5 Star Intrepid Tours Reviews

Intrepid
4.4 out of 5
68 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Intrepid. Every review has been verified.

“Amazing trip!! ”
- Australia Dec 2020

Great tour with a great group of people! Sean was an amazing tour guide - very knowledgeable and friendly. We camped underneath the stars every night in comfortable swags. Would highly recommend this trip!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Lovely tour in the Southwest outback”
- Netherlands Mar 2020 View Photo

With an enthusiastic tour leader (& excellent cook and driver) Sean, 19 people from different countries had a wonderful trip from Perth to Esperance and back. It was the first time I hiked in a ‘swag’, and I wish I had discovered this type of sleeping equipment (50 or so;)) years ago... I’ll be back!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Could not have asked for more!”
- Australia Dec 2019 View Photo

I had left the booking of my trip over the new year till quite late, however the communication from Global Journeys and Intrepid meant that it was all booked over the Christmas period and the trip took place. I had trouble choosing between 'Best of Morocco' and 'Morocco Uncovered' as they both offered an area that I wanted to go to. I went with 'Best of Morocco' and loved it. Many of the areas we went, we were the only tourists. We were fortunate to have not only a small group of people yet a great group that got along really well.

Mustafa our driver and Khalid our tour guide could not be faulted, they really added to the enjoyment of our experience. Khalid's knowledge of such a vast array of areas was amazing, his passion for his job and his English, including his ability to have a bit of fun was fabulous. He made sure that we were his priority in all areas and his attention to detail was highlighted by all. He could not do enough for all of us.

The food was great and all of the accommodation gave us something to talk about in a positive way. The guest house family were lovely and very accommodating and I loved the smaller towns we visited where we were the only tourists to be seen, playing with the children and walking through the farms. I had the most amazing time in Morocco and this being my first group tour was of concern to me. I honestly don't think it could have gone any better.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Well organised tour”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2019

Booking with Global Journeys was easy. Intrepid are a great company to travel with. Their tour leaders are supportive and know how to organise a trip! It was flawless. Great local guides - this trip had a bit of everything and it was a great trip for a glimpse of Peru. Very fast paced and active tour!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Marvellous Central Asia Explorer”
- New Zealand Oct 2019 1 Helpful Vote

The trip was marvellous. Everything worked extremely well – no problems with flights, visas, or anything else. We felt very safe the whole time. Both countries were amazing in their own right & we were impressed with Intrepid. Our photos are incredible. The 4 "Ms" Mosques, Minarets, Madrasah & Mausoleums - all beautiful.

Our guides in each country (Nastacia in Kyrgyzstan and Ravshan in Uzbekistan) were completely different but both very good – we have only praise for both of them. They were helpful, patient, informative & looked after the group very well. All the accommodation was good and the transport; van / bus / train – all worked very well.

We would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone - any age group.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Marvelous tour of splendid Spain”
- WA, Australia Sep 2019

I enjoyed Intrepid's Classic Spain tour, but the absolute best part was the time spent in southern Spain - Granada, Ronda, Cordoba are now on my list of favourite places in world.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing Inca Trail and Amazon ”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2019 View Photo

The most amazing trip. The whole trip was so well organised. The price was definitely worth it. 11 flights in total. Bus rides. Boat rides. Train rides. Hiking. Camping. Amazing food. Amazing group. The only thing I'd suggest is to put in the itinerary about the flight from Lima to Cusco as it wasn't clear. I panicked thinking I had forgotten to book a flight. I'd also suggest to put on a guide about tipping and gratitudes to the guides/tour leaders etc as it was confusing at times and really needs to be put into a spending budget.

The restaurants were fantastic that we were taken to but there were some restaurants that were quite expensive and not necessarily needed. I think to eat in some local places that give you an idea of the culture would be better than eating in a 5 star restaurant. Overall, the best holiday ever. Would recommend this to anyone. Thank you for being our travel agent for this. I would definitely book another holiday through Global Journeys.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great Combo of Tour and Free Time”
- United States Sep 2019

Our Intrepid vacation, booked through Global Journeys, provided transportation, accommodations, a tour leader, and plenty of free time to plan our own activities. We liked that it wasn't travel on our own, and it wasn't a fully guided tour. It was in between. Our tour leader Ivan was great. The group size of 10 was good. We felt able to get close to the local culture. Global Journeys made the booking easy.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great overview adventure of Central Amaerica”
- NV, United States Sep 2019

This was an amazing way to get a good picture of the cultures, people, history, flora, fauna, geology of Central America. It's BASIX travel but have abilities to upgrade at times.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip through the Kimberleys”
- NSW , Australia Jul 2019

All in all - great trip, no complaints. Expectations meet. Some of my bucket list things ticked. The guide-driver & cook were really nice people. Enjoyed them heaps. Experienced, knowledgeable about the area, and the food was really good and plentiful. All the staff at the Travellers Lodge in Broome were also at their best to make sure I was happy with everything. Luckily we had a nice bunch of people in the group. Where some of the travellers did more than their fair share of work to make it a success.

