Peregrine Tour Reviews

Peregrine
4.4 out of 5
23 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Peregrine. Every review has been verified.

Ratings

5 Star
39%
4 Star
61%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Most Popular Reviews

  6 Votes   Michael
  3 Votes   Islay
  2 Votes   Noel & Linh
  1 Vote   Michael
  1 Vote   Lisa
“Peregrine Highlights of Morocco Tour”
- VIC, Australia Dec 2019

We booked with Global Journeys as they were offering a better price than Peregrine and Peregrine refused to price match. Service received from Tracey at Global Journeys was simply outstanding and I will definitely use her again for future trips. The trip highlight was definitely the desert experience... all aspects of it. The glamping, the food, the camel rides, the sunrise and sunset. Definitely would have liked an extra night there. Also enjoyed unwinding at the seaside town of Essaouira after a very hectic schedule the previous 13 days.

Whilst the itinerary of this trip is good, the general level of the accommodation provided on the trip was disappointing considering Peregrine market themselves as the Intrepid premium brand. Poor internet access at some of the accommodations, no hot water for showers at one of the places (which is noted in the itinerary), dirty carpets at side of bed etc. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and overall did a good job but at times it felt like he was struggling to attend to all the needs of a group that varied in ages between 19 and 82. On that note it was frustrating having to slow down often to cater for participants who were not at the required level of fitness for the trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Extremely insightful”
- NT, Australia Dec 2019

Overall this was a comprehensive, well paced, cultural and scenic tour with a wide variety of experiences especially as Mexico and Cuba are both rich in both geography and history. Tour highlights included Oaxaca, Mexico (indigenous prominent region) and Vinales, Cuba (tobacco region).

Mexico: Tour group size: Five (over Xmas/ New year period). Accommodation and services: Generally pretty good however the Merida accommodation was a bit depressing (drab rooms, smelly, sweaty pillows). Hotel Geneva was centrally located in Mexico City, close to everything. Internet was generally widely available in hotels. Plenty of laundry opportunities (e.g. nearby laundromats) or hotel service along the way.

Inclusions: Excellent local guides - very professional and knowledgeable, included breakfasts were plentiful. So much history was generously shared during each tour. Sumidero Canyon boat trip kind of felt like participating in an organised cartel (e.g. boat captain stopped the boat in the middle of river to ‘ask’ for tips from every person on board before taking boat back to home base). Tour bus driver (Carlos) was exceptional.

Tour guide: In comparison to other similar tours (costings, time frames, itinerary), the tour guide did not meet expectations. Examples include: no Peregrine attire worn during entire trip (e.g. promoted other economical tour company, in attire), limited proactive, practical, logistical information shared during trip which would have significantly enhanced the experience (e.g. key info before arriving at each destination, advanced knowledge of time until next toilet stops on long journey, that bus facilities included onboard charging stations for electronic devices, why tour coach was being stopped by officials or specific Indigenous communities en route to destinations). In addition, the tour guide was unable to target communication to small group of experienced, seasoned travellers (e.g. repeatedly referred to bathrooms as place to go ‘pee pee’), allowed a single traveller to dominate tour leader’s time to detriment of others on tour, unreceptive to receiving constructive feedback (e.g. became emotional when presented with suggestions for improved service), was unfamiliar with layout of airport in Mexico City especially when navigating internal flights changes, overly reliant on an English-Spanish speaking member of travel group to assist with translation, particularly when tour logistics went ‘pear-shaped’. The trip would also have been enhanced if the tour guide used the bus microphone, as per the bus drivers suggestion, despite the small group. This would have allowed travellers at the back of the bus to listen attentively to limited logistical information shared. It is recommended that Peregrine invest in additional retraining for the tour guide.

Top tip: Keep plenty of small change for tipping and using public bathrooms (five or ‘cinco’ pesos is norm in Mexico per bathroom stop).

Cuba: Tour group size: Eleven. Accommodation and services: Pretty good. Hotel Nacional in Havana was excellent as was hotel in Cienfuegos. Lovely to stay at ‘homestay’ experience in Vinales and Trinadad. Good service at homestay ‘casa’ accommodation including in-house laundry services. Internet was available at Hotel Nacional (free) and/or available at ‘free wifi restaurants’ in Vinales. Internet access in Trinadad required purchasing an internet card and go to designated tourist area in township square to access internet signal.

