Trafalgar Tour Reviews

Trafalgar
4.5 out of 5
771 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Trafalgar. Every review has been verified.

     
“Well organised tour with hidden highlights”
- WA, Australia Apr 2019

It seemed that every town had a hidden secret. Leonardo lived here, Joan of Arc died there, Jules Verne wrote and lived here. A lovely visit to a private chateau for lunch, surprising revelations on the Normandy beaches, explanations from a great Tour Director. A very enjoyable tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tuscan travels”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019

This trip worked seamlessly, from booking with Hannah at Global Journeys to the tour itself. The tour guide was funny but informative - it is a holiday after all, and the coach driver was very good at getting through tight spaces when necessary.

The Rome component concentrated on the Vatican and St Peters, rather than the Colosseum and Forum, and there was little time to do independent sightseeing, but that said, the included and optional excursions were well run.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Good trip to Italy”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019

Good trip and experience, very knowledgeable Tour Director. The only downside is all the walking especially for a person like me. Maybe the trip should be rated on physical activity from 1 to 5. 5 being the highest and 1 being the lowest. (GJ. Good idea Beverley, it's in development as we speak!)

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic tour of East Coast USA and Canada”
- VIC, Australia Apr 2019

For us the tour was very comprehensive and extremely well constructed. The tour director Ben Conti had an incredible general knowledge of the areas we visited and also had the ability to disseminate information in a very interesting way. The driver, Jose, was extremely careful and no one was ever worried about his driving.

For us the whole trip was a highlight and we all got on really well and enjoyed each others company. If pressed for highlights, we would include America's stately capital, Washington, the awe-inspiring Niagara Falls, the incredibly beautiful Quebec City and historical Boston. But to be fair, the highlight was the whole trip itself.

The hotels we stayed at were of a high standard and, importantly, were always centrally located. This allowed us to make the most of the free time we sometimes had to further explore each city we visited. For what we got, we believe that the whole tour was well-priced and certainly value for money.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Made it simple. ”
- Nsw, Australia Apr 2019

Great service from Global Journeys. Trafalgar tour was great and our guide was excellent. Hotels were a bit out of town though and need to do all optional excursions to make it a good trip, so be prepared for the extra cost. That being said I highly recommend it and it was the trip of a lifetime!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“History and Culture of Turkey”
- ACT, Australia Mar 2019

This was our 4th Trafalgar tour so we were confident that we would have an experienced tour director and driver and that the itinerary would provide us with the very best opportunity to see the highlights of Turkey. Istanbul - a city of 18 million people is breathtaking with the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar and the Hagia Sophia highlights of this vibrant city. Our stop at Gallipoli was poignant and Lone Pine allowed us to reflect on lives lost.

Troy and Ephesus were spectacular reminders of the power of ancient Rome and Greece, the surreal landscape of Cappadocia was unlike any other and the open air museum at Goreme was a reminder of the difficult life of early Christians in this region. Our visit to Ankara included a visit to the final resting place of Mustafa Kemal Ataturk - the founder of modern Turkey.

We would highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in history and Turkish culture. We booked this tour through Global Journeys - because we have always had excellent service and this was no exception. Georgie is very professional and always quick to respond to any query - 10/10!!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour director”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2019

Ramadan was simply an excellent tour leader. His knowledge of hieroglyphics, history and all-things Egyptian was great and he imparted this in a clear, friendly and professional way. He highlighted the most important things we were viewing and experiencing during this jam packed tour. The hotels and river boat were all great; very comfortable, good food choices and helpful workers.

We have travelled to nearly 80 countries and also visited Cairo before but this tour clearly ranked amongst the best. Global Journeys' pre-journey processes and information were also fabulous with Hannah keeping us well-informed during all aspects of the booking, payment and documentation stages. Thanks to all. Our first time with Trafalgar and Global Journeys — more than likely not our last.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Beautiful Britain”
- QLD, Australia Jan 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Great trip, covered a lot in a short period therefore very fast paced. Would have been nice to spend more time in some places to explore. Taking this trip in summer when it is warmer and longer daylight would be a plus but overall great tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing Turkey”
- QLD, Australia Jan 2019

Turkey was a great experience. Loved every minute of it. My group of fellow travellers were great company. Tour Director Tolga and driver Sarban were excellent, I felt completely safe at all times. Would greatly recommend this tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“European dream”
- NSW, Australia Dec 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

This Trafalgar tour is for those who are looking to see a lot in a short period. It’s like having a European road trip. Great sightseeing and fun add ons.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Well Organised Tour of Spain and Portugal”
- Australia Dec 2018

The Trafalgar Spain & Portugal tour was well organised and, as seems standard with Trafalgar Tours, offered some extra experiences that we would have missed had we self-organised a visit to the Iberian Peninsular. While, inevitably, we just scraped the surface of the cities we visited, the tour gave us a good taste of the sights of southern Spain and Portugal. We probably couldn't have covered the same territory in the same time frame, and the tour took the worry out of arranging transport, hotels, sight-seeing and the like. This is our second Trafalgar Tour and they both seemed well organised and shepherded by very experienced tour directors. The bus and driver were of excellent quality.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Highlights of Spain & Portugal ”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 1 Helpful Vote

We really enjoyed travelling in Spain and Portugal with Trafalgar Tours in late Dec '18 / early Jan '19. Our tour director, Ellen and coach driver, Rui were excellent. They made the tour special and really worked hard to cater to everyone's requirements. We really enjoyed meeting such interesting and inspiring fellow travellers. One cannot go travelling and still come back the same person .... we would recommend this tour to you, our family and friends!

