Insight Tour Reviews

Insight Vacations
4.5 out of 5
467 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Insight Vacations. Every review has been verified.

     
“Bohemian tour with an outstanding tour director”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019

The Insight tour went especially well. Everything was on schedule, the accommodation was excellent and the tour director was outstanding. The only problem was that Europe was experiencing a heatwave and in Prague the temperature was 36 C and the large crowds in the square made it very uncomfortable. Throughout the tour the temperatures were in the 30s so my recommendation would be not to do this tour in July.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A well -designed Tour spoiled by a poor tour guide”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

This tour should have been a most enjoyable tour, but spoiled by a tour guide who didn’t really care about the people under his care and guidance. The journey from Madrid to Santiago de Compostela took about 6 to 7 hours. It was absolutely boring! Apart from a short perfunctory remark for about 10 minutes, our so-called “Tour Guide” did absolutely nothing to alleviate the boredom. We were hoping for some dissertation on the history, culture and politics on Spain, or at the very least a video or even some music to kill the boredom. But nothing came! The same thing occurred on the long trip from Pamplona to Barcelona in the return leg! It was boredom personified. The next startling news was that several optional tours offered in the tour were to be cancelled or withdrawn due the small numbers of 12 people in the tour! This was most disappointing because some of us had planned to go on to these optional tours offered in the itinerary.

The worst was to come. Due to the cancelled optional tour at Barcelona, the tour guide unilaterally and without consultation, announced that he wanted to reschedule the farewell dinner from the last day to the 2nd last day and from a dinner to a farewell LUNCH. This was most unconventional as a farewell dinner are normally conducted on the last day! However, before we had a chance to comprehend the purpose and significance of this change, the tour guide made another unilateral announcement : he decided that the farewell dinner was to be rescheduled to the 2nd last night. This means that instead of finishing the tour late on the last light, it will now finish early midday after our morning tour of Barcelona! No doubt, this allows the driver and the tour guide to have the night free on the last day of the tour.

We find this unilateral rescheduling of Insight Vacation ‘s advertised itinerary is tantamount to a breach of contract. Also, all the guiding were given by local guides with the exception the one at Pamplona where Rory took charge. Because of the huge crowd at this Bull run, our tour bus had to be parked a long way from the city centre. We had to fight our way through the huge crowds. For some inexplicable reason, Rory did not used the radios issued. As we returned to our tour bus, Rory failed to check the numbers and he would have left two members of our group if weren’t for the fact that some of us had to inform Rory that he had left these two members behind. This incident had instilled fear and doubt in some of us on his ability as a tour guide.

Reply from Insight Vacations:
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience with Insight Vacations. We are disappointed to learn that though you enjoyed the accommodations and excursions provided, our Travel Director did not live up to the expectations you may have had while joining the tour.

At Insight Vacations, we are fully aware of the important role that our Travel Directors play in the success of any trip. That is why; all of our Travel Directors are carefully selected and have received thorough training to be able to manage our departures with the highest level of professionalism. As such, we sincerely regret to learn about your disappointment with our Tour Director’s efforts during the trip and therefore we would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience. Additionally, we have presented your feedback to the relevant teams for further assessment to ensure that the necessary steps are taken to avoid any similar disappointment affecting our guests in the future. With that in mind, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to restore your full faith in our guided holidays in the near future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

If you want to capture the spirit and history of Turkey in just under a fortnight, take this trip. From the magnificence of Aya Sophia and Ephesus, to an afternoon tea in a cave house in Cappadocia, this tour covered the history and cultures of Anatolia from the Hittites to Mustafa Kemal Atatürk. There were many highlights. Some were expected (Ephesus being one example), others were not: the House of the Virgin Mary was one, the Calcium Terraces at Pamukkale was another, and the farm-to-table lunch where a local family, who farm organically, served up a delicious meal was yet another.

