Insight Tour Reviews

Insight Vacations
4.5 out of 5
491 Reviews

The reviews listed below are from past clients of Global Journeys that have travelled with Insight Vacations. Every review has been verified.

     
“Turkey - Wonderful Destination!”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

We recently experienced the ”Wonders of Turkey” tour and loved every minute of it! So many wonderful memories of the people, the food and the sights. Our tour Director, Gonul Gifu was very knowledgeable, most helpful, caring and fun to be with! We will definitely be recommending Insight to all our friends. Thank you for a fantastic holiday!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Italian Escapade”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Wonderful trip. Insight add a little touch of luxury. Our tour director was very kind, thoughtful and full of information. Highlights were Tuscany and the Italian Lakes, Venice, Assissi. Would have liked to see more of the old part of Rome. A lot of walking- could offer hop on hop off tours for those who have trouble walking.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent comprehensive tour of the beautiful sights of Switzerland”
- WA, Australia Aug 2019

The Country Roads of Switzerland Tour was very comprehensive and well-paced with plenty of 2-3 night stays and offering free time. We enjoyed the train journeys and all the spectacular sights of Switzerland and touching on the Italian lakes. Switzerland is very expensive, especially with the low value of the Australian Dollar and the cost of all the optional excursions made the tour quite expensive but all the excursions added to the experience.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The Grandeur of Alaska & Denali National Park”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019 View Photo

Our trip with Insight Vacations was as good as expected! From the interaction with the local indigenous communities through activities at the Alaska Native Heritage Centre, our trip through the wilderness on the Alaska railroad dome train, being enthralled by the vista of Denali National Park with its abundant wildlife, our trip will remain embedded in our minds forever more. Our tour director Cole and driver Casey were a 1st Class combination adding to our Alaskan experience and the chosen accommodation was also outstanding!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip”
- VIC, Australia Aug 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

We had a great trip with Insight and our booking with Global Journeys was great and all done professionally and they couldn’t do enough for us. This is the second time we have booked through Global Journeys and we would certainly use them again. Insight is great, this was our 4th trip with Insight and the people we toured with were so much fun, also the tour director was very knowledgeable The hotels are always great and Insight always try to make your trip very happy and safe.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great Britain and Ireland Discovery”
- NSW, Australia Aug 2019

This was our second tour with Insight Vacations. We booked both our tours through Global Journeys and would highly recommend them. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole tour, but for us the highlight was definitely the Edinburgh Tattoo, the reason we chose this tour. The accommodation was excellent as were the optional extras.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Great trip around Southern Ireland”
- Australia Aug 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Great trip, Tour Director Katie was excellent. Global Journeys and Tracey bent over backwards to assist us in organising our trip. Thanks to all.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Enjoyable trip of Sicily”
- 4074, Australia Jul 2019 1 Helpful Vote

I enjoyed this trip. A combination of busy touristy places and smaller locations. Wonderful guide, who spoke perfect Italian with an English accent. Lovely driver as well. The highlight for me was the Cathedral at Monreale - as the local guide said, you could spend a day talking about this Cathedral with its 24 carat gold edging & mosaic tiles, telling the stories of the times. Also I was there in Palermo at the annual Festival of St Rosalie, and the street lighting was beautiful. The accommodation was great.

Unfortunately there was a heat wave in Europe when I travelled in July, but I did find Sicily cooler than where I had come from (Greece). The included dinners in Sicily were wonderful. I have used Insight quite often in the past, and will use them again next year for one of my trips. Global Journeys always does a great job with booking, and Yvonne is lovely in that she sent me a paper copy of my documents, as I like to hold paper in my hand (I know I am old school).

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Worthwhile in depth trip through Scandinavia”
- New Zealand Jul 2019

This was our first Insight tour and also the first time we have used Global Journeys. Our booking was completed online which was easy, hassle free and efficient as we could view each stage we were at. The 3 Travel Consultants that handled our booking were very professional, knowledgeable, courteous, helpful and their attention to detail was well noted. Top marks to all 3 of them! We will definitely use their expertise again and would recommend them to others.

Some days in Norway we travelled long distances between overnights stays however approximately every 2 hours we had a stop. Our Coach Driver was a true professional: driving plus keeping the coach immaculately clean every day. We were also well entertained by our very experienced Travel Director. We enjoyed the “flourishes” (special treats) that we received along the way. Norway had spectacular scenery whichever way you turned: giant mountains, fjords, waterfalls and their amazing architecture. We couldn’t get over travelling through underground tunnels or tunnels with traffic islands in them. The optional excursions offered were well worthwhile which resulted in many more memorable occasions however we did think that a few could have been included in the basic itinerary.

The tour struck the right balance for us – moderate to fast paced however please note good walking shoes are a must as you walk over a lot of uneven cobblestone streets and footpaths. The hotels were all very good to an excellent standard however we were rather disappointed with the welcome dinner at Copenhagen. We enjoyed the daily seat rotation and the extra leg room on the coach.

