Scenic Tour & Cruise Reviews

Scenic
4.5 out of 5
36 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Scenic. Every review has been verified.

“Terrific river cruise :)”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

We totally enjoyed our River Cruise. Booking through Global Journeys was sooo easy. Communication was great and nothing was to much trouble. We found communication with Global Journeys much easier than communicating directly with river cruise company. The cruise was great - we were a bit concerned that the age demographics would be older than us but that was not the case. There was a great mix of ages on the ship and we have formed some strong friendships. There was a late change of ship which we were disappointed in but Scenic went out of their way to ensure they made up for any disappointment. We would definitely do another river cruise and we certainly will be booking that through Global Journeys. Very happy customers.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

The scenery was brilliant. The service in the restaurant was just below perfect. The reason for this qualification was due to all the smorgasbords. There was an additional specials menu - twice we ordered from this but the meals didn't turn up. Free beverages were excellent.

Another thing mentioned and rectified was all the 'double beds' on the ship were in reality single beds put together. Put my leg through the centre and could have broken a leg or ankle. Fell out of bed with the mattress. Hello, passenger in danger. They did bind this one up and then I was okay. The Palais Liechtenstein Mozart and Strauss concert was perfect. All transfers were very good and prompt.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“22 days from Paris to Porto with Scenic”
- ACT, Australia Jun 2019

Firstly, I have nothing but praise for Jemma Rosen and Global Journeys in how our trip was organised. Jemma was always helpful, efficient and considerate in replying to any queries we had. This trip included two river cruises, the first in Bordeaux and the second on the Douro River in Portugal. Compared to other river cruises we have done, the Bordeaux trip was a little disappointing - the scenery is not as picturesque and the rivers are very muddy.

The cabin on Scenic Diamond was very cramped and smaller than those we have experienced on APT river cruises. Staff on board and meals were excellent. Most excursions were very good but some hot weather at the time spoilt several excursions. We enjoyed the cruise on the Douro River very much and would recommend it. Scenery was beautiful and excursions were excellent. The cabin on Scenic Azure was a better size. At least there was room for a chair but there was still a problem with very limited room between the sides of the bed and the walls.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour through the South of France ”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019 3 Helpful Votes

Our second trip with Scenic on this particular cruise. As usual the staff were great and the accommodation clean and comfortable. A very enjoyable trip and we visited a couple of places that hadn’t been included on the last one. All in all we had a very enjoyable trip.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Christmas Wonderland with Paris & Prague”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 5 Helpful Votes View Photo

Had a great time in Paris, the Lido was club fabulous. Found the ship & crew very accommodating, the excursions were rushed & if you weren’t one of the tour directors favourites you didn’t receive same service. Very disappointed with Xmas day, the food was ordinary & nothing different was offered. Except for 6 people all Australians on board, no entertainment to accommodate them. Crew were great. Overall a good trip but not a great trip. Global Journeys did a great job of organising this trip thanks to Hannah.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Scenic River Cruise Basel to Amsterdam”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 9 Helpful Votes

This was our third river cruise, and it is still the best way to travel. Unpack once, sit back and watch the world go by. However tours are available every day in a different city. Please yourself with what you do. All people are different and expect different things, we rarely used the butler as it is not our thing. We have been with another river cruise company (Avalon) and found their food and entertainment much better. Once again it's the only way to travel and relax.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Grand Alpine and River cruise”
- SA, Australia Sep 2018 5 Helpful Votes

We travelled from Zurich to Budapest by coach and then did a river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam, both trips with Scenic Tours. We had a fabulous time on both trips. The scenery in Switzerland was amazing, particularly when we travelled through the Swiss Alps. Seeing the Matterhorn was one of the highlights, we had a magnificent view from our bedroom window in Zermatt.

The river cruise was wonderful, although a little stressful as river levels were very low and we weren’t sure if we would be able to cruise all the way to Amsterdam. Our cruise director was very good and kept us informed daily. We were actually the first Scenic cruise ship in 3 months to make it to Amsterdam without needing to transfer to coaches or change ships, we were very fortunate. Made some lovely new friends who we are going to catch up with next year. Yvonne was always very helpful and prompt in returning any calls or emails I sent, we really appreciate all her help with our booking. We would certainly recommend this trip.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Romantic Rhine & Moselle”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2018 1 Helpful Vote

We enjoyed the river cruise but were very disappointed to be told that the itinerary was altered due to lock maintenance on the Moselle. The tour director was of the opinion we knew about this but all the Australians onboard had not been notified. The English knew 3 months previously. The main reason for selecting this river cruise was to sail the Moselle. The highlight for us was catching up with friends in Koblenz.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Cruising down the Danube”
- NSW, Australia May 2018 6 Helpful Votes

Our first trip with Scenic. They are expensive but promise a lot and they delivered. The boat was very good and the crew excellent. Food was consistently very good, as was the choice of off-boat excursions. We thought the idea of self-guided tours with personal audio guides was very good but felt the point-to-point guiding could be improved. Make sure you take a map!

A highlight for us was the journey from Passau to Linz. We had the option of off-boat tours of 9 or 10 hours duration with long bus rides but decided, along with about 30 other passengers, to stay aboard for the 5 hour cruise to Linz. It was delightful! Great weather, sitting up front as we sailed through beautiful scenery, plenty of food and drink and not many people about. That was true cruising. The only negative is that passengers don't get a credit for side trips not taken.

Overall a most enjoyable trip. We will certainly consider Scenic for future cruises. A hint for first-timers: Do get a balcony cabin but don't be disappointed if in port there is another boat moored alongside so you lose your view. There are simply not enough spots for the growing number of ships.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Not Quite Scenic At It's Best”
- SA, Australia Apr 2017 6 Helpful Votes

Our Cruise was the first of the season on a ship which had just come out of a major upgrade and had a new crew. It was clear that things were not quite 100% with plywood where there should have been glass on stairs and some of the evening meals were very slow and a bit chaotic. We did however enjoy the cruise and these minor issues were easily overlooked. The crew did try very hard to satisfy everybody and the tour director was excellent. I'm sure that when the ship is completed and the crew are more experienced in operating together that this cruise would be very good.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great River Cruise from Bordeaux and back”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2017 2 Helpful Votes

The cruise with Scenic as usual was great, places visited and tours were very well done by Scenic. The ship had just had a refit and this was their first cruise, not up to Scenic's usual standards as staff were new but improved as the trip continued.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Worry free cruise in south of France”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2016 10 Helpful Votes

The cruise was very well organized by Scenic, the ship’s crew were very helpful and the shore excursions were very good with excellent local guides. Most helpful was the ‘Scenic Tailormade’ provided to every guest to use when ashore. This device enabled guide commentaries to be heard clearly no matter the distance from the guide and also made it possible to choose your own itinerary at your own pace with the use of Scenic’s GPS Guided Tour system. A particular highlight on the cruise was the guided tour of the Palace of the Popes in Avignon and the return there in the evening for an excellent classical concert.

Disembarkation at the end of the cruise was very well handled even for guests leaving independently for whom taxis were ordered and luggage taken to the taxi. We would be happy to use Scenic on a future river cruise but would not book on the bottom deck where the cabins are very restricted in space and storage. Weather was good in September, except for one wet morning, but strong winds prevented much use being made of the upper deck. We are Australian and about 80% of our fellow travellers were from Canada but we all got on well together. The original booking with Global Journeys was very smooth and we recommend the company to other travellers.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderfully relaxing holdiay”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2016 3 Helpful Votes

Scenic looked after us from the moment we touched down in Bordeaux to a cab ride back to the airport on our departure.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 36