Scenic Tour & Cruise Reviews

Scenic
4.5 out of 5
36 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Scenic. Every review has been verified.

“Scenic Tour Portugal, Spain & Bordeaux river cruise in France”
- SA, Australia Sep 2019

Our booking through Global Journeys was all via email and went very smoothly, without any hitches. We would not hesitate to book with them once again and in fact already have!! The Scenic 21 Day Western Discovery Tour was very well organised and all went well. The Bordeaux River cruise varied a little from the original program, but this part of the tour depends on tides and water levels. We saw everything that was listed in the programme and more, but just not in the same order as listed. Scenic is a very professional team and we have travelled with them several times before and certainly will do again. They may be a little more expensive than some other tour companies, but we would recommend them to everyone.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Holiday”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

Rocky Mountains are an exciting experience. The beauty of the mountains and lakes are everywhere around you. A sight to behold.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing river cruise”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2019 2 Helpful Votes

The river cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest was an excellent way to travel. It was fully catered and the food selection was varied to provide dishes from the country you travel through. It gave us an opportunity to taste food that we may not have ordered from a restaurant elsewhere. We enjoyed the ability to integrate cycling with our sight seeing. The Scenic river cruise was indeed scenic and the onboard app provided great insights to the various castles, churches and towns as we passed by.

The staff on this Scenic river cruise were friendly and very pleasant to deal with. Our cruise director was the best we have ever had compared to our travels. He was always around to help people with their queries and had a great dry sense of humour. We really enjoyed this cruise and would recommend it to others. Our booking through Global Journeys was simple, easy and without any problems. Anything that was promised was delivered on time and without any need for us to chase. This gave us the opportunity to start our trip in relaxed frame of mind and to enjoy the experience.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fascinating trip from Moscow to Berlin via St Petersburg and the Baltic States”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019 View Photo

We booked this trip because it offered something a bit different from our usual European holidays, and we were not disappointed. The tour operator, Scenic, were excellent. Our trip started in Moscow, where we were met at the airport and driven to our cruise ship, the Scenic Tsar. This is a smaller ship than some others, only taking a maximum of 96 guests, which meant people mixed well and we met some lovely friends. Three tour directors looked after all our excursions, as well as offering some fun entertainment on board. They were a talented group, and we learnt Russian history, language, cooking and Matryoshka decoration. The ship's crew, all Russian, spoke good English, and catered for our every need.

After the cruise we were accompanied on a train journey to Helsinki, where we continued our tour through the Baltic States, again learning much history and culture, as well as seeing some lovely cities and countryside. Our tour director was wonderful, and we couldn't have been better looked after. On both parts of the tour we experienced some wonderful cultural events, excellent accommodation, comfortable travel and some great meals. We would definitely take another trip with Scenic, and happily use Global Journeys to book, as they were very organised and helpful. We really appreciated being able to log on to our record and check how the planning was progressing.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Tour”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019

We had a wonderful time on this tour with a great group of Australians. We stayed in amazing hotels and lodges and ate plenty of delicious food. In total we saw over 40 different mammals and many birds. It got to the stage where we didn't think we could possibly take another photo of an elephant etc but the next day we would be taking yet another photo. It was in the first game park we saw the big five and we saw them again in some other parks. It was very exciting to see so many animals right beside our vehicle. Our tour director was absolutely amazing. His knowledge was incredible. He was super organised and had a great sense of humour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Scenic River Cruise Amsterdam to Budapest exceeded our expectations”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

We booked our Scenic River Cruise with Paris and Prague extensions through Hannah at Global Journeys and I cannot speak highly enough of the excellent service we received. Hannah was always available to answer our questions and always answered our queries promptly and courteously.

Our Scenic trip through Europe was fantastic and was everything we imagined. This trip would suit anyone in our age group (+65) looking for an all inclusive, fully organised tour through some of the prettiest places in Europe with the bonus of unpacking just once. The food on board the Scenic ship was first class and Scenic's included experiences and activities made it an unforgettable holiday.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Canadian Rockies and Alaskan tour”
- SA, Australia May 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Thank you to Jemma at Global Journeys and Scenic for organising this once in a lifetime trip for us. Everything was perfect and we thoroughly recommend this tour. The Canadian Rockies are just stunning from the coach trip and Gold Leaf Rocky Mountaineer train trip and the boat trip to Alaska were unforgettable.

