Intrepid Reviews

28 verified Intrepid tour reviews from past clients of Global Journeys.

QLD, Australia
Aug 2018
9 Trips
“Great journey, learnt a lot”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
The local guides were fabulous, answered all the questions, explained everything, and took us into their world. On our journey, there were an extra two, long travel days due to changes to the accommodation. The long travel days took the edge off the joy for some of my travel companions, as did the the very bad roads. The number of days looking for animals was about right, with plenty of access to the Parks. However the "Cruise" on the delta was two changes of moorings of approximately 1 kilometer back and forth.

The first dinner was delicious, and consisted of mains, and desert. Breakfast was very sad with no eggs, no fruit except sad apples and oranges, and porridge. It was passable, but only just. However the one and only lunch consisted of pasta salad - this was made from pasta, a drained can of pineapple pieces, a drained can of peaches, and a few finely chopped bits of onion, and a bean salad - that consisted of one can each of three different beans (all brown) stirred together, maybe some of the liquid from the cans was tipped into the sink, either way it looked horrible and tasted worse. Consequently, Sam the Captain got no tips at all, and as his helper was always close neither did he. This was unfortunate as we all noticed how much work he had done and so well.
NSW, Australia
Jul 2018
1 Trip
“Amazing tour through the National Parks of Utah, Nevada and California”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
My experience with Global Journeys has been great. All information was provided quickly and made the whole process easy and worry-free. The only thing that was disappointing on this trip was that I was unable to go to Death Valley due to the weather (too hot) and Yosemite National Park due to the fires. An alternative route/option was provided but did not provide the same/similar experience I was hoping for. The tour leaders were very inexperienced and I was unable to do any of the optional activities as they were all booked out, and the alternative route that was taken instead of Yosemite National Park was poorly organised and I didn't really get to do any hiking. Also, although the package was advertised as one trip it was actually split into 2 trips and I had a different guide half-way through the trip. It would have been nice if this was communicated. The second half of the tour consisted of 20 people, which was more than I was expecting.
NSW, Australia
Jul 2018
1 Helpful Vote
1 Trip
“Sunny trip to Scandinavia!”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
This was my first trip with Intrepid, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The trip was well paced (two nights in each place), and the schedule was well set out, with an orientation walk upon arrival at each location, and some sort of activity the morning after arrival. The afternoons were mostly free, so this gave a lot of flexibility to do as much or as little as I left like each day. Highlights included Bergen (wonderful walks on top of the surrounding mountains as well as plenty of history), Gudsvagen (Fjords!!!), and also a cycle through the countryside of Sweden.

The tour guide (Astrid) was excellent, and put a lot of effort into her research on each location. Only downside was that the hotels were not equipped for the unseasonably warm weather which occurred through this trip.
This was my first Intrepid tour, and I wouldn't hesitate to go on another tour with them in the future.
NSW, Australia
Jul 2018
2 Trips
“Awesome Intrepid Balkan Tours”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Highly recommended... we were lucky to have an awesome and experienced tour manager (Theresa) and met 3 knowledgeable local tour guides. The group was a great mix and we all gel quite well. We seemed to have done a lot along this tour and learnt so much about the ethnic wars in the 90's that raged and split the former Yugoslavia to what it is now. I can't fault this tour and I had a ball... Intrepid always delivers. Finally, thanks to Yvonne at Global Journeys again for organising this trip on my behalf even though its wasn't in the list of tours on offer in their website.
QLD, Australia
Jul 2018
4 Trips
“Perfect adventure”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Excellent trip of a lifetime. The wildlife is amazing and we would recommend it to anybody who loves seeing new and interesting wildlife, snorkelling and adventure. The Daphne was a great boat with excellent crew who looked after us very well. Our guide Jose was very passionate, entertaining (especially reinacting the mating ritual of the Blue Footed Boobie bird) and approachable. It was great being onboard with a small group of fellow travellers (12 in our group) which allowed for good conversation.
QLD, Australia
Jun 2018
4 Trips
“Epic Journey”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Our family of 4 (mum, dad, 19 & 18 yr old) loved this tour. The whole trip was well organised and offered a great experience of walking the Inca Trail. There were 10 travellers in the overall group, which was a good number. The views of the Andes were amazing. The actual hike was not easy, so you need to have a good level of fitness to enjoy the experience. Our guides did a great job leading us, while the support group (porters, cooks etc) were fantastic in their effort. The camping was basic but fun. You need to be prepared for the lack of toilet facilities. Overall we would recommend this trip to travellers who want to experience the Majestic Andes, Machu Picchu & the history of the Inca's.
NSW, Australia
Jun 2018
8 Trips
“Croatia to Slovenia ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Croatia is a beautiful country... so many highlights for me. My favourite being Korcula Island and Plitvice Lakes National Park. I love the mix of beaches, islands and so much history! Perhaps pack your snorkeling gear and rock shoes (pebble beaches). Bled is spectacular! Go up to the Castle and also do some hiking.

