Intrepid Travel Reviews

Intrepid
4.4 out of 5
53 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Intrepid. Every review has been verified.

     
“10 day 4WD camping trip from Darwin to Broome”
- Netherlands Jul 2019

This trip was a real adventure. I am from the Caribbean. Knowing that many Australians themselves have not visited this region, for the simple fact that you can't if you don't own & drive a 4WD car, made this trip extra special. Highlights: the magical landscape of the Kimberley. The endless savannah-like grass country with low trees. The literally thousands of baobab trees. Instead of sleeping in tents, at our tour leader's suggestion I chose to sleep outside, with a swag & sleeping bag: the most beautiful, velvety black nights with thousands of stars were my reward. The Gibb River Road; more than 700 kilometers of gut wrenching corrugated road, but so worth it being able to drive this iconic Australian road! Ellenbrae Station was lovely and Larissa's story about daily life on a station was very interesting. Their scones were utterly delicious :) Do not pass this stop. The rust-red colour of the Kimberley earth, so beautiful.

The time of travel (dry season) proved to be fine for this trip. Most accommodations (shared showers and toilets) were good and clean (in my opinion the showers at our camping place at Bartnett Station could be updated however). I was lucky to be part of a nice group of people, a good mix of ages, and everyone helping and cooperating, doing whatever was needed to maintain a smooth daily routine. Our guide Andy was awesome. Very responsible and a very good cook too!

One tip: please provide guests with the phone number of their guide! On the morning of pick-up I almost missed my bus! I was there on time, but as my bus arrived about 5 minutes late, when I asked around at another bus, about 50 meters away, apparently my own bus arrived and then left! Fortunately it came back 20 minutes later (having two pickup times at this point) and I could get on it. There was no way of contacting my guide and at this early hour the office of Global Journeys was still closed, with nobody there to answer an email neither. I would definitely use Global Journeys again in the future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip through the Kimberleys”
- NSW , Australia Jul 2019

All in all - great trip, no complaints. Expectations meet. Some of my bucket list things ticked. The guide-driver & cook were really nice people. Enjoyed them heaps. Experienced, knowledgeable about the area, and the food was really good and plentiful. All the staff at the Travellers Lodge in Broome were also at their best to make sure I was happy with everything. Luckily we had a nice bunch of people in the group. Where some of the travellers did more than their fair share of work to make it a success.

Itinerary was full on as expected. Lots of walking and climbing into various gorges. Swimming holes, cruises, scenery, sunsets etc were all great. My best was flying over the Bungle Bungles and the water cruises. Staying in the "permanent" tents at caravan parks was a bonus and made it that little bit easier and enjoyable after a long day of activities. Staying 2 nights at the one place a couple of times was great too - just not have to pack up every day. Thanks for making my booking - stay - trip etc so easy. Loved it. Had the best time.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip package to Spain, Portugal and Morocco. Diverse and fascinating.”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

We had a great trip as usual with Intrepid Travels... Small group, seasoned travellers who were happy to share their travel experiences and enjoy the adventures along the way. Our tour guides were great especially Hischam and Khalid... So open and honest in their views about their culture and traditions that we never had any worries to blend in and observe their day to day living in the limited time we were there. We had a ball and left enriched with new knowledge to last our lifetime.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour of Mongolia”
- QLD, Australia May 2019 View Photo

This was a fantastic tour. We were able to see various aspects of Mongolian culture and lifestyles and experience life with nomadic Mongolians. Our tour guide was knowledeable, energetic and helpful. A really enjoyable experience which will provide lasting memories.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Not as good as we expected compared with other Safari tours”
- QLD, Australia May 2019

The accommodation listed in the tour was below the expectations and the lodge in Nata that was confirmed one week before the date was changed to a worse lodge (Getwa). We did the same kind of safari tour in Namibia and all listed accommodations with Chameleon tour were between 2.5 to 3.5 stars, they were much superior and newer than Intrepid Adventure Botswana.

It cannot be rated as a kind of comfortable tour: the houseboat room was tiny and very hot inside without any ventilation, full of insects and the share bathroom was not practical. The neighbours had to remember to unlock the bathroom door after they finished using the bathroom, if they forgot (that happened with one of the tour guests), you had to go outside upstairs in the middle of night with all the mosquitoes to go to the public toilet. It is not fun, it is dangerous, dark and uncomfortable.

We were not met on time at the airport and had to call the hotel to confirm our pick up. The first hotel was Roof of Africa in Windhoek, it was 3 stars: the air con, hair dryer and fridge were not working. We think that was the first warning about the tour accommodations. It looked like a reasonable cheap tour, but Chameleon tour in Namibia was cheaper if you compare the food, accommodation and all included extras.

