Insight Tour Reviews

Insight Vacations
4.5 out of 5
438 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Insight Vacations. Every review has been verified.

     
“Great overall experience”
- Auckland, New Zealand Apr 2019

Although the weather wasn't as perfect as I expected it to be, this Insight Vacations tour was excellent in all other ways. Great tour director and driver, very friendly fellow travellers too. Being the youngest in the group, we felt like we were well looked after.

Croatia is beautiful in general, it’s a good time of the year to visit Croatia as it’s not overly crowded, but expect some not-so-great weather (cold and rainy). Booking the tour through Global Journeys has been hassle free and easy. Thanks for the great experience.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best of Ireland and Scotland”
- WA, Australia Apr 2019

The trip included everything on my Irish bucket list (Ring of Kerry, Cliffs of Moher, Giant's Causeway) and took me to more sights in Scotland to add to a previous visit. Accommodation was all 4 star hotels. I still occasionally had the problem of a room which was too warm for the bedding (duvet only) and no way to adjust the temperature.

Of the 36 on the coach 5 were Australians, 2 Singaporean, while all the rest were from the US or Canada. As a consequence the Australians tended to find the coach temperature too low. Everybody seemed to be experienced travellers and we had very few problems with people being late at any time.

The landscapes traversed are marvellous. Included in the tour were several optional experiences, which did cost extra, but generally should not be missed. And gratuities are not included and will cost more also. The weather was a little brisk at times (April 2019) but by no means impossible. Our indispensable Tour Director's advice was very sound - dress like an onion with detachable layers.

I have seen tour groups bond together before, but must admit to being a little surprised at how well this one did so. No name tags were used, but by the second week we all knew one another's names.

I should also mention the musical experiences - the Irish and Scottish evening performances (and dinners) were a highlight. The most difficult part was the stretch where we only stayed one night in each hotel, but the porterage was excellent. I enjoyed the trip very much.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tour of Portugal even better second time around ”
- Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

I did a comprehensive tour of Portugal over a decade ago and thought it was time to revisit this beautiful country. I have travelled with Insight Vacations more than a dozen times, so choosing a tour operator was easy.

Although the itinerary was similar to the previous tour, this time there were new inclusions and a broader cultural focus, both of which made a difference. For example, in each region we tasted local delicacies: pastel de nata in Lisbon, doce fino in Algarve, ginjinha in Obidos, pastel de Tentugal in Coimbra, tibia in Braga, etc. etc. These are small touches, but were appreciated by all, since they and the stories behind them are all threads in the tapestry that is Portugal.

Accommodation was comfortable and very close to city centres and historic sites. Included food was excellent, particularly in the local restaurants Frade dos mares in Lisbon, Sem-Fim in Monsaraz, farm-to-table dinner in Quinta de Maroccos in Peso da Regua... Both included and optional excursions were excellent and were a real value-add to an already great choice of locations and sightseeing.

The local guides were superb - they were passionate about their cities, knowledgeable and entertaining. The tour director and the driver were great too: professional and attentive. The former was friendly, personable, well organised, able to quickly solve problems and displayed excellent attention to detail.

Overall, the tour was very well organised. If anything, I think it should be a bit longer- additional two days would have allowed for some more time to be spent in locations worthy of more exploration. My only criticism would be the stay in Almancil. While the stroll on the beach was nice, there really wasn't anything else to do in the afternoon/evening. Perhaps a different location for an overnight should be considered? Apart from that, the tour was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and I would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in gaining a deeper insight into Portugal.

On a separate note - this was the first time I've booked a tour with Global Journeys, an agency I came across accidentally while doing an online search. At first I was a little sceptical and concerned about whether I'd made the right choice of an agent. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. Global Journeys provided service of a high standard: communication was timely, responses to questions prompt, information accurate. I have already recommended them to friends and would use them again myself.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Italian Intermezzo”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2019

We both thoroughly enjoyed our seven day Italian adventure. The tour company was excellent and the tour guide was an extremely well organised person with a wealth of knowledge and anecdotes, The standard of the hotels was very good and in great locations. Top marks to everyone involved in our package holiday.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Ole' Spain and Portugal”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2019

Toured Spain and Portugal with Paddy and Insight Vacations. Paddy is the best tour director we have ever had. He went above and beyond anything we had ever experienced before and always with a smile on his face and a geniune warmth in his heart.....our next Tour director will have some big shoes to fill. Some days were long drives but that's what's required to get to see different places. Accommodation was good. We felt safe and well cared for the whole journey, which is important travelling overseas. If you want amazing memories just jump into everything on offer. Yvonne from Global Journeys was fantastic and organised our holiday to perfection.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Amazing Morocco”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2019