Inclusions: Plentiful food especially at home stays, Vinales tobacco farm tour was brilliant, salsa lessons in Vinales were a blast. Bus driver (Lazaro - who also happens to be a mechanic) was amazing - especially when our bus unexpectedly broke down en route.

Tour guide: Superb, super professional, well organised, insightful and sincere. Olexis (tour guide) was kind, thoughtful, full of (relevant) information and went out of his way to ensure everyone's needs were met. He left a lasting, positive impression on the whole tour group. Top bloke. Peregrine: You are extremely lucky to have Olexis guiding your Cuba tour. This guy single handily saved the ‘Peregrine experience’ for travellers that participated in the earlier Mexico tour. He deserves a trip to Aussie and NZ for his efforts. Dude was EXCEPTIONAL.

Top tip: Keep an open mind (and be patient) when travelling in Cuba. Also for Aussie and Kiwi travellers, if entering Cuba from Cancun you can purchase a Cuban Visa at the Cancun airport on the day of your departure to Cuba (yes, you read that correctly). Drinks outside of Havana are cheap (e.g. 1CUC per beer, Pina Colada, Cuba Libre etc) although CUC’s will be obsolete soon (recent government change).

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019

I found the trip to be terrific. I was very happy with all the accommodation and arrangements. Everything pretty much ran to the schedule and I was so happy to be able to go to Abydos with this tour as a lot of tours do not go there. Obviously it was still very hot in Egypt when I was over there and there were a few occasions where I did not participate in climbing down some tombs or entering the Pyramids. My non participation on these few occasions was not an issue or frowned upon. Our group consisted of 7 people and we all got on wonderfully. The guide was superb, extremely approachable and knowledgeable.

As far as booking with Global Journeys and Jemma, it was very easy, straightforward and any queries were answered straight away. I think it is unlikely that I will be travelling anytime soon however I must say that I would not hesitate to recommend your services and also that of Peregrine. P.S. I would have used that Peregrine shopping bag you posted to me every day... It was great!!

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Well paced, interesting cross section of Thailand, south to north”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2019 1 Helpful Vote

This small group tour, led by a delightful, kind local woman, was well paced with plenty of varied activities. The war museums and memorials at Kanchanaburi and Hellfire Pass were thoughtfully presented and very worthwhile experiences. The cycling tour around the historic UNESCO park in Sukhothai was fun, but tuk tuks provided another option for those who preferred to be driven. The Elephant Nature Park was impressive, as was the cultural evening at the Hmong Lodge. Delicious home cooked meals provided insights into regional cuisine. Hotels were mostly of a high standard and we felt comfortable and safe during the entire trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Ancient Egypt”
- QLD, Australia Jul 2019 1 Helpful Vote

We did the 9 day Nile Valley Highlights small group tour with Peregrine. Overall the tour was great. Our guide, Hoda, was absolutely brilliant. Everything was organised perfectly and Hoda was extremely efficient and planned everything to a tee. We also had a very good group of people that we travelled with. Seeing the ancient sights of Egypt was amazing. It certainly isn't a "luxury" tour (I don't really think Egypt does luxury very well) but had some unique experiences (especially the overnight train ride to Luxor!!). For the price the overall experience was amazing and would highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to see the main sights of Egypt.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour of East Africa”
- ACT, Australia Jun 2019

I booked with Global Journeys for a Peregrine Tour of East Africa. They offered a very competitive price and I was very happy with the service they provided. I was kept up to date with any changes in the itinerary and all correspondence was made in a very timely manner. The tour suited us perfectly. The group was small (10 people) which worked very well for a tour spanning four national parks in Kenya and Tanzania. This tour is highly recommended, particularly around the migration season.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Magic world of Morocco”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

What a fantastic trip. Morocco has been one of the best trips we have done. Tremendous scenery, colour, sights, sounds, smells, the people and the culture all made for a wonderful trip. Our riad accommodation was generally very good, and the overnight stay in the desert camp was a first class experience.

