4 Star Intrepid Tours Reviews

Intrepid
4.4 out of 5
68 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Intrepid. Every review has been verified.

“A comfort of Egypt and Jordan”
- QLD, Australia Feb 2020 1 Helpful Vote

A great group of 12 travellers from Switzerland, Canada, USA, England and Australia varying in ages from late 20's to late 60's. We travelled in early March starting in Egypt for 11 days then Jordan and found the temperatures cool to moderate and weather fine except for a once in 100 year storm which passed through. Accommodation was high three star and in some places four star, always clean and comfortable with breakfasts included.

The sights and history in Egypt were fantastic, the pyramids, Sphinx, Valley of the Kings, Abu Simbel and hot air balloon ride all lived up to expectations. The tombs and temples were awe inspiring. even if I couldn't remember all the dates and names of the Pharaohs.

The desert scenery in Wadi Rum, Jordan was stark and had a special kind of beauty and the tent camp was comfortable with a great dinner and breakfast served by the local Bedouins. There were some tents with ensuite bathrooms but our tour had tents without and shared bathroom amenities which were clean and adequate (only problem was there were no towels provided).

Our group never got to Petra or the Dead Sea as we got caught in the middle of the COVID19 outbreak and had to leave Jordan at short notice when they decided to close their borders. This happened on a Saturday morning and this is when we had problems as we needed to re-book flights and there was no emergency contact number for Global Journeys.

We tried emails but as the office is not open on weekends we got no reply. We feel that unless an emergency contact is provided in future we would hesitate in booking through Global Journeys again. This is a shame as we have had wonderful service and the agent we have dealt with has been extremely helpful and prompt in communicating with us in relation to any queries we have had before the trip.

Value
Cruise
Land Touring
Cabin
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Intrepid's backpacking adventure through Jordan, Israel and the Palestine territories ”
- New Zealand Oct 2019

The trip overall was fantastic, experiencing the middle eastern culture up close in Wadi Rum, to exploring the ruins of Petra, and finally experiencing the amazing city of Jerusalem, a city that offers history, culture and religion, as well as having a modern feel.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Easy trip through a rough country”
- QLD, Australia Oct 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

The tour was organised very well by our tour guide Rabia. It was surprising to see how rough/third world parts of Morocco are, although it is a lovely country. It really felt like you were travelling through a bunch of countries - from deserts to mountains, big cities to nomad tents. The most surprising place on the tour was the Emerald city. A cross between Morocco and Switzerland with brilliant views. I have to commend Intrepid on taking us to very remote communities and experiencing something really authentic. This is something we would have never experienced if travelling on our own.

While most of the tour was well paced, there were 2 days towards the end where you spent ~7 hours per day on the bus, which was annoying. The other let downs were the accommodation in Casablanca (the hotel was terrible), and the local guide in Marrakesh (was not a local but from Fez, and spent most of the walking tour talking about her divorce). Otherwise everything else was great!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“10 day 4WD camping trip from Darwin to Broome”
- Netherlands Jul 2019

This trip was a real adventure. I am from the Caribbean. Knowing that many Australians themselves have not visited this region, for the simple fact that you can't if you don't own & drive a 4WD car, made this trip extra special. Highlights: the magical landscape of the Kimberley. The endless savannah-like grass country with low trees. The literally thousands of baobab trees. Instead of sleeping in tents, at our tour leader's suggestion I chose to sleep outside, with a swag & sleeping bag: the most beautiful, velvety black nights with thousands of stars were my reward. The Gibb River Road; more than 700 kilometers of gut wrenching corrugated road, but so worth it being able to drive this iconic Australian road! Ellenbrae Station was lovely and Larissa's story about daily life on a station was very interesting. Their scones were utterly delicious :) Do not pass this stop. The rust-red colour of the Kimberley earth, so beautiful.

The time of travel (dry season) proved to be fine for this trip. Most accommodations (shared showers and toilets) were good and clean (in my opinion the showers at our camping place at Bartnett Station could be updated however). I was lucky to be part of a nice group of people, a good mix of ages, and everyone helping and cooperating, doing whatever was needed to maintain a smooth daily routine. Our guide Andy was awesome. Very responsible and a very good cook too!

One tip: please provide guests with the phone number of their guide! On the morning of pick-up I almost missed my bus! I was there on time, but as my bus arrived about 5 minutes late, when I asked around at another bus, about 50 meters away, apparently my own bus arrived and then left! Fortunately it came back 20 minutes later (having two pickup times at this point) and I could get on it. There was no way of contacting my guide and at this early hour the office of Global Journeys was still closed, with nobody there to answer an email neither. I would definitely use Global Journeys again in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic time in Egypt”
- NT, Australia Dec 2018 2 Helpful Votes

I had the best time travelling around Egypt. There were 12 of us in the group, 9 from Australia and 3 from USA. Our group got along so well that we became instant friends right from the start.

Our terrific guide was Hend Magdy. Nothing was too hard for Hend. She made sure we were looked after and that our curiosity of Egypt was answered by having informative talks every now and then about their culture, food, lifestyle and religion. Our itinerary was just right for me. The 12 nights were jam packed with activities but left enough time for us to wander during our free time. I believe we have seen the highlights of the country.