The accommodation was more than comfortable and even a touch exotic, like the cave hotel in Cappadocia. Most meals were provided, some were set meals, others were buffet meals, but in all cases the food was good and fresh. Although Insight does not include Cappadocia’s famous hot-air balloon rides as part of its itinerary, those interested can book a ride from the hotel. The organisation of the tour, from its beginning in Istanbul to its end in Istanbul, was meticulous, thanks to the tour director, Daghan Erdogdu. He brought his love of his country and its history to the tour.

Like any tour, there will be some who will wish that they had stayed longer at one place and less time at another. This tour struck the right balance. To use a now probably long forgotten Australian expression, ‘I wouldn’t have missed this tour for quids’. As for travelling with Insight again, that I will. And as for using Global Journeys and Jemma again for future tours, that’s a certainty.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The grand tour of Great Britain”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019

Out interesting journey began with booking out trip through Global Journeys last year. It was all very easy and efficient arranging this trip online. Emails were answered promptly and requests for different flight times easily accommodated. It was lovely having a trip booked early just for the anticipation.

We were very fortunate in our trip's tour director and driver and weather. Ben Scott is only about 32 but appears to love his job and he was very good at it. He attended to all our needs and kept us every well organised. He went down the coach and spoke to every passenger individually to see if we had any concerns or complaints everyday. Marcel the driver was an excellent driver and had a happy and humorous personality.

The trip itself was as anticipated. We had the opportunity to see a great many towns and cities in Great Britain. I especially enjoyed Ireland. Ben entertained us with the history of the places we visited. The included tours of distilleries, crystal factories, castles, famous houses and interesting towns and cities were all wonderful as was the scenery.

The hotels were all of good to excellent quality. We always had a full hot breakfast and the starting times for each day were all reasonable. The included evening meals were also good. There were a few negatives. We found the optional dinners were far too expensive for what you got. We cancelled all dinners after the first one and arranged our own dinner for a quarter of the price. Those who went on these dinners also said they were not good value for money.

I would have liked a few optional extras that included dancing at local venues in Ireland. We were left too long in some towns. Everyone just wanted to get to our hotel room at a good hour before we were picked up. This really happened only on the first and last day when we were all tired.

Other than those few complaints, the trip was a wonderful experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend both Global Journeys and Insight Vacations to my family and friends.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Polish Delight”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

We enjoyed our Highlights of Poland tour with Insight Vacations. Loved all the cities and saw some very interesting places. Our Tour Director was full of the history of Poland with sometimes going a bit overboard. We visited Poland in mid June and the weather was perfect, plus hotels were great and in good locations. Our booking with Yvonne at Global Journeys was great and I thoroughly recommend them.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent tour”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

Croatia well exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed every stay, great sights and excellent food. Our tour guide Greg Redfern was full of knowledge and had a true passion for the country. I would highly recommend Insight Vacations and Global Journeys for bookings.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Scandinavia”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Thank you Jemma and Global Journeys for arranging the tour of Scandinavia for me with Insight. Global advertised the tour dates before they were available on the other web sites so I was able to get in early and secure my spot. Insight are a very good operator and took it from there. Accommodation and optional tours were all brilliant and Scandinavia put on the best show. It was a full coach of people from Australia, NZ, USA, Canada and a family from Indonesia. Everyone was made to feel welcome by Joey, our tour director. An excellent adventure!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Fabulous, efficient tour of the best Sicily has to offer”
- NSW , Australia May 2019 2 Helpful Votes

This tour cherry picked the main highlights of Sicily and visited them all in 8 days - a very efficient way to see the best that Sicily has to offer. Our guide Mark was tremendously knowledgeable about Sicily and each place we visited. He had wonderful enthusiasm and was a gifted storyteller, describing Sicily's sites, sounds, history and flavours like a poet. Our driver was also fantastic. He managed hair pin bends up mountains very carefully.