Everything worked like clockwork. Our Tour Leader, Samir, was absolutely fantastic - a wealth of knowledge, very personable, catered for each individual's needs, organised the tour guides to perfection and if anything was not up to scratch with local arrangements, food, etc, he did not hesitate to step in and make sure it was corrected. Full marks Samir, an absolute treasure.

Global Journeys handled the changes to trip details, hotels, and travel arrangements very expertly. I have absolute confidence in recommending them to fellow travellers - well done Jemma, top marks for you too.

The extension to Essaouira was magnificent and is highly recommended to all fellow travellers - don't miss this lovely seaside fishing village.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Very enjoyable small group tour of Portugal”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

The trip was well worth it. The itinerary was well balanced with plenty of time for walking to/around attractions and points of interest. Our Tour Leader, Isabel, did a great job in handling all the tour arrangements and had excellent knowledge of Portugal to pass on. The group members all got on very well, for a very enjoyable trip.

The only slight negatives are: 1) the length of time we had to stand around waiting for our coach to get back to our pick-up point due to the strict parking and pick-up arrangements placed on all tour buses and cars. Sometimes this took up to 30 minutes before we could be picked up; and 2) too much time was spent at Sintra's Pena Palace and Gardens, this provided little interest to most tour members - we would have preferred to spend additional time walking in the small town of Sintra, much more interesting.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Borneo Exploration”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2019 View Photo

This was a fantastic small group tour. Except for one hotel, we had good accommodation, excellent meals, great company and a fantastic tour guide who taught us about her country and their lives. Seeing some of these endangered species in the wild was a unique and rewarding experience. This trip is highly recommended.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Highlights of Morocco”
- New Zealand Jan 2019 View Photo

We had a fantastic time on this trip! This was our first time with Peregrine and they didn't disappoint in delivering what we were looking for. This was a winter trip which had its advantages of being in the low season therefore less crowds at most places and much cooler and more comfortable than in summer.

The highlight of the trip was the Sahara Desert - it was absolutely memorable for us. We had the best food there in fact, cooked by the camp's staff who were also the entertainers in the evening by the fire! All the local guides were great and very knowledgeable, and the most outstanding one was Rehda at the Kassar Amridil!

Accommodation in all the riads was mostly comfortable except for a few problems we encountered from insufficient or lack of hot water showers, blocked drainage, to a burst pipe in one of the bathrooms! Special commendations to our tour guide leader, Abdel Jalil, whom we were very lucky to have on this trip. He was entertaining, most helpful and attentive to our needs and extremely knowledgeable. We plan to request for him to be our tour leader the next time we return to Morocco!

The only thing we were quite disappointed about with this trip is it didn't cover the northern cities like Tangier and Chefchaouen which I believe would make this a true Highlights of Morocco trip.

Footnote: Have sufficient, in fact plenty of local cash on hand as not many places takes credit cards and not every ATM machine accepts foreign bank cards either!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Holiday of a lifetime in Antarctica”
- NSW, Australia Jan 2019

Antarctica in January is spectacular!!! I cannot recommend this cruise enough. The check-in was easy, the cabins were clean and quite comfortable considering their small size, the food was amazing and the scenery...beyond words. The Drake Passage is as bad as everyone says, make sure you take prescription medication. Day 1 in Antarctica and we had a continental landing, spotted penguins and seals, had Orcas approach the ship who swam underneath us and I was lucky enough to camp on Antarctica!

Believe it or not but each day was better than the last, we had a mixture of weather; it snowed, we had clear skies and it was overcast at times (great for photos). We witnessed all sorts of bird life, whales and seals. I loved the Islands with penguin colonies and sending a post card from Port Lockroy was a highlight. The presentations from the experts were interesting and all staff are so friendly and inclusive.

I will remember this trip forever. I would advise that you do not start the tour in Buenos Aires, instead begin from Ushuaia and explore Tierra Del Fuego National Park and the port town of Ushuaia on your own. Those who toured the park through the included trip seemed rushed.

