Intrepid Travel Reviews

Intrepid
4.4 out of 5
47 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Intrepid. Every review has been verified.

     
“Fabulous trip to Turkey”
- QLD, Australia Apr 2019

What a fabulous trip to Turkey with Intrepid. Our guide, Ozan, was amazing and so knowledgable about the history of Turkey. The hotels were all fantastic and we travelled with a great group of people.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best Tour of Mexico Heartlands”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019

We have previously travelled with Intrepid and they do not disappoint! They are always professional and really do have the best guides. Everything was as explained in their trip notes although the physical rating should be increased.

This tour is quite physically demanding as we were always on the go and on our feet most of the day (so much to see and do!). Plenty of spare time if you do choose. Mexico is such a great destination with so much to offer. I would highly recommend this tour!

Booking through Global Journeys was easy and communication excellent.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Turkey Explored ”
- SA, Australia Mar 2019

This was my very first Intrepid tour therefore I did not know what to expect. Also, as this is a "Basix" style, I did not expect too much but our tour leader's (Fatih Develi) enthusiasm and knowledge made things possible. I enjoyed this tour thoroughly as we had a very good mix of fellow travellers and got on very well. At the end of the trip, we even set up a WhatsApp group to share photos! I would definitely go with Intrepid again and book through Jemma as she is professional!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Central Australia by 4WD and Under 1 Million Stars”
- QLD, Australia Mar 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

What can I say, first of all Global Journeys makes this process really easy. Second of all this trip was amazing. I saw everything I wanted to see, was fed every day, had a place to sleep and have so many photos to remind me of my adventure. If you don't mind roughing it a little, this is the perfect tour for you.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable tour with an excellent guide”
- WA, Australia Mar 2019

Enjoyed every day of the tour. Sam C. is an excellent guide - a young keen snowshoe hiker - he trained up our whole group of newbies and looked after everyone including the older slower one (i.e. me). We saw the Northern Lights on our second night out at Peace River. Both nights were clear and really cold but a big camp fire, hot drinks, marshmallows (and a couple of snifters) added to the fun.

I found a few old muscles I'd forgotten about on the first snowshoe outing but it was all easy going, with Sam monitoring everyone. He also produced the "Krazee Karpets" for some snow sliding on the kiddies slopes with laughs all round. The dog sledding was great fun but all too short - could easily gone around again - the dogs were real keen.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic time in Egypt”
- NT, Australia Dec 2018 1 Helpful Vote

I had the best time travelling around Egypt. There were 12 of us in the group, 9 from Australia and 3 from USA. Our group got along so well that we became instant friends right from the start.

Our terrific guide was Hend Magdy. Nothing was too hard for Hend. She made sure we were looked after and that our curiosity of Egypt was answered by having informative talks every now and then about their culture, food, lifestyle and religion. Our itinerary was just right for me. The 12 nights were jam packed with activities but left enough time for us to wander during our free time. I believe we have seen the highlights of the country.

The included train journey from Cairo to Aswan was comfortable, so were the return flights to Abu Simbel from Aswan and return flight from Luxor to Cairo. The cruise on the Nile was relaxing with great food morning, noon and night. The crew had a special New Year's eve show for us which was enjoyable. We were blessed with nice weather on the cruise and it was warm enough to be on the open top deck most days. Hotel accommodations were mainly top notch, except for one night in Philae Hotel in Aswan which is not at the same standard if the other hotels we stayed in.

I highly recommend this tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wow just wow!”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 3 Helpful Votes View Photo

Our 6 day Iceland adventure with Intrepid was fantastic. Our local guide Karl was excellent and shared so much local knowledge with us. We travelled in a mini bus - a total of 10 guests and although we were the oldest guests we never felt out of place. We visited so many special places along our trip that we have many memories that will last forever. Intrepid certainly knows how to organise a small group tour very well and everything runs smoothly.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The most amazing experience ever!”
- VIC, Australia Dec 2018

This trip exceeded every expectation! The boat was very comfortable. The staff were exceptional - from the cleaning staff to the expedition staff. I was worried about the sea days but I needed the sea days to have some down time to recover from our expedition days. The food was diverse and great quality. I would recommend this trip to everyone. You must go to South Georgia...do not go to Antarctica without going there as it is so amazing!

