, Hippos, Buffalo, Wart Hogs, Crocodiles and a variety of birds.

The accommodation was always first rate even in some remote places within National Parks. Visits to a Masai Village was a wonderful highlight with their singing and dancing including the children and discussions with young Masai men about their education and future. An optional visit in Soweto including an after school care centre was enjoyable to see the beautiful children.

Only negative in the main program was a long exhausting drive in Kenya between Lake Nakuru and the Masai Mara though this did enable us to see along the way some real communities of local people. Travel Marvel should consider replacing that long drive with another included flight. Optional Excursions in Cape Town South Africa, namely Botanical Gardens and Heritage (incl Langa) tours were not value for money.

The Tour Leaders in both Southern Africa (Christel) and East Africa (Blassy) were superb, particularly Christel who was simply wonderful in all respects, as were the Drivers / Guides particularly Raphael in East Africa. Raphael was an excellent safe driver with a superhuman eye for sighting animals, a true believer in animal and environmental protection and was knowledgeable, caring and humorous.

Booking online with Global Journeys was smooth, responsive and efficient as always using Hannah who is extremely easy to do business with. That said, a recommended improvement would be for Global Journeys, in conjunction with Travelmarvel, to automatically provide greater direction, clear advice and removal of uncertainty re any need to secure a Visa in advance of travel for certain countries. For example on this tour, Australian travellers must secure before they travel, a Kenyan E-Visa online directly from the Kenyan Government website whereas whilst Visas for Zimbabwe and Zambia are required, these are organised at the border by the Southern Africa Tour Leader for everyone in the travel group which thus avoids significant hassles for individual travellers either pre-travel or at the border.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Tour of Canada and Alaska”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019 View Photo

Everything about this trip was really wonderful and so very smooth. Top of the list of course was the scenery and the countries. Our tour director, Linda, was fantastic. She became a real friend to us, went the extra mile for us and was professional and informative every day of the trip. The cruise to Alaska was fantastic. The onboard activities kept us busy when we were not in port and the onshore excursions were great value, too. Never a dull moment. The biggest highlight was our tour group of really lovely people and a tour director who just seemed to enjoy our company as much as we did hers. An amazing trip all-round!

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Rockies & Alaskan Adventure 2019”
- QLD, Australia Jul 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our adventure. Our Tour Director was brilliant and very informative. Our only negative was that we had medication which needed to be kept cool, most of accommodation did not have a fridge with small freezer to freeze our freezer pack overnight.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful river cruise, exceeded expectations”
- ACT, Australia Jul 2019 2 Helpful Votes

The European Gems River Cruise, Amsterdam to Budapest was wonderful, accommodation, food, entertainment and fellow travellers exceeded my expectations. There were many highlights, Amsterdam was so special cruising through their canal systems, the Rhine Gorge was amazing, drifting past the vine-covered slopes, saw so many castles, Rudesheim the visit to Siegfried's Mechanical Instrument Museum was certainly a highlight as was every place the ship stopped at.

My highlight was cruising the Danube into Budapest at 7.30 am, on the top deck with commentary about the amazing buildings unfolding before us..SO Special. We needed to swap ships, due to water levels, this was very well organised and certainly not a problem. I would certainly travel with Travelmarvel again, will recommend Yvonne Brooks, our Travel Agent as she was very efficient and accommodating.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A fantastic week”
- QLD, Australia Jul 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Our Douro River Cruise was amazing. Cruise director Isobel couldn’t have been better, from the time we boarded our cruise until we disembarked. Food and service was superb.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Eastern Europe & European Gems”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

The holiday went very well due to the assistance of Global Journeys and the arrangements put in place prior to leaving Australia. Travelmarvel's organisation was, as one would expect, tip top. The weather was great and there were no hiccups. Very happy with Global Journeys and Travelmarvel. Should I travel again I would gladly involve both organisations.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Best ever trip to Africa ”
- SA, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

We have just returned from the Travelmarvel 15 day Cape Town to Chobe Adventure & would highly recommend this trip which gave us an insight into the 4 countries visited. Kruger was excellent & game drives were very exciting seeing many animals. Chobe gave us an opportunity to do land & water for game viewing so the best of both of worlds.