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“A fantastic 16 days in Morocco ”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018

We had a fantastic time, our guide Abdulla was great and we learnt a lot about Berber culture. Loved the food and the other travellers on our trip were great.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Complete Greece”
- NSW , Australia Sep 2018

Just completed an 18 day tour of Greece and the Islands with Peregrine. Had a great time and had some fabulous tour guides for both tours. Lovely having a small number i.e. 7 in the first tour and 9 in the second tour. Accommodation was pretty good except at first in Mykonos where we stayed in the Ag. Stefanos area and we had to climb 180 steps to our room! Our tour guide had words with reception and they moved us to the first floor which was a great room. All the meals included were great. All in all it was an enjoyable trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Touring through South America ”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2018

Booking the tour was easy on the Global Journeys website. The tour leaders were well organised and knowledgeable and the local tour guides added local colour and insights. Undoubtedly Machu Picchu and Sacred Valley were the highlights but I also enjoyed the stay in the Amazon Jungle and Cusco. Everyone got on well. The only problem was the 30 hours of return flights (3) from Rio to home - a long time in airports and on planes.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Explore Azerbaijan, Georgia & Armenia”
- VIC, Australia Jul 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

I found this trip to be very interesting and enjoyable. Lots of history which is older than most of Europe. There were only 2 days of long journeys so it was less hectic than many other trips. It felt like a friendlier and cheaper version of Europe with a very rich sense of pride and culture.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazon Adventure”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2018 View Photo

Peregrine's optional extra at Posada Amazonas was fantastic. The accommodation was amazing, and the attention to detail appreciated. Open accommodation with the jungle experience to be watched from your own private hammock in your bedroom. The organised walks and boat rides were well planned, with our guide being very informative. A level of fitness necessary, and a torch. Great.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Ecstatic about both parts of the Complete Greece trip”
- New Zealand Jun 2018 3 Helpful Votes

Transport and hotels were fine throughout. The programme was varied and interesting and pre-arranged meals gave us a full variety of Greek foods, especially salads. The yoghurt, in particular, was thick and creamy, and with runny honey poured over, made a great breakfast or dessert. Both programmes gave plenty of free time for exploring or shopping - a very nice balance of business and leisure. Security was never a problem. We felt completely at ease with the social environment. Mainland Greece focused primarily on archaeology, history and monasteries, all amidst spectacular scenery.

The Island tour was completely different, particularly Crete, which seemed to be a country of its own. Wild and untamed still, with its own intriguing recipes, embellished with local mountain herbs. The Santorini visit was excellent in itself, with Oia being a perfect small but sophisticated town. People might like to know, that that side of the island has no ready access to beaches. The severity of the volcanic scenery was something in itself though and the cliff walk was a highlight for nearly everybody. We had a picnic on the hill above our hotel and watched the famous sunset from there.

The size of the groups was perfect for getting around and made for a lot more flexibility than big buses. Both our guides were very well informed and both brought the Greek myths to life for us. And of course, everything was well organized while flexible. As an 81 year old I was worried about the fitness level, but was able to bow gracefully out of the cliff walk and only do half of the monastery hike. All the rest was just fine.

I wish to thank Leanne from Global Journeys for her prompt and helpful responses to my anxious enquiries.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Adventure in Peru”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2018 View Photo

A fantastic holiday. Our Peregrine guide was exceptional. The Inti Raymi Archaeology - Limited Edition is a perfect way to experience the rich and diverse Peru. The Inti Raymi festivities were an experience not to be missed and the opportunity to experience this event was an honour. Please be mindful of your fitness level for visiting Peru with this tour. There is much walking and altitude for a lengthy period. Many great memories.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A very interesting country”
- QLD, Australia May 2018

I had used Peregrine previously and was not disappointed. Our tour guide was brilliant, so informative and loved questions. Had a great group, 5 of us - one older couple and 3 singles - who got on well, and always came together for a meal at night. Travel in mid May was quite hot, especially at the bottom of the island. I am glad I did the full island tour, not just half island, as you get to see the poorer places. I would suggest studying the history prior to going there, as that helps to understand the way it is today.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Worry free Trip to Morocco”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Trip of 8 days was very well set out with a mixture of food,culture and sights. Our tour leader, Mohammed, was very organized and informative, also very friendly and only too willing to assist with any problems.The different forms of accommodation and trips was well set out. A great mixture of people. This trip gave a great insight of Morocco for the 8 days.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 23