Travelmarvel Tour & Cruise Reviews

Travelmarvel
4.5 out of 5
265 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Travelmarvel. Every review has been verified.

     
“Best ever trip to Africa ”
- SA, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

We have just returned from the Travelmarvel 15 day Cape Town to Chobe Adventure & would highly recommend this trip which gave us an insight into the 4 countries visited. Kruger was excellent & game drives were very exciting seeing many animals. Chobe gave us an opportunity to do land & water for game viewing so the best of both of worlds.

Our experience with Hannah from Global Journeys was great, she was prompt with communication & very helpful & I would not hesitate to use her again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Beautiful Canada and Alaska”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

Only had one really rainy day, travelled 16th June to July 8th. Quite pleasant weather even in Alaska. Accommodation was excellent in every town, a very good standard. Tours were very good, only disappointment for me was the dog mushers camp. Puppies were so cute but ride very short for the price we paid.

Kitt our travel guide was very good, did everything right, she was amazing. Banff is a lovely place, Vancouver is a nice clean city. Didn't see much of Jasper, as it rained all day. Rocky Mountaineer was a wonderful experience, it's quite expensive though, plenty to eat and drink on the train.

Ship was smaller than we are used to but very nice, wonderful music, some shows were good. Drinks were reasonable on ship except for red wine which was very expensive.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Travelmarvel Reflections tour of Western Canada”
- WA, Australia Jun 2019

We've just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable Travelmarvel Reflections tour of Western Canada. Going early June allowed us to still see quite a bit of snow, especially on top of the mountains in Whistler. We were so lucky with the weather (warm) with just a bit of rain one night.

Even though we were a big group of 48 we all got along well. On the bus component our roller blading tour director Roneil was friendly and well organised, as was our delightful coach driver Lana. Accommodation was of a high standard, though Kamloops was somewhat basic - our favourite being the log cabins at Blue River.

The Rocky Mountaineer was a delightful experience, we were certainly fed really well. The cruise to Alaska was great with the highlight being Glacier Bay. We are pleased we chose Reflections and would gladly recommend it to our friends. Hannah (Global Journeys) we once again appreciate how efficient you have been in organising our trip and promptly answering any questions.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful trip through Canada & Alaska.”
- QLD, Australia May 2019 View Photo

A wonderful trip. Well organised and thoroughly enjoyable. Plenty of free time and visited all of the key heritage sites. Knowledgeable local guides and tour leaders made it a memorable experience.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Hot, dusty and a long way, but well worth it!!”
- VIC, Australia May 2019

I enjoyed this trip from the top end to Perth. It was a long, hot trip but well worth it. We saw some amazing things and some not so good things as far as personnel in the outback goes. The cruising down the gorges is amazing as are the dolphins, stingrays and other sea life we saw.

Glamping at El Questro was interesting but I'm a softie and need my air-con. The lovely, warm Zebedee Springs at El Questro were a highlight as were the spitting archer fish at Geiki Gorge. It is amazing how a desert can be transformed when you provide a water supply. The Ord River and Argyle area are a great example of this.

The trip was well managed and the food was varied and plentiful. Pity they didn't think of providing us with water though. It was free on my last 2 Travelmarvel trips, but NOT in the outback. WHAT THE!! Seeing as how I paid over $7K for the trip, water was a basic that should be included.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic trip both land and cruise ”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

My highlight of this tour was seeing many bears in Canada and for the cruise was stopping at Glacier Bay, so wonderful and unforgettable. I would travel with Travelmarvel again, everything went well, Natalie our tour guide was fantastic. We had only a few issues with the coach but that's okay because that town was beautiful so we didn't mind waiting for longer. The driver Darryl was fantastic, always stopped for us take photos of the bears.

Accommodations were good, only one hotel but it didn't let us down. It was a good time of the year to travel for it was not too cold just a good temperature. All travellers were good, we did get along with them. Last thing thanks to Jemma from Global Journeys for helping me with the online booking without her it would be difficult for me. She was so helpful and very quick to respond. Definitely will book with you again.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Tour of Canada and Alaska”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 6 Helpful Votes View Photo

Firstly let me say this has been my second booking with Global Journeys and I cannot fault them. Every email enquiry was answered promptly and to my satisfaction, took some worry out of our journey before we left home. Thanks Georgie.