You’ll need different currencies for Croatia (Kuna) and Slovenia (Euro) but it’s easily manageable with a Travel Card (I used CBA). Intrepid is my favourite tour company. I like the small group, the age mix and flexibility in terms of choosing activities in my free time. I would highly recommend this tour. And booking with Global Journeys is easy and hassle free!
NSW, Australia
May 2018
8 Trips
“Balkan Highlights ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
I really had a wonderful time exploring the Balkans. Sarajevo was a pleasant surprise. I think I left my heart there, after learning more about the Sarajevo Siege. Montenegro is amazing! You’ll need different currencies for Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro and Croatia but it’s easily manageable with a Travel Card (I used CBA). Intrepid is my favourite tour company. I like the small group, the age mix and flexibility in terms of choosing activities in my free time. I would highly recommend this tour. And booking with Global Journeys is easy and hassle free!
QLD, Australia
Apr 2018
1 Helpful Vote
4 Trips
“A great trip”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
I had not used Intrepid previously, only the sister company Peregrine, so thought the quality of trip may have been less. But I thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It all went smoothly. We had a very helpful tour guide, accommodation was great, only 6 of us on the trip and everyone got on well. I would definitely recommend this trip to other travellers.
QLD, Australia
Apr 2018
2 Trips
“Wonderful trip through Intrepid. ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Glad to do Morocco Uncovered. The country landscape is so varied and amazing. The Sahara desert was the highlight for me. Hassan the guide from Intrepid was very good and passionate about imparting his love of Morocco to us, he made the journey special. Jemma at Global Journeys has been very good and efficient and easy to contact when I decided to change the tour from basic to comfort.
VIC , Australia
Apr 2018
1 Trip
“6 Day Taste of Tasmania”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Had an amazing time, Brad our tour leader was fantastic we were fortunate to be with a group of like minded people both young and old which made this a wonderful mix. The first day turned out to be a bit of a surprise and poor Brad had to tell us the itinerary had changed, so we missed out on Mt Wellington and the Mona as well as a free dinner that night.

It would have been nice to have been sent the updated travel notes or itinerary, no complaints! It was what it was and I did read that there may be last minute changes. I think there were only 4 Original and the rest Basix so we did the Basix itinerary which suited me as there was more hiking.

Not sure even if Madeline knew about the changes? It is just that some people like to have an itinerary to follow so they can Google and find out about things of interest (for example what type of trees and plants to look for) before they get there. This is my first intrepid trip and I will defiantly be booking another one.
QLD, Australia
Apr 2018
1 Helpful Vote
5 Trips
“Don't travel Intrepid unless you wish to feel like a backpacker”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
The second class sleeper train in Thailand broke down at 2am and we had to scramble down in a hurry (no platform) with our cases and backpacks, using our phones as torches, walk across the rail road tracks to another normal seating train, also no platform so I was pulled up into the train.

Most showers were cold to tepid, we slept on various old mattresses on the floor in the homestay and had to climb down stairs that were very deep to go to the bathroom at night making sure our ankles and shoulders were covered as it was a Muslim family (towels around shoulders and sarongs covering ankles. It's Thailand so you don't usually sleep in these things.)

One shower didn't work at all so 7 of us took turns with a shower. The towels in most hotels were threadbare and one wouldn't keep them for their dogs. In the last hotel in Singapore it was the smallest room we have ever stayed in (Italy, Greece, Spain, New Zealand, Europe, China etc) and we had no window anywhere so had to have aircon on all the time, ending up sneezing all the time with the dust.

I realize that this is an economical trip but backpacking would be cheaper and may have warm showers plus one expects to rough it. The only saving grace was the tour leader Nes was wonderful and our group was amazing.
WA, Australia
Mar 2018
2 Trips
“Great introduction to the South Island ”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Did exciting things, had fun, ate and slept well ... all surrounded by the beautiful scenery of the Southern Highlands of New Zealand. Recommended!
QLD, Australia
Mar 2018
3 Helpful Votes
3 Trips
“A WOW holiday!”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
This was the best tour I could have asked for. A small group of 12 fellow travellers with the most considerate and knowledgeable tour guide/driver. Iceland was the most magical place I have ever visited. The range and variety of natural sights was breath taking. The passion of STEFAN, our guide, really shone through.
Switzerland
Feb 2018
1 Trip
“Great Taste of Tasmania”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
The tour was very good and our tour guide (Trent) was amazing. He knew everything and was really nice all throughout the trip! He did a great job! The tour was also well organized, only 2 hostels that I felt were not that good.
QLD, Australia
Feb 2018
1 Trip
“Great introduction to the beauty of Tasmania”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Trent was the quintessential guide/driver. He's friendly, knowledgeable and committed to providing for everyone's needs. He's also very calm under pressure.