A sincere word of thanks to Madeline from Global Journeys who did so much work to help facilitate our preferred tour dates over Christmas and New Year ... we really appreciate your wonderful helpful nature.

Until our next trip ... Bon Voyage to all of you who are going on vacation soon!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Greece”
- NSW, Australia Dec 2018

The tour was wonderful. We saw all the ancient sites. I know when people think of Greece these days they think of the islands, beaches, cruises and blue and white buildings but our tour concentrated on the past. We saw just about everything from The Acropolis, Olympia and Delphi and more. We loved every minute.

The people on the tour were friendly but you didn't have to mix if you didn't want to. We were so lucky with the weather, clear skies and sun except for Christmas morning when we got a light dusting of snow - perfect. The hotels were great and the food fantastic. We had the best tour guide in Lisa, a truly inspiring woman with so much knowledge, humour and philosophy to keep us all happy and laughing.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“All in all a wonderful trip”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Booking with Yvonne from Global Journeys was so easy. All I had to do was ask for a quote, then pay a deposit and Yvonne handled the rest. We travelled with Trafalgar last year and were very pleased with the price, optional tours, accommodation, the tour guide and driver, so we decided on a similar tour this year with them. Everything on the tour was organised for us by Ulf, our tour guide, who was terrific. He had a thorough knowledge of Germany and was very interesting to listen to. The accommodation was of a good standard, well located so that we could make the most of our free time. The itinerary was not too rushed as some tours are so we saw many wonderful cities and of course the famous German Christmas Markets. Ulf made sure we saw plenty of them too! The other travellers were a great bunch of people from many countries including Australia, US, Canada, Asia and Argentina so we also had many interesting conversations during the tour. As we had travelled with Trafalgar before we were thanked with a lovely big box of chocolates and received a discount on this tour. All in all a wonderful trip. I would recommend both Global Journeys and Trafalgar to anyone considering a trip as they are friendly and professional people to deal with, as well as good value for money.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Egypt”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018

The Egypt tour with Trafalgar was excellent. The 9 days covered all must see sights and were well paced. Good quality hotels and breakfast. Our tour directer Sabaa was very knowledgeable, organised and professional. Booking the tour through Global Journeys with Georgie was a breeze and hassle free. Thank you Georgie.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Ancient sights of Greece”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018 View Photo

This is a wonderful tour of Greece taking in the cultural history of an ancient culture. If you love the Greek myths this is for you. Really lovely people, local guides and an overload of facts derived from relics and remains. The touring days are filled with sights, lunch restaurants and free time to walk and poke around. Lots to see but be sure to be fairly fit. Lots of cobblestones and stairs. Those with sore hips, ankles and knees will be challenged. You will eat way too much at the breakfast buffet, ice creams and other sweets embedded in Greek cuisine. You don’t have many extra tours to pay for so a good value tour. Eating freestyle in Delphi was a highlight.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Real Britain Tour”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Arrived back from the UK yesterday, after a great trip. We would like to thank Yvonne for organising the Real Britain Tour part of it and for getting our tickets to us early. We will have no hesitation in booking with you in the future. Thanks again.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Splendours of Japan with great accommodation and inclusions”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

We were on a 13 day tour with 16 other Aussies, an English couple and a single lady from the US. It took us a few days to adjust to the cultural differences of our tour guide Yama. She worked extremely hard and was well organised but often she would not immediately answer our questions saying she would talk about that later to the group. The tour itself was fantastic. Beautiful autumn colours, great hotels and marvellous inclusions. We had some of the best high end meals ever! Highly recommended.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Splendours of Japan with Hiroshima”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2018 1 Helpful Vote

The tour was very well organised and very good value for money. We were very pleased with the hotels, the tour guide was excellent and we saw everything we wanted to see. We would be happy to recommend this tour to anybody wanting to tour Japan in a short time (2 weeks) but see as much as possible.

We could not fault the organisation of the tour or the hotel rooms, with the exception of the hotel in Kanazawa which had no air conditioning in the guest rooms. It was hot so we slept with the window open (and the noise from the street filtering in!). This was the only negative we encountered. We brought this to the tour guide's attention and she suggested we provide this feed back as well. The mix of people on our tour was excellent and we made some valued friendships.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The name says it all - best of Portugal”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018

This tour with Trafalgar was a gem. The pace was comfortable for those of us not quite as young as we were. There were the hidden gems, and the local guides were also very good. Our leader, Tiego, was informative and well organised especially with our large group. There was a good mix of cities to visit, along with villages and attractions. The booking process with Hannah at Global Journeys was easy, with all queries being answered quickly. Bring on the next trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 771