We didn't have to worry about a thing and the scenery, accommodation, food, and service was just wonderful. Our Scenic Tour guide Karen was exceptional. We could not fault a thing and we will definitely be booking again with Jemma and Global Journeys.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Accommodation
Tour Guide
Trip Pace

Was this review helpful?

“Relaxing and stress free City Stay and River Cruise”
- SA, Australia May 2019 3 Helpful Votes

The trip started in Prague where the hotel was very good and centrally located. All you get from Scenic here is a walking tour of the old town on the first morning and my only criticism would be that the walking tour was a bit too long. The rest of the time was ours to explore the town.

The river cruise is difficult to fault. Everything was very well done and totally stress free. A word of advice for those who think river cruising is like the advertisements where you sit on your balcony and watch the world go by. Reality on this cruise is that most cruising is done overnight. The best daytime cruising happens on the day between Passau and Linz but most people miss it because they are off the ship on all day excursions to either Chesky Krumlov or Salzburg. If you don't want to spend 10 hours on either of these excursions with a lot of time spent in the buses getting there and back, stay on the ship for a very nice and quiet day of cruising.

About 20 people stayed on board that day and we enjoyed a nice relaxed lunch while cruising a very nice stretch of river. You also get time to walk around Passau and Linz whereas those on the excursions don't see these places as they leave at 8 am and don't get back until 6 pm. The only other daytime cruising occurs one afternoon through the Wachau Valley and an afternoon between Vienna and Budapest.

Overall we had a great trip and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“River cruising on The Rhine & Moselle”
- VIC, Australia Apr 2019 2 Helpful Votes

Throughout our journey we were looked after every step of the way. We came across Global Journeys online and were very impressed with the service right from the beginning and each step of the way. Hannah was very friendly, helpful and kept us well informed.

We were away for a total of three weeks on a Scenic European River Cruise along the Rhine and Moselle Rivers which also included a 5 day land tour of Switzerland. The ship was very comfortable, well equipped and modern. The staff and local guides were all very knowledgeable and we enjoyed the variety of day tours and activities on offer. The scenery was amazing and it was lovely to sit back, relax and watch the world go by.

We highly recommend this trip and thank you to Global Journeys for all their help. We would definitely use their services in the future.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful holiday”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 19 Helpful Votes

We thought the cruise was terrific even though we changed boats three times. I don't think Scenic could be blamed for lack of water in the river system, and the transfer from one boat to the other ran smoothly. I do think Scenic could have been more direct in the information given. I am definitely going with Scenic again and am looking to do USA/Canada/Alaska either next year or the year after. I think the all inclusive trip was just what it said, all inclusive, which I found was exceptional.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great wildflowers in WA”
- ID, United States Sep 2018 3 Helpful Votes View Photo
Trip: Scenic Tour & Cruise (MWA-1)

My Dolphins and Wildflowers tour in Western Australia was very enjoyable and just the right length. Working with Global Journeys made the booking process easier, probably, than going direct to the tour operator. I don’t live in Australia, yet was booking the tour to be in Australia, so I needed folks who would be responsive and attentive. Madeline kept me informed of the booking confirmation process along the way and, I’m sure, saved me a bit of money.

As for the tour, I was the only non-Australian, and appreciated the acceptance of the group and their willingness to answer my touristy questions. I travel solo and was pleased to see there were other solo travellers too. We went to places I never would have known about if I were trying to book everything myself. The tour guide and driver both were very knowledgeable and a joy to be around.

I was happy not to have to get back on a coach again after the tour was over, but long days of travelling is just part of the process when travelling in Western Australia. I would have liked some more time to explore some of our stopovers, but then that might have meant an even longer tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Holiday ”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2018 4 Helpful Votes

Right from the first contact with Global Journeys through to the end of our cruise it was seamless and carefree. Hannah was great with our booking and Scenic Tours is simply amazing.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Our River Chateau”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2018 12 Helpful Votes View Photo

It's hard to find fault with this tour. All 125 or so passengers were treated like nobility. Nothing was too much trouble and with the best of grace. Ship board life was most enjoyable and each meal an event in itself. Excellent organisation meant our free choice day tours were efficient and clearly explained. There was variety of duration and kind, and many enjoyed the historical events of WW1 and WW2.