Our experience with Hannah from Global Journeys was great, she was prompt with communication & very helpful & I would not hesitate to use her again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Beautiful Canada and Alaska”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

Only had one really rainy day, travelled 16th June to July 8th. Quite pleasant weather even in Alaska. Accommodation was excellent in every town, a very good standard. Tours were very good, only disappointment for me was the dog mushers camp. Puppies were so cute but ride very short for the price we paid.

Kitt our travel guide was very good, did everything right, she was amazing. Banff is a lovely place, Vancouver is a nice clean city. Didn't see much of Jasper, as it rained all day. Rocky Mountaineer was a wonderful experience, it's quite expensive though, plenty to eat and drink on the train.

Ship was smaller than we are used to but very nice, wonderful music, some shows were good. Drinks were reasonable on ship except for red wine which was very expensive.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Travelmarvel Reflections tour of Western Canada”
- WA, Australia Jun 2019

We've just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable Travelmarvel Reflections tour of Western Canada. Going early June allowed us to still see quite a bit of snow, especially on top of the mountains in Whistler. We were so lucky with the weather (warm) with just a bit of rain one night.

Even though we were a big group of 48 we all got along well. On the bus component our roller blading tour director Roneil was friendly and well organised, as was our delightful coach driver Lana. Accommodation was of a high standard, though Kamloops was somewhat basic - our favourite being the log cabins at Blue River.

The Rocky Mountaineer was a delightful experience, we were certainly fed really well. The cruise to Alaska was great with the highlight being Glacier Bay. We are pleased we chose Reflections and would gladly recommend it to our friends. Hannah (Global Journeys) we once again appreciate how efficient you have been in organising our trip and promptly answering any questions.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Beautiful Canada and Alaska”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

It was a good holiday. We definitely saw a lot. Great tour guide and coach driver. Canada and Alaska are beautiful places to visit. We would have liked to have stayed longer in several places, especially Lake Louise and Quaaout Lodge, which felt a bit rushed. It cost us approximately $25,000 (for 2), which is very expensive.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful trip through Canada & Alaska.”
- QLD, Australia May 2019 View Photo

A wonderful trip. Well organised and thoroughly enjoyable. Plenty of free time and visited all of the key heritage sites. Knowledgeable local guides and tour leaders made it a memorable experience.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Hot, dusty and a long way, but well worth it!!”
- VIC, Australia May 2019

I enjoyed this trip from the top end to Perth. It was a long, hot trip but well worth it. We saw some amazing things and some not so good things as far as personnel in the outback goes. The cruising down the gorges is amazing as are the dolphins, stingrays and other sea life we saw.

Glamping at El Questro was interesting but I'm a softie and need my air-con. The lovely, warm Zebedee Springs at El Questro were a highlight as were the spitting archer fish at Geiki Gorge. It is amazing how a desert can be transformed when you provide a water supply. The Ord River and Argyle area are a great example of this.

The trip was well managed and the food was varied and plentiful. Pity they didn't think of providing us with water though. It was free on my last 2 Travelmarvel trips, but NOT in the outback. WHAT THE!! Seeing as how I paid over $7K for the trip, water was a basic that should be included.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic trip both land and cruise ”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

My highlight of this tour was seeing many bears in Canada and for the cruise was stopping at Glacier Bay, so wonderful and unforgettable. I would travel with Travelmarvel again, everything went well, Natalie our tour guide was fantastic. We had only a few issues with the coach but that's okay because that town was beautiful so we didn't mind waiting for longer. The driver Darryl was fantastic, always stopped for us take photos of the bears.

Accommodations were good, only one hotel but it didn't let us down. It was a good time of the year to travel for it was not too cold just a good temperature. All travellers were good, we did get along with them. Last thing thanks to Jemma from Global Journeys for helping me with the online booking without her it would be difficult for me. She was so helpful and very quick to respond. Definitely will book with you again.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Tour of Canada and Alaska”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 6 Helpful Votes View Photo

Firstly let me say this has been my second booking with Global Journeys and I cannot fault them. Every email enquiry was answered promptly and to my satisfaction, took some worry out of our journey before we left home. Thanks Georgie.

