Peregrine Tour Reviews

Peregrine
4.4 out of 5
17 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Peregrine. Every review has been verified.

     

Ratings

5 Star
41%
4 Star
59%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Most Popular Reviews

  6 Votes   Michael
  2 Votes   Islay
  2 Votes   Noel & Linh
  1 Vote   Lisa
“Magic world of Morocco”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

What a fantastic trip. Morocco has been one of the best trips we have done. Tremendous scenery, colour, sights, sounds, smells, the people and the culture all made for a wonderful trip. Our riad accommodation was generally very good, and the overnight stay in the desert camp was a first class experience.

Everything worked like clockwork. Our Tour Leader, Samir, was absolutely fantastic - a wealth of knowledge, very personable, catered for each individual's needs, organised the tour guides to perfection and if anything was not up to scratch with local arrangements, food, etc, he did not hesitate to step in and make sure it was corrected. Full marks Samir, an absolute treasure.

Global Journeys handled the changes to trip details, hotels, and travel arrangements very expertly. I have absolute confidence in recommending them to fellow travellers - well done Jemma, top marks for you too.

The extension to Essaouira was magnificent and is highly recommended to all fellow travellers - don't miss this lovely seaside fishing village.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Very enjoyable small group tour of Portugal”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

The trip was well worth it. The itinerary was well balanced with plenty of time for walking to/around attractions and points of interest. Our Tour Leader, Isabel, did a great job in handling all the tour arrangements and had excellent knowledge of Portugal to pass on. The group members all got on very well, for a very enjoyable trip.

The only slight negatives are: 1) the length of time we had to stand around waiting for our coach to get back to our pick-up point due to the strict parking and pick-up arrangements placed on all tour buses and cars. Sometimes this took up to 30 minutes before we could be picked up; and 2) too much time was spent at Sintra's Pena Palace and Gardens, this provided little interest to most tour members - we would have preferred to spend additional time walking in the small town of Sintra, much more interesting.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Borneo Exploration”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2019 View Photo

This was a fantastic small group tour. Except for one hotel, we had good accommodation, excellent meals, great company and a fantastic tour guide who taught us about her country and their lives. Seeing some of these endangered species in the wild was a unique and rewarding experience. This trip is highly recommended.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Highlights of Morocco”
- New Zealand Jan 2019 View Photo

We had a fantastic time on this trip! This was our first time with Peregrine and they didn't disappoint in delivering what we were looking for. This was a winter trip which had its advantages of being in the low season therefore less crowds at most places and much cooler and more comfortable than in summer.

The highlight of the trip was the Sahara Desert - it was absolutely memorable for us. We had the best food there in fact, cooked by the camp's staff who were also the entertainers in the evening by the fire! All the local guides were great and very knowledgeable, and the most outstanding one was Rehda at the Kassar Amridil!

Accommodation in all the riads was mostly comfortable except for a few problems we encountered from insufficient or lack of hot water showers, blocked drainage, to a burst pipe in one of the bathrooms! Special commendations to our tour guide leader, Abdel Jalil, whom we were very lucky to have on this trip. He was entertaining, most helpful and attentive to our needs and extremely knowledgeable. We plan to request for him to be our tour leader the next time we return to Morocco!

The only thing we were quite disappointed about with this trip is it didn't cover the northern cities like Tangier and Chefchaouen which I believe would make this a true Highlights of Morocco trip.

Footnote: Have sufficient, in fact plenty of local cash on hand as not many places takes credit cards and not every ATM machine accepts foreign bank cards either!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Holiday of a lifetime in Antarctica”
- NSW, Australia Jan 2019

Antarctica in January is spectacular!!! I cannot recommend this cruise enough. The check-in was easy, the cabins were clean and quite comfortable considering their small size, the food was amazing and the scenery...beyond words. The Drake Passage is as bad as everyone says, make sure you take prescription medication. Day 1 in Antarctica and we had a continental landing, spotted penguins and seals, had Orcas approach the ship who swam underneath us and I was lucky enough to camp on Antarctica!

Believe it or not but each day was better than the last, we had a mixture of weather; it snowed, we had clear skies and it was overcast at times (great for photos). We witnessed all sorts of bird life, whales and seals. I loved the Islands with penguin colonies and sending a post card from Port Lockroy was a highlight. The presentations from the experts were interesting and all staff are so friendly and inclusive.

