Scenic Reviews

22 verified Scenic tour & cruise reviews from past clients of Global Journeys.

QLD, Australia
Dec 2018
3 Helpful Votes
“Christmas Wonderland with Paris & Prague”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Had a great time in Paris, the Lido was club fabulous. Found the ship & crew very accommodating, the excursions were rushed & if you weren’t one of the tour directors favourites you didn’t receive same service. Very disappointed with Xmas day, the food was ordinary & nothing different was offered. Except for 6 people all Australians on board, no entertainment to accommodate them. Crew were great. Overall a good trip but not a great trip. Global Journeys did a great job of organising this trip thanks to Hannah.
QLD, Australia
Sep 2018
6 Helpful Votes
2 Trips
“Scenic River Cruise Basel to Amsterdam”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
This was our third river cruise, and it is still the best way to travel. Unpack once, sit back and watch the world go by. However tours are available every day in a different city. Please yourself with what you do. All people are different and expect different things, we rarely used the butler as it is not our thing. We have been with another river cruise company (Avalon) and found their food and entertainment much better. Once again it's the only way to travel and relax.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2018
7 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Wonderful holiday”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
We thought the cruise was terrific even though we changed boats three times. I don't think Scenic could be blamed for lack of water in the river system, and the transfer from one boat to the other ran smoothly. I do think Scenic could have been more direct in the information given. I am definitely going with Scenic again and am looking to do USA/Canada/Alaska either next year or the year after. I think the all inclusive trip was just what it said, all inclusive, which I found was exceptional.
SA, Australia
Sep 2018
4 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Fabulous Grand Alpine and River cruise”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
We travelled from Zurich to Budapest by coach and then did a river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam, both trips with Scenic Tours. We had a fabulous time on both trips. The scenery in Switzerland was amazing, particularly when we travelled through the Swiss Alps. Seeing the Matterhorn was one of the highlights, we had a magnificent view from our bedroom window in Zermatt.

The river cruise was wonderful, although a little stressful as river levels were very low and we weren’t sure if we would be able to cruise all the way to Amsterdam. Our cruise director was very good and kept us informed daily. We were actually the first Scenic cruise ship in 3 months to make it to Amsterdam without needing to transfer to coaches or change ships, we were very fortunate. Made some lovely new friends who we are going to catch up with next year. Yvonne was always very helpful and prompt in returning any calls or emails I sent, we really appreciate all her help with our booking. We would certainly recommend this trip.
ID, United States
Sep 2018
1 Helpful Vote
“Great wildflowers in WA”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Booking With Global Journeys
My Dolphins and Wildflowers tour in Western Australia was very enjoyable and just the right length. Working with Global Journeys made the booking process easier, probably, than going direct to the tour operator. I don’t live in Australia, yet was booking the tour to be in Australia, so I needed folks who would be responsive and attentive. Madeline kept me informed of the booking confirmation process along the way and, I’m sure, saved me a bit of money.

As for the tour, I was the only non-Australian, and appreciated the acceptance of the group and their willingness to answer my touristy questions. I travel solo and was pleased to see there were other solo travellers too. We went to places I never would have known about if I were trying to book everything myself. The tour guide and driver both were very knowledgeable and a joy to be around.

I was happy not to have to get back on a coach again after the tour was over, but long days of travelling is just part of the process when travelling in Western Australia. I would have liked some more time to explore some of our stopovers, but then that might have meant an even longer tour.
VIC, Australia
Jun 2018
3 Helpful Votes
2 Trips
“Fantastic Holiday ”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Right from the first contact with Global Journeys through to the end of our cruise it was seamless and carefree. Hannah was great with our booking and Scenic Tours is simply amazing.
VIC, Australia
Jun 2018
7 Helpful Votes
“Our River Chateau”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
It's hard to find fault with this tour. All 125 or so passengers were treated like nobility. Nothing was too much trouble and with the best of grace. Ship board life was most enjoyable and each meal an event in itself. Excellent organisation meant our free choice day tours were efficient and clearly explained. There was variety of duration and kind, and many enjoyed the historical events of WW1 and WW2.