We travelled with Insight Vacations again ... to Morocco this time. Pretty well perfect as usual. Some days were long drives but that's what's required to get to see different places. Accommodation was good. We felt safe and well cared for the whole journey, which is important in a strange country. So much colour and life to see in Morocco, so different to our western world. We learnt how to haggle quite well after a while and how to say "no" politely but with authority. We went for a camel ride in the Sahara to watch the sunset. If you want amazing memories just jump into everything on offer. Yvonne from Global Journeys was fantastic and organised our holiday to perfection.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent first discovery experience of Europe with Insight!”
- Australia Dec 2018 View Photo

Excellent all round. Global Journeys kept me confident & well informed, whilst the Insight Road To Rome Tour was a trip we'll never forget. Truly had nothing to worry about, great pace & accomodating/considerate towards my pregnant wife. Knowledgeable & professional staff, head & shoulders above the rest.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Christmas in the snow ”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018

Christmas Day in Zermatt with the snow around us was a memory to last forever. Excellent tour with a great Tour Director. Georgie from Global Journeys was great to deal with and made our bookings easy.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Christmas Markets and Snow ”
- QLD, Australia Dec 2018

Great accommodation and an excellent Tour Director. We will recommend Insight Vacations to our friends. Georgie at Global Journeys was very helpful.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Festive Christmas Markets Tour”
- VIC, Australia Dec 2018

I would definitely book through Global Journeys again - everything was handled extremely well and all my flights were thoughtfully chosen. Juliet contacted me when one of my flights was changed about 3 months before the tour started. Michelle (Tour Director) and Zoltan (Driver) were marvellous: there was one very difficult passenger and Michelle handled the situation with courtesy, tact and a minimum of fuss. The market venues were wonderful and we were given plenty of time to browse the areas surrounding the markets.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Alpine Christmas markets”
- VIC, Australia Nov 2018 1 Helpful Vote

Very good tour most enjoyable. The accommodation was excellent, the food very good and the markets excellent. The tour director Sue Mason was excellent and the flourishes much appreciated.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A fun tour of the Wonders of Turkey”
- NSW, Australia Nov 2018 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

We were so lucky on our tour - we had so much fun we have come home for a rest! Our tour leader Daghan and driver Murat were both professional but with warm and ready smiles and inexhaustible good humour that went far beyond their duty to mould us 26 coachmates into a new set of Turkish 'cousins'! Turkey is a wonderful culturally rich country and our hosts warmly welcomed us everywhere we went. Food, hotels, transport and itinerary were all of a high standard. We would definitely be interested in touring southern Turkey when it becomes available. Thanks Insight and Global Journeys!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Country Roads of Croatia”
- NSW, Australia Oct 2018 4 Helpful Votes

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience of the 14 days Country Roads of Croatia. Definitely happy that we did not go in the peak summer season, as the crowds were still packed. Out Tour Director Irina was amazing and very attentive to all of our needs. Even though we have travelled quite a bit, we were still amazed to see and hear about the lakes and waterfalls and the beautiful caves in Slovenia, that we were previously unaware of. Thank you for organising our booking.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Country Roads of Southern Italy”
- VIC, Australia Oct 2018 8 Helpful Votes

The itinerary of this tour gave a comprehensive coverage of Southern Italy and Sicily that could be achieved comfortably in 14 days. In Rome we particularly enjoyed visiting the Pantheon and then the Sistine Chapel with a taste of other areas of the Vatican Museum. Then south to Puglia via other well-known towns and sites to the area around Alberobello with their unique, conicle-roofed houses. The agricultural emphasis in Puglia was an interesting variation to many other areas of Italy. And the history of previous civilisations was showcased throughout our tour and was different as we journeyed along.

From Puglia it was on to Sicily with its evidence of the early habitation by the Moors and Greeks. We appreciated the sightseeing at Taormina, Syracusa and Agrigento as examples. As Sicily had experienced heavy rain, our tour director, Margaret, changed the itinerary enabling us to safely see all our planned sights. Personally, we would have liked to reach the top of Mt Etna; but maybe another day. Margaret also ensured we all enjoyed our tour. The coach was very comfortable and always spotless. Our driver, Massimo with his excellent driving skills, made us feel safe and was always there to provide assistance off the coach as required. Thankyou Margaret and Massimo! This tour was filled with great variety, excellent direction and comes highly recommended.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great tour”
- WA, Australia Sep 2018 5 Helpful Votes

As a solo traveller I am Just back from 16 day Eastern Canada and USA tour with tour director Todd and driver Joe. I highly recommend this tour and we even had one lady who was doing it for the second time! Nothing was too much trouble for Todd and Joe who were both extremely professional. We had the added bonus of driver Joe's hometown knowledge of Boston.

Todd was a walking encyclopedia throughout the entire trip. I'm sure we were very lucky to have a really friendly group of people and I must commend Todd for very efficiently dealing with a medical emergency with one of our ladies whilst in Washington.