Reply from Intrepid:
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Information such as yours is valuable to us as it assists in identifying areas which may require improvement whilst also serving to highlight areas where we are meeting if not exceeding your expectations. It is therefore disappointing to learn that there were certain aspects of your experience that did not meet your expectations.

Botswana is becoming increasingly popular tourist destinations. Despite the influx of travellers, bed numbers are not being increased to match the demand. This intentional move is aimed at minimizing the environmental impact of tourism and keeping the destinations exclusive. It is therefore becoming more and more difficult for us to confirm our allocation with our usual suppliers, particularly in peak season. We may use alternative accommodation which could affect driving times and distances listed in the Essential Trip Information. However, we will always use properties of the same standard and ensure that no included activities will be affected, therefore, it is disappointing to learn that this accommodation did not meet your expectations. We would like to reassure you that everyone from our head office team, to our local operator, our local leaders and suppliers endeavour to provide a trip which not only lets you see a wonderful country but experience it enjoyably and comfortably.
We have passed your feedback on to the appropriate team who will reassess the accommodation used and discuss these complaints with the hotel managers directly.

Despite this issue, we hope you have some wonderful memories from your time in this very special part of the world.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous trip to Turkey”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019

What a fabulous trip to Turkey with Intrepid. Our guide, Ozan, was amazing and so knowledgable about the history of Turkey. The hotels were all fantastic and we travelled with a great group of people.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best Tour of Mexico Heartlands”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019

We have previously travelled with Intrepid and they do not disappoint! They are always professional and really do have the best guides. Everything was as explained in their trip notes although the physical rating should be increased.

This tour is quite physically demanding as we were always on the go and on our feet most of the day (so much to see and do!). Plenty of spare time if you do choose. Mexico is such a great destination with so much to offer. I would highly recommend this tour!

Booking through Global Journeys was easy and communication excellent.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Our first tour with a small group and first visit to Turkey”
- Australia Apr 2019

Highlights included: swimming above Roman artefacts in warm waters at Heliopolis; swimming in the chilly Aegean Sea near Gaz; several of the country excursions; and seeing the two main mosques and walking through the Topkapi Gardens in Istanbul.

The 12 participants interacted well, across a wide spread of ages. Tour leader Ali Kartal, a Turk, was the main reason that the tour was a great success and most enjoyable. Intrepid Travel are to be congratulated for having provided the tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Turkey Explored ”
- SA, Australia Mar 2019

This was my very first Intrepid tour therefore I did not know what to expect. Also, as this is a "Basix" style, I did not expect too much but our tour leader's (Fatih Develi) enthusiasm and knowledge made things possible. I enjoyed this tour thoroughly as we had a very good mix of fellow travellers and got on very well. At the end of the trip, we even set up a WhatsApp group to share photos! I would definitely go with Intrepid again and book through Jemma as she is professional!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Central Australia by 4WD and Under 1 Million Stars”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

What can I say, first of all Global Journeys makes this process really easy. Second of all this trip was amazing. I saw everything I wanted to see, was fed every day, had a place to sleep and have so many photos to remind me of my adventure. If you don't mind roughing it a little, this is the perfect tour for you.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable tour with an excellent guide”
- WA, Australia Mar 2019

Enjoyed every day of the tour. Sam C. is an excellent guide - a young keen snowshoe hiker - he trained up our whole group of newbies and looked after everyone including the older slower one (i.e. me). We saw the Northern Lights on our second night out at Peace River. Both nights were clear and really cold but a big camp fire, hot drinks, marshmallows (and a couple of snifters) added to the fun.

I found a few old muscles I'd forgotten about on the first snowshoe outing but it was all easy going, with Sam monitoring everyone. He also produced the "Krazee Karpets" for some snow sliding on the kiddies slopes with laughs all round. The dog sledding was great fun but all too short - could easily gone around again - the dogs were real keen.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic time in Egypt”
- NT, Australia Dec 2018 2 Helpful Votes

I had the best time travelling around Egypt. There were 12 of us in the group, 9 from Australia and 3 from USA. Our group got along so well that we became instant friends right from the start.

Our terrific guide was Hend Magdy. Nothing was too hard for Hend. She made sure we were looked after and that our curiosity of Egypt was answered by having informative talks every now and then about their culture, food, lifestyle and religion. Our itinerary was just right for me. The 12 nights were jam packed with activities but left enough time for us to wander during our free time. I believe we have seen the highlights of the country.

The included train journey from Cairo to Aswan was comfortable, so were the return flights to Abu Simbel from Aswan and return flight from Luxor to Cairo. The cruise on the Nile was relaxing with great food morning, noon and night. The crew had a special New Year's eve show for us which was enjoyable. We were blessed with nice weather on the cruise and it was warm enough to be on the open top deck most days. Hotel accommodations were mainly top notch, except for one night in Philae Hotel in Aswan which is not at the same standard if the other hotels we stayed in.

