Scenic Tour & Cruise Reviews

Scenic
4.5 out of 5
23 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Scenic. Every review has been verified.

     

Ratings

5 Star
57%
4 Star
39%
3 Star
4%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Most Popular Reviews

  12 Votes   Peter & Sue
  11 Votes   Rod & Carol
  11 Votes   Penny & Scott
“River cruising on The Rhine & Moselle”
- VIC, Australia Apr 2019

Throughout our journey we were looked after every step of the way. We came across Global Journeys online and were very impressed with the service right from the beginning and each step of the way. Hannah was very friendly, helpful and kept us well informed.

We were away for a total of three weeks on a Scenic European River Cruise along the Rhine and Moselle Rivers which also included a 5 day land tour of Switzerland. The ship was very comfortable, well equipped and modern. The staff and local guides were all very knowledgeable and we enjoyed the variety of day tours and activities on offer. The scenery was amazing and it was lovely to sit back, relax and watch the world go by.

We highly recommend this trip and thank you to Global Journeys for all their help. We would definitely use their services in the future.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Christmas Wonderland with Paris & Prague”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

Had a great time in Paris, the Lido was club fabulous. Found the ship & crew very accommodating, the excursions were rushed & if you weren’t one of the tour directors favourites you didn’t receive same service. Very disappointed with Xmas day, the food was ordinary & nothing different was offered. Except for 6 people all Australians on board, no entertainment to accommodate them. Crew were great. Overall a good trip but not a great trip. Global Journeys did a great job of organising this trip thanks to Hannah.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Scenic River Cruise Basel to Amsterdam”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 8 Helpful Votes

This was our third river cruise, and it is still the best way to travel. Unpack once, sit back and watch the world go by. However tours are available every day in a different city. Please yourself with what you do. All people are different and expect different things, we rarely used the butler as it is not our thing. We have been with another river cruise company (Avalon) and found their food and entertainment much better. Once again it's the only way to travel and relax.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful holiday”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 11 Helpful Votes

We thought the cruise was terrific even though we changed boats three times. I don't think Scenic could be blamed for lack of water in the river system, and the transfer from one boat to the other ran smoothly. I do think Scenic could have been more direct in the information given. I am definitely going with Scenic again and am looking to do USA/Canada/Alaska either next year or the year after. I think the all inclusive trip was just what it said, all inclusive, which I found was exceptional.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Grand Alpine and River cruise”
- SA, Australia Sep 2018 5 Helpful Votes

We travelled from Zurich to Budapest by coach and then did a river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam, both trips with Scenic Tours. We had a fabulous time on both trips. The scenery in Switzerland was amazing, particularly when we travelled through the Swiss Alps. Seeing the Matterhorn was one of the highlights, we had a magnificent view from our bedroom window in Zermatt.

The river cruise was wonderful, although a little stressful as river levels were very low and we weren’t sure if we would be able to cruise all the way to Amsterdam. Our cruise director was very good and kept us informed daily. We were actually the first Scenic cruise ship in 3 months to make it to Amsterdam without needing to transfer to coaches or change ships, we were very fortunate. Made some lovely new friends who we are going to catch up with next year. Yvonne was always very helpful and prompt in returning any calls or emails I sent, we really appreciate all her help with our booking. We would certainly recommend this trip.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great wildflowers in WA”
- ID, United States Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo
Trip: Scenic Tour & Cruise (MWA.1)

My Dolphins and Wildflowers tour in Western Australia was very enjoyable and just the right length. Working with Global Journeys made the booking process easier, probably, than going direct to the tour operator. I don’t live in Australia, yet was booking the tour to be in Australia, so I needed folks who would be responsive and attentive. Madeline kept me informed of the booking confirmation process along the way and, I’m sure, saved me a bit of money.