A useful point to note was the use of a free laundry at our hotel in Bar Harbour. The main purpose of the trip for me was to see the autumn colours but I think a later trip may have had a better show. There was plenty of colour but I did expect more (can't predict the weather) and a couple of our travel days were wet which didn't impact too much.

Although this was a quite long tour I would have liked more time in Quebec and with hindsight should have spent an extra couple of days in New York. I chose to return to Washington and spent 4 days trying to cover the Smithsonian Museums but barely scratched the surface. The tour did cover visits to most of the monuments.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Highlights of Europe”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018 2 Helpful Votes

The experience starting with Global Journeys right through to the departure from the group back in London was outstanding. Our guide Philip Orna was one of our best experiences. His knowledge was first rate and he knew how to avoid the crowds particularly in Venice. The Insight coach and driver made for a comfortable trip, the extra room being appreciated by all. We rated the hotels out of 10 all above 7.5 with the hotel in Baveno to die for. 10 plus. The pace was a little faster than we thought it would be but once we got into a routine not a problem. When we handed over the bags at the start of the tour we virtually did not have to touch them again until it was over. Most cities have wonderful features, Venice itself was the feature and Insight knew how to give us the best time in what is a very crowded place.

This was our first coach trip and to be honest we were a little sceptical as to how good it would be. We are now converts and would not consider touring any other way. There are so many things that are taken care of that when you book you don't appreciate, everything from road tolls to parking fees and for that matter finding a place to park, to important information that allows you to maximise the value of your trip.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the whole experience we went through to everyone.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“No Regrets, Highlights of Europe!”
- NSW, Australia Sep 2018

I would recommend & book with Global Journeys again, Yvonne was quick to reply to any queries & to forward anything relevant to our booking as soon as feasible. I would recommend & travel with Insight Vacations again as they also provided excellent customer service. The tour was very busy but in saying that I did take all the optional activities, experiences & tours. I now have no regrets, knowing I made the most of my time, and possibly money, in doing all I could whilst being at each destination.

Our tour director was very experienced & informative. He ensured that all on this tour were included & catered for as best as was feasible. He made the most of our itinerary, timing each day for maximum use of time, trying to time our daily tours/activities to avoid peak crowd times, when possible. As we travelled each day he spoke of the history & gave interesting information about areas we were travelling through, as he did on any included tour. Our coach driver was very competent, kept the coach fresh & clean each day, adding to my enjoyment & relaxation whilst travelling.

There were many aspects to this tour that made it an "all around experience", the general sightseeing, cultural experiences, included & optional meals, entertainment, and enjoyable surprise inclusions. It is a busy tour, made more busy by the number of optional tours/activities l chose to take - but no regrets! Relaxed starts are not really feasible but our tour director did his best to include these where possible & to give us some "down time" when possible. I would recommend an ability to walk a few kilometres & climb steps with reasonable ease for anyone wishing to take/enjoy and make the most of this tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic tour and you see so much in the 16 days”
- QLD, Australia Sep 2018 1 Helpful Vote

The tour was fantastic you see so much in the 16 days, the group we had on the coach were great we all got on very well, the tour director was very good and he pushed us very hard. But as he said we paid a lot for the tour so we should see as much as we can, which we did. The coach driver was excellent he got us out of some very tight corners. The weather was perfect.

The only other thing I would say about the tour is, people in their late seventy's early eighties (depending on their fitness) should be aware of how much walking is involved how many hills to climb, and how many steps to climb, I must admit I found it very hard (being in my early eighties) I was exhausted, and had to have a day off to recuperate. There was only one hotel that was not suitable for people or the coach was in Tuscany, the rest were great.

I think some of the Optional Extras could have been included in the price.Those useless badges with the clip they had on them, nobody wore them, they should have had a pin or a magnet, then they could be worn.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Pacific Coast and the Rockies tour”
- VIC, Australia Sep 2018

This Insight Vacations' tour was better than expected. The tour director was most efficient. The other 38 passengers were friendly. Though there were 40 in the coach, it was not crammed at all. It was a 56 seater. We stayed at some historic hotels, the standout was the Davenport Hotel in Spokane, it was elegant and full of character. The included meals were excellent. There was early snow when we arrived in Jasper, and we were too early to check into the hotel. The tour director arranged a museum visit as well as a talk from a naturalist on the native animals. The highlight for me was the ride on the Red Jammer to go up to Logan Pass in the Glacier National Park. The scenery was stunning. The only thing I wasn't keen on on this trip was the very crammed sleeping arrangement on the train from Vancouver to Jasper.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fantastic Tour of France ”
- SA, Australia Sep 2018 2 Helpful Votes

I absolutely loved this tour and made some great friends. I can highly recommend this tour, it was truly a country roads tour. We were lucky enough to have a fantastic Tour Director Frederic and coach driver Tex. Frederic is so knowledgeable about all parts of France. I enjoyed the trip so much my brother and sisters-in-law are going to do it next year. Thanks Jemma for organising it for me.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 438