Value
Ship
Cabin
Shore Excursions
Food
Entertainment

Was this review helpful?

“Awesome trip in the Canadian Rockies”
- VIC, Australia Dec 2018 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

This trip was just amazing! I enjoyed every single second, from the exciting first meeting to the final sad goodbye to my travel buddies and tour guide. It was my first time joining a group tour and I was a little bit nervous about it as I like my own independence. However, I loved the tour as the tour guide made the journey very flexible and tried to make sure that everyone's priorities were satisfied.

The tour was amazing, we saw amazing landscapes, crossed frozen lakes, snowshoed in mountains and walked through frozen canyons. All of this was just breathtaking. And on the top of that, we had the chance to see the Northern Lights on one of the two nights. Accommodation wise, all the hotels were very clean and respected high standards. Most of the breakfasts were inside the hotel where we were staying and had quality food from fresh fruit to eggs to freshly baked pastry. It was a very good start of the day.

The tour guide was genuine and spontaneous and made sure we all had a great time, taking into consideration every single person's opinion. I was travelling solo and most of the other travelers were too. The age of travelers was predominantly around late 20s. Everyone shared a passion for outdoors and an active lifestyle which made the trip enjoyable as lots of outdoor activities were planned. Our tour guide was also very nice and took us to unscheduled sightseeing and hikes. Overall, I highly recommend it.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Good Galapagos Tour but Guides could be better”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Seeing all the unique animals such as giant tortoises, marine iguanas, penguins etc was fantastic. The tour was well organised and run fairly smoothly. However, our various daily guides could have been more enthusiastic and knowledgeable. They showed us everything we expected (except the volcano on Isabella) and provided basic information. Some friends on a similar tour with a different company had guides who were genuinely interested and excited to be talking about "their" home and its animals, as well as stories and details about the history of the islands and the culture. We enjoyed the trip, but they had a great "experience"! Our tour also needed to offer more optional excursions. We had too many "free half days" with nothing really offered to fill the time, yet we found out later there could have been various activities available.

Reply from Intrepid:
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Information such as yours is valuable to us as it assists in identifying areas which may require improvement whilst also serving to highlight areas where we are meeting if not exceeding your expectations. It is therefore disappointing to learn that there were certain aspects of your experience which served to blemish an otherwise ideal experience.

Whilst the daily local leaders are employed by the Galapagos National Parks we do work closely with, we have passed on your feedback to the necessary personnel as to where they can benefit from additional coaching. We would like to reassure you that everyone from our head office team, to our local operator, our local leaders and suppliers endeavour to provide a trip which not only lets you see a wonderful country but really experience it. As such, we sincerely appreciate your constructive comments and suggestions like your free time during the trip which have been shared with all the appropriate personnel within the business to review.

Despite this issue, we hope you have some wonderful memories from your time in this very special part of the world.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Diverse culture trip”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2018

I loved this tour for its diversity (the 3 countries couldn’t be more different!) and I was very fortunate that it was a small group (only 5 of us). As much as I really enjoyed Singapore and Malaysia the highlight for me was Thailand especially Kao Sok Lake and Ao Nang.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A window into the east of South America”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018 View Photo

Our Intrepid guide was very friendly and helpful, and showed great flexibility when dealing with unforeseen circumstances. Iguazu Falls was amazing! Thank you, Global Journeys, for a great flight deal.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A great snapshot of Peru”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018 View Photo

Seamless transitions between the three locations: Lima, Cusco and Puerto Maldonado. The Intrepid guides were friendly, helpful, and gave plenty of useful tips to help deal with the challenges of travelling to these areas, from mosquitoes, to personal security, to altitude sickness. The scenery was spectacular, highlighted by the peaks of the Andes contrasted with the Sacred Valley below, and the lush Amazon jungle. Highly recommend.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Discover Oman”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018