Sicily as a whole is an island full of gems; great food, churches, ancient Greek ruins and cities, and quaint villages atop mountains. I highly recommend this tour if you are looking for a hassle free and efficient way of seeing Sicily in a relatively short amount of time as this is not an island that can easily be experienced without a car.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Awesome Britain and Ireland Discovery”
- QLD, Australia May 2019

What an awesome trip. The trip was all we hoped for and it exceeded our expectations. Booking through Global Journeys with Georgie was very smooth and friendly. While the tour was fairly long at 22 days, there was plenty of free time and we can't speak highly enough of our tour guide Matt and coach drivers Mark and Sean.

To appeal to a broad interest group, there will always be some things that don't rate highly with individuals but for us, those less interesting things were still worth seeing, so no complaints overall. The group size was good at 32 and all got on well. Highlights included Orkney Islands, Ring of Kerry, Portsmouth harbour cruise and many more. Probably allowing more time in Wales and Cornwall would be our only suggestion.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable and well organised tour”
- VIC, Australia May 2019

The tour was very well organised. We enjoyed it very much. The tour director was the best we have ever experienced, we have done many. All the people got on very well, not always the case. There were no problems. Thanks Yvonne you did a great job.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Discovering Russia”
- SA, Australia May 2019

We absolutely loved this tour of the two major cities (St Petersburg & Moscow) with Insight. It was a fantastic experience that we would thoroughly recommend. The tour guides were superb and brought to life the culture and history of these fascinating cities. The hotels were exceptional and the breakfasts were the best we have ever had. Thank you to Global Journeys for making the bookings so easy.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Well organised tour of Britain & Ireland ”
- QLD, Australia May 2019 View Photo

We had a super time on our trip. Insight Vacations were great, a massive thank you to Howard our tour director and Alf our driver. Thank you to Georgie at Global Journeys for organising our holiday once again. The accommodation was excellent and so was the food. We enjoyed the special treats that we received from Howard along the way.

I loved the quaint little towns which made our lunch stops really special and plenty of time to check out the shops. Another highlight was the amazing scenery and the castles too. Travelling in May was good except I would suggest to pack extra warm clothes. We even had snow in Scotland. We look forward to our next trip.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Traveling in style”
- VIC, Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

Insight Vacations took care of every detail! We stayed in amazing 5 star hotels, had great food and saw unbelievable sights, all arranged through our tour! Highly recommended! :)

We walked the walls of Dubrovnik, had dinner with survivors of the war in Sarajevo, went into Dracula's castle, saw the Shoes on the Danube in Budapest... sooooo many highlights! And everything was arranged through our tour director. She was incredibly knowledgeable and organised! A wonderful way to see the Balkans :D

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Incredible Balkans”
- NSW, Australia Apr 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Not really expecting much, we were pleasantly surprised by the beauty, history and scenic places. It was rather daunting to travel 9 countries in 18 days but the border crossing did not pose a problem at all. Our tour director was superb in her planning and management of the tour. We were also a special group in the sense that almost everyone was travel savvy. No one was late and no one was a nuisance at all. It was truly memorable.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great overall experience”
- Auckland, New Zealand Apr 2019

Although the weather wasn't as perfect as I expected it to be, this Insight Vacations tour was excellent in all other ways. Great tour director and driver, very friendly fellow travellers too. Being the youngest in the group, we felt like we were well looked after.

Croatia is beautiful in general, it’s a good time of the year to visit Croatia as it’s not overly crowded, but expect some not-so-great weather (cold and rainy). Booking the tour through Global Journeys has been hassle free and easy. Thanks for the great experience.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best of Ireland and Scotland”
- WA, Australia Apr 2019

The trip included everything on my Irish bucket list (Ring of Kerry, Cliffs of Moher, Giant's Causeway) and took me to more sights in Scotland to add to a previous visit. Accommodation was all 4 star hotels. I still occasionally had the problem of a room which was too warm for the bedding (duvet only) and no way to adjust the temperature.

