Trafalgar Tour Reviews

Trafalgar
4.5 out of 5
807 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Trafalgar. Every review has been verified.

     
“Relaxing Canadian Rockies and Calgary Stampede tour”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

This was a relaxing tour that had 2 & 3 night stays that meant you got to really enjoy the mountains. And they are very spectacular to see. The Calgary Stampede was an enjoyable experience with good seats to the evening show and rodeo over two days.

Thanks to Trafalgar tours, Ron our tour director and Al our driver and Hannah from Global Journeys for a great experience!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour of Eastern Canada”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

We had a wonderful time. Canada is a very pretty place to visit. Thank you so much for all your help, Hannah, I must admit I was nervous booking online and not actually getting to meet you in person. But can we just say that you delivered on it all. It seemed too good too be true, the prices you were able to secure for our trip so all I can say is a big thanks from Bill and myself and we would not hesitate to recommend you to our friends.

The Trafalgar tour leaders and drivers were all happy to go over and beyond to make sure everything and everyone was happy. So once again thank you, if or when we travel again you will be the person we will be looking to!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Britain & Ireland Panorama”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

From the time I booked my trip with Global Journeys to the completion of my holiday the whole process was a pleasure. Jemma's communication was excellent - guiding me through the process to ensure everything would run smoothly which was especially important being a solo traveller.

My Trafalgar Tour was fantastic - my fourth which shows my loyalty and faith in the brand. Terry, our Tour Director, went the extra mile to ensure every traveller had a great travel experience - the best T.D. I have ever had. His attention to detail, super sense of humour and local knowledge made this a trip to remember.

I would not hesitate to recommend Global Journeys and Trafalgar Tours to anyone wanting to explore the world in a cost effective, time efficient way without compromising on comfort.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic trip of a lifetime”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This was a trip of a lifetime. As always Trafalgar was a great company to tour with. We were taken to see a variety of different scenery, attractions and experiences.

My daughter and I both thoroughly enjoyed the trip from start to finish. Our favourite would have to be the Scottish highlands and the little Laggan hotel. Beautiful food there. Another favourite was the optional Irish cabaret with the Irish dancing and Noel Gittens, the comedian.

The ferry to Ireland was a great experience and the scenery on the drive to Killarney and the Ring of Kerry was beautiful. I also enjoyed the English countryside. We met a gypsy and stopped on the moors to see the wild ponies.

Our tour director Terry was 10/10. His commentary and knowledge of all the areas was great and he certainly made sure we all enjoyed the tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Thoroughly enjoyable Irish Highlights tour”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

As you can see from my ratings, I was very impressed with and thoroughly enjoyed the Irish Highlights tour. Although a group of 51, there was a great camaraderie amongst the members. And against the odds there was little to no rain or wind, with plenty of sunshine. So great for photos at highlight places, especially The Cliffs of Moher and the Ring of Kerry. I loved Ireland and this was a tour filled with unforgettable memories.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Delightful green landscapes”
- WA, Australia Jun 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Thank you Hannah of Global Journeys for making our booking so easy.

Our tour director IIja was a charming Dutch lady who was proud to show off her country. Regrettably she had little concern for the slower walkers on city walks, often heading off through traffic and intersections. The tour included museums and art galleries which was not too everyone's taste, although in fairness to Iija she did give us extra time to take photographs at the John Frost bridge in Arnhem and served up lots of Dutch treats throughout the journey.

Our overnight stay on SS Rotterdam was a waste of time... our cabin was dated and cold. The corridor carpets were worn which caused me to trip. We were told dinner was not included, so if anyone did not want to have dinner on board, then we may choose to catch a taxi into the city. Since most guests had no idea of the layout of Rotterdam or even where to find a restaurant, we became a "captive audience" settling for dinner on board. In our case our meal was disappointing costing $107.81 for 1 serve of steak & veg and 1 serve of 6 tiger prawns plus two beers. I found a black human hair in my prawns, after bringing it to the attention of staff was told it was a prawn hair!!!