Of the many chateaux and famous bridges we enjoyed, it's hard to go past Giverny, Monet's garden. Don't miss this if you have this opportunity. We were given tutorials on riding the electric bikes if we so desired and they were very popular with the older clientele. Everything on this tour is included except your own personal shopping. Our ship was built in 2014 and the balcony could be included into the room via double glazed sliding windows and cafe doors. This extra space was most appreciated

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Rhine holiday”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2017 4 Helpful Votes

Truly indulgent luxury, every need catered for and thought of. Can't recommend Scenic enough for their excellence. Sightseeing was the major attraction, with streamline efficiency getting to each destination and a well thought out program with choice of options. Local guides enhance the understanding of each place and being able to hear them with the Tailor Made device was wonderful.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Jewels of Europe”
- WA, Australia Aug 2017 19 Helpful Votes

Really enjoyed the trip, very well run and more relaxed than on a cruise ship there being less people it was easier to get on and off the ship. We had a fantastic cruise director in Cathy who just made everything so easy.

The best thing is all the tours are included so there is no hassle deciding on what you want to do. The E bikes were great as well. All in all a wonderful experience.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful ship and organisation ”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2017 15 Helpful Votes

Definitely all costs included. Only needed money for coffee ashore. Extremely well organised. Be prepared for large crowds ashore. Docking is no problem with good access at all times.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic holiday”
- VIC, Australia May 2017 29 Helpful Votes

Our Scenic cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest was fantastic! Everything was so easy right from the start of booking with Hannah at Global Journeys, to the transfer from the ship to the Airport. The crew on board the Scenic Jasper were so polite, enthusiastic and willing to help and the food and drink was terrific and endless.

As for the passengers on board, they too were wonderful. We made special friends from around the world including a couple from Texas and another from England. Plus many more. The sights from the ship were so stunning and there was so much to see that you almost didn't want to go to bed in case you missed some of it. We will definitely choose Scenic again and also book a holiday through Hannah at Global Journeys.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A peaceful and spiritual place”
- VIC, Australia Dec 2016 6 Helpful Votes View Photo

Scenic ‘Luxury Irrawaddy’, 11 days, Yangon to Mandalay (28th December 2016 to 7th January, 2017)

We had a great time cruising the Irrawaddy River in Myanmar. The Scenic Aura is a lovely ship – it has only been operational since September. There were 44 passengers on board (full capacity). Most were Australian. The cabins were very spacious, including a bedroom, separate lounge room, bathroom and toilet. They also had balconies. There were great facilities on board, including a pool. We chose a perfect time to travel: 30 – 31 degrees each day, very little humidity and no rain. The itinerary was very interesting. We stayed overnight in Yangon at the Sule Shangri-La, then travelled by bus to Pyay where we boarded the ship. The cruise went for 11 days, ending in Mandalay. It was lovely gliding past the small villages and seeing the many different types of watercraft travelling along the river.

We visited many different pagodas, local markets, traditional villages and schools, and a monastery and nunnery. We really enjoyed interacting with the Burmese people – they were all so friendly and kind, with lots of smiles and very happy dispositions. There were two tour guides (Pa Pa and Pu Pu); both were Burmese and they really made the trip a lot of fun. It was interesting learning about Buddhism from our guides. The sight of all the temples in Bagan was amazing. The staff members on board the ship were lovely, and the food and facilities were excellent.

This is the third time I have used Global Journeys to manage holiday arrangements. Michelle did a fantastic job and everything went very smoothly. Looking forward to our next holiday, which has also been booked through Global Journeys.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful cruise down the Rhine”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2016

Outstanding holiday. We had awonderful time. Staff and crew on the boat were outstanding. The boat was 5 star + and we really enjoyed our time with Scenic. The booking with Global Journeys was seamless, everything went like clockwork in Australia and in Europe.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Europe”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2016 15 Helpful Votes

Whether relaxing in the spa by day or night or bike riding through the beautiful scenery this river cruise has something for everything.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 36