As for the tour, I was the only non-Australian, and appreciated the acceptance of the group and their willingness to answer my touristy questions. I travel solo and was pleased to see there were other solo travellers too. We went to places I never would have known about if I were trying to book everything myself. The tour guide and driver both were very knowledgeable and a joy to be around.

I was happy not to have to get back on a coach again after the tour was over, but long days of travelling is just part of the process when travelling in Western Australia. I would have liked some more time to explore some of our stopovers, but then that might have meant an even longer tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Holiday ”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2018 4 Helpful Votes

Right from the first contact with Global Journeys through to the end of our cruise it was seamless and carefree. Hannah was great with our booking and Scenic Tours is simply amazing.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Our River Chateau”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2018 8 Helpful Votes View Photo

It's hard to find fault with this tour. All 125 or so passengers were treated like nobility. Nothing was too much trouble and with the best of grace. Ship board life was most enjoyable and each meal an event in itself. Excellent organisation meant our free choice day tours were efficient and clearly explained. There was variety of duration and kind, and many enjoyed the historical events of WW1 and WW2.

Of the many chateaux and famous bridges we enjoyed, it's hard to go past Giverny, Monet's garden. Don't miss this if you have this opportunity. We were given tutorials on riding the electric bikes if we so desired and they were very popular with the older clientele. Everything on this tour is included except your own personal shopping. Our ship was built in 2014 and the balcony could be included into the room via double glazed sliding windows and cafe doors. This extra space was most appreciated

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Romantic Rhine & Moselle”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2018 1 Helpful Vote

We enjoyed the river cruise but were very disappointed to be told that the itinerary was altered due to lock maintenance on the Moselle. The tour director was of the opinion we knew about this but all the Australians onboard had not been notified. The English knew 3 months previously. The main reason for selecting this river cruise was to sail the Moselle. The highlight for us was catching up with friends in Koblenz.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Cruising down the Danube”
- NSW, Australia May 2018 5 Helpful Votes

Our first trip with Scenic. They are expensive but promise a lot and they delivered. The boat was very good and the crew excellent. Food was consistently very good, as was the choice of off-boat excursions. We thought the idea of self-guided tours with personal audio guides was very good but felt the point-to-point guiding could be improved. Make sure you take a map!

A highlight for us was the journey from Passau to Linz. We had the option of off-boat tours of 9 or 10 hours duration with long bus rides but decided, along with about 30 other passengers, to stay aboard for the 5 hour cruise to Linz. It was delightful! Great weather, sitting up front as we sailed through beautiful scenery, plenty of food and drink and not many people about. That was true cruising. The only negative is that passengers don't get a credit for side trips not taken.

Overall a most enjoyable trip. We will certainly consider Scenic for future cruises. A hint for first-timers: Do get a balcony cabin but don't be disappointed if in port there is another boat moored alongside so you lose your view. There are simply not enough spots for the growing number of ships.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonder ship and staff, long days on tour”
- WA, Australia Apr 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Although we got to see places that two decades ago would not be easily accessible we found that, apart from Ruse and Belgrade, we needed to be coached for some time to our selected location. The time ranged from an hour and a half to almost four hours. Indeed the trip to the Black Sea ( Black Sea Explorer) took 3.5 to 4 hours there and the same back. It made the day very trying. The ship and staff were wonderful as usual -

the on board piano player was excellent.

The Sundowner was a hurried waste of time - off the boat, over the bridge, on to a barge, down with one beer, group photo, off the barge back on the coach back to the boat. One hour tops.

Would not recommend this particular cruise to others.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Rhine holiday”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2017 2 Helpful Votes

Truly indulgent luxury, every need catered for and thought of. Can't recommend Scenic enough for their excellence. Sightseeing was the major attraction, with streamline efficiency getting to each destination and a well thought out program with choice of options. Local guides enhance the understanding of each place and being able to hear them with the Tailor Made device was wonderful.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Jewels of Europe”
- WA, Australia Aug 2017 12 Helpful Votes

Really enjoyed the trip, very well run and more relaxed than on a cruise ship there being less people it was easier to get on and off the ship. We had a fantastic cruise director in Cathy who just made everything so easy.