Of the many chateaux and famous bridges we enjoyed, it's hard to go past Giverny, Monet's garden. Don't miss this if you have this opportunity. We were given tutorials on riding the electric bikes if we so desired and they were very popular with the older clientele. Everything on this tour is included except your own personal shopping. Our ship was built in 2014 and the balcony could be included into the room via double glazed sliding windows and cafe doors. This extra space was most appreciated
QLD, Australia
Jun 2018
1 Helpful Vote
8 Trips
“Romantic Rhine & Moselle”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
We enjoyed the river cruise but were very disappointed to be told that the itinerary was altered due to lock maintenance on the Moselle. The tour director was of the opinion we knew about this but all the Australians onboard had not been notified. The English knew 3 months previously. The main reason for selecting this river cruise was to sail the Moselle. The highlight for us was catching up with friends in Koblenz.
NSW, Australia
May 2018
2 Helpful Votes
8 Trips
“Cruising down the Danube”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Our first trip with Scenic. They are expensive but promise a lot and they delivered. The boat was very good and the crew excellent. Food was consistently very good, as was the choice of off-boat excursions. We thought the idea of self-guided tours with personal audio guides was very good but felt the point-to-point guiding could be improved. Make sure you take a map!

A highlight for us was the journey from Passau to Linz. We had the option of off-boat tours of 9 or 10 hours duration with long bus rides but decided, along with about 30 other passengers, to stay aboard for the 5 hour cruise to Linz. It was delightful! Great weather, sitting up front as we sailed through beautiful scenery, plenty of food and drink and not many people about. That was true cruising. The only negative is that passengers don't get a credit for side trips not taken.

Overall a most enjoyable trip. We will certainly consider Scenic for future cruises. A hint for first-timers: Do get a balcony cabin but don't be disappointed if in port there is another boat moored alongside so you lose your view. There are simply not enough spots for the growing number of ships.
WA, Australia
Apr 2018
2 Trips
“Wonder ship and staff, long days on tour”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Although we got to see places that two decades ago would not be easily accessible we found that, apart from Ruse and Belgrade, we needed to be coached for some time to our selected location. The time ranged from an hour and a half to almost four hours. Indeed the trip to the Black Sea ( Black Sea Explorer) took 3.5 to 4 hours there and the same back. It made the day very trying. The ship and staff were wonderful as usual -
the on board piano player was excellent.

The Sundowner was a hurried waste of time - off the boat, over the bridge, on to a barge, down with one beer, group photo, off the barge back on the coach back to the boat. One hour tops.

Would not recommend this particular cruise to others.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2017
2 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Wonderful Rhine holiday”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Truly indulgent luxury, every need catered for and thought of. Can't recommend Scenic enough for their excellence. Sightseeing was the major attraction, with streamline efficiency getting to each destination and a well thought out program with choice of options. Local guides enhance the understanding of each place and being able to hear them with the Tailor Made device was wonderful.
WA, Australia
Aug 2017
8 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Jewels of Europe”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Really enjoyed the trip, very well run and more relaxed than on a cruise ship there being less people it was easier to get on and off the ship. We had a fantastic cruise director in Cathy who just made everything so easy.
The best thing is all the tours are included so there is no hassle deciding on what you want to do. The E bikes were great as well. All in all a wonderful experience.
NSW, Australia
Jun 2017
7 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Wonderful ship and organisation ”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Definitely all costs included. Only needed money for coffee ashore. Extremely well organised. Be prepared for large crowds ashore. Docking is no problem with good access at all times.
VIC, Australia
May 2017
18 Helpful Votes
2 Trips
“Fantastic holiday”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Our Scenic cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest was fantastic! Everything was so easy right from the start of booking with Hannah at Global Journeys, to the transfer from the ship to the Airport. The crew on board the Scenic Jasper were so polite, enthusiastic and willing to help and the food and drink was terrific and endless.
As for the passengers on board, they too were wonderful. We made special friends from around the world including a couple from Texas and another from England. Plus many more. The sights from the ship were so stunning and there was so much to see that you almost didn't want to go to bed in case you missed some of it. We will definitely choose Scenic again and also book a holiday through Hannah at Global Journeys.
SA, Australia
Apr 2017
5 Helpful Votes
9 Trips
“Not Quite Scenic At It's Best”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Our Cruise was the first of the season on a ship which had just come out of a major upgrade and had a new crew. It was clear that things were not quite 100% with plywood where there should have been glass on stairs and some of the evening meals were very slow and a bit chaotic. We did however enjoy the cruise and these minor issues were easily overlooked. The crew did try very hard to satisfy everybody and the tour director was excellent. I'm sure that when the ship is completed and the crew are more experienced in operating together that this cruise would be very good.
QLD, Australia
Apr 2017
2 Helpful Votes
4 Trips
“Great River Cruise from Bordeaux and back”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
The cruise with Scenic as usual was great, places visited and tours were very well done by Scenic. The ship had just had a refit and this was their first cruise, not up to Scenic's usual standards as staff were new but improved as the trip continued.
VIC, Australia
Dec 2016
5 Helpful Votes
“A peaceful and spiritual place”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Scenic ‘Luxury Irrawaddy’, 11 days, Yangon to Mandalay (28th December 2016 to 7th January, 2017)