The included train journey from Cairo to Aswan was comfortable, so were the return flights to Abu Simbel from Aswan and return flight from Luxor to Cairo. The cruise on the Nile was relaxing with great food morning, noon and night. The crew had a special New Year's eve show for us which was enjoyable. We were blessed with nice weather on the cruise and it was warm enough to be on the open top deck most days. Hotel accommodations were mainly top notch, except for one night in Philae Hotel in Aswan which is not at the same standard if the other hotels we stayed in.

I highly recommend this tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Classic Spain and Portugual”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2018 View Photo

Booking through Global Journeys was totally hassle-free and easy. The process and guidance was professional the whole way through. I highly recommend Intrepid small group tours if you want some time to yourself both for sightseeing and dining. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and helpful when advising where to go, how to get there and where to eat. There was a great balance of group dining (if you chose to) and independent. One of the new experiences for us was having to navigate the public transport system (trains and buses). This enables you to get a real feel for the locals.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“6 Day Taste of Tasmania”
- VIC , Australia Apr 2018

Had an amazing time, Brad our tour leader was fantastic we were fortunate to be with a group of like minded people both young and old which made this a wonderful mix. The first day turned out to be a bit of a surprise and poor Brad had to tell us the itinerary had changed, so we missed out on Mt Wellington and the Mona as well as a free dinner that night.

It would have been nice to have been sent the updated travel notes or itinerary, no complaints! It was what it was and I did read that there may be last minute changes. I think there were only 4 Original and the rest Basix so we did the Basix itinerary which suited me as there was more hiking.

Not sure even if Madeline knew about the changes? It is just that some people like to have an itinerary to follow so they can Google and find out about things of interest (for example what type of trees and plants to look for) before they get there. This is my first intrepid trip and I will defiantly be booking another one.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The best of Morocco tour”
- NSW, Australia Feb 2018 2 Helpful Votes

An excellent tour that encompassed all of Morocco. The tour guide was wonderful and extremely thoughtful as we had dietary requirements to attend to. The hotels and places we stayed at were clean and comfortable. However, some of the initial days of the tour didn’t have hot water. Overall, a great experience.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“North to south cycling Vietnam”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2017 1 Helpful Vote

Good introduction to cycle touring with the back-up of a guide a bus and a support truck. Some challenging days but fairly achievable for the regular rider. I'm a commuter rider(30kms per day) and add some longer rides in the weekend and completed this without additional training. So ok for average fitness level.

To be honest though it's really more a bus tour punctuated by rides, so if you are looking for massive kms and being on the bike more than the bus maybe look elsewhere.

Hotels were 2/3 star level, so ok but nothing memorable. We had a decent group so made the trip good, suspect you normally get fairly active people on this trip so no whingers and generally everyone just got on with it.

The guide was really good, but the second set of bikes had a few niggles, but nothing trip ruining. Overall a good experience and not expensive compared with other options.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Be Fit and Do it Now ”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2017 5 Helpful Votes

After the initial shock of twenty in the all terrain vehicle - small group tours I thought meant between 6-12 people, not 20! I joined the group who were all known to each other as they had had 13 days together from Darwin to Broome. By my 3rd-5th day & their 16th-18th they were tour weary, whereas I was enjoying and making the most of every opportunity, like a solo traveller. Occasionally this put a damper on things and on the atmosphere when doing tasks & in the bus.

The driver was clear on his instructions, and time frames. However he was not open to having anyone elses' music being played on the vehicle. Thank you Luke, for providing us with such nourishing food for all our meals, and keeping your 'fun side' in the many interactions involved on such a trip. More time was needed at the Pinnacles stop, and it was available, due to the wet weather preventing the Sand Hills Slide. So glad i did the Broome to Perth trip with you all.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best of Cuba”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2017 6 Helpful Votes

Overall, I enjoyed the Best of Cuba Tour! Accommodation - most of the casas were comfortable. however, hot water was a bit iffy in some places. I booked an extra night with Intrepid (for one night prior to the tour) expecting that I'd be in the same casa so I won't have to move and cart my luggage around but that wasn't the case. I shared a room with a nice lady from Ireland but we only ever got 1 set of keys. we weren't given a second set even when we requested. Breakfasts exceeded my expectation!

Tour guide - generally he was ok but did not really explain much of the optional tours to us (unless he was getting a commission I guess). Money - you can only pay cash everywhere but there are ATM machines in all places we visited. I used CBA Travel Card.

Internet- you can purchase Wifi cards and use this at hotels and plazas/parks with wifi access. May I suggest that as a welcome gift, Intrepid should provide clients with a 1-hr card so we're not scrambling to find these wifi cards to let family back home know that we're ok. Loved the classic cars! they're used mainly as taxis predominantly.

Food - very basic. You don't go to Cuba for the food. However, there are some restaurants that served tasty meals.

Health - a few of us got the tummy bug so be very careful with what you eat or drink. Avoid ice if you can. Very happy with Global Journeys!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 68