I will remember this trip forever. I would advise that you do not start the tour in Buenos Aires, instead begin from Ushuaia and explore Tierra Del Fuego National Park and the port town of Ushuaia on your own. Those who toured the park through the included trip seemed rushed.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A fantastic 16 days in Morocco ”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018

We had a fantastic time, our guide Abdulla was great and we learnt a lot about Berber culture. Loved the food and the other travellers on our trip were great.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Complete Greece”
- NSW , Australia Sep 2018

Just completed an 18 day tour of Greece and the Islands with Peregrine. Had a great time and had some fabulous tour guides for both tours. Lovely having a small number i.e. 7 in the first tour and 9 in the second tour. Accommodation was pretty good except at first in Mykonos where we stayed in the Ag. Stefanos area and we had to climb 180 steps to our room! Our tour guide had words with reception and they moved us to the first floor which was a great room. All the meals included were great. All in all it was an enjoyable trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Touring through South America ”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2018

Booking the tour was easy on the Global Journeys website. The tour leaders were well organised and knowledgeable and the local tour guides added local colour and insights. Undoubtedly Machu Picchu and Sacred Valley were the highlights but I also enjoyed the stay in the Amazon Jungle and Cusco. Everyone got on well. The only problem was the 30 hours of return flights (3) from Rio to home - a long time in airports and on planes.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Explore Azerbaijan, Georgia & Armenia”
- VIC, Australia Jul 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

I found this trip to be very interesting and enjoyable. Lots of history which is older than most of Europe. There were only 2 days of long journeys so it was less hectic than many other trips. It felt like a friendlier and cheaper version of Europe with a very rich sense of pride and culture.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazon Adventure”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2018 View Photo

Peregrine's optional extra at Posada Amazonas was fantastic. The accommodation was amazing, and the attention to detail appreciated. Open accommodation with the jungle experience to be watched from your own private hammock in your bedroom. The organised walks and boat rides were well planned, with our guide being very informative. A level of fitness necessary, and a torch. Great.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Ecstatic about both parts of the Complete Greece trip”
- New Zealand Jun 2018 2 Helpful Votes

Transport and hotels were fine throughout. The programme was varied and interesting and pre-arranged meals gave us a full variety of Greek foods, especially salads. The yoghurt, in particular, was thick and creamy, and with runny honey poured over, made a great breakfast or dessert. Both programmes gave plenty of free time for exploring or shopping - a very nice balance of business and leisure. Security was never a problem. We felt completely at ease with the social environment. Mainland Greece focused primarily on archaeology, history and monasteries, all amidst spectacular scenery.

The Island tour was completely different, particularly Crete, which seemed to be a country of its own. Wild and untamed still, with its own intriguing recipes, embellished with local mountain herbs. The Santorini visit was excellent in itself, with Oia being a perfect small but sophisticated town. People might like to know, that that side of the island has no ready access to beaches. The severity of the volcanic scenery was something in itself though and the cliff walk was a highlight for nearly everybody. We had a picnic on the hill above our hotel and watched the famous sunset from there.

The size of the groups was perfect for getting around and made for a lot more flexibility than big buses. Both our guides were very well informed and both brought the Greek myths to life for us. And of course, everything was well organized while flexible. As an 81 year old I was worried about the fitness level, but was able to bow gracefully out of the cliff walk and only do half of the monastery hike. All the rest was just fine.

I wish to thank Leanne from Global Journeys for her prompt and helpful responses to my anxious enquiries.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Adventure in Peru”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2018 View Photo

A fantastic holiday. Our Peregrine guide was exceptional. The Inti Raymi Archaeology - Limited Edition is a perfect way to experience the rich and diverse Peru. The Inti Raymi festivities were an experience not to be missed and the opportunity to experience this event was an honour. Please be mindful of your fitness level for visiting Peru with this tour. There is much walking and altitude for a lengthy period. Many great memories.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A very interesting country”
- QLD, Australia May 2018

I had used Peregrine previously and was not disappointed. Our tour guide was brilliant, so informative and loved questions. Had a great group, 5 of us - one older couple and 3 singles - who got on well, and always came together for a meal at night. Travel in mid May was quite hot, especially at the bottom of the island. I am glad I did the full island tour, not just half island, as you get to see the poorer places. I would suggest studying the history prior to going there, as that helps to understand the way it is today.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Worry free Trip to Morocco”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2018

Trip of 8 days was very well set out with a mixture of food,culture and sights. Our tour leader, Mohammed, was very organized and informative, also very friendly and only too willing to assist with any problems.The different forms of accommodation and trips was well set out. A great mixture of people. This trip gave a great insight of Morocco for the 8 days.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Interesting and colourful trip through a surprising land”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2018

Morocco is a very big country and you must be prepared for long distances. Sahara desert, traditional cooking, chef school in Marrakech were all excellent experiences. Some of the more remote locations are low on food variety and accommodations are basic, showers not very functional and beds are hard but it adds colour to the experience.

Our guide was very ingenious, put together a great last minute picnic or two (favourite eating experience!) had a wealth of contacts and knew his territory as well as looking after a couple of birthdays. Be prepared, enjoy the amazing scenery and be flexible with times and food which is sometimes not as spicy or varied as you may have expected.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing from start to finish”
- VIC, Australia Mar 2018 1 Helpful Vote

The itinerary, the accommodation, the included activities and our guide - there is nothing that I can fault Peregrine for on this tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Even better”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2017 6 Helpful Votes

Our tour leader Ozan was absolutely brilliant. He looked after everyones needs while delivering product knowledge of Turkey without being boring. I would reccommend Perigrine to all travellers especially if Ozan is leading.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-17 of 17