Itinerary was full on as expected. Lots of walking and climbing into various gorges. Swimming holes, cruises, scenery, sunsets etc were all great. My best was flying over the Bungle Bungles and the water cruises. Staying in the "permanent" tents at caravan parks was a bonus and made it that little bit easier and enjoyable after a long day of activities. Staying 2 nights at the one place a couple of times was great too - just not have to pack up every day. Thanks for making my booking - stay - trip etc so easy. Loved it. Had the best time.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip package to Spain, Portugal and Morocco. Diverse and fascinating.”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

We had a great trip as usual with Intrepid Travels... Small group, seasoned travellers who were happy to share their travel experiences and enjoy the adventures along the way. Our tour guides were great especially Hischam and Khalid... So open and honest in their views about their culture and traditions that we never had any worries to blend in and observe their day to day living in the limited time we were there. We had a ball and left enriched with new knowledge to last our lifetime.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour of Mongolia”
- QLD, Australia May 2019 View Photo

This was a fantastic tour. We were able to see various aspects of Mongolian culture and lifestyles and experience life with nomadic Mongolians. Our tour guide was knowledeable, energetic and helpful. A really enjoyable experience which will provide lasting memories.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous trip to Turkey”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019

What a fabulous trip to Turkey with Intrepid. Our guide, Ozan, was amazing and so knowledgable about the history of Turkey. The hotels were all fantastic and we travelled with a great group of people.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best Tour of Mexico Heartlands”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019 1 Helpful Vote

We have previously travelled with Intrepid and they do not disappoint! They are always professional and really do have the best guides. Everything was as explained in their trip notes although the physical rating should be increased.

This tour is quite physically demanding as we were always on the go and on our feet most of the day (so much to see and do!). Plenty of spare time if you do choose. Mexico is such a great destination with so much to offer. I would highly recommend this tour!

Booking through Global Journeys was easy and communication excellent.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Our first tour with a small group and first visit to Turkey”
- Australia Apr 2019

Highlights included: swimming above Roman artefacts in warm waters at Heliopolis; swimming in the chilly Aegean Sea near Gaz; several of the country excursions; and seeing the two main mosques and walking through the Topkapi Gardens in Istanbul.

The 12 participants interacted well, across a wide spread of ages. Tour leader Ali Kartal, a Turk, was the main reason that the tour was a great success and most enjoyable. Intrepid Travel are to be congratulated for having provided the tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A memorable trip of a life time”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019

It was an amazing trip! The tour leaders in each country were very organised and friendly. Overall, I quite liked the itinerary especially in Peru and Bolivia. You get to see so many things without wasting time. As the trip title suggests, I believe I saw most, if not all, of the highlights of South America. The tour also gives you your own time to do whatever you want so that you do not miss out on what you want to see. The best thing was I met so many like-minded travellers on this tour who really liked to experience and see the countries. I will always remember the time that I got to experience the local life in Peru and Uruguay. I am definitely going to book Intrepid tours in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Central Australia by 4WD and Under 1 Million Stars”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

What can I say, first of all Global Journeys makes this process really easy. Second of all this trip was amazing. I saw everything I wanted to see, was fed every day, had a place to sleep and have so many photos to remind me of my adventure. If you don't mind roughing it a little, this is the perfect tour for you.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable tour with an excellent guide”
- WA, Australia Mar 2019

Enjoyed every day of the tour. Sam C. is an excellent guide - a young keen snowshoe hiker - he trained up our whole group of newbies and looked after everyone including the older slower one (i.e. me). We saw the Northern Lights on our second night out at Peace River. Both nights were clear and really cold but a big camp fire, hot drinks, marshmallows (and a couple of snifters) added to the fun.

I found a few old muscles I'd forgotten about on the first snowshoe outing but it was all easy going, with Sam monitoring everyone. He also produced the "Krazee Karpets" for some snow sliding on the kiddies slopes with laughs all round. The dog sledding was great fun but all too short - could easily gone around again - the dogs were real keen.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wow just wow!”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 6 Helpful Votes View Photo

Our 6 day Iceland adventure with Intrepid was fantastic. Our local guide Karl was excellent and shared so much local knowledge with us. We travelled in a mini bus - a total of 10 guests and although we were the oldest guests we never felt out of place. We visited so many special places along our trip that we have many memories that will last forever. Intrepid certainly knows how to organise a small group tour very well and everything runs smoothly.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The most amazing experience ever!”
- VIC, Australia Dec 2018

This trip exceeded every expectation! The boat was very comfortable. The staff were exceptional - from the cleaning staff to the expedition staff. I was worried about the sea days but I needed the sea days to have some down time to recover from our expedition days. The food was diverse and great quality. I would recommend this trip to everyone. You must go to South Georgia...do not go to Antarctica without going there as it is so amazing!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 68