Of the 36 on the coach 5 were Australians, 2 Singaporean, while all the rest were from the US or Canada. As a consequence the Australians tended to find the coach temperature too low. Everybody seemed to be experienced travellers and we had very few problems with people being late at any time.

The landscapes traversed are marvellous. Included in the tour were several optional experiences, which did cost extra, but generally should not be missed. And gratuities are not included and will cost more also. The weather was a little brisk at times (April 2019) but by no means impossible. Our indispensable Tour Director's advice was very sound - dress like an onion with detachable layers.

I have seen tour groups bond together before, but must admit to being a little surprised at how well this one did so. No name tags were used, but by the second week we all knew one another's names.

I should also mention the musical experiences - the Irish and Scottish evening performances (and dinners) were a highlight. The most difficult part was the stretch where we only stayed one night in each hotel, but the porterage was excellent. I enjoyed the trip very much.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Tour of Portugal even better second time around ”
- Australia Apr 2019 View Photo

I did a comprehensive tour of Portugal over a decade ago and thought it was time to revisit this beautiful country. I have travelled with Insight Vacations more than a dozen times, so choosing a tour operator was easy.

Although the itinerary was similar to the previous tour, this time there were new inclusions and a broader cultural focus, both of which made a difference. For example, in each region we tasted local delicacies: pastel de nata in Lisbon, doce fino in Algarve, ginjinha in Obidos, pastel de Tentugal in Coimbra, tibia in Braga, etc. etc. These are small touches, but were appreciated by all, since they and the stories behind them are all threads in the tapestry that is Portugal.

Accommodation was comfortable and very close to city centres and historic sites. Included food was excellent, particularly in the local restaurants Frade dos mares in Lisbon, Sem-Fim in Monsaraz, farm-to-table dinner in Quinta de Maroccos in Peso da Regua... Both included and optional excursions were excellent and were a real value-add to an already great choice of locations and sightseeing.

The local guides were superb - they were passionate about their cities, knowledgeable and entertaining. The tour director and the driver were great too: professional and attentive. The former was friendly, personable, well organised, able to quickly solve problems and displayed excellent attention to detail.

Overall, the tour was very well organised. If anything, I think it should be a bit longer- additional two days would have allowed for some more time to be spent in locations worthy of more exploration. My only criticism would be the stay in Almancil. While the stroll on the beach was nice, there really wasn't anything else to do in the afternoon/evening. Perhaps a different location for an overnight should be considered? Apart from that, the tour was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and I would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in gaining a deeper insight into Portugal.

On a separate note - this was the first time I've booked a tour with Global Journeys, an agency I came across accidentally while doing an online search. At first I was a little sceptical and concerned about whether I'd made the right choice of an agent. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. Global Journeys provided service of a high standard: communication was timely, responses to questions prompt, information accurate. I have already recommended them to friends and would use them again myself.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Italian Intermezzo”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2019

We both thoroughly enjoyed our seven day Italian adventure. The tour company was excellent and the tour guide was an extremely well organised person with a wealth of knowledge and anecdotes, The standard of the hotels was very good and in great locations. Top marks to everyone involved in our package holiday.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Ole' Spain and Portugal”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Toured Spain and Portugal with Paddy and Insight Vacations. Paddy is the best tour director we have ever had. He went above and beyond anything we had ever experienced before and always with a smile on his face and a geniune warmth in his heart.....our next Tour director will have some big shoes to fill. Some days were long drives but that's what's required to get to see different places. Accommodation was good. We felt safe and well cared for the whole journey, which is important travelling overseas. If you want amazing memories just jump into everything on offer. Yvonne from Global Journeys was fantastic and organised our holiday to perfection.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Insight rules!”
- NSW, Australia Mar 2019

Love Insight. They really make you feel safe and looked after. Worries disappear once you're on the road with them. And Global Journeys takes the worries out even before you start travelling - and keep the cost down.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 467