Our tour from coach to train to ship went smoothly, well organised and I never felt anxious about the next step. I have travelled with other companies including Scenic and Insight and would recommend Travelmarvel along with them. I was initially worried about the amount of free time but it really worked with this tour and was possibly needed especially as we were travelling with 2 other couples.

We booked the helicopter and dog sled via Juneau and the crab feast and lumberjack show via Ketchikan... both excellent. Highly recommend going Gold Leaf on the Rocky Mountaineer, the glass roof makes for excellent viewing, the fine dining experience is better than pulling a tray down in front of your seat. Excellent service but patience is required. I would also recommend that on day 1 from Banff you eat before you board or take a snack because breakfast was 10.30 for us and we were first seating.

Accommodation was great, and always well located. Funny enough the only night we went 'umph' was at Lake Louise a premier hotel, great location but the room was not as good as we had through the rest of the tour.

Would also advise if you do the same tour as we did to have alternate plans for the last day, disembarked at 9.30 to rain so really couldn’t do much more than coffee shop hop until coach trip to the airport at 7.30pm. Had it been fine we would have gone to Capillano or walked around Stanly Park, that last day was arduous.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Awesome trip through the Rockies & Alaska”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 6 Helpful Votes

This was an awesome trip. Would definitely book with Global Journeys & Travelmarvel again. Hard to pick a favourite but our helicopter trip in Juneau to the Glacier and dog sled ride would be close to be the best.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable Grand Alpine Explorer”
- VIC, Australia May 2019 3 Helpful Votes

Quite an enjoyable tour, glad we took this. Well organised in Munich with meeting and transfer to the hotel. We met our tour guide and were surprised to meet additional people with him who had started from London. We were incorporated to form the tour group. The tour of Munich was good, however we had to buy a return train ticket to get back to the hotel. A change to the accommodation booking in Innsbruck to an alternate location (Kramsgach Weislng) meant we lost our sightseeing time in Innsbruck. Not good.

Arrived in St Moritz, it was really enjoyable. Loved the Bernina Line train to Tirano. Excellent, great day out. Loved the Glacier Express train, including lunch onboard. Unbelievable trip to Jungfrau, very nice and enjoyable. It was very good to have free time, especially without the expectation of added on excursions or group tours. Don't change this feature.

There was confusion at the end of the tour in Interlaken and with the trip to Zurich. Did not visit Zurich other than the airport. The tour guide was not aware that this Zurich trip was included in our arrangements and he was expected to help set it up. He did help us set things up, but left early with the England contingent leaving us to sort out the issues that arose with taxi bookings. Not good.

Note: Regarding the optional excursions star rating, gets 5 stars because there wasn't any, hence good.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Canadian Rockies tour”
- NSW, Australia May 2019

A wonderfully organised and interesting tour run by Travelmarvel, the coach, accommodation, meals, included excursions and optional excursions were all terrific. The Tour Director, Simone, was very professional, had loads of knowledge to share, was witty and fun.

The tour group was a great bunch and we all had a wonderful time and made wonderful friendships. Had lots of wow moments throughout the entire tour. Couldn't fault anything, would go with Travelmarvel again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“An amazing Travelmarvel cruise! ”
- WA, Australia Apr 2019 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

Well, I can honestly say this was one of the best holidays I have ever had. Everything about the cruise just fell into place, due to the competence of Cherie Cooper, our cruise director! Cherie is a wealth of knowledge and has an awesome sense of humour and is really a wonderful person. I'm sure she is an asset to the company.

We were extremely lucky to have been blessed with excellent weather, and although nobody could control this, it worked well in our favour. Marko looked after us in the dining room, even though with open dining it could have been any one of the waiters, but we chose to remain on the same table and it certainly was worth it.

A lot of friendships were made but most of all were the wonderful memories we will all have forever. Thank you Travelmarvel. Hope to see you again sometime.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 274