The best thing is all the tours are included so there is no hassle deciding on what you want to do. The E bikes were great as well. All in all a wonderful experience.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful ship and organisation ”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2017 11 Helpful Votes

Definitely all costs included. Only needed money for coffee ashore. Extremely well organised. Be prepared for large crowds ashore. Docking is no problem with good access at all times.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic holiday”
- VIC, Australia May 2017 23 Helpful Votes

Our Scenic cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest was fantastic! Everything was so easy right from the start of booking with Hannah at Global Journeys, to the transfer from the ship to the Airport. The crew on board the Scenic Jasper were so polite, enthusiastic and willing to help and the food and drink was terrific and endless.

As for the passengers on board, they too were wonderful. We made special friends from around the world including a couple from Texas and another from England. Plus many more. The sights from the ship were so stunning and there was so much to see that you almost didn't want to go to bed in case you missed some of it. We will definitely choose Scenic again and also book a holiday through Hannah at Global Journeys.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Not Quite Scenic At It's Best”
- SA, Australia Apr 2017 5 Helpful Votes

Our Cruise was the first of the season on a ship which had just come out of a major upgrade and had a new crew. It was clear that things were not quite 100% with plywood where there should have been glass on stairs and some of the evening meals were very slow and a bit chaotic. We did however enjoy the cruise and these minor issues were easily overlooked. The crew did try very hard to satisfy everybody and the tour director was excellent. I'm sure that when the ship is completed and the crew are more experienced in operating together that this cruise would be very good.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Great River Cruise from Bordeaux and back”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2017 2 Helpful Votes

The cruise with Scenic as usual was great, places visited and tours were very well done by Scenic. The ship had just had a refit and this was their first cruise, not up to Scenic's usual standards as staff were new but improved as the trip continued.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A peaceful and spiritual place”
- VIC, Australia Dec 2016 6 Helpful Votes View Photo

Scenic ‘Luxury Irrawaddy’, 11 days, Yangon to Mandalay (28th December 2016 to 7th January, 2017)

We had a great time cruising the Irrawaddy River in Myanmar. The Scenic Aura is a lovely ship – it has only been operational since September. There were 44 passengers on board (full capacity). Most were Australian. The cabins were very spacious, including a bedroom, separate lounge room, bathroom and toilet. They also had balconies. There were great facilities on board, including a pool. We chose a perfect time to travel: 30 – 31 degrees each day, very little humidity and no rain. The itinerary was very interesting. We stayed overnight in Yangon at the Sule Shangri-La, then travelled by bus to Pyay where we boarded the ship. The cruise went for 11 days, ending in Mandalay. It was lovely gliding past the small villages and seeing the many different types of watercraft travelling along the river.

We visited many different pagodas, local markets, traditional villages and schools, and a monastery and nunnery. We really enjoyed interacting with the Burmese people – they were all so friendly and kind, with lots of smiles and very happy dispositions. There were two tour guides (Pa Pa and Pu Pu); both were Burmese and they really made the trip a lot of fun. It was interesting learning about Buddhism from our guides. The sight of all the temples in Bagan was amazing. The staff members on board the ship were lovely, and the food and facilities were excellent.

This is the third time I have used Global Journeys to manage holiday arrangements. Michelle did a fantastic job and everything went very smoothly. Looking forward to our next holiday, which has also been booked through Global Journeys.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful cruise down the Rhine”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2016

Outstanding holiday. We had awonderful time. Staff and crew on the boat were outstanding. The boat was 5 star + and we really enjoyed our time with Scenic. The booking with Global Journeys was seamless, everything went like clockwork in Australia and in Europe.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous Europe”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2016 10 Helpful Votes

Whether relaxing in the spa by day or night or bike riding through the beautiful scenery this river cruise has something for everything.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 23