The Sprio boat trip around Rotterdam harbour was too long, with little views other than that of the docks and rusty hulks. Some guests were surprised to find the optional excursions was an extra to the tour cost. Something to keep in mind when booking.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic experience”
- SA, Australia Jun 2019

The Germany and Austria tour was indeed a fantastic experience led by a very experienced and compassionate tour director, Rob Early. Also, the brilliant driving by Venti was in itself a highlight. The itinerary was perfect with each day a non hectic exercise to see through to conclusion. Rob was in control of the schedule to ensure we stayed on track.

The fellow travellers were a mixture, about 40% Australian, 40% American with the rest from an interesting array of countries. Hotels very good, Hilton seemed to have a slight edge on the others. Plenty of optionals. We generally selected dining options although the Eagles Nest was a notable exception. Food, coffee, chocolate, cakes all good. A great experience.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing Devon and Cornwall”
- Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote

I arrived at the London Reception Centre to join the tour. I was warmly greeted by the staff and the Tour Director. A great start. A good number also joined there, which was excellent. My previous trips had started badly. A great group of people from several countries including singles travelling.

The second two hotels we stayed in weren’t as good and the breakfasts were somewhat lacking. The Hilton in Bristol was wonderful. I had room service one night and it was excellent. All the included activities were well thought out and excellent. The optional activities were excellent too.

The weather was wet and cold during the trip even though it was the beginning of summer. I recommend you take a good waterproof jacket. I was thankful I included my daughter’s at the last minute. The tour director, Maria Holzamer, made sure everyone was included and welcome and her commentary was knowledgeable. She and the coach driver went above and beyond to help one passenger who had mobility issues.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The Best Tour Ever ”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

We had the most amazing time on this Trafalgar tour made more great by our guide Kate. Her knowledge, generosity and experience made this tour our best ever. Everything from the food to the sights to the hotels was excellent.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous West Coast tour”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

A great tour by Trafalgar, which did the loop, leaving Los Angeles down to San Diego then inland to Las Vegas, up to San Francisco and back to LA. Wonderful tour, the coach, accommodation, included excursions and optional excursions were excellent.

A large tour group of 50, from many different countries. Due to the distance of this trip, we had a couple of days where we just travelled in the coach, but this could not be helped. The tour director, Todd, was excellent and very informative about the history of each place we visited. Would be happy to go on another Trafalgar tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Full of ancient history”
- WA , Australia Jun 2019

Some of the highlights for us, were Delos and Ancient Olympia. Of course the whitewashed houses and blue domes were what the islands are famous for so that was good to see. All guides and the Tour Director were excellent.

The staff on the cruise were very courteous and ever ready to accommodate our needs. The Tour Director on the ship was super efficient and always made sure we were in the best positions to get off the ship for guided tours. He took good care of all of us.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Scenic Scandanavia and its Fjords by Trafalgar”
- WA, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

It is difficult to find words to describe the natural and cultural environments I saw and experienced on this trip: mind blowing, stunning, breathtaking, amazing, beautiful.... The tour director was hands down the best I have ever been with. Knowledgeable and personable.

The hotels were fine. This is my 6th European tour and I have come to accept that rooms are smaller and more basic than Australians are used to. All hotels on this trip had comfortable beds, decent pillows and amenities. I would suggest not travelling at the height of summer as the Scandinavian hotels do not have air conditioners. The meals were unbelievable - the best in my experience thus far.

We were a big group - 48 in all made up of Americans, Australians, Canadians, Malaysians and Singaporeans. We quickly bonded to become this touring family. This camaraderie was great since I travel solo. We covered much ground so the usual drawback of long travelling days applied to this tour as well. However in saying this we did have 4 two night stays which made the three travelling days a tad more bearable. The tour director also had the knack of identifying travel fatigue and organised frequent pit stops to see something ‘special’ along the route. Highly recommend this tour.