Our tour from coach to train to ship went smoothly, well organised and I never felt anxious about the next step. I have travelled with other companies including Scenic and Insight and would recommend Travelmarvel along with them. I was initially worried about the amount of free time but it really worked with this tour and was possibly needed especially as we were travelling with 2 other couples.

We booked the helicopter and dog sled via Juneau and the crab feast and lumberjack show via Ketchikan... both excellent. Highly recommend going Gold Leaf on the Rocky Mountaineer, the glass roof makes for excellent viewing, the fine dining experience is better than pulling a tray down in front of your seat. Excellent service but patience is required. I would also recommend that on day 1 from Banff you eat before you board or take a snack because breakfast was 10.30 for us and we were first seating.

Accommodation was great, and always well located. Funny enough the only night we went 'umph' was at Lake Louise a premier hotel, great location but the room was not as good as we had through the rest of the tour.

Would also advise if you do the same tour as we did to have alternate plans for the last day, disembarked at 9.30 to rain so really couldn’t do much more than coffee shop hop until coach trip to the airport at 7.30pm. Had it been fine we would have gone to Capillano or walked around Stanly Park, that last day was arduous.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Awesome trip through the Rockies & Alaska”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 4 Helpful Votes

This was an awesome trip. Would definitely book with Global Journeys & Travelmarvel again. Hard to pick a favourite but our helicopter trip in Juneau to the Glacier and dog sled ride would be close to be the best.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable Grand Alpine Explorer”
- VIC, Australia May 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Quite an enjoyable tour, glad we took this. Well organised in Munich with meeting and transfer to the hotel. We met our tour guide and were surprised to meet additional people with him who had started from London. We were incorporated to form the tour group. The tour of Munich was good, however we had to buy a return train ticket to get back to the hotel. A change to the accommodation booking in Innsbruck to an alternate location (Kramsgach Weislng) meant we lost our sightseeing time in Innsbruck. Not good.

Arrived in St Moritz, it was really enjoyable. Loved the Bernina Line train to Tirano. Excellent, great day out. Loved the Glacier Express train, including lunch onboard. Unbelievable trip to Jungfrau, very nice and enjoyable. It was very good to have free time, especially without the expectation of added on excursions or group tours. Don't change this feature.

There was confusion at the end of the tour in Interlaken and with the trip to Zurich. Did not visit Zurich other than the airport. The tour guide was not aware that this Zurich trip was included in our arrangements and he was expected to help set it up. He did help us set things up, but left early with the England contingent leaving us to sort out the issues that arose with taxi bookings. Not good.

Note: Regarding the optional excursions star rating, gets 5 stars because there wasn't any, hence good.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Canadian Rockies tour”
- NSW, Australia May 2019

A wonderfully organised and interesting tour run by Travelmarvel, the coach, accommodation, meals, included excursions and optional excursions were all terrific. The Tour Director, Simone, was very professional, had loads of knowledge to share, was witty and fun.

The tour group was a great bunch and we all had a wonderful time and made wonderful friendships. Had lots of wow moments throughout the entire tour. Couldn't fault anything, would go with Travelmarvel again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“An amazing Travelmarvel cruise! ”
- WA, Australia Apr 2019 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

Well, I can honestly say this was one of the best holidays I have ever had. Everything about the cruise just fell into place, due to the competence of Cherie Cooper, our cruise director! Cherie is a wealth of knowledge and has an awesome sense of humour and is really a wonderful person. I'm sure she is an asset to the company.

We were extremely lucky to have been blessed with excellent weather, and although nobody could control this, it worked well in our favour. Marko looked after us in the dining room, even though with open dining it could have been any one of the waiters, but we chose to remain on the same table and it certainly was worth it.

A lot of friendships were made but most of all were the wonderful memories we will all have forever. Thank you Travelmarvel. Hope to see you again sometime.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonders of Vietnam and Cambodia ”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Accommodation was really great on this trip with Travelmarvel. Tour Director Mr Tu was first class, the tour guides he had were very informative and also caring.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A Wonderful Combination of Culture, Scenery and Cuisine”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This tour is conducted in partnership with Great Rail Journeys (a British Company) and our smaller than usual group comprised 9 Brits, 6 Australians, a Scottish Tour Director and a Japanese local guide. We travelled by both rail (regional and bullet trains) and bus, giving us a pleasant variety. When we travelled by train, our luggage was transported separately by bus so that we didn’t need to struggle with large cases on those journeys.