Only one disappointing aspect of the tour – we booked on a guaranteed 28-day tour and were advised on the 26th day we had 3 tours rolled into 1. (Scandinavian Heritage, a 20-day Copenhagen to Oslo then a tour commencing in Oslo and ending in Copenhagen). The latter tour continued sightseeing for another 2 days in Copenhagen after our tour ended. Therefore, over a period of 28 days we had 2 Coaches, 2 Coach Drivers and 2 Tour Directors. Our fellow travellers on the 28-day tour were also unaware of this as well until we were all told. All in all it was a very worthwhile in-depth trip through Scandinavia.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A snapshot of the Canadian maritimes.”
- NSW, Australia Jul 2019

A wonderful trip, a good pace and lots of interesting places to visit. Our fellow travellers were a very friendly group and we all got on well. Everything ran smoothly thanks to our very knowledgeable and well organised tour director. We had perfect weather and on the whole everything went according to plan. Thank you Georgie for making the trip so stress free by taking care of the planning and booking side of things, it meant we could start the trip in a more relaxed frame of mind.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Bohemian tour with an outstanding tour director”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019 2 Helpful Votes

The Insight tour went especially well. Everything was on schedule, the accommodation was excellent and the tour director was outstanding. The only problem was that Europe was experiencing a heatwave and in Prague the temperature was 36 C and the large crowds in the square made it very uncomfortable. Throughout the tour the temperatures were in the 30s so my recommendation would be not to do this tour in July.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“A well -designed Tour spoiled by a poor tour guide”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote

This tour should have been a most enjoyable tour, but spoiled by a tour guide who didn’t really care about the people under his care and guidance. The journey from Madrid to Santiago de Compostela took about 6 to 7 hours. It was absolutely boring! Apart from a short perfunctory remark for about 10 minutes, our so-called “Tour Guide” did absolutely nothing to alleviate the boredom. We were hoping for some dissertation on the history, culture and politics on Spain, or at the very least a video or even some music to kill the boredom. But nothing came! The same thing occurred on the long trip from Pamplona to Barcelona in the return leg! It was boredom personified. The next startling news was that several optional tours offered in the tour were to be cancelled or withdrawn due the small numbers of 12 people in the tour! This was most disappointing because some of us had planned to go on to these optional tours offered in the itinerary.

The worst was to come. Due to the cancelled optional tour at Barcelona, the tour guide unilaterally and without consultation, announced that he wanted to reschedule the farewell dinner from the last day to the 2nd last day and from a dinner to a farewell LUNCH. This was most unconventional as a farewell dinner are normally conducted on the last day! However, before we had a chance to comprehend the purpose and significance of this change, the tour guide made another unilateral announcement : he decided that the farewell dinner was to be rescheduled to the 2nd last night. This means that instead of finishing the tour late on the last light, it will now finish early midday after our morning tour of Barcelona! No doubt, this allows the driver and the tour guide to have the night free on the last day of the tour.

We find this unilateral rescheduling of Insight Vacation ‘s advertised itinerary is tantamount to a breach of contract. Also, all the guiding were given by local guides with the exception the one at Pamplona where Rory took charge. Because of the huge crowd at this Bull run, our tour bus had to be parked a long way from the city centre. We had to fight our way through the huge crowds. For some inexplicable reason, Rory did not used the radios issued. As we returned to our tour bus, Rory failed to check the numbers and he would have left two members of our group if weren’t for the fact that some of us had to inform Rory that he had left these two members behind. This incident had instilled fear and doubt in some of us on his ability as a tour guide.

Reply from Insight Vacations:
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience with Insight Vacations. We are disappointed to learn that though you enjoyed the accommodations and excursions provided, our Travel Director did not live up to the expectations you may have had while joining the tour.

At Insight Vacations, we are fully aware of the important role that our Travel Directors play in the success of any trip. That is why; all of our Travel Directors are carefully selected and have received thorough training to be able to manage our departures with the highest level of professionalism. As such, we sincerely regret to learn about your disappointment with our Tour Director’s efforts during the trip and therefore we would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience. Additionally, we have presented your feedback to the relevant teams for further assessment to ensure that the necessary steps are taken to avoid any similar disappointment affecting our guests in the future. With that in mind, we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to restore your full faith in our guided holidays in the near future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful tour”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019 View Photo

If you want to capture the spirit and history of Turkey in just under a fortnight, take this trip. From the magnificence of Aya Sophia and Ephesus, to an afternoon tea in a cave house in Cappadocia, this tour covered the history and cultures of Anatolia from the Hittites to Mustafa Kemal Atatürk. There were many highlights. Some were expected (Ephesus being one example), others were not: the House of the Virgin Mary was one, the Calcium Terraces at Pamukkale was another, and the farm-to-table lunch where a local family, who farm organically, served up a delicious meal was yet another.