There was confusion over the relationships between Under Down Under and Intrepid. When I went to board the Augusta II on Pieman River I was asked if I was with the Under Down Under tour. This had never been mentioned before and I said "No, I'm with the Intrepid Tour." Perhaps provide an explanation of this to tourists. (GJ: The cruise component of your trip must also be used in an itinerary by another Operator too. This is very common, unless the ship is charted exclusively for your journey).

The name "Taste of Tasmania" indicates a foodie tour, but food is only a very minor aspect of it. I suggest changing the name to reflect the true content; perhaps "A Lap of Tasmania."

Bronte Park was beautiful and a great nights accommodation. However, the tea and coffee provided was very old and undrinkable. Perhaps remind them to change these regularly. Our accommodation at Strahan left a bit to be desired. There were fleas in the carpet, the soap dispenser in the shower was broken, and we couldn't connect to the "free wifi."

We had been told we'd be picked up to go to a play that I was really looking forward to, about a convict escape from the area. But we weren't picked up because the driver had to take others or they would have been late. This was very disappointing as I had been greatly looking forward to this, being an historical fiction author and writing about convicts.

Our room at the pub in Waratah wasn't really what we were expecting. I knew Bronte Park was bathroom share, but we weren't expecting it at Waratah. Also we had 2 single beds instead of a double. Power cords in the room were piggybacked on piggybacks. I doubt this would comply with fire regulations.

I questioned the guide's judgement in leading the others on a long walk at Cradle Mountain in pouring rain, knowing there was flash flooding. However he knew the terrain better than me.

In Launceston we were dropped at our accommodation only to find 4 of us had no reservations and the hotel was fully booked. Trent and office staff eventually found us new accommodation. It seems the on call office staff member had left his computer at work so had to go and get it before he could assist us, lengthening the delay.
WA, Australia
Feb 2018
1 Trip
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
Fantastic trip, accommodation was really good - small family operated hotel so got a real feel of staying local instead of big city hotel. The boat Daphne was excellent, best decision to go for a small number tour, other travel guests were great, easy going, and well matched age bracket. Food on board was beautiful if anything there was way too much. Cabin size yes they are small and a bit cosy but you are only in there to sleep. Boat was spotlessly clean, crew brilliant, helpful, funny, take pride in their work, and safety was always top priority.

Guide - Jose - this man was one of the best guides we have ever had in our travels. He was passionate about his islands and his knowledge on wildlife, history, and the environment was remarkable. Was never phased when asked one of those stupid questions that other travellers eye roll at. Great tour - highly recommend, but due to physical activity of shore landings, walking, it is not for elderly travellers.
NSW, Australia
Feb 2018
1 Trip
“The best of Morocco tour”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
An excellent tour that encompassed all of Morocco. The tour guide was wonderful and extremely thoughtful as we had dietary requirements to attend to. The hotels and places we stayed at were clean and comfortable. However, some of the initial days of the tour didn’t have hot water. Overall, a great experience.
QLD, Australia
Jan 2018
9 Trips
“Not What We Expected”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
From what we read on the trip to what was delivered, wasn't quite the same. The cycle route had been changed which added extra cycle distances and the route had more hills and was a tougher ride than outlined. The actual road conditions were quite ordinary, full of broken road surfaces and large pot-holes, which made riding each day quite a challenge.

The accommodation was extremely cold, some with electricity not always available and operators turning off their hot water, so it was either not available or just off cold. Most hotels were isolated and away from village or town areas, so no choice in dining was available. Most operators provided a "buffet" meal as it easier for them and had nothing to do with customer choices. Lunches on the road were available, so pre-boxed lunches from your accommodation were able to be ordered, but not good quality or suitable - you can only eat so many boiled eggs a day!

Overall holiday physical rating should have been 4/5, and comfort level 2/5. On-road cycle support was a bonus. The tour group was great company and we met some lovely people.
QLD, Australia
Jan 2018
“The Best Experience I've Had In Australia”
Value
Guide
Accommodation
Pace
Excursions
Optionals
Booking With Global Journeys
It's hard to know where to start, but I guess I should start with our guide Matt. From the first day to the last his drive, energy and passion for Tasmania was unwavering. It's easy to see that he loves his job and loves the state of Tasmania. Always engaging and teaching us new facts about every place we visited, he became more of a friend than a tour guide.

I made some really good friends on this trip, we where a group of 20 people of different nationalities, with ages ranging from 20's to 70's and by the end of the week we where like a family. It's difficult to pick a favourite part of this trip because there where so many. For me the highlights where a grueling hike up the Marions Point lookout on Cradle Mountain, although some parts where extremely tough, you're rewarded with stunning 360° panoramic views of the mountain and perfect Tasmanian wilderness as far as the eye can see.

A chilled sunset on the pier in Strahan with a beer and new friends and a refreshing early morning plunge into Lake St. Clair to name but a few. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone thinking about It, I have memories and friends that will last a lifetime. My only complaint was that it wasn't a week longer.

Results 1-20 of 28  

Back to top