Thank you to Georgie Walpole for her patience and efficiency for organising my flights, taxis and other bookings!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable Spanish Adventure”
- Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote

The tour across Northern Spain was really enjoyable and met my expectations. The hotels were of a high standard and breakfasts excellent. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and supported me when I was unwell. Special dinners especially those where entertainment was provided by local Basque musicians, really great.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Loved it!”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

Maya is a great Tour Director, very friendly, approachable and full of knowledge about the history and current details of Germany. Would love to travel with her again! Peter the driver was a caring person, excellent driver and always helpful. Trafalgar - reintroduction of name tags for fellow passengers please!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip through Britain & Ireland ”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote

This was a great trip. We booked with Jemma and everything flowed very smoothly. The tour was full on but we expected that and saw some amazing scenery and historical sights. Our tour guide, Kevin, was amazing, going out of his way to ensure we saw as much as we could and provided lots of extras along the way. My husband was very keen to see the Falkirk Wheel and was not disappointed. There were many highlights on the trip, I particularly like Scotland, rugged but beautiful. We did most of the optional excursions and enjoyed them.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best of Eastern Europe in 9 days”
- Australia May 2019

May is the perfect time to visit Eastern Europe, beautiful weather and no crowds. Regensburg, Prague and Budapest at night were the highlight. Travelling single felt safe and although it goes at a very fast pace, if you don’t have much time, this is perfect. We had a good group of fun people on the trip which made it very special.

There could be more fun and dancing/singing entertainment in general. Although we were on a more mature Trafalgar group, it does not mean we do not want to laugh and sing and dance. I was very happy with Madeline organising my trip. Thank you and looking forward for another great fun trip in 2021.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing beauty of Norway”
- NSW, Australia May 2019 View Photo

We did the Nordic Adventure with Trafalgar. We travelled through 4 countries and were most impressed with the amazing beauty of Norway. Highlights were travelling through the most beautiful fjord at Geiranger and then North Cape to see the midnight sun. Friends said our photos looked like paintings.

Thanks to Yvonne for once again making our bookings easy. This is the 4th trip she has arranged for us.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great Tour of Greece & Aegean cruise ”
- NSW, Australia May 2019

A great short tour of the most important ancient archaeological sites of Greece & the islands we visited. Tour guide was excellent, as was our driver. It’s a holiday for those interested in ancient antiquities, and you need to be fit as there is a lot of climbing uphill. It was very warm to hot when we did the tour (27/5/19 - 10/6/19) so wouldn’t recommend doing it mid-summer, with the heat & the hordes of tourists.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accomodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Paul Wonmsbaecher made an ordinary trip great”
- WA, Australia May 2019

Thank you Hannah of Global Journeys for your help with our booking.

Paul Wonsmbaecher our tour director was outstanding, he melded the guests together, making for a fun coach. His local knowledge, history and care for his guests was beyond reproach.

We were disappointed that the excursion to Eagles Nest was cancelled and replaced with a Sound of Music Tour which was boring. Having travelled with Trafalgar many times, believe they need to review some of their excursions as they have become stale.

A concern that was raised by other guests was the cost of the optional excursions. It was suggested that this should be advised at the time of booking enabling people to budget accordingly.

(GJ. We agree with you, however "Optional Excursions" by their very nature are optional. Guests do not have to do any of them (and therefore there is no cost). Trafalgar could include all "optionals" in the itinerary, but then the price would go up, and you may end up paying for excursions that you're not interested in. Think of them as a way to tailor the trip to your interests.

Optional Excursions are listed in the final documentation that guests receive three weeks prior to travel to allow them to budget accordingly before they leave. Listing optional excursions before then is not possible as they are not set and priced until the season starts - remember many clients book these trips up to 12 months in advance.)

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful European Whirl”
- New Zealand May 2019

The whole tour was wonderful. The Trafalgar guide and the individual guides in France and Italy were lovely. Very informative. The Global Journeys staff (Hannah) was very helpful and reduced my anxiety levels as I have never planned a trip to Europe before. Having the accommodation, air fares and passes into the venues was great.

I struggled to remember everyone's names on the tour and felt name tags, especially for the first couple of days, would have been helpful. I did not know I had the option of meeting a Trafalgar representative at the hotel where I was booked. I found out after I checked in and was fortunate to still see her. The relationship between the hotel staff and Trafalgar seemed a bit disconnected with misinformation but I had a wonderful start to the journey starting with the Eurostar and ending in Amsterdam.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 807