I highly recommend this tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wow just wow!”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 4 Helpful Votes View Photo

Our 6 day Iceland adventure with Intrepid was fantastic. Our local guide Karl was excellent and shared so much local knowledge with us. We travelled in a mini bus - a total of 10 guests and although we were the oldest guests we never felt out of place. We visited so many special places along our trip that we have many memories that will last forever. Intrepid certainly knows how to organise a small group tour very well and everything runs smoothly.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The most amazing experience ever!”
- VIC, Australia Dec 2018

This trip exceeded every expectation! The boat was very comfortable. The staff were exceptional - from the cleaning staff to the expedition staff. I was worried about the sea days but I needed the sea days to have some down time to recover from our expedition days. The food was diverse and great quality. I would recommend this trip to everyone. You must go to South Georgia...do not go to Antarctica without going there as it is so amazing!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Awesome trip in the Canadian Rockies”
- VIC, Australia Dec 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This trip was just amazing! I enjoyed every single second, from the exciting first meeting to the final sad goodbye to my travel buddies and tour guide. It was my first time joining a group tour and I was a little bit nervous about it as I like my own independence. However, I loved the tour as the tour guide made the journey very flexible and tried to make sure that everyone's priorities were satisfied.

The tour was amazing, we saw amazing landscapes, crossed frozen lakes, snowshoed in mountains and walked through frozen canyons. All of this was just breathtaking. And on the top of that, we had the chance to see the Northern Lights on one of the two nights. Accommodation wise, all the hotels were very clean and respected high standards. Most of the breakfasts were inside the hotel where we were staying and had quality food from fresh fruit to eggs to freshly baked pastry. It was a very good start of the day.

The tour guide was genuine and spontaneous and made sure we all had a great time, taking into consideration every single person's opinion. I was travelling solo and most of the other travelers were too. The age of travelers was predominantly around late 20s. Everyone shared a passion for outdoors and an active lifestyle which made the trip enjoyable as lots of outdoor activities were planned. Our tour guide was also very nice and took us to unscheduled sightseeing and hikes. Overall, I highly recommend it.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Good Galapagos Tour but Guides could be better”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Seeing all the unique animals such as giant tortoises, marine iguanas, penguins etc was fantastic. The tour was well organised and run fairly smoothly. However, our various daily guides could have been more enthusiastic and knowledgeable. They showed us everything we expected (except the volcano on Isabella) and provided basic information. Some friends on a similar tour with a different company had guides who were genuinely interested and excited to be talking about "their" home and its animals, as well as stories and details about the history of the islands and the culture. We enjoyed the trip, but they had a great "experience"! Our tour also needed to offer more optional excursions. We had too many "free half days" with nothing really offered to fill the time, yet we found out later there could have been various activities available.

Reply from Intrepid:
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Information such as yours is valuable to us as it assists in identifying areas which may require improvement whilst also serving to highlight areas where we are meeting if not exceeding your expectations. It is therefore disappointing to learn that there were certain aspects of your experience which served to blemish an otherwise ideal experience.

Whilst the daily local leaders are employed by the Galapagos National Parks we do work closely with, we have passed on your feedback to the necessary personnel as to where they can benefit from additional coaching. We would like to reassure you that everyone from our head office team, to our local operator, our local leaders and suppliers endeavour to provide a trip which not only lets you see a wonderful country but really experience it. As such, we sincerely appreciate your constructive comments and suggestions like your free time during the trip which have been shared with all the appropriate personnel within the business to review.

Despite this issue, we hope you have some wonderful memories from your time in this very special part of the world.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Diverse culture trip”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2018

I loved this tour for its diversity (the 3 countries couldn’t be more different!) and I was very fortunate that it was a small group (only 5 of us). As much as I really enjoyed Singapore and Malaysia the highlight for me was Thailand especially Kao Sok Lake and Ao Nang.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A window into the east of South America”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018 View Photo

Our Intrepid guide was very friendly and helpful, and showed great flexibility when dealing with unforeseen circumstances. Iguazu Falls was amazing! Thank you, Global Journeys, for a great flight deal.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great snapshot of Peru”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Seamless transitions between the three locations: Lima, Cusco and Puerto Maldonado. The Intrepid guides were friendly, helpful, and gave plenty of useful tips to help deal with the challenges of travelling to these areas, from mosquitoes, to personal security, to altitude sickness. The scenery was spectacular, highlighted by the peaks of the Andes contrasted with the Sacred Valley below, and the lush Amazon jungle. Highly recommend.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Discover Oman”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018

This was my 11th Intrepid Travel trip and it probably had the best accommodation I’ve experienced so far. Oman is like the Switzerland of the Gulf, they don’t have any issues with anyone. A comfortable country to travel in even for women and the people are very accommodating. The food was great, the shopping very cheap. Altogether a great trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 53