The accommodation was more than comfortable and even a touch exotic, like the cave hotel in Cappadocia. Most meals were provided, some were set meals, others were buffet meals, but in all cases the food was good and fresh. Although Insight does not include Cappadocia’s famous hot-air balloon rides as part of its itinerary, those interested can book a ride from the hotel. The organisation of the tour, from its beginning in Istanbul to its end in Istanbul, was meticulous, thanks to the tour director, Daghan Erdogdu. He brought his love of his country and its history to the tour.

Like any tour, there will be some who will wish that they had stayed longer at one place and less time at another. This tour struck the right balance. To use a now probably long forgotten Australian expression, ‘I wouldn’t have missed this tour for quids’. As for travelling with Insight again, that I will. And as for using Global Journeys and Jemma again for future tours, that’s a certainty.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“The grand tour of Great Britain”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Out interesting journey began with booking out trip through Global Journeys last year. It was all very easy and efficient arranging this trip online. Emails were answered promptly and requests for different flight times easily accommodated. It was lovely having a trip booked early just for the anticipation.

We were very fortunate in our trip's tour director and driver and weather. Ben Scott is only about 32 but appears to love his job and he was very good at it. He attended to all our needs and kept us every well organised. He went down the coach and spoke to every passenger individually to see if we had any concerns or complaints everyday. Marcel the driver was an excellent driver and had a happy and humorous personality.

The trip itself was as anticipated. We had the opportunity to see a great many towns and cities in Great Britain. I especially enjoyed Ireland. Ben entertained us with the history of the places we visited. The included tours of distilleries, crystal factories, castles, famous houses and interesting towns and cities were all wonderful as was the scenery.

The hotels were all of good to excellent quality. We always had a full hot breakfast and the starting times for each day were all reasonable. The included evening meals were also good. There were a few negatives. We found the optional dinners were far too expensive for what you got. We cancelled all dinners after the first one and arranged our own dinner for a quarter of the price. Those who went on these dinners also said they were not good value for money.

I would have liked a few optional extras that included dancing at local venues in Ireland. We were left too long in some towns. Everyone just wanted to get to our hotel room at a good hour before we were picked up. This really happened only on the first and last day when we were all tired.

Other than those few complaints, the trip was a wonderful experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend both Global Journeys and Insight Vacations to my family and friends.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Polish Delight”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019

We enjoyed our Highlights of Poland tour with Insight Vacations. Loved all the cities and saw some very interesting places. Our Tour Director was full of the history of Poland with sometimes going a bit overboard. We visited Poland in mid June and the weather was perfect, plus hotels were great and in good locations. Our booking with Yvonne at Global Journeys was great and I thoroughly recommend them.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“La Dolce Vita in Sicily”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019

This island is colourful, interesting and very welcoming... just like its inhabitants. Local food is delicious and always served with a smile. The trip was well paced and at the end we felt satisfied that we had seen the best sights. Our tour guide, Anne Kennedy, was truly superb and ensured all went smoothly. She shared her knowledge of this region with grace and wit and we appreciated all she did for us. I would happily revisit Sicily in future.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Best of Spain and Portugal”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote

Great trip with Insight! We would definitely travel again with them - everything was super well organised, and communication each day was great. Tour director, Toni, and our coach drivers were very professional. Nothing was too much trouble, and it was this attention to detail which added that extra something to our tour.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Beautiful and enjoyable Poland”
- QLD, Australia Jun 2019

The tour was very well organised. Our tour director- Tim Pendelbury, originally from Queensland, married to a Polish woman and living near Krakow, was superb. Hotels were very good and centrally located. The itinerary included many interesting sights, some listed on the UNESCO World Heritage list: old towns in Krakow, Warsaw and Torun, Auschwitz concentration camp, Castle of the Teutonic Order in Malbork and Wieliczka Salt Mine (optional). Unfortunately the Royal Castle in Warsaw was not included in the tour. Optional experiences were fantastic and very well attended. You cannot miss Traditional Karczma Dinner with Folklore and Polka Party! We arrived 3 days early to explore Krakow and stayed extra 3 days in Warsaw exploring these two magnificent cities. Many thanks to Hannah Campbell from Global Journeys.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Excellent tour”
- NSW, Australia Jun 2019 2 Helpful Votes View Photo

Croatia well exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed every stay, great sights and excellent food. Our tour guide Greg Redfern was full of knowledge and had a true passion for the country. I would highly recommend Insight Vacations and Global Journeys for bookings.

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?

“Wonderful Scandinavia”
- VIC, Australia Jun 2019 1 Helpful Vote View Photo

Thank you Jemma and Global Journeys for arranging the tour of Scandinavia for me with Insight. Global advertised the tour dates before they were available on the other web sites so I was able to get in early and secure my spot. Insight are a very good operator and took it from there. Accommodation and optional tours were all brilliant and Scandinavia put on the best show. It was a full coach of people from Australia, NZ, USA, Canada and a family from Indonesia. Everyone was made to feel welcome by Joey, our tour director. An excellent adventure!

Value For Money
Tour Guide
Accommodation
Tour Pace
Included Excursions
Optional Excursions

Was this review helpful?


Results 1-20 of 491