We had a great time cruising the Irrawaddy River in Myanmar. The Scenic Aura is a lovely ship – it has only been operational since September. There were 44 passengers on board (full capacity). Most were Australian. The cabins were very spacious, including a bedroom, separate lounge room, bathroom and toilet. They also had balconies. There were great facilities on board, including a pool. We chose a perfect time to travel: 30 – 31 degrees each day, very little humidity and no rain. The itinerary was very interesting. We stayed overnight in Yangon at the Sule Shangri-La, then travelled by bus to Pyay where we boarded the ship. The cruise went for 11 days, ending in Mandalay. It was lovely gliding past the small villages and seeing the many different types of watercraft travelling along the river.

We visited many different pagodas, local markets, traditional villages and schools, and a monastery and nunnery. We really enjoyed interacting with the Burmese people – they were all so friendly and kind, with lots of smiles and very happy dispositions. There were two tour guides (Pa Pa and Pu Pu); both were Burmese and they really made the trip a lot of fun. It was interesting learning about Buddhism from our guides. The sight of all the temples in Bagan was amazing. The staff members on board the ship were lovely, and the food and facilities were excellent.

This is the third time I have used Global Journeys to manage holiday arrangements. Michelle did a fantastic job and everything went very smoothly. Looking forward to our next holiday, which has also been booked through Global Journeys.
QLD, Australia
Oct 2016
1 Trip
“Wonderful cruise down the Rhine”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Outstanding holiday. We had awonderful time. Staff and crew on the boat were outstanding. The boat was 5 star + and we really enjoyed our time with Scenic. The booking with Global Journeys was seamless, everything went like clockwork in Australia and in Europe.
NSW, Australia
Sep 2016
6 Helpful Votes
3 Trips
“Fabulous Europe”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
Whether relaxing in the spa by day or night or bike riding through the beautiful scenery this river cruise has something for everything.
VIC, Australia
Sep 2016
9 Helpful Votes
1 Trip
“Worry free cruise in south of France”
Value
Ship
Cabin
Excursions
Food
Entertainment
Booking With Global Journeys
The cruise was very well organized by Scenic, the ship’s crew were very helpful and the shore excursions were very good with excellent local guides. Most helpful was the ‘Scenic Tailormade’ provided to every guest to use when ashore. This device enabled guide commentaries to be heard clearly no matter the distance from the guide and also made it possible to choose your own itinerary at your own pace with the use of Scenic’s GPS Guided Tour system. A particular highlight on the cruise was the guided tour of the Palace of the Popes in Avignon and the return there in the evening for an excellent classical concert.

Disembarkation at the end of the cruise was very well handled even for guests leaving independently for whom taxis were ordered and luggage taken to the taxi. We would be happy to use Scenic on a future river cruise but would not book on the bottom deck where the cabins are very restricted in space and storage. Weather was good in September, except for one wet morning, but strong winds prevented much use being made of the upper deck. We are Australian and about 80% of our fellow travellers were from Canada but we all got on well together. The original booking with Global Journeys was very smooth and we recommend the company to other travellers.

Results 1-20 of 22  

Back to top