This was my 11th Intrepid Travel trip and it probably had the best accommodation I’ve experienced so far. Oman is like the Switzerland of the Gulf, they don’t have any issues with anyone. A comfortable country to travel in even for women and the people are very accommodating. The food was great, the shopping very cheap. Altogether a great trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The very real Spain and Portugal”
- SA, Australia Sep 2018

Rather than travelling in cocooned middle class luxury this small group tour offered a very real and active experience of Spain and Portugal, travelling by local trains as well as small tourist vans, going to the real local markets, having cooking lessons from locals and staying in small family owned hotels. The guide for each country was wonderful: friendly, knowledgeable, efficient and great company. We went to wonderfully interesting and varied places, some touristy, some not, and ate and drank widely and well, enjoying local specialties and learning a great deal along the way. This tour was both educational and fattening: we had a lot of fun. Our accommodation, while not luxurious, was varied and comfortable and usually well located.

Global Journeys organised this tour very efficiently with excellent ongoing communication and a very clear process of payment . Recommended.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Mayan Encounters with Intrepid: (Mexico, Guatamala, Belize).”
- NSW , Australia Sep 2018

Mayan Encounters = Exploring ancient Mayan temples; swimming in underground limestone caves; snorkeling with sharks (if you dare) in coral reef; festivals. Intrepid = Adventure, culture, friendship, unique local experiences in small group (max 12). We were a group of 8.

Booking with Global Journeys = Best discounts; amazing choice of travel companies and tours worldwide (take your pick); simple, prompt online communication; extra help only a phone call away. Once experienced Global Journeys will be your " Go To" for tour bookings. Booking with Jemma = Friendly, helpful, efficient, professional.

"Once a year, go some place you've never been before." - Dalai Lama

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Classic Spain and Portugual”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2018 View Photo

Booking through Global Journeys was totally hassle-free and easy. The process and guidance was professional the whole way through. I highly recommend Intrepid small group tours if you want some time to yourself both for sightseeing and dining. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and helpful when advising where to go, how to get there and where to eat. There was a great balance of group dining (if you chose to) and independent. One of the new experiences for us was having to navigate the public transport system (trains and buses). This enables you to get a real feel for the locals.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Easy going, well paced tour through Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland finishing in Berlin...wonderful”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 View Photo

We joined this trip was a continuation from our Intrepid Russia tour, and this connection through the Baltic states gave a great insight to the 100+ year history of this region. A big thank you to Sigrid our tour leader for making the tour enjoyable and keeping us informed along our travels.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great well planned and guided tour through Moscow and St Petersburg”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 View Photo

We had a great tour with Intrepid through Moscow & St Petersburg, and look forward to returning to Russia to travel on the Trans Siberian railway. Big thank you to Ksenia, our tour guide who really made the trip special.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great journey, learnt a lot”
- QLD, Australia Aug 2018

The local guides were fabulous, answered all the questions, explained everything, and took us into their world. On our journey, there were an extra two, long travel days due to changes to the accommodation. The long travel days took the edge off the joy for some of my travel companions, as did the the very bad roads. The number of days looking for animals was about right, with plenty of access to the Parks. However the "Cruise" on the delta was two changes of moorings of approximately 1 kilometer back and forth.

The first dinner was delicious, and consisted of mains, and desert. Breakfast was very sad with no eggs, no fruit except sad apples and oranges, and porridge. It was passable, but only just. However the one and only lunch consisted of pasta salad - this was made from pasta, a drained can of pineapple pieces, a drained can of peaches, and a few finely chopped bits of onion, and a bean salad - that consisted of one can each of three different beans (all brown) stirred together, maybe some of the liquid from the cans was tipped into the sink, either way it looked horrible and tasted worse. Consequently, Sam the Captain got no tips at all, and as his helper was always close neither did he. This was unfortunate as we all noticed how much work he had done and so well.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 47