The tour itinerary had a wonderful mix of culture and scenery, despite Mount Fuji being shrouded in cloud. A bad back dictated that we couldn’t choose a tour that used ryokans and the hotels we stayed in were excellent. While some rooms and bathrooms might be considered a little on the small side by Western standards, they were all a very generous size for Japan.

Electric pots or kettles were provided everywhere, though sometimes only with green tea and no milk. Breakfasts were all quite good, and the included dinners were excellent. They gave us a variety of culinary experiences that enabled us to understand which specific Japanese food we loved and which we might not bother with again. We found the more rustic food just delicious but the “haute cuisine”, though exquisitely presented, was less to our taste.

Our Tour Director was very well organised and everything went exactly to plan. Our local guide was a delightful man with exceptional local knowledge and gave us some wonderful insights and experiences. We would certainly travel with either company again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Well organised tour of Tassie”
- SA, Australia Jan 2019 1 Helpful Vote

The trip was well organised. All highlights were covered. We could have spent more time in some places, like Port Arthur and Anvers. It was a small group but we all enjoyed each others' company. We were well informed throughout the tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Vietnam to Cambodia on the Mekong River”
- VIC, Australia Jan 2019 1 Helpful Vote

All staff on the boat were very friendly and cooperative. We enjoyed their company and service immensely. The guides were very friendly, helpful and personable throughout the trip. The Shinta Mani Shack in Siem Reap is a really nice hotel.

We were first placed on the lower deck at water level. This smelled so mouldy that we knew as soon as we opened the cabin that we could not stay there. The atmosphere was dank and frankly toxic. At the same moment, a cabin became available on deck 3 which was immediately taken up by another passenger. This left her cabin available which I immediately requested – at an upfront cost of another $1,000 for the upgrade.

We were lucky. Having spoken to some of the other passengers, I think that may well apply to the rest of the lower deck as well. On returning I put a request for a refund of that $1,000 to Travelmarvel, which they honoured immediately, I am happy to say. Overall, the trip had a good mix of activities both on-board and ashore.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent value for money! Best holiday ever!”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 7 Helpful Votes View Photo

We have just returned from the Xmas Markets river cruise on “the Jewel” with Travelmarvel. Travel was first class all the way. Plenty of included activities as well as several extra optionals. All the crew were fabulous and our cruise director “Emma” was very experienced and ever so helpful. This truly was a worry free 15 day river cruise. We made quite a few new friends that we plan on keeping in touch with. We plan on using Travelmarvel for our next river cruise in Russia. Booking ahead with the fly free offer made this great value for money.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“River cruise Budapest to Amsterdam plus Prague and Paris”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2018 5 Helpful Votes

Had a great time on the cruise, Xmas Markets were amazing. The organisation and information supplied by our guides was second to none.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fascinating country really worth a visit”
- QLD, Australia Nov 2018 2 Helpful Votes

The whole trip was spectacular and the Travelmarvel guides were terrific, knowledgeable and always helpful. If you have ever considered going to Burma as it was known it is still a beautiful country and well worth the visit. The negative press that it receives is seriously impacting the tourism and as usual the press has put their spin on the situation. We felt completely safe where we travelled to and have wonderful memories of the friendly happy people. If you do go make sure you add the Inle Lake extension it is really worth it.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic tour of South America ”
- WA, Australia Nov 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This was a fantastic tour with a very friendly and informative tour director and knowledgeable local guides. All the included meals were excellent as was the accommodation.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A Taste of Vietnam”
- WA, Australia Nov 2018 1 Helpful Vote

I found the Ha Long Bay cruise the best part of our 11 day Vietnam holiday. The guides were excellent, very informative and Son, the head guide, was wonderful. As I had my birthday while away they went all out to give me a wonderful day. They were very attentive and I have no hesitation in recommending Travelmarvel.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 265